Skip to main content
RESOURCE

Taurus Meds vs 1st Optimal: What Each TRT Program Really Costs, and Which One Fits You

Taurus Meds vs 1st Optimal comes down to this: Taurus publishes the lower starting price, while 1st Optimal publishes the broader monthly care model. Taurus advertises $49 for testing and a clinician consultation, then $149 a month if prescribed. 1st Optimal lists Men's Hormone Care at $169 a month. But neither headline price is a verified all-in quote.

Educational resource
Evidence Cited

Last updated: September 25, 2026

Last verified: September 25, 2026 · By TRT Provider Guide · Editorial research, not clinically reviewed · How We Review TRT Providers

Educational information, not medical advice. TRT Provider Guide is not a clinic, pharmacy, lab, insurer, or medical practice. If you have chest pain, trouble breathing, fainting, or sudden leg swelling, call 911 or go to the nearest emergency room.


Taurus Meds vs 1st Optimal comes down to this: Taurus publishes the lower starting price, while 1st Optimal publishes the broader monthly care model. Taurus advertises $49 for testing and a clinician consultation, then $149 a month if prescribed. 1st Optimal lists Men's Hormone Care at $169 a month. But neither headline price is a verified all-in quote.

The biggest difference is not the $20 headline gap. It is what the public documents do and do not settle: Taurus's $149 campaign says no membership fee while its Terms describe a possible $17.99 recurring fee, and 1st Optimal's current plan and FAQ describe treatments at a reduced member rate while an older live page says TRT or a "test-boost" therapy is included.

Taurus Meds is likely the better fit if you… 1st Optimal is likely the better fit if you…
want the lower published starting price and will confirm the exact fee and commitment before paying want monthly coaching, monthly consultations, and broader ongoing support
want a simpler TRT-focused care model want hormone care tied to broader metabolic and lifestyle support
are comfortable using a campaign price as a starting point, not a guaranteed final bill are comfortable with a 120-day minimum in the current Terms and will confirm whether medication is included

Start with neither if you: have not had low testosterone properly evaluated; near-term fertility matters; you need insurance billing; or you have a complex history such as prostate or breast cancer, elevated hematocrit, untreated severe sleep apnea, a heart attack or stroke within the past six months, or signs of pituitary or testicular disease. Those situations deserve clinician-led evaluation before a provider comparison drives the decision.

TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.

Affiliate disclosure: TRT Provider Guide has disclosed a commercial relationship with Taurus Meds on current site pages. The Taurus and 1st Optimal links in this article are direct public-information links, not tracked enrollment links. Commercial relationships do not change the factual findings, limitations, or care-route guidance below. Read our full affiliate disclosure.

The 60-second comparison

Decision point Taurus Meds 1st Optimal
Published headline price $149/month if prescribed on the current $49 campaign page $169/month for Men's Hormone Care
Up-front cost $49 blood test + 15-minute clinician video consultation Free intake call; first-month membership deposit policy applies once entering care
Is testosterone included? Campaign page says prescribed medication is included in the $149/month price Current plans/FAQ say treatments are available at reduced member pricing; an older live page says TRT or "Test-Boost Therapy Included"
Lab testing $49 page says 8-marker panel + clinician review; at-home kit at no extra charge if 50+ miles from LabCorp/Quest Men's lab store lists panels at $329.99, $511.10, and $857.99; plan page also says follow-up blood work and review
12-month headline-price model $1,837 = $49 + 12 × $149, before any unresolved charge $2,028 = 12 × $169 for membership, before any separately billed treatment or lab cost
Commitment Current campaign does not state a term; a Taurus-issued May 2026 pricing release described $149 with a six-month commitment and $199 month-to-month Terms of Service: minimum 120 days; FAQ says month-to-month
Coaching No comparable monthly coaching program found on the TRT campaign pages checked Monthly functional-health coaching and monthly health consultations
Published time window Taurus says testing-to-delivery averages 1–2 weeks 1st Optimal says most lab results take 5–7 business days, some 10–14; treatment shipping timing varies after review
Pharmacy disclosure Terms name four partner pharmacies Terms name Belmar Pharmacy – Colorado, a 503A pharmacy
FDA-approved or compounded Taurus's TRT campaign says its hormones are compounded; homepage separately advertises "FDA-approved medications" without tying that statement to a specific TRT product Terms name a compounding pharmacy; public pages also discuss FDA-approved options
Cancellation Terms allow cancellation at end of current paid term; refund policy requires notice at least 72 hours before billing Terms require 120 days minimum and a change request at least 7 days before the next billing cycle
Insurance Public materials reviewed describe cash-pay care; no verified insurance-billing promise found FAQ says cash-based model; HSA/FSA cards accepted

Checked September 25, 2026 on each company's own pages. Prices and policies change. Confirm the exact offer, total commitment, medication, pharmacy, and cancellation terms before paying.

