Last updated: September 25, 2026
By TRT Provider Guide · Last verified: September 2026 · Editorial research using public sources; not clinically reviewed · Educational information, not medical advice
Male Excel vs Viking Alternative Medicine comes down to one question: do you want the main starting costs published before you start, or do you want a lower provider-stated monthly range with no membership? Male Excel publishes enough current price components to calculate testosterone from about $219–$231 a month, or $2,727–$2,871 in year one, before shipping. Viking says most patients pay $100–$150 a month with no membership fee — but lab work costs extra, and your exact treatment cost depends on your plan.
Then there's the part that surprised us. Viking has published at least three pages comparing itself to Male Excel. None of them describes Male Excel the way Male Excel's own website does. We checked every claim, and we'll show you what we found.
What changes the answer: if you hope to have a child in the next year or two, if low testosterone hasn't been confirmed with repeat morning blood tests, or if you need insurance to pay, neither clinic may be your best first step. Those cases are covered below.
Male Excel is probably the better fit if you:
- Want to calculate your year-one cost before you give anyone your health history
- Like the idea of routine blood tests and unlimited provider messages being folded into one monthly fee
- Want support you can reach seven days a week
- Prefer a care plan that doesn't use estrogen blockers
Viking is probably the better fit if you:
- Want the lower provider-stated monthly range and are comfortable getting your exact plan price after review
- Don't want to pay a separate membership fee
- Want hCG available alongside testosterone, or want an FDA-approved oral testosterone (Kyzatrex)
- Already have recent lab work, or prefer a standard blood draw at Quest or Labcorp
Pick neither yet if you: haven't had appropriately repeated early-morning testosterone testing, plan to conceive soon, or need insurance to cover your care.
Our money disclosure: We earn a commission if you join Male Excel through links on this page. Viking Alternative Medicine does not pay us, and its own website says it doesn't pay for placement on comparison sites. That didn't change the math below — every number links to its source so you can check it yourself. How affiliate links work.
TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.
Male Excel vs Viking Alternative Medicine at a glance
Male Excel charges a required $99 monthly membership plus medication, which adds up to about $219–$231 a month for testosterone at its advertised starting rates. Viking charges no membership; it bills consultations, labs, and medication as part of your treatment plan, and says most patients pay $100–$150 a month before lab costs. Both are cash-pay online clinics.
| Decision point | Male Excel | Viking Alternative Medicine |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly cost for testosterone | $219 (injection) or $231 (cream), plus shipping | "Most patients pay $100–$150," labs extra; exact price by quote |
| Year-one cost | $2,727 (injection) or $2,871 (cream), plus shipping | 12× the published typical range is $1,200–$1,800, but this is not a complete year-one quote; labs are extra and exact treatment cost varies |
| Separate membership fee? | Yes — $99/month, required | No membership, no enrollment fee |
| How you start | $99: at-home hormone test + provider consultation | Free first consultation with a licensed provider; you pay for your own lab panel |
| Required first labs | At-home test: testosterone, estradiol, DHEA-S, Free T3, PSA | In-lab panel: total testosterone, estradiol, CBC, CMP, lipids, PSA, TSH |
| Can you use recent outside labs? | Not stated on pages we read | Yes, if under 6 months old |
| Testosterone formats | Daily low-dose injections; compounded cream | Injectable, oral (including FDA-approved Kyzatrex), topical |
| hCG available? | Not on its treatment menu | Yes |
| Estrogen blockers? | Doesn't use them | Yes, when prescribed |
| Named physicians | Two, full names and titles | Medical director named; treating PAs and NPs listed by first name |
| Support hours | 7 days, 7am–9pm ET | Mon–Fri, 9am–5pm CST |
| Insurance | Not accepted; HSA/FSA/HRA may apply | Not billed; HSA/FSA may apply; receipts for out-of-network claims |
| Cancellation | "Cancel anytime"; sales generally final | No cancellation fee; refund terms not published |
| States | All except AL, AK, AR, CT, HI, ID, LA, MN, MS, NH, RI | Markets care as nationwide; a current state-by-state TRT exception list was not found on the public pages checked |
Sources and dates for every row are in each section below and in "What we actually verified." Male Excel prices checked September 5 and 25, 2026; Viking pages checked September 25, 2026.
If the first row settled it for you — you want a price you can check before you commit — you're in the right place.
See Male Excel's current pricing → Go to Male Excel The free symptom assessment costs nothing. The $99 at-home test and consultation come after, only if you choose them. A clinician decides whether treatment is right for you.
The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.
Your 30-second self-check
Answer these three honestly. They'll point you to the right section.
- Have you had two separate early-morning blood tests showing low testosterone? If no, read "Which clinic tests you more carefully?" first.
- Do you hope to have a child in the next one to two years? If yes, go straight to "What happens to fertility?"
- Would you rather know your full price before talking to anyone, or pay the smallest monthly bill even if you have to ask for it? Your answer is basically your verdict. Keep reading to confirm it.
