Skip to main content
RESOURCE

Taurus Meds vs AlphaMD: Which Online TRT Provider Fits You?

Taurus Meds vs AlphaMD comes down to published cost, testing, and commitment clarity. AlphaMD's lowest published plan models to $1,225 for the first year including its advertised $49 consult, while Taurus's current $49 campaign plus $149/month models to $1,837 if that rate continues for 12 months. Taurus includes a LabCorp or Quest blood draw up front; AlphaMD publishes clearer plan terms.

Educational resource
Evidence Cited

Last updated: September 25, 2026

By TRT Provider Guide Editorial Team · Last verified: September 25, 2026 · Editorial research; not medically reviewed

Taurus Meds vs AlphaMD comes down to published cost, testing, and commitment clarity. AlphaMD's lowest published plan models to $1,225 for the first year including its advertised $49 consult, while Taurus's current $49 campaign plus $149/month models to $1,837 if that rate continues for 12 months. Taurus includes a LabCorp or Quest blood draw up front; AlphaMD publishes clearer plan terms.

That's the short answer. The longer one matters, because neither number is a guaranteed all-in bill. Taurus's live TRT offer says "$149/mo - all inclusive" and "No membership fees," while Taurus's Terms separately describe a recurring $17.99 healthcare-member fee unless the purchase terms say otherwise. AlphaMD publishes 3-, 6-, and 12-month commitments, but separately billed testing and add-ons can still change what you spend.

Pick AlphaMD if you:

  • Want the lower published base-cost model and can accept a 3-, 6-, or 12-month commitment
  • Are active military, a veteran, or a first responder; AlphaMD publishes a 20% discount
  • Want hCG discussed as a possible add-on, while understanding it does not guarantee fertility

Pick Taurus Meds if you:

  • Want your first blood draw done through LabCorp or Quest as part of the $49 entry offer
  • Prefer a current offer that advertises $149/month and want to confirm the billing term, cancellation timing, and fee exception before paying
  • Want the names of Taurus's medical-services partner and listed pharmacy partners before you start

Pick neither yet if you:

  • Haven't had low testosterone evaluated with symptoms or signs plus appropriate repeat early-morning testing
  • Are trying to conceive now or in the near future
  • Need an insurance-first path or a specific FDA-approved testosterone product confirmed before enrollment

TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.

How we make money: TRT Provider Guide may earn a commission if you use certain Taurus Meds, Male Excel, or Hone Health links on this site. AlphaMD does not pay us. Commercial relationships do not change the facts below or our obligation to show material drawbacks.

Taurus Meds vs AlphaMD at a glance

AlphaMD publishes the clearer price-and-commitment structure. Taurus publishes a $49 blood-test-and-consult offer followed by $149/month if prescribed, but its live campaign does not clearly state a fixed minimum term and its general Terms contain a separate $17.99 fee clause. Those details should be settled in writing before you pay.

Decision point Taurus Meds AlphaMD
To get started $49 blood test and clinician consult on current TRT campaign $49 initial consultation in AlphaMD's published cost guide; homepage says a free baseline hormone kit follows enrollment
Published TRT price $149/month on current TRT campaign $98/month with 12-month commitment; $109/month with 6-month commitment; $129/month with 3-month commitment
First-year published-price model $1,837 if $149 applies for 12 treatment months and no separate fee applies $1,225 at $98 × 12 + $49 consult, before separately billed follow-up testing or add-ons
Military / first responder pricing No current TRT discount found in the checked public offer 20% off published plans for active military, veterans, and first responders
Minimum commitment Not clearly stated on the checked $49 TRT campaign; confirm the selected plan and paid term at checkout 3 months at the shortest published tier
First lab LabCorp or Quest blood draw; home collection kit if more than 50 miles from either, according to Taurus Free home hormone testing kit after enrollment, according to AlphaMD
Follow-up labs Current offer says Taurus tracks biomarkers over time, but a complete required schedule and cost are not published Separately priced; AlphaMD's cost guide lists $49 for additional testing and says local-lab orders may be used
Extra fee in terms $17.99 "per billing period" unless otherwise stated at purchase; current TRT campaign separately says no membership fees No comparable separate healthcare-member fee found in checked Terms
Treatment formats / related hormone care Current Taurus pages advertise testosterone cypionate, testosterone gel, and enclomiphene; exact prescribed product must be confirmed Testosterone cypionate or enanthate discussed; enclomiphene and hCG are separately offered
Pharmacies named publicly Terms list RedRock Pharmacy, Health Warehouse, Precision Compounding Pharmacy, and Triad Rx Terms refer to partner pharmacies; exact pharmacy for an individual patient must be confirmed
Refund / cancellation Subscription can be canceled; cancellation takes effect at the end of the paid term. Blood-work orders and shipped medication have refund restrictions. Current campaign separately advertises a 90-day guarantee with exclusions Membership fees canceled within 72 hours can be refunded if no services were requested or rendered; clinical fees and medication have separate restrictions
Insurance Taurus promotes a cash-price model and says many treatments/testing are not easily covered; it does not promise insurance billing AlphaMD is a cash-pay program; its published material says some outside lab orders may be run through insurance
Trustpilot snapshot 4.3/5 from 884 reviews when checked; reviews mix Taurus product lines 4.5/5 from 51 reviews when checked; small review pool

Provider prices, offers, and review counts can change. The numbers above are provider-stated or platform-displayed facts checked September 25, 2026; they are not patient-specific quotes.

