The lowest published testosterone-cream treatment rate we verified is Maximus at $99.99 a month on its 6-month plan. But the lowest fully priced year-one cream program we could add up from public sources is Henry Meds at $1,548, because Henry includes labs, visits, medication, supplies, and shipping. Maximus can still cost less if you use qualifying outside or lower-cost in-person labs; if you use four $99 Maximus at-home kits at its published baseline, 1-month, 3-month, and 12-month checkpoints, the modeled first-year total is about $1,595.88.
Two catches before you click anything. The testosterone creams compared here are compounded, not FDA-approved finished drug products. And the cheapest FDA-approved topical testosterone route may be a generic gel through a regular pharmacy; GoodRx currently lists the common 88 g 1.62% pump at about $42.87 before clinician and lab costs, with prices varying by location and coupon.
| Lowest published cream treatment rate | Lowest fully priced year-one cream program | Highest fully priced cream program in this comparison | FDA-approved topical alternative |
|---|---|---|---|
| $99.99/mo (Maximus, 6-month plan, labs extra) | $1,548/yr (Henry Meds) | $2,871/yr + shipping (Male Excel) | About $42.87/pump for a common generic gel quantity on GoodRx; prescriber and labs extra |
This page is for you if:
- You want testosterone on your skin instead of shots, and you want the real yearly cost before you sign up.
- You've seen a "$99 a month" ad and don't believe it.
This page is not for you if:
- You're trying to conceive now or soon. Exogenous testosterone can suppress sperm production. Start with a urologist or reproductive urologist.
- You haven't had a proper low-testosterone evaluation. Current Endocrine Society guidance calls for symptoms or signs plus consistently low results, including at least two early-morning fasting testosterone tests.
- You want testosterone without a prescription. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance in the United States and requires a valid prescription.
This page is educational information, not medical advice. It doesn't diagnose low testosterone, interpret your labs, or recommend a dose. Chest pain, sudden trouble breathing, fainting, stroke symptoms, or one painful swollen leg need emergency care.
Affiliate disclosure: We may earn a commission if you start care with Male Excel, Hone Health, or Taurus Meds through links on this page. We don't earn anything from Maximus, Henry Meds, Rugiet, Fountain, PrescribedRX, Defy Medical, or the generic-gel route, and commercial relationships do not change the medical facts, prices, or limitations we report. Read our affiliate disclosure.
TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.
What we actually verified (September 17, 2026)
We read current public pricing, help-center, product, and terms pages for Maximus, Henry Meds, Rugiet, Fountain, Hone Health, Male Excel, Taurus Meds, PrescribedRX, and Defy Medical. We also checked current GoodRx testosterone pricing, the AndroGel 1.62% prescribing information, FDA testosterone and compounding pages, the AUA guideline, the Endocrine Society's July 2026 statement, and the current DEA/HHS telemedicine extension.
Verified: published starting prices, plan lengths, known testing charges, state exclusions that providers publish, and the cost arithmetic shown below.
Provider-stated: what each service says is included, its clinician/support model, refund or guarantee terms, and treatment availability. We didn't enroll, pay, receive medication, or test any product. Still unresolved: some dose-specific prices, pharmacy assignment before prescribing, and charges that are not publicly fixed. Where a public source does not close the total, we keep the uncertainty visible instead of treating the missing amount as zero.
Full method and sources are near the bottom of this page.
What is the cheapest testosterone cream online?
Maximus has the lowest published treatment rate we verified for testosterone cream at $99.99 a month on a 6-month plan, but Henry Meds has the lowest fully priced year-one program we could close from public sources at $1,548. Maximus's required labs are separate: its current policy lists baseline, 1-month, 3-month, and 12-month testing, with at-home kits at $99 each, free use of qualifying outside labs, and variable Quest pricing. That makes Maximus cheaper or more expensive than Henry depending on how your labs are handled.
Here's every cream program we could price well enough to compare from current company pages. "Year one" means 12 months at the published starting treatment price plus required published fees. When a billing schedule or lab charge prevents a closed total, we say so instead of guessing.
Table 1: Testosterone cream online, compared by first-year cost (verified September 17, 2026)
| Program | What it is | Published treatment price | Labs / start cost | Commitment | Year-one model |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Henry Meds | Compounded cream | $129/mo | Included | Provider says no long-term contract, but a multi-month plan can require the remaining balance if canceled | $1,548 |
| Maximus | Compounded cream | $99.99/mo on 6-month plan · $149.99 on 3-month · $199.99 month-to-month | Baseline, 1-, 3-, and 12-month checkpoints; $99 at-home kit, qualifying outside labs can be uploaded without a Maximus lab charge, Quest price varies | 6 months for lowest rate | $1,199.88 + labs; $1,595.88 if all 4 routine checkpoints use $99 at-home kits |
| PrescribedRX | Compounded cream | $139 month-to-month or $387/3 months ($129/mo equivalent) | $69 TRT health assessment/blood test | 3 months for lowest rate | $1,617 using four 3-month blocks + $69 start test |
| Rugiet | Compounded topical TRT | From $139/mo | $49 or $69 start fee on two current pages | 3-, 6-, or 12-month plans | $1,717–$1,737 if $139 applies for all 12 months |
| Hone Health (Plus) · partner | Compounded cream | $60/mo cream + $135/mo membership | $45 first test + $45 lab or $80 home confirmatory test | Cancel anytime | $2,430–$2,465 |
| Male Excel · partner | Compounded cream sold with thyroid medicine | $132/mo cream + $99/mo membership | $99 start package | No contract; medication bills in 60-day supplies | $2,871 + shipping |
| Fountain | Topical cream offered | $199/4 weeks, $499/12 weeks, or $1,799/48 weeks | Provider-stated comprehensive labs included | Lower rates require prepayment | Not ranked by first-year cash outlay because renewal/prepayment timing makes a simple 12-month total misleading |
Show the math:
- Henry Meds: 12 × $129 = $1,548. Henry's current TRT landing page says that price includes the appointment, testosterone cream or injections if prescribed, follow-up labs, medication, supplies, and shipping.