Is Male Excel or Viking Alternative Medicine cheaper?
Viking publishes the lower typical monthly figure: it says most patients pay $100–$150 a month with no membership fee. Male Excel's advertised starting cost for testosterone is $219–$231 a month. But the numbers aren't equal comparisons, because Viking's figure leaves out labs and Male Excel's membership includes routine blood testing.
What Male Excel costs, line by line
Male Excel charges in three pieces. We added them up so you don't have to.
| What you pay | Injection plan | Cream plan |
|---|---|---|
| To start: at-home hormone test + provider consultation | $99 once | $99 once |
| Medical Membership (required) | $99/month | $99/month |
| Medication, advertised starting rate | from $120/month | from $132/month |
| Monthly total | $219 | $231 |
| Year one, including the $99 start | $2,727 | $2,871 |
| Shipping | Extra; amount not published | Extra; amount not published |
The math: $99 + ($99 × 12) + ($120 × 12) = $2,727. Cream: $99 + $1,188 + $1,584 = $2,871. Sources: Male Excel pricing and TRT page. These are advertised starting rates, not a personal quote.
Three things worth knowing:
- Medication bills every other month, as a 60-day supply. So your first treatment charge at these rates would be about $339 for injections ($99 membership + $240 medication), not $219. That's normal for this model. It just helps to expect it.
- The medication prices include thyroid tablets. Male Excel bundles thyroid medicine into its testosterone plans. Ask whether it's optional for you and what the plan costs without it.
- You may see $30, $79, or $95 quoted elsewhere. Those numbers appear on older Male Excel web pages or refer to a non-testosterone pill. We traced every one in our Male Excel cost breakdown. Trust your own checkout screen, and screenshot it.
What Viking costs — in Viking's own words
Here's where it gets tricky. Viking's current pricing page says most patients pay $100–$150 a month and that "it's not possible to quote one flat number." That's fair. Treatment plans vary.
Viking has published older comparison and cost content with different price descriptions, and at least one older cost URL now redirects to the current pricing page. For a publishable comparison, the current pricing page controls: Viking says most patients pay $100–$150 a month, exact cost depends on labs and the treatment plan, and its men's HRT page says lab costs are not included. Viking pricing · Viking men's HRT.
That is why we do not use an older Viking blog number as today's price.
What Viking does confirm clearly: no monthly membership, no enrollment fee, no annual renewal, and no cancellation fee. You pay for provider consultations, lab work, and medication as part of your plan. Your first consultation with a licensed provider is free. Viking membership FAQ · Free consultation FAQ.
The fair year-one comparison
| Cost line | Male Excel (injection) | Viking (at its published typical range) |
|---|---|---|
| First visit | $99 (includes at-home test) | $0 |
| Starting lab panel | Included in the $99 | You pay; price not published |
| Treatment, 12 months | $2,628 (membership + medication) | $1,200–$1,800 |
| Follow-up blood tests | Comprehensive blood testing every six months included in membership (provider-stated) | Frequency and price depend on the plan; not fully itemized on the current public pricing page |
| Follow-up provider visits | Unlimited e-visits in membership (provider-stated) | Follow-up schedule is explained with the treatment plan; public pricing is not fully itemized |
| Publicly calculable year-one amount | $2,727 + shipping | $1,200–$1,800 from 12× the typical monthly range, but not a complete patient quote; add labs and any plan-specific charges |
TRT Provider Guide calculations from each company's published figures, September 2026. Neither column is a personal quote.
Viking's blank lines aren't zeros. They're questions. Its published typical monthly range is lower, but the public pages do not support a complete year-one comparison for an individual patient. Get Viking's written number and compare it to the Male Excel column above.
The honest trade-off
Male Excel does not have the lower published monthly figure, and it charges a membership fee that Viking doesn't. If avoiding a separate membership is your top priority, Viking is the closer fit — get the full price in writing before you compare.
Male Excel says its $99 membership covers comprehensive blood testing every six months, unlimited provider e-visits, structured 60-day assessments, and ongoing support. Viking uses a different model with no separate membership and individualized treatment pricing. Male Excel's published components therefore make its advertised starting year-one amount easier to calculate before treatment begins.
If published price structure matters more to you than avoiding a membership fee, Male Excel's model is easier to budget from the public site.
If knowing your number up front is what you want, start with Male Excel's free assessment and see the pricing on your own screen. → Visit Male Excel Completing the assessment doesn't guarantee a prescription. A licensed clinician makes that call.
Leaning toward Viking on price? Jump to the questions to ask Viking before you pay.
How do Male Excel and Viking compare on labs before prescribing?
Viking publicly requires a broader baseline panel, including a complete blood count (CBC), CMP, lipids, PSA, TSH, estradiol, and total testosterone. Male Excel's published $99 at-home starter panel lists testosterone, estradiol, DHEA-S, Free T3, and PSA. Neither public starter-panel description says it includes the repeat morning total-testosterone measurement or LH/FSH testing used in guideline-based diagnostic workups.