Does Taurus's simpler published price look closer to what you want? Read Taurus's current $49 test-and-consult page and compare it with Taurus's Terms of Service before paying.

A licensed clinician decides whether treatment is appropriate. Paying does not guarantee a prescription.

Want the coached model instead? Review 1st Optimal's current Men's Hormone Care plan and Terms of Service side by side.


Which one is for you?

Taurus Meds fits a man who wants the lower published starting price and a simpler TRT-focused program, as long as he confirms the exact commitment and fee terms before paying. 1st Optimal fits a man who wants monthly coaching and broader hormone/metabolic support and is comfortable with the 120-day minimum in its current Terms. Some readers should start with neither.

If you… Start with Why
Want the lower published starting price Taurus Meds $49 to start and $149/month advertised if prescribed
Want monthly coaching and health consultations 1st Optimal Those are built into the current Men's Hormone Care plan
Want broader thyroid, metabolic, and hormone testing 1st Optimal Its paid lab panels are much broader than Taurus's 8-marker starter panel
Need a known month-to-month arrangement Confirm before choosing Taurus's current campaign does not state a term; 1st Optimal's Terms require 120 days
Need insurance billed Your own clinician or an in-network route 1st Optimal states it is cash-pay; we did not verify insurance billing from Taurus
Near-term fertility matters, or low T is not confirmed A clinician first Exogenous testosterone can suppress sperm production, and diagnosis requires appropriate clinical evaluation

The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.

What we actually verified

On September 25, 2026, we read these pages directly: Taurus Meds' $49 TRT offer page, blood-test page, Terms of Service (updated June 24, 2025), and cancellation/refund policy (updated February 28, 2026). We also checked the Taurus-issued May 2026 pricing statement as a dated provider claim, not as proof of today's checkout. For 1st Optimal, we checked the current plans page, men's hormone pages, FAQ, Terms of Service, refund policy, first-month deposit policy, and men's lab store. Medical and regulatory claims were checked against FDA, DEA/HHS, the American Urological Association, and the Endocrine Society.

Type of fact What falls here
Verified from current provider documents Current advertised prices, current lab-store prices, current contract wording, pharmacy names, refund/cancellation rules
Provider-stated, not independently tested "All inclusive," shipping windows, coaching/service inclusions, lab-marker counts, treatment-format claims
Dated provider statement Taurus's May 2026 statement describing $149 with a six-month commitment and $199 month-to-month
Customer-experience signal Trustpilot reports, labeled as individual experiences
Editorial judgment Who each care model may fit, based on the verified facts
What we could not confirm 1st Optimal's medication price; a current state list for either provider; whether 1st Optimal's $169 includes TRT despite conflicting pages; whether Taurus's $17.99 Terms clause applies to the $149 TRT campaign; Taurus's exact current commitment at checkout
What we did not do Enroll, pay, talk to a clinician, inspect a private checkout, or test customer support. This is a documents comparison, not a hands-on review

Taurus Meds vs 1st Optimal: what does each monthly price actually buy?

Taurus's current campaign presents $149 a month as an all-inclusive medication price after the $49 test and consultation. 1st Optimal's $169 a month is a care membership with medical oversight, coaching, consultations, shipping, and supplies; its current FAQ says treatments are available at a reduced members-only rate. That's why the two headline prices cannot be treated as the same kind of bill.

Here's the easiest way to picture it. Taurus presents $149 as the treatment price. 1st Optimal presents $169 as the membership price, while its current FAQ separates treatment access from membership.

What Taurus says its price covers. Its current TRT campaign says, "If approved, doctor-prescribed medications are $149/mo - all inclusive. No membership fees. No hidden fees." The separate blood-test page says the $49 offer includes an 8-marker test and a 15-minute private video consultation. If you live more than 50 miles from a LabCorp or Quest location, Taurus says it sends an at-home collection kit at no extra charge.

What 1st Optimal says its price covers. Its current plans page lists Men's Hormone Care at $169 a month with "Testosterone Replacement or Boosting Options," "Follow-up Blood work & Review," "Monthly Functional Health Coaching," and "Nutrition, Supplement and Lifestyle Support." The same page says all plans include physician-guided care, monthly health consultations, messaging support, free shipping, and medical supplies.

Then comes the key sentence in its FAQ: membership includes medical oversight and consultations, shipping, and supplies, and gives members access to treatments and services at a reduced members-only rate.