The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.

→ Map the care route that fits your situation with Find My TRT Path
It's educational, not a diagnosis. It doesn't confirm low testosterone, determine medical eligibility, or guarantee a prescription.

What we actually verified

Verification item What we checked
Checked on September 25, 2026
AlphaMD sources checked Homepage/pricing cards, TRT page, hCG page, published cost guide, Q&A pages, and Terms of Use dated June 30, 2026
Taurus sources checked Homepage, current $49 TRT campaign, current product pages, Terms of Use, Subscription Services Cancellation and Refund Policy dated February 28, 2026, and a dated company-issued pricing release used only as historical context
Medical/regulatory sources checked FDA testosterone and compounding pages, DEA controlled-substance schedule, HHS/DEA telemedicine extension, Endocrine Society testosterone guideline, AUA testosterone-deficiency guideline, and AUA/ASRM male-infertility guideline
Verified from provider pages Published prices, AlphaMD plan lengths, the Taurus $17.99 general fee clause, lab-offer wording, named Taurus partners, published cancellation/refund language, and current Trustpilot profile snapshots
Provider-stated but not independently tested "All inclusive" pricing, free testing kits, shipping, clinical-support descriptions, treatment timelines, and Taurus's 90-day marketing guarantee
Customer-experience signals Trustpilot ratings and complaint/praise patterns are labeled as individual experiences, not proof of policy, safety, effectiveness, or typical results
What we could not confirm for an individual patient Complete state availability, assigned clinician, exact dispensing pharmacy, exact testosterone product and FDA/compounded status, complete baseline and repeat-test requirements, complete follow-up-lab cost, and whether Taurus's $17.99 fee applies to the TRT offer you select
What we did not do Enroll, pay either provider, complete a medical consultation, receive medication, or contact support. This is a public-document comparison, not a hands-on review

We compare providers using our published method, How We Review TRT Providers.


Which is cheaper, Taurus Meds or AlphaMD?

AlphaMD has the lower published-price model in the offers we could verify. Its 12-month tier plus the advertised $49 consultation models to $1,225 for year one; Taurus's current $49 campaign plus 12 months at $149 models to $1,837, a $612 difference. Taurus's number is conditional because its campaign does not fully settle the billing term, repeat-lab costs, or the separate fee clause in its general Terms.

Here's the math. These are transparent models, not guaranteed invoices.

Plan / model Published monthly amount First 12 months
AlphaMD, 12-month commitment $98 $1,225 including $49 consult
AlphaMD, 6-month commitment $109 $1,357 including $49 consult
AlphaMD, 3-month commitment $129 $1,597 including $49 consult
AlphaMD, military/veteran/first-responder annual tier $78.40 $989.80 including $49 consult
Taurus current campaign model $149 $1,837 including $49 blood test + consult
Taurus, if the $17.99 fee applies every month +$17.99 add $215.88

Assumes the displayed prices remain in effect for the modeled period, no individualized price changes, and no add-ons. The Taurus fee row is a scenario, not a confirmed charge.

The gap in plain numbers:

  • AlphaMD annual model vs Taurus current campaign model: $612
  • AlphaMD 6-month-tier model vs Taurus campaign model: $480
  • AlphaMD 3-month-tier model vs Taurus campaign model: $240
  • AlphaMD military/veteran/first-responder annual model vs Taurus campaign model: $847.20

AlphaMD's own annual-plan savings math also checks: ($129 − $98) × 12 = $372.

What each price covers

AlphaMD says its plan price includes medication, injection supplies, shipping, and ongoing provider access, while testing beyond the included baseline kit can be separately priced. Taurus says its $149/month TRT price is "all inclusive" with no membership fees, but its general Terms contain a separate fee clause and allow applicable shipping charges. That conflict is exactly why the checkout terms matter.

AlphaMD says medication and supplies are included and shipped directly to you. Its pricing page says prices can change with goals or dosage. Its published cost guide lists the initial consultation at $49 and additional testing at $49 when ordered through AlphaMD.

Taurus says the $49 entry offer includes blood work and a clinician consultation, then advertises medication at "$149/mo - all inclusive" with "No membership fees." Taurus's general Terms separately say users may owe a $17.99 recurring healthcare-member fee per billing period unless otherwise stated at purchase.

We did not test either bill.

The lab bill AlphaMD's price leaves out

AlphaMD's baseline home kit is advertised as free after enrollment, but its public cost material prices additional testing separately. That means the $1,225 annual model should be treated as a base subtotal, not an all-in medical-care total.

AlphaMD's published cost guide lists additional testing at $49 when a patient orders a new test and says local labs may also be used. It does not publish one universal follow-up schedule for every patient.

For a simple scenario, two additional $49 tests would make the annual-plan model $1,323. That remains $514 below the Taurus $1,837 campaign-rate model, but the comparison still does not establish the complete bill for either patient.