What medical guidelines say confirms low testosterone
A few terms first, in plain words:
- Total testosterone is all the testosterone in your blood.
- Hematocrit is the share of your blood made of red blood cells. Testosterone can push it up, and too high raises the risk of problems. It's measured in a complete blood count (CBC).
- PSA (prostate-specific antigen) is a blood marker doctors use to watch the prostate.
- LH and FSH are signals from the brain to the testicles. They help show why testosterone is low.
The Endocrine Society says a diagnosis needs symptoms plus consistently low testosterone, confirmed with at least two early-morning, fasting tests using an accurate lab method. One number — even one below 300 ng/dL — isn't a diagnosis on its own. The guideline also calls for checking hematocrit before treatment, again at three to six months, and then yearly. Endocrine Society guideline · 2026 statement · monitoring guidance.
What each clinic actually tests
| Test | Why guidelines care | Male Excel starter test | Viking required panel |
|---|---|---|---|
| Morning testosterone, repeated | Needed to confirm a diagnosis | Testosterone measured; repeat test not described | Total testosterone; repeat test not described |
| LH / FSH | Helps find the cause | Not listed | Not listed |
| CBC / hematocrit | Safety check before and during treatment | Not listed | Required |
| PSA | Prostate baseline | Listed | Listed |
| Estradiol | Commonly checked by TRT clinics | Listed | Listed |
| Thyroid | Not part of the core diagnosis | Free T3 | TSH |
| Liver, kidney, cholesterol | General safety | Not listed | CMP and lipid panel required |
| Where the blood is drawn | — | At home, by kit | Quest or Labcorp, or your own labs under 6 months old |
Sources: Male Excel test kit, Male Excel TRT page, Viking lab services (updated Aug 23, 2026). Checked September 2026.
Our reading: Viking discloses more baseline safety markers on its public lab page, especially the CBC. Male Excel says its membership includes comprehensive blood testing every six months, but its public starter-test page does not list a CBC. That does not prove Male Excel never orders one. Ask: "Is a blood count with hematocrit included in my starting or follow-up labs — and if not, where do I get it and what does it cost?"
One more thing about Viking. Its August 2026 comparison page says its "comprehensive panel" includes free testosterone, SHBG, DHEA-S, and IGF-1. Its lab services page doesn't list those as required. If you want them, ask whether they're in your panel and what they cost.
How each clinic thinks about diagnosis
Male Excel is open about its approach. Its TRT page says it treats "based on symptoms" and criticizes clinics that wait until levels are "dangerously low" before treating. Male Excel TRT page. Viking says your medical history, labs, and exam are all "factored in to establish the diagnosis." Viking men's HRT page.
Both clinics describe care that considers symptoms as well as laboratory results. But diagnosis of hypogonadism should still follow guideline-based evaluation: compatible symptoms or signs plus unequivocally and consistently low testosterone, confirmed with a repeat morning fasting total-testosterone measurement. Viking says it will review qualifying outside labs that are under six months old. Ask Male Excel whether it will accept yours.
What treatment formats can each clinic prescribe?
Male Excel prescribes daily low-dose testosterone cypionate injections or a compounded testosterone cream. Viking prescribes injectable, oral, and topical testosterone, including Kyzatrex, an FDA-approved oral testosterone. Compounded products are not FDA-approved, so always ask for the exact product name and pharmacy before comparing prices.
Two words that matter: FDA-approved vs. compounded
FDA-approved means the FDA reviewed that exact finished product for safety, effectiveness, and quality before it could be sold.
Compounded means a pharmacy mixed the drug for a patient. The FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed for safety, effectiveness, or quality before they're sold. They're not the same as approved products, even with the same ingredient name. FDA compounding Q&A.
Side by side
| Treatment | Male Excel | Viking | Regulatory / practical note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Testosterone injection | Yes — daily, small subcutaneous (under-the-skin) doses | Yes — injectable testosterone | FDA-approved testosterone cypionate products exist. Ask which one you'd get. |
| Testosterone cream | Yes — Testosterone Lipoderm Cream | Topical testosterone offered | Male Excel says its cream is compounded, so not FDA-approved |
| Oral testosterone | No | Yes — Kyzatrex | FDA-approved July 27, 2022. Its current label warns that it can raise blood pressure; the earlier boxed blood-pressure warning was removed in July 2025. |
| Thyroid medicine | Bundled into testosterone plans | TSH tested; thyroid offered | Ask if it's optional for you |
| Estrogen blockers | Doesn't use them | Anastrozole, exemestane, letrozole offered | Used off-label in men |
| hCG | Not on its menu | Yes | FDA-approved hCG products exist. Ask which product you'd get. |
| Enclomiphene / clomiphene | Yes — "Triclozene" oral | Yes | Not testosterone. See the fertility section. |
| Peptides (e.g., BPC-157) | No | Yes, a large menu | Many, like BPC-157, have no FDA-approved product |
Sources: Male Excel TRT page, Male Excel pricing, Viking medications, Viking controlled-substance FAQ, FDA Kyzatrex approval, Kyzatrex label. Checked September 2026.