- Maximus: 12 × $99.99 = $1,199.88 before labs. Its current lab policy lists baseline, 1-month, 3-month, and 12-month checkpoints. Four $99 at-home kits would add $396, for $1,595.88. Qualifying outside labs can be uploaded at no Maximus lab charge, and Quest panel prices vary, so your actual total can be lower or higher than that at-home-kit model.
- PrescribedRX: 4 × $387 three-month plans + $69 start test = $1,617. Its public pricing says there is no separate membership fee and shipping is free.
- Rugiet: $49 or $69 + (12 × $139) = $1,717 or $1,737, assuming the $139 floor applies across the year. Rugiet says plans start "as low as" $139, so confirm the price for your term.
- Hone Plus: $45 + $45 + 12 × ($135 + $60) = $2,430. With the $80 at-home confirmatory test: $2,465.
- Male Excel: $99 + 12 × $132 + 12 × $99 = $2,871, before shipping and any dose-related increase.
Our read: Henry Meds has the cleanest lowest closed first-year total from the current public pages. Maximus has the lower treatment rate and can beat Henry if qualifying outside or lower-cost Quest labs keep lab spending below about $348 for the year; using four $99 Maximus at-home kits puts it about $48 above Henry. PrescribedRX is close behind at a modeled $1,617 if you use its 3-month rate all year.
Ready to compare real options?
- Want one published price that already includes cream, follow-up labs, visits, supplies, and shipping? See Henry Meds TRT (we don't earn from this link).
- Want the lowest published treatment rate and flexibility to use qualifying outside labs? See Maximus testosterone cream (we don't earn from this link).
- Want a no-long-term-commitment partner option with a required confirmation test before TRT? See Hone's current testing and membership options (partner link).
Which cheap testosterone cream option fits you?
The cheapest program depends on three things: whether you'll commit to a plan, how much monitoring you want, and what state you live in. A plan that's cheapest on paper can cost more if you cancel early, need extra labs, or live in an excluded state. Find your row below, then check that option first.
The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.
Table 2: If this is you, start here
| If you… | Start with | The verified reason |
|---|---|---|
| Want the lowest published treatment rate and will commit to 6 months | Maximus | $99.99/mo on the 6-month plan; required labs are separate and can use $99 at-home kits, qualifying outside labs, or variable-price Quest panels |
| Want the lowest fully priced all-in year-one program we could close | Henry Meds | $129/mo covers provider visits, labs, cream if prescribed, supplies, shipping, and ongoing support |
| Want no plan commitment | Hone Plus | "Cancel anytime"; $2,430 year one; follow-up labs included |
| Want a refund path if cream doesn't help | Male Excel | 90-day membership-fee guarantee; no prepaid plan |
| Want an FDA-approved topical option and have a prescriber | Generic FDA-approved gel | GoodRx currently lists the common 88 g 1.62% pump at about $42.87 before clinician and lab costs; local prices vary |
| Want one flat price from a urologist-led program | Fountain | $150–$199 per 4 weeks, labs included |
| Live in AL, AK, AR, CT, HI, ID, LA, MN, MS, NH, or RI | Not Male Excel | Its current excluded-state list |
| Live in AL, AR, CT, DE, GA, HI, LA, MN, MO, NC, ND, OK, PA, RI, or SC | Not Rugiet | Its current TRT excluded-state list |
| Are trying to conceive now or soon | A urologist or reproductive urologist | The AUA says testosterone shouldn't be prescribed to men trying to conceive |
| Haven't had two early-morning testosterone tests | Testing first | Guidelines require confirmed low levels plus symptoms |
| Have young kids or a pregnant partner at home | Talk with a clinician before choosing any topical | Skin-to-skin transfer is a known risk |
Still torn between two rows? Answer a few questions in Find My TRT Path and get a personalized list of care routes and questions to ask. It's free, educational, and doesn't diagnose anything or promise a prescription.
Is any testosterone cream FDA-approved?
No. In the U.S., testosterone creams sold online are compounded, which means a pharmacy mixes them for individual prescriptions. They are not FDA-approved, and FDA does not conduct premarket review of compounded drugs for safety, effectiveness, or quality. FDA-approved testosterone for your skin comes as a gel. The AUA's testosterone guideline says clinicians should prescribe commercially manufactured testosterone rather than compounded testosterone when possible.
That's not a scare line. It's just the most important label on the box, and most price pages skip it.
What "FDA-approved" and "compounded" mean:
- FDA-approved: a finished drug product FDA reviewed before marketing, such as AndroGel or an approved generic testosterone gel. It comes with FDA-approved prescribing information.
- Compounded: made by a licensed pharmacy for a prescription. It can be customized. It is not FDA-approved, and FDA does not conduct premarket review of it for safety, effectiveness, or quality.
FDA's own testosterone page says approved forms include topical gel, a skin patch, a buccal system that sticks to your gum, and injections. Oral capsules are FDA-approved too. Cream isn't among them, and we found no FDA-approved testosterone cream.
Does compounding quality really vary? It can. In a Toronto study published in The Journal of Sexual Medicine in 2015, researchers sent the same 50 mg prescription to 10 compounding pharmacies. Only 50% of the first batches, and 30% of the second batches, landed within 20% of the prescribed strength. One product had almost no testosterone. The AndroGel and Testim samples used for comparison were accurate. That study is about Canadian pharmacies more than a decade ago. It doesn't tell you anything about a specific U.S. pharmacy today. It does tell you why the questions below matter.
Credit where it's due: Hone, Maximus, and Rugiet all say plainly on their own pages that their creams are compounded and not FDA-approved. Henry Meds says its compounded prescriptions come from 503A compounding pharmacies or 503B outsourcing facilities.