Veterans, active military, and first responders

AlphaMD publishes a 20% discount on its TRT plans for active military, veterans, and first responders. On the $98 annual tier, that is $78.40 per month before the separate initial consultation and any separately billed testing or add-ons.

AlphaMD's military page says qualifying military members can verify status with documents such as a military-designated driver's license, a Department of Defense ID, or DD-214.

See AlphaMD's current plan prices (direct research link; TRT Provider Guide does not earn from AlphaMD).

Add-ons that change the math

Add-ons can erase part of the headline-price gap. The biggest published example is AlphaMD's hCG, which it lists at $300 per 10,000 IU and says typically lasts 6 to 20 weeks depending on the clinician-directed regimen. Taurus's unresolved $17.99 fee clause is a different kind of cost risk: it may or may not apply to the exact TRT offer you buy.

  • AlphaMD hCG: $300 per 10,000 IU. AlphaMD says supply duration varies and typically lasts 6 to 20 weeks.
  • Additional AlphaMD testing: its cost guide lists $49 when a new test is ordered through AlphaMD.
  • Taurus $17.99 general membership-fee clause: the Terms say it applies per billing period unless otherwise stated at purchase; the current TRT campaign says no membership fees. Confirm which document controls your order.

Run your own numbers

Use the on-page cost calculator to plug in the plan you were actually quoted, your lab charges, add-ons, and any recurring fee shown at checkout. If a charge is unknown, leave it unknown instead of treating it as $0.

The calculator should show:

  • Known first-year subtotal
  • Conditional charges
  • Unresolved charges
  • Effective monthly cost
  • Minimum paid term
  • Questions still unanswered before payment

If AlphaMD is cheaper, why would anyone pick Taurus Meds?

Because Taurus gives the shopper a different starting path: a LabCorp or Quest blood draw is built into the $49 entry offer, Taurus publicly names its medical-services partner and four pharmacy partners, and its current campaign advertises $149/month without stating a 3-, 6-, or 12-month minimum beside that price. If those things matter more than AlphaMD's clearer commitment pricing, Taurus can stay on the shortlist—but its fee and cancellation terms deserve written confirmation.

Here's the honest version.

Taurus Meds does not have the lower published-price model. If price is your top priority and you can accept AlphaMD's commitment, AlphaMD is the stronger price fit. Taurus earns consideration because its current entry offer starts with an in-person lab draw and gives you more public partner names to verify before you buy.

A blood draw at a real lab, before you commit to medication

Taurus's $49 offer includes blood work through LabCorp or Quest plus a clinician consultation. If you live more than 50 miles from either lab network, Taurus says it will send an at-home collection kit at no extra charge.

AlphaMD's standard onboarding flow says it sends a home hormone kit after enrollment and schedules a follow-up with a provider about two weeks later.

A lab-center draw is not automatically a complete diagnostic workup. What matters medically is whether the right tests are obtained at the right time and whether low testosterone is confirmed appropriately before treatment.

The commitment difference is clear at AlphaMD and less clear at Taurus

AlphaMD publishes fixed 3-, 6-, and 12-month commitments. Taurus's current $49 campaign advertises $149/month but does not put a fixed minimum term beside that price; Taurus's Terms say cancellation takes effect at the end of the current paid term.

A Taurus-issued May 2026 promotional release described $149/month with a six-month commitment and $199 month to month. We are keeping that only as historical context because the live campaign we checked does not display that two-tier structure.

That means the useful question is not "Does Taurus have no contract?" It is:

What is the exact paid term on the offer in front of me today, and what remains owed if I cancel?

You can see who's behind the service

Taurus's Terms name OpenLoop Health as a partner MSO and list four partner pharmacies. AlphaMD's Terms refer to partner pharmacies but do not establish the exact pharmacy that would fill your own prescription.

Taurus lists:

  • RedRock Pharmacy
  • Health Warehouse
  • Precision Compounding Pharmacy
  • Triad Rx

That does not tell you which pharmacy fills your order, whether the exact pharmacy is licensed in your state, or whether your final testosterone product is FDA-approved or compounded. But it gives you names to investigate.

More treatment options are advertised, but the product cards need caution

Taurus currently markets testosterone cypionate, testosterone gel, and enclomiphene, and it also promotes sermorelin. Some Taurus marketing cards contain copied wording that describes non-injection products as weekly injections, so the page itself is not a reliable specification sheet for the exact product you would receive.

One important distinction:

  • Testosterone products are TRT when prescribed as testosterone replacement.
  • Enclomiphene is not testosterone and is not FDA-approved for any use.
  • Sermorelin is not testosterone therapy.

Want the LabCorp/Quest starting path Taurus advertises?
→ Review Taurus's current $49 blood-test and consultation offer
Confirm the current treatment price, paid term, $17.99 fee exception, required follow-up testing, and cancellation terms before entering a card.


How do labs work at Taurus Meds vs AlphaMD?

Taurus starts its checked $49 offer with a LabCorp or Quest blood draw, while AlphaMD's standard flow advertises a home hormone kit after enrollment. Neither public program description we checked clearly commits to two separate early-morning testosterone measurements before a first TRT prescription, so ask how diagnostic confirmation is handled before you pay.