Kyzatrex, in plain terms: it's an FDA-approved oral testosterone undecanoate capsule. Its current label says it can raise blood pressure and calls for periodic blood-pressure monitoring; the earlier boxed blood-pressure warning was removed in July 2025. If you want an FDA-approved oral testosterone option rather than an injection or cream, Viking lists Kyzatrex and Male Excel does not.
Daily injections at Male Excel: Male Excel says small daily doses avoid the peaks and dips of weekly shots. That's the company's view of its own method. We haven't seen evidence that settles whether daily dosing gives better results for most men, so we treat it as a preference, not a proven advantage.
Which pharmacy fills your prescription?
This matters more than it sounds. It decides whether you're getting a compounded or an FDA-approved product.
- Male Excel lists AnazaoHealth (Tampa, Florida) and WellDyneRx-FL (Lakeland, Florida) as dispensing pharmacies. Its terms say your prescription goes only to its contracted pharmacies — you can't send it to your own pharmacy. Male Excel FAQ · Male Excel terms.
- Viking says testosterone is filled "through FDA-registered compounding pharmacies or licensed retail pharmacies." It doesn't name them. Viking controlled-substance FAQ.
Before you pay either one, ask: "What's the exact name of the product you'd send me, who makes it, is it FDA-approved or compounded, and which pharmacy fills it?"
What happens to fertility with Male Excel vs Viking?
Testosterone therapy can lower sperm production, and both companies say so. Viking offers hCG, which it says may help but doesn't guarantee fertility; Male Excel offers an oral pill it describes as enclomiphene or clomiphene, which isn't testosterone and isn't FDA-approved for men. If you want a child in the next year or two, start with a reproductive urologist, not either clinic.
Why testosterone and fertility can clash
When you take testosterone, your brain may stop signaling your testicles to make sperm. The Endocrine Society recommends against starting testosterone in men planning fertility in the near term. Kyzatrex's own FDA label says it "may cause azoospermia" — meaning no sperm in the semen. Endocrine Society guideline · Kyzatrex label.
That doesn't mean it happens to everyone. It means the risk is real enough to plan around before you start.
Viking's approach: hCG
Viking describes hCG as an attempt to limit testicle shrinkage and help maintain fertility on TRT, "although this is not a guarantee." That's an honest way to say it. Viking medications.
One question to ask is: which hCG product would I receive? Viking's public medication page describes hCG as an option, but it does not identify the exact product in that description. FDA-approved hCG products exist; for example, the current Pregnyl label includes selected cases of hypogonadotropic hypogonadism in males. The exact product still matters. Ask Viking for the drug name, manufacturer, pharmacy, and approval status before comparing it with another fertility-focused plan. Pregnyl prescribing information.
Male Excel's approach: Triclozene
Male Excel offers an oral product called Triclozene. Its pricing page says it contains clomiphene citrate. Its TRT page calls it enclomiphene citrate. Those aren't the same drug. Clomiphene is a mix of two forms; enclomiphene is one of them. Male Excel pricing · Male Excel TRT page.
Either way, a few things are true:
- It is not testosterone replacement therapy. It works by nudging your own body to make more.
- Clomiphene is FDA-approved only for certain ovulation problems in women. Using it for low testosterone in men is off-label.
- Enclomiphene has no FDA-approved product.
Male Excel's FAQ does say plainly that TRT "can impact sperm production." Credit where it's due. But ask in writing which molecule Triclozene actually contains before you take it.
The bottom line on fertility
No clinic can promise to protect or restore your fertility. We won't pretend otherwise. If a baby is in your one-to-two-year plan, see a urologist or reproductive urologist before starting any testosterone program. That's the right order.
Want a fertility-safe next step mapped out? → Use Find My TRT Path It's free and educational. It doesn't diagnose low testosterone or decide whether you qualify for treatment.
Who are the clinicians, and how easy are they to reach?
Male Excel names Peter Fotinos, MD, as chief medical officer and Lorna A. Brudie, DO, as medical director, and publishes seven-day support hours. Viking's current staff page identifies Dr. Carr and Dr. Miller as medical directors and lists its PAs and NPs by first name with credentials, while its site publishes weekday office hours.
| Access detail | Male Excel | Viking |
|---|---|---|
| Physician leadership named | Peter Fotinos, MD; Lorna A. Brudie, DO | Dr. Carr and Dr. Miller are listed as medical directors; public staff page does not give their full names |
| Treating clinicians listed | "In-house" providers; individual roster not checked | 7 PAs and NPs, first names only |
| Support hours | Mon–Sun, 7am–9pm ET · (833) 625-3392 | Mon–Fri, 9am–5pm CST · (210) 826-8900 |
| Ongoing access | Unlimited provider e-visits and support messages; 60-day check-ins (provider-stated) | Follow-up consultations as part of your plan (provider-stated) |
| Safety information on its site | Boxed warnings, side effects, and FDA reporting link published | Not found on the pages we read |
Sources: Male Excel TRT page, Viking staff page, Viking lab services. Checked September 25, 2026.