Who tells you which pharmacy makes your cream?
| Program | Names the dispensing pharmacy on its public pages? |
|---|---|
| Maximus | Says "licensed US compounding pharmacies"; no name |
| Henry Meds | Says 503A compounding pharmacies or 503B outsourcing facilities; no name |
| Rugiet | No name found |
| Fountain | No name found |
| Hone Health | No name found |
| Male Excel | No name found; its terms say it can't send your prescription to a different pharmacy |
| Taurus Meds (gel) | Names four partner pharmacies; doesn't say which one fills yours |
Ask before you pay: "Which pharmacy will make my cream, and is it licensed in my state?"
Can you buy testosterone cream over the counter? No. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance, a federal category for drugs with medical uses and some risk of misuse, so every legal version needs a prescription. The "testosterone booster" creams and pills on retail sites are supplements, not testosterone. If a website will ship you real testosterone with no labs and no clinician, close the tab.
Is generic testosterone gel cheaper than cream?
It can be. GoodRx currently lists the common 88 g pump of generic testosterone gel 1.62% at about $42.87 with a coupon, compared with an average retail price around $399 for that quantity. That pharmacy price does not include the clinician visits, diagnosis, repeat testing, follow-up monitoring, or insurance rules that a bundled telehealth program may include.
This is the part many cream comparisons leave out: an FDA-approved generic gel can have a much lower medication price than a compounded cream program, but you have to price the care around the prescription separately.
What the current GoodRx listing shows:
- Generic testosterone gel 1.62%, 88 g pump: about $42.87 for the commonly filled quantity on the current GoodRx page.
- GoodRx says local pharmacy and coupon prices vary, so check your ZIP code before treating that number as your price.
- The AndroGel 1.62% label confirms that the 88 g pump is an FDA-approved topical gel product and carries specific product instructions and secondary-exposure warnings.
What the gel route doesn't automatically include: diagnosis, repeat early-morning testing, follow-up labs, clinician visits, refill management, or insurance prior authorization. Those costs depend on where you receive care.
Cream and gel are not interchangeable labels. The creams compared above are compounded preparations. FDA-approved topical testosterone products include gels, and product-specific directions differ. Follow the prescription and labeling for the exact product you receive.
Can an online clinic send a gel prescription to your local pharmacy? Some telehealth practices can prescribe FDA-approved retail products when clinically appropriate and legally permitted, but the cream programs above do not all advertise that pathway. If an FDA-approved gel is your priority, ask your primary care clinician, urologist, endocrinologist, or a telehealth service that explicitly offers retail prescriptions, and check your insurer's formulary and prior-authorization rules.
Not sure whether the gel route or an online program fits you better? Use Find My TRT Path to map the care route and questions that fit your situation.
What does "from $60 a month" really include?
Usually just the medicine. Several online programs charge a required membership on top, and some bill every 4 or 8 weeks instead of monthly, which changes your yearly total. Before you compare two prices, check what each one covers. Here's what the headline numbers we saw actually mean.
Table 4: The teaser decoder
| The headline you'll see | Where | What it really covers | Real monthly cost for cream at the starting price |
|---|---|---|---|
| "Testosterone therapy starts at $99 per month" | Male Excel homepage | The required Medical Membership. Medication is billed separately. | $132 cream + $99 membership = $231, plus shipping |
| "Prices as low as $95 a month" | Male Excel pricing page | Its oral clomiphene product, which isn't testosterone | Cream is $132 + $99 |
| "From $60/mo + membership" | Hone cream page | The cream only | $60 + $135 (Plus) = $195 |
| "From $28/mo + membership" | Hone injection page | Hone's help center lists the same injection at $28 per vial, not per month | Not a cream price |
| "$99.99/mo" | Maximus cream page | The 6-month treatment rate, before required labs | $99.99 treatment rate; lab cost depends on $99 at-home, qualifying outside labs, or Quest panel |
| "As low as $139/month" | Rugiet | The lowest plan rate; plans are 3, 6, or 12 months | $139 or more |
| "$199 per 4 weeks" | Fountain Starter | Billing is every 4 weeks, not calendar-monthly | $199 every 4 weeks; 13 four-week periods equal 52 weeks |
| "$129 per month" | Henry Meds | Visits, labs, testosterone cream if prescribed, supplies, shipping, ongoing support | $129 |
Three billing traps to check at checkout:
- A membership on top of medication. Hone and Male Excel both work this way. That's not sneaky if you know it. It's a surprise if you don't.
- Billing that isn't monthly. Fountain bills every 4 weeks. Male Excel bills cream in 60-day blocks, so one month's charge is bigger than the next.
- "From" means the smallest dose on the best plan. Male Excel says a higher dose raises the medication price. Maximus says pricing varies by dose, plan, and state.
Where companies disagree with themselves. We found these conflicts on the same companies' own pages. Most look like out-of-date pages or leftover template text, not tricks. Either way, get the answer in writing before you pay.
| Company | One page says | Another page says |
|---|---|---|
| Hone Health | Plus membership is $135/month (help center, updated Sept. 10, 2026) | Premium is $155/month (homepage), and a May 2026 billing document lists $1,548 a year |
| Rugiet | Labs and consult cost $49 | A second topical TRT page says $69 |
| Rugiet | Describes the product as a cream you apply daily | The same page's safety note and FAQ call it testosterone gel |
| Male Excel | Cream works best on the scrotum or inner thigh | Its safety text says to apply only to shoulders, upper arms, or stomach under a T-shirt |
| Male Excel | 9 excluded states (March 2026) | 11 excluded states, adding Alabama and Minnesota (homepage, Sept. 7, 2026) |
| Maximus | Some marketing bundles pair testosterone with enclomiphene and use fertility-oriented language | Its cream FAQ states testosterone cream can suppress sperm production and fertility markers; no fertility preservation should be assumed |
How much money is at risk if testosterone cream doesn't work for you?
Roughly $390 to $925 by month three, depending on the program, and not all of it comes back. Plans that cost less per month often lock you in longer, while month-to-month plans cost more but let you stop. "Cancel anytime" usually means future charges stop, not that you get money back.