Testing question Taurus Meds AlphaMD
First collection LabCorp or Quest draw; home kit if more than 50 miles away, according to Taurus Home hormone kit in standard onboarding flow
Exact markers on first test Taurus describes a blood panel and some product pages say it tracks eight biomarkers, but the complete diagnostic panel is not consistently itemized Public pages discuss total/free testosterone and other markers in different testing contexts; exact panel can vary
Second early-morning testosterone before treatment Not clearly promised in the checked program page Not clearly promised in the checked program page
Follow-up tests Taurus says biomarkers are tracked over time; complete required schedule/cost not published in checked offer Separately priced testing available; public material does not establish one universal schedule
Timing Taurus says testing-to-medication takes 1–2 weeks on average AlphaMD says a provider follow-up is scheduled about two weeks after the baseline kit

A few terms, quickly. Total testosterone is the testosterone measured in your blood, including bound and unbound hormone. Free testosterone is the small unbound fraction. Hematocrit is the percentage of blood volume made up of red blood cells. PSA means prostate-specific antigen.

What the guidelines expect before anyone starts TRT

Low testosterone should not be diagnosed from symptoms, a quiz, or one number. The Endocrine Society recommends symptoms or signs consistent with testosterone deficiency plus unequivocally and consistently low testosterone, confirmed by repeating a morning fasting total-testosterone measurement. The AUA likewise calls for two separate early-morning total-testosterone measurements.

The AUA uses 300 ng/dL as a reasonable cut-off to support diagnosis, but not as a diagnosis by itself. Symptoms, repeat testing, clinical context, assay quality, and evaluation of the cause still matter.

Neither Taurus nor AlphaMD's checked public program page clearly says how it applies that repeat-test standard in every new case.

Before paying, ask:

  1. Will you require two separate early-morning testosterone measurements if I am being newly evaluated?
  2. What is included in the first panel?
  3. Which tests are repeated after treatment begins?
  4. Which tests cost extra?

What customers say about each lab path

These are individual experiences, not proof of how either company always works.

AlphaMD's Trustpilot pool is small. One 2026 reviewer reported having to travel about 45 minutes for labs and upload the results himself. Taurus's Trustpilot reviews cover several product lines, not only TRT, so complaints about shipping, billing, or products should not be treated as proof of a TRT policy.

The useful takeaway is not the anecdote. It is that lab logistics can vary enough that the exact testing path should be confirmed before you commit.


Can you cancel? Commitments and refunds compared

AlphaMD openly publishes 3-, 6-, and 12-month commitments. Taurus's current TRT campaign does not state a fixed minimum beside the $149 price, but Taurus's Terms say cancellation takes effect at the end of the current paid term. Refunds are limited at both companies, so the safest comparison is the money already committed—not just the monthly number.

Step Taurus Meds AlphaMD
Entry charge $49 blood test + consult on checked campaign $49 consultation in published cost guide
If clinician says treatment is not appropriate Taurus campaign says a patient who is not eligible will be refunded; refund policy separately says medical disqualification can trigger a refund, while blood-work Terms say lab orders are nonrefundable Terms say eligibility-denial refunds follow the program policy disclosed at checkout and may exclude nonrefundable clinical review time
Commitment / paid term Current campaign does not state a fixed minimum beside $149; Terms say billing cycle depends on selected plan 3, 6, or 12 months on published pricing cards
Ordinary cancellation Cancellation takes effect at end of current paid term; refund policy asks for notice at least 72 hours before billing Terms provide a 72-hour membership-fee refund only if no services were requested or rendered; exact early-exit consequences of longer commitments should be confirmed at checkout
Shipped medication Terms say shipped medication sales are final Prescription medications are not returnable; limited replacement/refund exceptions apply to problems such as wrong, damaged, or undelivered medication
Blood work Terms say no refunds once the blood-work order is submitted Clinical/testing refund rules depend on what was ordered and whether services were rendered
Marketing guarantee Current TRT campaign advertises a 90-day guarantee minus lab and pharmacy fees; detailed public conditions are not clearly reconciled with the refund policy No comparable TRT results guarantee found in checked Terms

Our read: AlphaMD gives you more price certainty but explicitly asks for a longer commitment. Taurus asks you to resolve more fine print before you can know your true exposure.

Before you pay Taurus, get these things in writing

  1. Does the $17.99 "per billing period" healthcare-member fee apply to this exact TRT order, or is the campaign's "No membership fees" statement the purchase-time exception?
  2. What is the paid term for the $149/month offer?
  3. What amount, exactly, is refunded if a clinician disqualifies you after the lab order has been placed?
  4. What are the written eligibility rules and deductions for the 90-day Taurus Advantage Guarantee?
  5. Which follow-up labs are required and which are included?

Before you pay AlphaMD, get these things in writing

  1. What exact amount is charged today for the plan you select?
  2. What happens financially if you end a 6- or 12-month commitment early?
  3. How often will your clinician require follow-up labs and what will those tests cost?
  4. Which pharmacy and testosterone product would be used if treatment is prescribed?

What customers say about cancelling

Taurus's recent Trustpilot profile includes individual complaints about delayed shipments, unexpected charges, and cancellation/refund problems alongside many positive reviews. Those reports cannot establish Taurus's policy; its written Terms and refund policy control the factual comparison.