A note on Viking: its FAQ says testosterone is prescribed "through licensed, board-certified physicians." Its staff page lists physician assistants and nurse practitioners as its clinical providers. Care supervised by a physician is common and legal. Still, it's fair to ask Viking: "Who will actually write my prescription, and what's their full name and license state?" Viking controlled-substance FAQ · Viking staff.
You can look up any clinician's license on your state medical board's website.
One customer put Male Excel's day-to-day experience this way:
"From my practitioner to the shipping department, everyone has been responsive and effective." — Michael Napoli, Trustpilot review shown on maleexcel.com
One person's experience with customer service — not a medical result, and not proof that your experience will match. We didn't include a Viking quote because we couldn't find one we could attribute and link to directly.
Does this sound like what you want — a published price, named physicians, and someone to reach on a Sunday? Start Male Excel's free hormone assessment. → Go to Male Excel Nothing is charged until you order the $99 test and consultation.
Which clinic is easier to cancel or leave?
Viking has no membership and no cancellation fee, so stopping treatment stops the recurring cost, but it doesn't publish refund terms. Male Excel says there's no contract and you can cancel anytime, but its terms say sales are generally final, and its guarantee refunds only membership fees for the first 90 days if you meet its conditions.
Male Excel
- No contract. Its terms say you may cancel your subscription at any time. Male Excel terms.
- Sales are generally final. Fees aren't refundable unless a written exception applies. Delivered prescription medicine can't be returned for reuse.
- The refill window is short. Male Excel's FAQ describes a 48-hour window to act on a refill notice before billing and shipment. Set a phone reminder. Male Excel FAQ.
- The guarantee has limits. The Excel Advantage Guarantee can refund your membership fees for the first 90 days — $297 at current rates — if you're a new member, follow the protocol, and your symptoms don't improve. It doesn't cover medication. Guarantee terms.
We break down the full refund math and the arbitration clause in our Male Excel cost guide.
Viking
- No membership, no enrollment fee, no cancellation fee. "If you pause or stop therapy, you stop paying," Viking says. Viking membership FAQ.
- Missed appointments cost $25 without prior cancellation. Viking pricing.
- Refund terms aren't published. Viking's Terms of Service (updated June 8, 2026) don't cover refunds or medication that has already shipped. Viking terms.
Get these five things in writing — from either clinic
- Your next billing date
- Your next medication refill and shipping date
- The exact deadline and method to stop a refill
- Whether a medication order already in progress can still be canceled
- How to get copies of your lab results and medical records — and whether that costs anything
Canceling future service and getting a refund for something already shipped are two different things. Treat them that way.
Can both clinics treat you in your state — and will the 2027 rules change that?
Male Excel says it prescribes in every state except Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. Viking markets its service as nationwide, but the public pages we checked did not provide a current state-by-state TRT exception list. The federal rule that lets clinicians prescribe testosterone by telemedicine without an in-person visit runs through December 31, 2026.
State availability
- Male Excel: 11 excluded states, listed in its FAQ. It also warns that "based on DEA and state laws, your testosterone treatment plan may require an in-person medical exam." Male Excel FAQ · Male Excel TRT page.
- Viking: markets hormone care as nationwide and says medication availability can vary. We did not find a current public state-by-state TRT exception list. Tell Viking your state at intake and ask it to confirm that the prescribing clinician is authorized there and that the prescribed medication can be shipped there.
If you live in one of Male Excel's 11 excluded states, Male Excel isn't an option for you right now. Viking may be — confirm first.
The December 31, 2026 date
Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance. That means federal law limits how it can be prescribed, and it always requires a valid prescription.
HHS and DEA have extended the pandemic-era telemedicine flexibilities through December 31, 2026. Under that temporary framework, a DEA-registered practitioner may prescribe a Schedule II–V controlled substance by telemedicine without a prior in-person medical evaluation when the required conditions are met. Federal and state requirements still apply. HHS · Telehealth.HHS.gov.
Right now, the two clinics describe in-person care differently. Male Excel says an in-person exam may be required based on DEA and state laws. Viking markets its care as telemedicine. Those are provider descriptions of their current process; actual requirements still depend on federal law, state law, clinician licensure, and the facts of the prescription.
This isn't a reason to rush. It's a reason to ask one question before you start, whichever clinic you pick: "If the federal rules change on January 1, 2027, what happens to my prescription — and where would an in-person visit happen for someone in my state?"
One small extra: federal telemedicine rules have technical conditions that vary by prescribing pathway. Ask each clinic what visit format and any in-person step apply to a testosterone prescription in your state rather than assuming a phone-only visit is enough.
Does Male Excel or Viking take insurance?