You won't know how your body responds to cream until you try it. So the smartest price question isn't only "what's the cheapest year?" It's "what can't I get back if this doesn't work?"
Table 5: Cash committed in roughly the first 90 days (published starting prices)
| Program | Cash out by about day 90 | What you can get back | Cancellation fine print |
|---|---|---|---|
| Henry Meds | $387 at $129/mo, if a month-to-month plan is available to you | Not stated | Cancel anytime, but multi-month plans may require paying the rest of the balance |
| Rugiet | At least $466 ($49 + 3 × $139); likely more if $139 requires a longer plan | Not stated on the pages we checked | Plans run 3, 6, or 12 months |
| Fountain Standard | $499 for 12 weeks | No general refund amount verified on the public TRT page we checked | Starter bills every 4 weeks; lower rates require longer prepayment |
| Hone Plus | $675 ($45 + $45 + 3 × $195) | A Hone billing document says the initial membership fee is refunded if its physician decides treatment isn't appropriate | "Cancel anytime" |
| Maximus | Cash exposure depends on plan choice and lab method; the 6-month treatment commitment is $599.94 before labs | No general refund promise verified on the cream page | The low rate requires the 6-month plan; required labs are billed separately unless qualifying outside labs are used |
| Male Excel | $924 ($99 start + two 60-day cream blocks at $264 + three $99 membership months), plus shipping | Up to $297 in membership fees under its 90-day guarantee, if you followed the plan and symptoms didn't improve | You get 48 hours after the renewal reminder before the next 60-day supply bills and ships |
Why Male Excel is still worth a look, even though it's the most expensive
Male Excel does not compete on price. At $2,871 for the first year, it's the most expensive cream we priced. If the lowest closed first-year bill is your top priority, Henry Meds is the cleaner fit; Maximus can be lower only if your lab route keeps its separate lab costs low enough.
But Male Excel doesn't ask you to prepay a plan, and it backs its fees with something none of the cheaper cream programs publish on the pages we checked, a results-based refund: follow your provider's plan for 90 days, and if your symptoms don't improve, it refunds three months of membership fees. The medication itself isn't refunded, so the most you'd get back is $297.
The membership also covers things other programs charge extra for or leave out: comprehensive blood testing every 6 months, a provider check-in every 60 days, and unlimited messaging and e-visits with the same provider. That guarantee lowers the amount of membership fees at risk if its conditions are met, but it does not refund the medication and does not make Male Excel the cheapest option.
A few things to know first. Male Excel's cream is applied twice a day, which is more than most. The plan is sold with thyroid medicine, so ask whether that part is optional and what lab result supports it. And Male Excel doesn't serve Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, or Rhode Island. If you live in one of those states, Hone Plus (covered in the next section) is the no-commitment option to check.
Does "no prepay, with a refund path" sound like what you want? Start Male Excel's free assessment and check availability in your state → (provider link)
A completed assessment isn't a prescription. A licensed provider decides whether treatment is appropriate, and Male Excel says DEA and state laws may require an in-person exam.
Cheapest testosterone cream providers, compared one by one
Every price below comes from the company's own website on September 17, 2026, and each program is listed from cheapest to most expensive. We separate what we verified from what the company says it provides. None of the program pages we checked says it bills health insurance for cream.
Maximus — the lowest cream price, if you'll commit
The punchline: the cheapest testosterone cream we found on paper, as long as you choose the 6-month plan.
- Price: $99.99/month (6-month plan), $149.99 (3-month), $199.99 (month-to-month). A limited-time promo takes the first month to $49.99 on the 6-month plan.
- Labs: required. Maximus's July 2026 lab policy lists baseline, 1-month, 3-month, and 12-month checkpoints. Its at-home kit is $99; qualifying outside labs can be uploaded at no Maximus lab charge, and Quest panel prices vary.
- What Maximus says is included: free priority shipping, licensed U.S. compounding pharmacies, board-certified doctors, and 24/7 messaging.
- What to ask: which lab route applies at each checkpoint. If all four routine first-year checkpoints use Maximus's $99 at-home kit, the modeled year-one total is $1,595.88, slightly above Henry Meds at $1,548.
- Worth knowing: Maximus says in its cream FAQ that the cream can reduce sperm production. Its cream white paper reports an average peak total testosterone of 1,321 ng/dL. Ask how your dose will be checked and when your blood should be drawn after you apply it.
- Skip it if: you won't commit to 6 months. The month-to-month price doubles.
Quick definitions: Total testosterone is all the testosterone in your blood. Free testosterone is the small part not attached to proteins. SHBG (sex hormone-binding globulin) is the main protein that holds onto testosterone. LH (luteinizing hormone) is the brain's signal telling the testes to make testosterone. PSA (prostate-specific antigen) is a prostate blood marker. Hematocrit is the share of your blood made of red blood cells.
Henry Meds — the cheapest all-in price
The punchline: $129 a month, and Henry says that covers your visits, labs, medication, supplies, and shipping.
- Price: compounded treatment "starting at $129 per month" (cream or injection). Its FDA-approved oral option, Kyzatrex, is $179/month and isn't available in California.
- Who's eligible: Henry's current public pages conflict on the age range: its main TRT page says men 35–65, while a current testosterone landing page says 24–70. Confirm current eligibility before paying; a clinician still decides whether treatment is appropriate.
- Timing: Henry says most people get medication 8 to 10 business days after the provider visit.
- What to ask: whether $129 requires a multi-month plan. Henry says there are no long-term contracts, but also that multi-month plans may require paying the rest of the balance if you cancel for non-medical reasons.
- Skip it if: you need the dispensing pharmacy named before you pay, or the current age/eligibility rules are not clear for you after intake.
PrescribedRX — close behind on price with simple plan math
The punchline: $139 month-to-month or $387 for 3 months ($129/month equivalent), plus a $69 TRT health assessment/blood test.