AlphaMD's smaller Trustpilot pool is mostly positive but also includes complaints about communication and lab logistics. The smaller sample makes broad comparisons especially fragile.

Want Taurus because the current campaign fits your preferred starting path?
→ Check Taurus's current TRT offer and written terms
Save the checkout terms that apply to your order.


What testosterone will you actually get?

Neither brand name tells you whether your individual prescription will be an FDA-approved finished testosterone product or a compounded preparation. Taurus's TRT campaign explicitly describes compounded hormones while its homepage separately advertises "FDA-approved medications." AlphaMD discusses testosterone cypionate or enanthate and its Terms allow partner pharmacies, including compounding where permitted. Ask for the exact drug, manufacturer or compounder, dosage form, and dispensing pharmacy before you pay.

FDA-approved vs compounded, in plain words

An FDA-approved drug has gone through FDA review for safety, effectiveness, and manufacturing quality for its approved use.

A compounded drug is not FDA-approved. FDA says compounded drugs are not reviewed before marketing for safety, effectiveness, or quality. Compounding can meet an important patient need when an FDA-approved product is not medically appropriate, but a compounded product should not be described as an FDA-approved generic or assumed equivalent to an approved product.

Taurus's $49 campaign calls its hormones "compounded in The US" and elsewhere Taurus's homepage advertises "FDA-approved medications." Those statements may refer to different products. They are not interchangeable.

AlphaMD says most men on its TRT pathway use testosterone cypionate or enanthate, but the ingredient name alone does not establish whether the exact dispensed product is an FDA-approved finished drug or a compounded preparation.

Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance in the United States. It requires a valid prescription from an authorized clinician. Neither provider can guarantee a prescription from a questionnaire or marketing intake alone.

Treatment options side by side

Option Taurus Meds AlphaMD
Testosterone injections Testosterone cypionate advertised Testosterone cypionate or enanthate discussed
Testosterone topical Gel advertised by Taurus Topical options appear in AlphaMD public Q&A/material; confirm current availability
Enclomiphene Advertised; not testosterone; not FDA-approved Offered separately; not testosterone; not FDA-approved
hCG Not established as a standard add-on on the checked Taurus TRT campaign $300 per 10,000 IU, provider-stated; requires clinician approval
Aromatase inhibitor Some current Taurus product pages bundle anastrozole with specific offers; do not assume it is appropriate or required AlphaMD says an estrogen-lowering medication may be included when prescribed
Sermorelin Advertised separately; not testosterone Separate peptide offerings are distinct from TRT

What if you want kids someday?

Exogenous testosterone can reduce sperm production, so fertility plans belong before the provider decision. The Endocrine Society recommends against starting testosterone in men planning fertility in the near term, and the AUA/ASRM guideline says clinicians should not prescribe exogenous testosterone therapy to men interested in current or future fertility.

Here's why. Testosterone taken from outside the body can suppress the brain signals that stimulate the testes. That can reduce or stop sperm production. Recovery after stopping can occur, but the AUA/ASRM guideline says the time course can be prolonged and may take months or, rarely, years.

AlphaMD's hCG add-on

AlphaMD currently publishes hCG at $300 per 10,000 IU for patients whose clinician considers it appropriate. AlphaMD markets hCG for testicular-function and fertility-related goals, but that is a provider claim—not a guarantee that fertility will be preserved.

hCG is a prescription hormone. The exact product, pharmacy, clinical reason, and monitoring plan matter.

One trust flag from AlphaMD's public hCG content: it includes a weight-management dosing section. FDA states that no HCG products are FDA-approved for weight loss and that HCG has not been demonstrated to be effective therapy for obesity.

Enclomiphene isn't "natural TRT"

Both companies advertise enclomiphene. It is not testosterone and it is not FDA-approved for any use in the United States. It may be discussed in male hormone care, but it should not be called TRT or sold as a guaranteed fertility-preserving substitute.

Who should skip both for now

If you are trying to conceive now or planning family building in the near term, a urologist or reproductive urologist is a stronger first care route than choosing a general online TRT subscription.

A clinician may consider semen testing and other fertility-focused evaluation based on your situation. This page cannot determine that for you.

Fertility changes the whole plan.
→ Build a fertility-aware next step with Find My TRT Path


Are Taurus Meds and AlphaMD legitimate operating telehealth services?

Both maintain active U.S.-facing telehealth websites, publish terms, and describe care through licensed clinicians. Taurus publicly names OpenLoop Health as its partner MSO and lists four pharmacy partners; AlphaMD publishes its own Terms and provider-led telehealth model. That establishes operating businesses and disclosed care relationships—it does not certify every clinician, pharmacy, prescription, or marketing claim.

What checks out about AlphaMD

  • AlphaMD publishes current TRT pricing tiers and commitment lengths.
  • It publishes Terms of Use under AlphaMD, Inc.
  • It describes care by independent licensed providers.
  • Its public material states that prescriptions can be fulfilled through partner pharmacies.
  • Its Trustpilot profile was active with 51 reviews when checked.

We did not independently audit every AlphaMD clinician's license or every partner pharmacy license for this comparison.