Neither clinic bills insurance or Medicare. Viking gives you receipts you can submit yourself for possible out-of-network reimbursement, and both say HSA or FSA funds may be used. If you need insurance to pay for testosterone, an in-network urologist, endocrinologist, or primary care doctor is usually the better route.
| Insurance question | Male Excel | Viking |
|---|---|---|
| Bills insurance or Medicare | No | No |
| HSA / FSA | May be eligible (HRA too) | May be eligible |
| Out-of-network receipts | Terms say you agree not to submit claims | Provides receipts; can't file claims for you |
| Letter of medical necessity | Says it doesn't provide them | Not stated |
Sources: Male Excel TRT page, Male Excel FAQ, Male Excel terms, Viking insurance FAQ. Checked September 2026.
Paying with HSA money doesn't lower the price, but it can mean paying with pre-tax dollars. Check with your plan administrator what counts and what paperwork they need — before you pay, not after.
If insurance coverage is the deciding factor, see TRT care routes that work with insurance.
Can you trust what these clinics say about each other?
Be careful with provider-written competitor comparisons. Viking's current comparison page still describes Male Excel in ways that conflict with Male Excel's current site — including treatment formats and state reach. That's why this page uses each provider's current first-party pages for facts about that provider.
Here's what Viking has said about Male Excel, next to what Male Excel's site actually says:
| Viking comparison claim about Male Excel | Viking page | What Male Excel's current site says |
|---|---|---|
| "Primarily sublingual troches and topical cream" | Aug. 28, 2026 comparison | Male Excel currently lists testosterone cypionate injections and compounded testosterone cream; its oral Triclozene product is not testosterone |
| Viking's comparison presents Male Excel as broadly nationwide | Aug. 28, 2026 comparison | Male Excel's current FAQ excludes 11 states and says an in-person exam may be required in some cases |
Checked September 25, 2026.
To be fair: Male Excel has changed its offerings over time, so older descriptions can become stale. A provider's comparison page is useful for understanding how it positions itself, but it is not a neutral source for a competitor's current facts.
The lesson isn't "don't trust Viking." It's this: check each company's own current page before trusting anyone's comparison. That includes ours. It's why every row on this page links to its source.
Who should choose Male Excel, who should choose Viking, and who should choose neither?
Choose Male Excel if you want a starting cost you can calculate from published components, routine follow-up testing within the membership, and seven-day support. Choose Viking if you want no separate membership, a lower provider-stated typical monthly range, hCG on the menu, or an FDA-approved oral testosterone option. Choose neither yet if low testosterone is not properly confirmed, you're planning a child soon, or you need insurance-first care.
Here's the simplest way to decide. Ask yourself: would I rather know my whole bill before I start, or avoid a standing membership fee? Most men already know their answer.
| If this is you… | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| You want your year-one cost before sharing your health history | Male Excel | The only one of the two that publishes every line |
| You want the smallest possible monthly bill | Viking — get a written quote | Its typical range is lower; labs are extra |
| You hate membership fees | Viking | No membership, enrollment, or cancellation fee |
| You want routine labs and provider messages in one fee | Male Excel | Six-month testing and unlimited e-visits included (provider-stated) |
| You want support on weekends | Male Excel | Seven-day hours |
| You want hCG with testosterone | Viking | Male Excel doesn't list hCG |
| You want a testosterone pill | Viking | Offers FDA-approved Kyzatrex |
| You don't want estrogen blockers | Male Excel | Says it doesn't use them |
| You already have labs under six months old | Viking | Accepts them |
| You want peptides from the same clinic | Viking | Large menu; many have no FDA-approved product |
| You live in AL, AK, AR, CT, HI, ID, LA, MN, MS, NH, or RI | Viking — confirm your state | Male Excel's current FAQ says it does not prescribe hormone treatment there |
| You want to use your own pharmacy | Neither is ideal — ask Viking | Male Excel doesn't allow it; Viking doesn't name its pharmacies |
| You haven't had appropriately repeated early-morning testing | Neither yet → primary care, urology, or endocrinology | Get the diagnosis confirmed first |
| You plan to conceive in the next 1–2 years | Neither yet → reproductive urology | Fertility comes first |
| You need insurance to pay | Neither → an in-network doctor | Both are cash-pay |
| You have a history of prostate or breast cancer, a high red blood cell count, untreated severe sleep apnea, a recent heart attack or stroke, or a pituitary or testicle problem | Neither yet → your specialist | These need an individual medical review first |
Looking for a third option because neither billing model fits? Use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool before jumping to another clinic. It maps your priorities to a care route without assuming another cash-pay provider is automatically the answer.
If the first row describes you, you already know your next step: see Male Excel's current pricing and start the free assessment. → Visit Male Excel
Leaning Viking? Get your written quote from Viking's pricing page (we don't earn anything from this link), then use the checklist below.
Still not sure which row is you? → Map your care route with Find My TRT Path
What should you ask before you pay either clinic?
Ask for one written quote that lists every charge separately and every billing date. For Viking, the key question is your total cost in month one, month three, and month twelve, including labs. For Male Excel, the key question is what your first two charges will be and when they'll hit.