- Price: $139 monthly or $387 per 3-month plan for testosterone cream.
- Start testing: $69 for the current TRT health assessment and blood draw.
- What PrescribedRX says is included: no separate membership fee, free priority shipping, clinician review, ongoing support, and the same medication price at every dose.
- Access: the cream page says it is not available in California, Colorado, Iowa, Washington, or Wisconsin.
- Year-one model: four 3-month blocks ($1,548) plus the $69 start test = $1,617. Confirm whether any additional required monitoring labs create a separate charge.
- Skip it if: your state is excluded or you want a provider with a fully published follow-up-lab schedule before enrollment.
Rugiet — plan pricing with monitoring included
The punchline: from $139 a month, with lab monitoring included in the treatment price.
- Price: "as low as $139/month" on 3-, 6-, or 12-month plans. The start fee for labs plus a clinician video call is $49 on one Rugiet page and $69 on another.
- What Rugiet says is included: regular bloodwork and dose adjustments.
- Access: Rugiet requires a live audio-video visit before prescribing a controlled substance. Its TRT isn't available in Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, or South Carolina.
- What to ask: the exact monthly price for the plan length you choose, and which start fee applies.
- Skip it if: you want month-to-month billing. We didn't find one.
Fountain — one flat price, billed every 4 weeks
The punchline: labs, video visits, medication, and shipping in one number, from a program led by a board-certified urologist.
- Price: $199 per 4 weeks (Starter), $499 per 12 weeks (Standard, about $167 per 4 weeks), or $1,799 per 48 weeks (Pro, about $150 per 4 weeks). Topical cream is one of its treatment options.
- What Fountain says is included: 20-minute video visits, lab work at Labcorp or at home, and 24/7 text support. It also says you pay nothing if you don't qualify.
- What to ask: whether any lab fee applies (one independent review reported a one-time fee), whether your state is served, and how the prepaid plans renew.
- Skip it if: you want monthly billing. Four-week billing adds a 13th charge each year.
Hone Health (Plus) — the lowest no-commitment cream price
The punchline: the cream is only $60, and the $135 membership is where most of your money goes. But that membership includes follow-up labs and consults, and you can cancel anytime.
- Price: $60/month for compounded testosterone cream, plus the $135/month Plus membership. Year one: $2,430 to $2,465.
- Testing: a $45 at-home first test (8 markers, including total and free testosterone, SHBG, and LH). If you're heading toward testosterone therapy, Hone requires a second testosterone test plus hematocrit, PSA, and prolactin: $45 at a lab or $80 at home. That required second testosterone measurement aligns with the guideline need to confirm low testosterone on repeat early-morning testing; timing and fasting details still matter.
- What Hone says is included: a live video visit with a licensed Hone physician, follow-up labs and consults at no extra charge, customer support, and free shipping.
- What to ask: which membership applies to you. Hone currently lists Plus at $135/month for men receiving hormone treatment and Premium at $155/month for broader care; medication is billed separately.
- Credit: Hone labels its cream "compounded" and "not approved by the FDA" right on the product page.
- Skip it if: you want one fixed, all-in number with nothing to confirm.
Want no commitment and a required confirmation test before any prescription? Check Hone's current Plus pricing and first-test options → (partner link)
Male Excel — the most expensive, with the least lock-in
The punchline: the highest price we found, paired with month-to-month billing and a published membership-fee guarantee.
- Price: $99 start package (online consultation and at-home test kit), $132/month cream billed in 60-day supplies, and a required $99/month Medical Membership. Year one: $2,871 plus shipping.
- Testing: Male Excel's at-home finger-prick kit measures total testosterone, estradiol, DHEA-S, free T3, and PSA. Comprehensive blood testing every 6 months is included in the membership.
- What Male Excel says is included: unlimited messaging and e-visits, 60-day provider check-ins, and a dedicated provider.
- Credit: Male Excel publishes a detailed secondary-exposure warning, the Schedule III status, and a link to report side effects to the FDA.
- What to ask: how it confirms low testosterone. Its homepage says treatment is guided by symptoms, "not lab numbers alone," while major guidelines require repeat morning testing. Also ask where to apply the cream, since its pages disagree, and whether the thyroid medicine is optional. We couldn't verify its claim that its cream is "20x more powerful than commercial cream."
- Skip it if: price is your main filter, or you live in one of its 11 excluded states.
Defy Medical — pay as you go
Defy doesn't sell a subscription. You pay for visits, labs, and medication as you use them, and it offers creams and gels. Defy says its average male TRT patient pays under $175 a month in year one and about $125 after that. That's an average across all its TRT patients and formats, not a cream quote, so it isn't in our ranking.
What about Taurus Meds and other gel programs?
Taurus Meds lists a testosterone gel, not a cream, so it does not belong in the cream price ranking. Its current $49 offer page says doctor-prescribed medications are $149/month all-inclusive with no membership fees, while its Terms authorize a recurring $17.99 membership fee unless the purchase says otherwise. The same offer page also contains conflicting product language about compounded hormones, so the exact dispensed testosterone product must be confirmed before treating Taurus as an FDA-approved-gel alternative.
Here's what its current public documents support:
- Start step: $49 for the advertised blood test and consultation offer.
- Medication price: $149/month if approved, described on that offer as all-inclusive with no membership fees.
- Terms conflict: Taurus's Terms authorize a recurring $17.99 membership fee per billing period unless otherwise stated at purchase. The specific $149 offer may be an exception, but checkout needs to settle it.
- Named partners: Taurus's Terms name RedRock Pharmacy, Health Warehouse, Precision Compounding Pharmacy, and Triad Rx, plus OpenLoop Health as a partner MSO.
- Product-status conflict: public Taurus pages use both compounded-hormone language and broader "FDA-approved medications" language. That does not establish that the gel a specific patient receives is an FDA-approved finished drug.
Get these answers in writing before you pay:
- Is the exact testosterone gel I would receive an FDA-approved finished drug or a compounded preparation?