What checks out about Taurus Meds

  • Taurus Medical, Inc. is named in its Terms.
  • Its Terms name OpenLoop Health, Inc. as partner MSO.
  • Its Terms list RedRock Pharmacy, Health Warehouse, Precision Compounding Pharmacy, and Triad Rx.
  • The current TRT campaign names LabCorp and Quest for the initial blood draw.
  • Its Trustpilot profile was active with 884 reviews when checked.

We did not independently establish which clinician or pharmacy would serve a specific patient.

Where each company's own pages don't line up

This is the most useful evidence block on the page. These are not automatically signs of wrongdoing; some may reflect different offers, different dates, or bad copy. But the money and medication conflicts are important enough to settle before payment.

Company One public statement Another public statement Why it matters
Taurus TRT campaign: "No membership fees" Terms: $17.99 healthcare-member fee per billing period unless otherwise stated at purchase Your real recurring charge depends on which terms apply
Taurus Campaign says medically ineligible patients will be refunded Terms say blood-work orders are nonrefundable once submitted; refund policy separately describes medical-disqualification refunds The amount at risk after testing is not cleanly stated
Taurus Homepage: free testosterone test TRT campaign: $49 blood test + consult These can be separate offers; confirm which one you are buying
Taurus Homepage: "FDA-approved medications" TRT campaign: hormones are compounded in the U.S. Approved and compounded products are different regulatory categories
Taurus Campaign advertises a 90-day results guarantee Refund policy says results/effectiveness are not guaranteed and ordinary cancellation does not create a refund Get the guarantee conditions and dollar amount in writing
Taurus Several product cards use the same weekly-injection caption Enclomiphene is oral and gel is topical Do not use the marketing card as a product specification
AlphaMD Homepage advertises a free baseline hormone kit after enrollment Published cost guide lists a $49 initial consultation The kit can be free while onboarding is not
AlphaMD Public materials describe ongoing monitoring Older cost material says regular testing is not universally mandated Ask what your clinician will require and what it costs
AlphaMD hCG page includes weight-management dosing language FDA says HCG is not approved for weight loss Do not treat that marketing use as an FDA-approved indication

What customers say

On September 25, 2026, Taurus's Trustpilot profile displayed 4.3/5 from 884 reviews. The review pool covers multiple Taurus products, so it is not a pure TRT dataset. Recent reviews included both easy-onboarding praise and complaints about shipping, communication, charges, and refunds.

AlphaMD's Trustpilot profile displayed 4.5/5 from 51 reviews. The smaller pool was mostly positive, with some complaints about communication and lab logistics.

Those reviews are customer-experience signals only. They do not prove safety, clinical quality, treatment effectiveness, current policy, or typical results.

If Taurus's LabCorp/Quest starting path and named partners matter to you, and you're willing to settle the fee and refund questions first:
→ Review Taurus's current $49 TRT offer


Can Taurus Meds and AlphaMD prescribe TRT entirely online in 2026?

Federal telemedicine flexibilities currently allow qualifying DEA-registered practitioners to prescribe Schedule II–V controlled substances by telemedicine without a prior in-person medical evaluation when the federal conditions are met. The current temporary extension runs through December 31, 2026. State law, practitioner licensing, legitimate-medical-purpose rules, and other federal requirements still apply.

Testosterone is Schedule III, so the controlled-substance rules matter.

The federal extension does not mean:

  • every online clinic can prescribe in every state;
  • every patient can receive testosterone without an in-person visit;
  • a questionnaire guarantees approval;
  • the temporary 2026 rule will remain unchanged after December 31.

Why this matters for a late-2026 commitment

AlphaMD's lowest published price is tied to a 12-month commitment. If you enroll late in 2026, much of that paid term extends beyond the current federal temporary rule. Taurus's paid term is less clear on the live campaign, so that must also be confirmed before payment.

Do not assume a 2027 outcome. The useful question is:

"If federal or state telemedicine prescribing rules change during my paid term, what happens to my visits, prescription access, and any money I've already paid?"

Ask both providers for the answer that applies to your state and selected plan.


Taurus Meds vs AlphaMD: which should you pick?

Choose AlphaMD when the lower published base-cost model and clearer commitment pricing matter most and you are comfortable with the selected term. Keep Taurus on the shortlist when its LabCorp/Quest starting path and public partner disclosures matter more—but confirm its fee, paid term, repeat testing, and refund rules first. Choose neither as the first step when fertility, insurance, diagnostic uncertainty, or a complex medical history changes the care route.