Your quote-to-quote worksheet
Fill in the Viking column with the numbers Viking gives you. The Male Excel column shows its advertised starting rates for injections.
| Cost line | Male Excel (injection) | Viking (your quote) |
|---|---|---|
| First visit | $99 (includes at-home test) | $0 |
| Starting labs | Included in $99 | $____ |
| Membership, 12 months | $1,188 | $0 |
| Medication, 12 months | $1,440 | $____ |
| Follow-up labs, 12 months | Included (provider-stated) | $____ |
| Follow-up visits, 12 months | Included (provider-stated) | $____ |
| Add-ons (hCG, thyroid, other) | Thyroid bundled | $____ |
| Shipping | Ask: $____ | Ask: $____ |
| Year-one total | $2,727 + shipping | $____ |
If a line is blank, write "unknown," not "free."
Questions for Viking
- What will I pay in month one, month three, and month twelve — including labs?
- Are labs included in that price, or billed separately? What does my starting panel cost?
- How often will I need follow-up labs and visits, and what does each cost?
- What's the exact testosterone product, who makes it, and is it FDA-approved or compounded?
- If I get hCG, which FDA-approved product is it?
- Which pharmacy fills my prescription?
- Who will write my prescription — full name and license state?
- Can you prescribe and ship testosterone to my state?
- What's your refund policy for medication that's already shipped?
Questions for Male Excel
- What will my first two charges be, and on what dates?
- What does shipping cost?
- Is a blood count with hematocrit included in my starting or six-month labs?
- Can I submit my own recent lab results?
- Is the thyroid medicine optional, and what's the price without it?
- Does Triclozene contain clomiphene or enclomiphene?
If you only ask two questions
- Viking: "What's my total for the first 12 months, including every lab?"
- Male Excel: "Is a blood count included, and what does shipping cost?"
Those two answers close most of the gap between these clinics.
How we compared Male Excel and Viking Alternative Medicine
We read both companies' current public pages, added up every published price, compared each company's required labs with the Endocrine Society guideline, and checked each company's claims about the other against that company's own site. We did not enroll with either clinic. Male Excel pays us a commission; Viking does not.
We use our published method, How We Review TRT Providers. It separates four kinds of information:
- Verified fact: something we confirmed on a company's own page or a primary source, with a date
- Provider-stated: something a company says about itself that we couldn't test
- Customer experience: one person's report, labeled as such
- Our judgment: a conclusion we drew from the facts above, and said so
We don't give providers scores. We calculate complete cost instead of repeating the headline price.
What would change our verdict: Viking publishing an itemized price with lab costs; Male Excel confirming a blood count in its standard labs (which would strengthen it); either clinic changing its treatment options; or the DEA's permanent telemedicine rule.
What we actually verified — September 25, 2026
Sources checked: Male Excel's TRT page, pricing page, test-kit page, FAQ, terms, and guarantee terms (pricing and policies also checked September 5, 2026, for our Male Excel cost guide). Viking's pricing page, cost FAQ, membership FAQ, free-consultation FAQ, insurance FAQ, states FAQ, controlled-substance FAQ, men's HRT page, lab services page, medications page, staff page, telemedicine page, Terms of Service, and five of its competitor comparison pages. The FDA's Kyzatrex approval and label. The DEA/HHS telemedicine extension. The Endocrine Society guideline and 2026 statement.
Confirmed as published: every Male Excel price line in this article; Male Excel's 11 excluded states, support hours, named physicians, pharmacy list, no-outside-pharmacy rule, and guarantee conditions; Viking's current pricing statements, no-membership and no-cancellation-fee policy, free first consultation, $25 missed-appointment fee, required lab panel, six-month outside-lab rule, labs-not-included statement, treatment menu, staff list, support hours, and insurance policy.
Provider-stated, not tested by us: what Male Excel's membership includes; the benefits of daily dosing; both companies' patient counts and founding dates; Viking's 24-hour intake review; which physicians sign prescriptions.
We could not confirm: Male Excel's shipping cost; whether Male Excel's labs include a blood count; Viking's lab prices, follow-up costs, and refund terms; Viking's state list; which products and pharmacies either company uses for a given patient; the exact contents of Male Excel's Triclozene.
What we did not do: enroll, order, contact support, or receive treatment from either company. This is a comparison built from public records, not a hands-on review.
Found something out of date? Tell us and we'll re-check it.
Male Excel vs Viking Alternative Medicine: frequently asked questions
Is Viking Alternative Medicine cheaper than Male Excel? Viking publishes the lower typical monthly range: $100–$150 with no membership, versus Male Excel's advertised starting testosterone cost of $219–$231 a month before shipping. But Viking's labs are billed separately and exact treatment cost varies, so its public range is not enough to prove a lower complete year-one bill for every patient. Compare written totals, not headlines.
Does Male Excel charge a membership fee? Yes. Male Excel requires a $99 monthly Medical Membership, separate from medication. It says the membership covers unlimited provider e-visits, 60-day check-ins, and blood testing every six months.