- Does the $17.99 membership fee in the Terms apply to this $149 TRT offer?
- Which pharmacy would fill my prescription?
- What are the cancellation and refund terms for this exact purchase?
Because those points are unresolved in the public documents, this page does not use Taurus as the answer to "cheapest testosterone cream online" and does not place a commercial CTA here.
Is testosterone cream cheaper than injections?
Cream is not consistently cheaper than injections. In the programs we could compare directly, Henry and Maximus publish the same starting program rate across cream and injection options, while Male Excel lists cream $12 a month above its injection medication price. The right comparison is still the complete care cost, not the formulation price alone.
Table 6: The cream premium at the same company
| Program | Injection price | Cream price | Extra per year for cream |
|---|---|---|---|
| Male Excel | $120/mo (+ $99 membership) | $132/mo (+ $99 membership) | +$144 |
| Maximus | "Traditional TRT" from $99.99/mo | $99.99/mo (6-month plan) | $0 at the entry price |
| Henry Meds | Compounded treatment from $129/mo | Same | $0 |
| Fountain | Same membership price for every format | Same | $0 |
| Hone Health | $28 per vial | $60 per month | Can't compare without your vial count |
When cream may fit a preference: you want a needle-free topical option and can follow the exact product-specific precautions your prescriber gives you.
When it may not be: you have young children or a pregnant partner at home, or you know you'll skip daily doses. Talk through the options with your clinician. Our TRT treatment options guide compares every format.
Do you need blood tests before you can get testosterone cream online?
Yes. The Endocrine Society says low testosterone should be diagnosed only when a man has symptoms plus consistently low, accurately measured testosterone on at least two early-morning, fasting blood tests. The AUA also calls for two early-morning tests on separate days and uses 300 ng/dL as a reasonable cutoff, not an automatic diagnosis. A cheap plan that skips the second test isn't a real bargain.
The medical name for low testosterone that needs treatment is hypogonadism. Here's what the two biggest U.S. guideline groups say about diagnosing it:
- Endocrine Society (statement dated July 16, 2026): symptoms alone don't prove low testosterone, because tiredness, low libido, and low mood have many causes. Clinicians should rule out reversible causes first, such as obesity or medicines like steroids and opioids. For men with excess weight (BMI over 27) and no other cause found, weight loss is typically the first treatment. The Society also urges labs certified by the CDC's hormone standardization program, because the same blood sample can read "low" at one lab and "normal" at another.
- AUA guideline: diagnosis needs both low total testosterone and symptoms or signs, measured twice, early in the morning, on separate occasions.
Table 7: How each program tests before prescribing (as each company describes it)
| Program | First test | Second confirming test? |
|---|---|---|
| Hone Plus | $45 at-home kit, 8 markers | Yes, required for TRT: second testosterone plus hematocrit, PSA, prolactin ($45 lab / $80 home) |
| Maximus | $99.99 at-home kit, 10 markers; or upload recent labs | Not stated on the cream page |
| Henry Meds | Included; lab results must meet its clinical requirements | Not stated |
| Rugiet | $49 or $69 blood test plus a video review | Not stated |
| Fountain | Labcorp or at-home collection, 14+ markers | Not stated |
| Male Excel | At-home finger-prick kit, 5 markers | Not stated; testing every 6 months is included |
| Taurus Meds | LabCorp or Quest draw (at-home kit if you live 50+ miles away) | Not stated |
Ask every program: "Will you confirm a low result with a second early-morning test before prescribing?"
What good monitoring should still include, even on a cheap plan:
- Hematocrit. Testosterone can raise red blood cells.
- PSA, when appropriate for your age and history.
- Blood pressure. FDA added blood-pressure information to testosterone labels in 2025.
- Testosterone levels on treatment. The AUA recommends checking every 6 to 12 months.
Why this matters: in the large TRAVERSE trials, testosterone didn't meaningfully raise heart attack or stroke risk over 1 to 4 years. The Endocrine Society also notes those trials showed about a 50% relative increase in blood clots in the lungs and more bone fractures in treated men, and that long-term safety isn't settled. That's why monitoring matters.
Not sure your numbers or symptoms point to TRT yet? Get your personalized action plan with Find My TRT Path. It's free and educational. It maps your testing, fertility plans, and state to the right next step and the questions to ask. It doesn't diagnose low testosterone or decide whether you qualify.
Who should skip cheap testosterone cream online?
Anyone whose situation needs in-person or specialist care first. That includes men trying to conceive, men with prostate or breast cancer history, men with a recent heart attack or stroke, and men with unusual symptoms that could point to a pituitary problem. A low monthly price doesn't make an online program the right starting point.
| If this is you | Start here instead |
|---|---|
| Trying to conceive now or soon | A urologist or reproductive urologist |
| Prostate cancer or breast cancer, now or suspected | Your oncologist or urologist |
| Heart attack or stroke in the last 3 to 6 months | Your cardiologist or primary care doctor. The AUA advises waiting 3 to 6 months after a cardiovascular event before starting. |
| High red blood cell count or hematocrit | Primary care or hematology |
| Untreated or suspected severe sleep apnea | Primary care or a sleep specialist before choosing a TRT program |
| Very low testosterone with headaches, vision changes, or a lost sense of smell | Endocrinology, to check the pituitary gland |
| Under 18, female, or seeking testosterone for bodybuilding or performance | This page doesn't apply. It covers adult men with a medical need, and those situations need a different framework. |
Can testosterone cream rub off on your partner or kids?
Yes. Testosterone on your skin can transfer to other people through touch, and children who touched a treated area have developed early puberty signs. The AUA tells clinicians to discuss transfer risk with every man using testosterone gels or creams. Washing your hands, letting the area dry, and keeping it covered lower the risk.
What the evidence shows:
- Children: product safety information lists early puberty signs in young children after contact with a treated area, including genital enlargement, early pubic hair, and aggressive behavior.