If you... Better starting fit Why
Want the lower published first-year base model and can commit AlphaMD $1,225 annual-tier model vs $1,837 Taurus campaign-rate model
Are active military, a veteran, or a first responder AlphaMD Published 20% discount
Want your starting blood draw at LabCorp or Quest Taurus Meds Included in checked $49 campaign
Want the provider's general partner pharmacies named publicly Taurus Meds Terms list four partners
Want hCG discussed as an add-on AlphaMD, after a fertility-aware clinical discussion Published hCG offering
Need insurance-first care Neither as the default cash-pay route Compare an in-network clinician and covered pharmacy product
Are trying to conceive now or soon Neither first Start with urology/reproductive urology
Have not had appropriate repeat early-morning testing Neither yet Get a proper clinical evaluation first
Need a specific FDA-approved testosterone product Neither until the exact product is confirmed Provider brand alone does not establish product approval status

AlphaMD is the better fit if:

  • You want the lower published base-price model
  • You are comfortable with a 3-, 6-, or 12-month commitment
  • The 20% military/veteran/first-responder discount applies to you
  • You are willing to pay separately for testing your clinician requires
  • You have confirmed your state, pharmacy, exact medication, and early-exit terms

AlphaMD is a weaker fit if:

  • You want no fixed commitment
  • You strongly prefer a LabCorp/Quest draw for the first collection
  • You want the exact dispensing pharmacy and product known before enrollment
  • You are comparing only the $98 headline without accounting for testing or add-ons

Taurus Meds is the better fit if:

  • You want the checked $49 LabCorp/Quest testing-and-consult path
  • You value having the company's general medical-services and pharmacy partners named publicly
  • The $149 campaign offer is competitive for you after you receive the full written billing terms
  • You want to ask about testosterone gel or other advertised non-injection options

Taurus Meds is a weaker fit if:

  • You need every recurring fee resolved from public pages alone
  • Price is your main decision factor
  • You need a fixed, clearly published commitment and refund schedule before intake
  • You need a specific FDA-approved product confirmed before enrollment

Does one of these sound like your situation? Take the next step that matches the evidence:

→ Taurus Meds: review the current $49 lab and consultation offer
→ AlphaMD: see current plan prices (direct research link; no commission)


When neither Taurus Meds nor AlphaMD is the right fit

Neither provider should be forced into a decision it cannot solve. Insurance, a specific FDA-approved product, near-term fertility, complicated medical risk, or a preference for a different care model can make another route more appropriate.

You want insurance to pay

If insurance is central, start by comparing an in-network primary care clinician, urologist, or endocrinologist and a covered FDA-approved testosterone product when medically appropriate.

Coverage depends on your diagnosis, plan, network, pharmacy benefit, deductible, copay or coinsurance, and any prior-authorization rules. Do not assume cash-pay telehealth is cheaper or more expensive without checking your own benefits.

Find My TRT Path can help you identify the questions to take to an in-network clinician.

You want a different online-care model

Male Excel and Hone Health are relevant alternatives when their current treatment formats, clinician-access model, state availability, and complete cost fit your priorities better. Because their pricing and state lists change, use the dedicated comparison pages rather than freezing another provider's volatile numbers into this Taurus-vs-AlphaMD page.

Comparing Taurus with someone else? See Taurus Meds vs Henry Meds, Taurus Meds vs Hone Health, or our full Taurus Meds cost breakdown.


When to skip online TRT as the first step

Some situations deserve specialist or in-person evaluation before an online TRT subscription. The Endocrine Society recommends against starting testosterone in men with several important conditions, including elevated hematocrit, untreated severe obstructive sleep apnea, uncontrolled heart failure, myocardial infarction or stroke within the previous six months, certain prostate-risk findings, breast or prostate cancer, thrombophilia, or near-term fertility plans.

Signs of pituitary or testicular disease also need cause-focused evaluation rather than a symptom quiz.

FDA requires class-wide testosterone labeling to address increased blood pressure. If high blood pressure or another major medical issue is part of your situation, discuss it with an appropriate clinician before treatment.

Chest pain, trouble breathing, fainting, or another possible emergency needs urgent or emergency care—not a provider-comparison tool.


Questions to get answered in writing before you pay

Every question below closes a gap that public pages did not resolve for an individual patient. Save the answers and the checkout terms that apply to your order.

Ask both:

  1. Which exact medication and dosage form would be prescribed if clinically appropriate?
  2. Is the exact dispensed product FDA-approved or compounded?
  3. Which pharmacy would fill my prescription?
  4. If I am being newly evaluated, how do you confirm low testosterone before prescribing?
  5. Which markers are included in my starting labs?
  6. Which follow-up labs are required, when are they required, and what do they cost?
  7. Do you currently serve my state for this exact TRT program?
  8. Who is the clinician assigned to my state?
  9. What happens to my care and paid term if federal or state telemedicine rules change?
  10. How do I obtain my records if I leave?

Ask AlphaMD:

  1. What amount will be charged today for the 3-, 6-, or 12-month plan?
  2. What happens financially if I end the commitment early?
  3. Is the baseline kit free after the $49 consultation on my current offer?
  4. Which hCG product and pharmacy would be used if my clinician prescribes it?

Ask Taurus Meds:

  1. Does the $17.99 healthcare-member fee in the Terms apply to this TRT offer?
  2. What is the paid term for the $149/month campaign price?
  3. If a clinician disqualifies me after my lab order is submitted, exactly how much of the $49 is refunded?
  4. What are the written conditions and exclusions of the 90-day guarantee?
  5. Does the "No membership fees" statement remain true after the introductory period?
  6. What does "The Excel Advantage HRT program" on the campaign page refer to?

Taurus Meds vs AlphaMD: frequently asked questions

Is AlphaMD cheaper than Taurus Meds?