Does Viking charge a monthly membership? No. Viking says it has no membership, no enrollment fee, and no cancellation fee. You pay for consultations, labs, and medication as part of your plan.
Are Viking's labs included in the price? Viking's men's HRT page says the cost of labs is not included. Its required starting panel covers total testosterone, estradiol, CBC, CMP, lipids, PSA, and TSH.
Can Viking use labs I already have? Yes, if they're less than six months old. Viking orders new labs through Quest or Labcorp if you need them.
Does Viking Alternative Medicine prescribe hCG? Yes. Viking lists hCG and says it may help maintain fertility on TRT, but doesn't guarantee it. Male Excel doesn't list hCG.
Is Male Excel's testosterone FDA-approved? Male Excel says its testosterone cream is compounded, and compounded drugs aren't FDA-approved. For injections, ask for the exact product name and maker — the words "testosterone cypionate" alone don't tell you.
What is Kyzatrex? Kyzatrex is an FDA-approved oral testosterone undecanoate capsule, approved in 2022. Viking lists it; Male Excel doesn't. Its current label warns that it can raise blood pressure; the earlier boxed blood-pressure warning was removed in 2025.
Which is better if I want kids? Neither is a good first stop. Testosterone can lower sperm production, and guidelines advise against starting it if you're planning a child soon. See a urologist or reproductive urologist first.
Does either clinic take insurance? No. Neither bills insurance or Medicare. Both say HSA or FSA funds may be used, and Viking gives receipts you can submit yourself for possible out-of-network reimbursement.
What states do they serve? Male Excel's current FAQ says it prescribes hormone treatment in every state except AL, AK, AR, CT, HI, ID, LA, MN, MS, NH, and RI. Viking markets nationwide service but we did not find a current public state-by-state TRT exception list, so confirm your state before paying.
Do I need an in-person visit? Maybe. Federal rules allowing testosterone to be prescribed by telemedicine without an in-person exam run through December 31, 2026. A permanent rule is under review, and state laws also apply.
Does one low testosterone result mean I need TRT? No. The Endocrine Society calls for symptoms plus consistently low levels confirmed with at least two early-morning, fasting tests.
The bottom line
Male Excel vs Viking Alternative Medicine isn't really about which clinic is "better." It's about which kind of bill you'd rather have.
Male Excel has the higher published starting model, but its current public prices let you calculate about $2,727 in year one for injections before shipping, with ongoing provider access and periodic blood testing included in the membership.
Viking publishes the lower typical monthly range, has a broader medication menu, and skips the separate membership — but you need your own written treatment and lab quote to know the complete year-one number.
Pick the care model that fits your situation. Then get the complete bill and treatment details in writing.
Ready to see your number? → See Male Excel's current pricing
Keep reading: Male Excel cost breakdown · Male Excel review · Male Excel vs TRT Nation · Online vs local TRT care · TRT cost across care routes · TRT safety and risks
Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.
This page is educational information, not medical advice, and it doesn't replace care from a licensed clinician. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance and requires a valid prescription. We don't diagnose low testosterone, interpret lab results, or recommend doses. If you have chest pain, trouble breathing, or signs of a stroke, call 911. Prices, policies, and telemedicine rules change; every figure here shows the date we checked it. TRT Provider Guide is not a clinic, pharmacy, laboratory, drug manufacturer, insurer, or medical practice. See our Editorial Standards and Affiliate Disclosure.
Sources
Primary and provider-published pages checked September 25, 2026:
- maleexcel.com/treatments/hrt-costs/
- maleexcel.com/treatments/trt-online/
- vikingalternative.com/pricing/
- vikingalternative.com/hormone-replacement-therapy-men/
- vikingalternative.com/facts/membership-fee/
- vikingalternative.com/facts/free-consultation/
- endocrine.org/clinical-practice-guidelines/testosterone-therapy
- endocrine.org/news-and-advocacy/news-room/2026/statement-on-testosterone-replacement-therapy
- endocrine.org/-/media/endocrine/files/cpg/testosterone-therapy-plenary-6-1-18_online.pdf
- maleexcel.com/treatments/male-hormone-test/
- vikingalternative.com/lab-services/
- fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/compounding-and-fda-questions-and-answers
- vikingalternative.com/medication-faq/
- vikingalternative.com/facts/controlled-substances/
- accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/nda/2022/213953Orig1s000Approv.pdf
- accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/nda/2022/213953Orig1s000lbl.pdf
- maleexcel.com/faq/
- maleexcel.com/terms-conditions/
- dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm
- vikingalternative.com/staff/
- maleexcel.com/terms-conditions-excel-advantage-guarantee/
- vikingalternative.com/terms-of-service/
- hhs.gov/press-room/dea-telemedicine-extension-2026.html
- telehealth.hhs.gov/providers/telehealth-policy/prescribing-controlled-substances-via-telehealth
- vikingalternative.com/facts/insurance-medicare/
- vikingalternative.com/viking-vs-male-excel-comparison-2026/