- Partners: in a study described in the AndroGel 1.62% label, women rubbed the treated shoulders and arms of men using the highest dose, 2 hours after application. The women's average testosterone rose about 280% from their starting levels.
- Pregnancy: product safety information says pregnant women should avoid contact with the application site.
Transfer precautions are product-specific. FDA-approved AndroGel labeling tells users to wash hands after application, cover the treated site after the gel dries, and wash the application site before expected skin-to-skin contact. Compounded creams can have different directions, so follow the written instructions for the exact product you receive.
Where should cream go? Follow your prescriber's written instructions. Products disagree:
- The FDA-approved AndroGel 1.62% label says shoulders and upper arms only.
- Maximus and Hone list sites that include the inner thighs and scrotum.
- Male Excel's cream page says scrotum or inner thigh, while its safety text says shoulders, upper arms, or stomach.
If your instructions conflict, ask your prescriber to settle it in writing.
Will testosterone cream affect your fertility?
It can. Testosterone from outside the body can lower or stop sperm production, which doctors call spermatogenesis. The AUA strongly recommends that testosterone not be prescribed to men who are currently trying to conceive. If a baby is in your near-term plans, see a urologist before starting any testosterone, cream included.
- Recovery isn't guaranteed on a schedule. The AUA notes that in contraceptive studies, about two-thirds of men had sperm return within 6 months of stopping testosterone, but 10% took until the second year.
- The companies say it too. Maximus's cream FAQ says the cream can reduce sperm production and fertility markers. Male Excel's safety text says its cream may lower sperm count in large doses.
- Cream is not a fertility-friendly form of testosterone. Any testosterone you apply can have this effect.
Some clinicians use other medicines, such as clomiphene, enclomiphene, or hCG, for men with low testosterone who want to protect fertility. Those are not testosterone replacement therapy. They have different approval status and evidence, and none comes with a fertility guarantee. Clomiphene's FDA approval is for women, so use in men is off-label, and there is no FDA-approved enclomiphene product. If fertility is a priority, discuss these options with a urologist or reproductive urologist rather than assuming any medication will preserve fertility.
Can you legally get testosterone cream online in your state?
In most states, yes, for now. Federal rules let DEA-registered clinicians prescribe controlled drugs like testosterone by telemedicine without an in-person visit through December 31, 2026, as long as the rule's conditions are met. States can be stricter, and each company leaves out certain states. Check your state before you pay for anything.
The federal picture:
- The DEA and HHS extended the telemedicine prescribing flexibilities a fourth time, through December 31, 2026.
- What happens after December 31, 2026 depends on any new federal rule or further extension. Re-check DEA/HHS guidance before relying on today's telemedicine pathway.
The company picture (verified September 17, 2026):
- Male Excel doesn't prescribe hormone treatment in Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, or Rhode Island. That's up from nine states listed in March 2026. It also says DEA and state laws may require an in-person exam.
- Rugiet doesn't offer TRT in Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, or South Carolina, and requires a live video visit.
- Maximus, Henry Meds, Fountain, Hone, and Taurus didn't publish a full state list on the pages we checked. Their intake process confirms it.
Ask before you enroll: "If federal telehealth rules change after December 31, 2026, what happens to my refills?" Our online vs. local TRT guide covers when in-person care makes more sense.
Does insurance or an HSA help pay for testosterone cream?
The online cream programs in this comparison are priced as cash-pay care, so do not assume your health plan will reimburse their listed program price. Some providers say certain services may be HSA/FSA eligible, but eligibility depends on the exact expense and your plan; a bundled membership is not automatically qualified in full.
- Male Excel says it does not accept insurance and says patients may be able to use FSA, HSA, or HRA funds for reimbursement.
- Henry Meds markets its TRT program as no-insurance-required cash pay.
- Fountain says no insurance is involved in its TRT program.
- PrescribedRX says its testosterone plans are cash pay and it does not bill insurance.
- HSA/FSA: keep itemized receipts and check your plan administrator or tax adviser before assuming a particular membership, lab, or medication charge is eligible.
If insurance coverage matters, an FDA-approved retail testosterone product prescribed through an in-network clinician may be a better route to investigate. Coverage, prior authorization, pharmacy network rules, and copays vary by plan.
For broader insurance questions, see our full TRT cost guide.
Your testosterone cream cost worksheet
The fastest way to compare two cream programs is to fill in the same seven lines for each one. Any line a company won't answer is a cost you can't see yet, not a cost of zero. Use the worksheet below, or plug your quotes into the calculator on our TRT cost guide.
| Line | Program A | Program B |
|---|---|---|
| Start fee (first labs + consult) | $ | $ |
| Second confirming test | $ | $ |
| Monthly cream price × 12 | $ | $ |
| Monthly membership × 12 | $ | $ |
| Extra labs in year one | $ | $ |
| Shipping × shipments | $ | $ |
| Year-one total | $ | $ |
| Money you can't get back by month 3 | $ | $ |
Ten questions to ask before you pay (the first two matter most):
- What will I pay in month 13, and on what date?
- What can I get refunded, and under what conditions?
- Is my cream compounded or FDA-approved, and which pharmacy makes it?
- Is there a membership fee on top of the medication?
- How often will I be billed, and how much notice do I need to cancel?
- Will you confirm low testosterone with a second early-morning test before prescribing?
- Which labs are included, how often, and what does an extra one cost?
- Where exactly should I apply the cream, and how do I protect my family?
- Is anything bundled with my testosterone, like thyroid medicine, and can I decline it?
- If federal telehealth rules change, what happens to my prescription?
Copy and send this before you enroll:
Please send me a written, itemized estimate for my first 12 months of testosterone cream. Include the starting labs and consult, any confirming test, the cream price at my likely dose, any membership fee, all follow-up labs and visits, shipping, billing dates, minimum commitment, cancellation notice, and refund terms. Please also tell me whether the cream is compounded or FDA-approved, which pharmacy will fill it, and whether my state is served.