AlphaMD has the lower published-price model in the offers we verified. Its 12-month tier plus the advertised $49 consultation models to $1,225 for the first year. Taurus's $49 campaign plus 12 months at $149 models to $1,837 if that price applies for all 12 treatment months and no separate fee applies. That is a $612 base-model difference, not a guaranteed patient-specific savings amount.

How much does AlphaMD TRT cost?

AlphaMD currently publishes $98/month with a 12-month commitment, $109/month with a 6-month commitment, or $129/month with a 3-month commitment. Its published cost guide lists a $49 initial consultation. Medication and supplies are advertised as included; separately ordered testing and optional add-ons can cost extra.

How much does Taurus Meds TRT cost?

Taurus's checked TRT campaign advertises $49 for blood work and a consultation, then $149/month if medication is prescribed. Twelve treatment months at that rate plus the $49 start is $1,837. That is a model, not a guaranteed all-in bill, because the campaign does not fully settle the paid term, repeat-testing costs, or the separate $17.99 fee clause in Taurus's general Terms.

Does Taurus Meds charge a membership fee?

Its current TRT campaign says "No membership fees." Its general Terms separately state a recurring $17.99 healthcare-member fee per billing period unless otherwise stated at purchase. The exception could make the TRT campaign the controlling offer, but the public documents do not prove that for your checkout. Confirm it in writing.

Does AlphaMD include labs?

AlphaMD's standard onboarding flow advertises a free baseline hormone testing kit after enrollment. Its public cost guide says additional testing is available for $49 when ordered through AlphaMD and that local labs may also be used. Your clinician's required schedule can vary.

Does Taurus Meds include labs?

The checked $49 Taurus offer includes a LabCorp or Quest blood draw and clinician consultation. Taurus says it tracks biomarkers over time, but the complete required repeat-testing schedule and all future testing costs are not clearly itemized in the checked offer.

Do Taurus Meds or AlphaMD take insurance?

Both market primarily cash-pay online care. Taurus says many of its treatments and testing are not easily covered by traditional insurance and promotes cash pricing. AlphaMD's public material says outside lab orders may be run through insurance. Neither provider's marketing should be treated as a promise that your health plan will reimburse the TRT program itself.

Does AlphaMD have a veteran discount?

Yes. AlphaMD publishes a 20% discount for active military, veterans, and first responders. Its $98 annual-tier monthly equivalent becomes $78.40 before the separate initial consultation and any extra testing or add-ons.

Is there a contract at either company?

AlphaMD clearly publishes 3-, 6-, and 12-month commitments. Taurus's current $49 campaign does not state a fixed minimum beside the $149/month price, while Taurus's Terms say cancellation takes effect at the end of the current paid term. Confirm the exact Taurus paid term before purchase.

Does AlphaMD prescribe hCG?

AlphaMD currently offers hCG to patients whose clinician considers it appropriate and publishes a typical price of $300 per 10,000 IU. It is not a fertility guarantee. If you are trying to conceive now or soon, a fertility-focused clinician is the better first step.

Is compounded testosterone the same as FDA-approved testosterone?

No. FDA-approved drugs have gone through FDA premarket review for safety, effectiveness, and quality. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and do not go through that same premarket review. Ask for the exact product, manufacturer or compounder, and pharmacy rather than assuming status from the word "testosterone cypionate."

Is enclomiphene the same as TRT?

No. Enclomiphene is not testosterone and is not FDA-approved for any use in the United States. It should not be described as TRT or as a guaranteed fertility-preserving alternative.

Can I switch from Taurus Meds to AlphaMD, or the other way?

Both providers publish pathways for people who have prior hormone care, but a transfer does not guarantee that the new clinician will continue the same medication or treatment plan. Expect the new provider to review your history, records, labs, state, and current prescription before deciding what is appropriate.

Which states do Taurus Meds and AlphaMD serve?

We did not locate a complete, current, program-specific TRT state list from either provider that was strong enough to publish as an exhaustive table. Confirm your state before paying and ask for the assigned clinician's name and licensing state.

How long until my first shipment?

Taurus says the process from testing to medication delivery averages 1–2 weeks. AlphaMD says its standard baseline-kit flow schedules a provider follow-up about two weeks after the kit, with medication shipped after a treatment plan is finalized if prescribed. These are provider-stated timelines, not guarantees.

Can TRT be prescribed online after 2026?

The current DEA/HHS temporary telemedicine flexibility runs through December 31, 2026. A final post-2026 framework was not something we could verify as in force on September 25, 2026. If your paid term crosses into 2027, ask the provider what happens if federal or state rules change.


Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool. It's educational and non-diagnostic. It helps you identify the care route and questions that fit your situation before you pay anyone.

This page is educational information, not medical advice. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance in the United States and requires a valid prescription from an authorized clinician. No provider guarantees approval or a prescription. If you have urgent symptoms, get urgent or emergency care.

Keep reading: Taurus Meds cost · Taurus Meds vs Henry Meds · Taurus Meds vs Hone Health · How We Review TRT Providers · Find My TRT Path


Sources

Checked September 25, 2026, unless noted.

AlphaMD

Taurus Meds

Medical and regulatory

Ready to explore your options?

Our tool helps you narrow down the care route that fits your situation based on testing, budget, and fertility goals.

Find My TRT Path

Not sure which TRT route fits you?

Find My TRT Path