How we priced every testosterone cream
We read each company's own price pages, help-center articles, and terms on September 17, 2026, then turned every billing schedule into a 12-month total at the published starting price. We listed anything we couldn't confirm instead of guessing. We follow our documented method, How We Review TRT Providers.
Our pricing rules:
- "Year one" means 12 months at the published starting price, plus every required fee we could find.
- Four-week and 12-week billing is converted to 52 weeks at that plan's own rate.
- Limited-time promotions are shown but left out of the ranking.
- Required labs are added when the company publishes a price. When it doesn't, we say so.
- We only rank programs a new patient can buy today, and only topical testosterone.
How we label what we tell you:
- Verified: we read it on the company's current page, a government source, a guideline, or official prescribing information.
- Provider-stated: the company says it, but we didn't test the service.
- Unresolved: two of a company's own pages disagree, or a cost isn't published. We show both.
- Our call: "best for" statements are editorial judgments built from the verified facts. They aren't medical advice or endorsements.
What we did not do: we didn't enroll, pay, receive medication, contact support as a patient, inspect a pharmacy, or provide clinical care. This is a price and policy comparison, not a hands-on review. We didn't use testimonials or star ratings to judge price, safety, or results.
Sources we read directly (September 16–17, 2026):
- Maximus: testosterone cream page and Lab Testing: Costs and Policies
- Henry Meds: TRT page
- Rugiet: topical TRT page and second topical TRT page
- Fountain: FountainTRT page
- Hone Health: homepage, cream page, injection page, Plus membership article, and men's HRT payment breakdown
- Male Excel: homepage, pricing page, cream page, and terms
- Taurus Meds: homepage, $49 testing page, terms, and refund policy
- PrescribedRX: testosterone cream page and pricing page
- Defy Medical: TRT cost article
- GoodRx: testosterone prices (current listing checked September 17, 2026)
- FDA: Testosterone Information and 2025 class-wide labeling changes
- AndroGel 1.62% prescribing information
- AUA Testosterone Deficiency Guideline
- Endocrine Society Statement on Testosterone Replacement Therapy, July 16, 2026
- Grober et al., "Accuracy of Testosterone Concentrations in Compounded Testosterone Products," The Journal of Sexual Medicine, 2015
- Federal Register: Fourth Temporary Extension of COVID-19 Telemedicine Flexibilities and HHS announcement
- Alliance for Connected Care, DEA prescribing tracker
What changed in 2026
- January 1: The DEA's fourth telemedicine extension took effect. It runs through December 31, 2026.
- June 2026: FDA asked makers to update testosterone labels, including removing the limitation about age-related low testosterone and revising prostate information. FDA's page still says approved testosterone products are for men with low testosterone tied to a medical condition, and individual labels may update on different timelines. Testosterone remains a Schedule III controlled substance.
- July 16: The Endocrine Society restated its diagnosis standards, including two early-morning fasting tests.
- August 25: A permanent DEA telemedicine rule entered White House review, according to the Alliance for Connected Care.
- September: Male Excel currently lists 11 excluded states, and Hone's current help center lists Plus at $135/month with a required TRT confirmatory test path.
Update log: September 17, 2026 — first published. We re-check prices monthly and the telemedicine rule before January 1, 2027. See our Editorial Standards, Corrections and Provider Updates, and Privacy Policy.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest testosterone cream online?
On September 17, 2026, Maximus had the lowest published treatment rate at $99.99 a month on a 6-month plan, but required labs are separate. Henry Meds had the lowest fully priced year-one program we could close from public sources at $1,548. If all four routine Maximus checkpoints use its $99 at-home kit, the modeled Maximus total is about $1,595.88; qualifying outside or lower-cost Quest labs can reduce that.
How much does testosterone cream cost per month?
At the programs we priced, the published treatment or medication-plus-membership amount ranges from $99.99 a month at Maximus's 6-month treatment rate to $231 a month for Male Excel's starting cream plus membership. Labs, shipping, plan terms, and dose changes can change the real total.
Can you buy testosterone cream over the counter?
No. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance and needs a valid prescription. "Testosterone booster" creams and pills are supplements that don't contain testosterone.
Is there an FDA-approved testosterone cream?
No. FDA-approved topical testosterone comes as a gel. The testosterone creams compared on this page are compounded. FDA does not approve compounded drugs or conduct premarket review of them for safety, effectiveness, or quality.
Is generic testosterone gel cheaper than cream?
Often. GoodRx currently lists the common 88 g 1.62% generic gel pump at about $42.87, but local coupon prices vary. That medication price does not include the prescriber, diagnosis, repeat testing, or follow-up monitoring.
Is Hone's $60 testosterone cream the full monthly cost?
No. The cream is $60, and Hone's Plus membership adds $135 a month, for $195 total. Hone's first test and confirming test add $90 to $125 more.
Is Male Excel's testosterone cream $99 a month?
No. $99 is Male Excel's required monthly membership. The cream starts at $132 a month on top of that, plus a $99 start package and shipping.
Is testosterone cream cheaper than injections?
Not consistently. Henry and Maximus publish the same starting program rate across cream and injection options, while Male Excel lists its cream medication $12 a month above its injection medication price. Compare the complete care cost, not only the formulation line item.
Do I need blood tests to get testosterone cream online?
Yes. Major guidelines call for symptoms plus low testosterone on at least two early-morning tests. Ask each program whether it confirms a low result with a second test before prescribing.
Can testosterone cream affect my wife or kids?
Yes. It can transfer through skin contact. Wash your hands right after applying, let the area dry, keep it covered, and follow your prescriber's written instructions.
Does testosterone cream lower sperm count?
It can. The AUA says testosterone shouldn't be prescribed to men who are currently trying to conceive. Talk with a urologist first if a pregnancy is in your plans.
Can I cancel an online testosterone cream plan anytime?
You can usually stop future charges, but refunds and notice periods vary. Taurus asks for 72 hours before billing, and Henry says multi-month plans may require paying the remaining balance.
Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.