1st Optimal's pages disagree on whether testosterone is included

This matters more than almost anything else on the page, so here it is side by side.

1st Optimal page What it says about treatment
Current plans page $169/month Men's Hormone Care; lists testosterone replacement or boosting options and member benefits
FAQ page Treatments and services are available at a reduced members-only rate
Current men's-hormones page Treatment orders are charged to the card on file before refill
Older live men's TRT page Says "Hormone Blood Work Included" and "TRT or Test-Boost Therapy Included," while its FAQ lower on the same page still describes reduced members-only treatment pricing

The current FAQ and billing language point toward treatment being separately charged, while an older live page says it is included. We are not going to guess which one controls your order.

Ask 1st Optimal, in writing: "Is testosterone included in the $169 Men's Hormone Care membership? If not, what will my medication cost each month?"


Which is cheaper for a full year, Taurus Meds or 1st Optimal?

Taurus has the lower published headline-price model, but neither provider publishes a fully reconciled all-in first-year quote. Twelve treatment months at Taurus's current campaign rate plus its $49 start equal $1,837 before any unresolved charge. Twelve months of 1st Optimal's $169 membership equal $2,028 before any treatment or lab charge that applies.

We built this table from current provider pages and our own arithmetic. It separates confirmed published prices from assumptions.

Scenario Up front 12-month model What it proves
Taurus current campaign rate $49 $1,837 = $49 + 12 × $149 Advertised-rate model if the $149 rate continues; not a verified all-in bill
Taurus if the $17.99 Terms fee also applied monthly $49 $2,052.88 Scenario only; the campaign says no membership fee, so applicability is unresolved
1st Optimal membership only Membership deposit policy applies $2,028 = 12 × $169 Annualized membership price, before any separately billed treatment or labs
1st Optimal membership + current $329.99 baseline panel — $2,357.99 Membership plus one currently listed baseline panel, before treatment
1st Optimal membership + current $511.10 Men's Hormone Health Panel — $2,539.10 Membership plus one currently listed hormone panel, before treatment
1st Optimal membership + current $857.99 Comprehensive panel — $2,885.99 Membership plus one currently listed comprehensive panel, before treatment

These are models, not personalized quotes. They assume twelve unchanged monthly membership/treatment charges and one listed 1st Optimal lab panel where shown. They do not assume a prescription, dose, product, repeat lab schedule, or private checkout charge.

Four things this table tells you

1. Taurus publishes the lower starting arithmetic. Its current campaign gives enough numbers to calculate $1,837 for twelve treatment months plus the $49 start. That number is useful, but it is still conditional because Taurus's Terms contain a separate $17.99 recurring-fee clause and the current campaign does not state the commitment.

2. 1st Optimal's $169 is not a clean all-in TRT number. Its current FAQ separates membership from treatment access, and its current lab store publishes paid men's panels. Until 1st Optimal confirms the medication price and which labs your plan requires, $2,028 is a membership model, not a total treatment bill.

3. Taurus's $149 commitment needs current confirmation. A Taurus-issued May 2026 pricing statement described $149 with a six-month commitment and $199 month-to-month. The live $49 campaign we checked now shows $149/month without stating that term. Treat the six-month/$199 structure as a dated provider statement, not today's checkout promise.

4. The fee in Taurus's Terms still matters. Taurus's campaign says "No membership fees." Its Terms of Service say a recurring $17.99 membership fee applies per billing period "unless otherwise stated at the time of purchase." The campaign may be the purchase-specific exception, but the public documents do not prove that for your exact order.

Check your own numbers

Use this simple rule when you compare a quote: add every required start fee, every required membership charge, every medication charge, every required lab charge, shipping or supplies not included, and the minimum number of payments you must make. If a charge is unknown, mark it not confirmed instead of treating it as $0.


If Taurus Meds costs less, what does 1st Optimal's extra money buy?

1st Optimal's extra monthly spend buys a more structured support model: monthly functional-health coaching, monthly health consultations, follow-up blood-work review, messaging support, and nutrition and lifestyle guidance. Taurus's public TRT campaign is simpler and does not publish an equivalent monthly coaching program. Whether that broader model is worth more depends on what support you actually want.

Here's the honest version.

Taurus does not publish a monthly health-coaching program on the TRT pages we checked. If regular coaching and a broader hormone/metabolic care model are priorities, 1st Optimal is the stronger fit on published features.

Taurus publishes the lower headline price. Its current campaign starts at $49, then advertises $149/month if prescribed. 1st Optimal's Men's Hormone Care membership is $169/month before any treatment or lab charge that applies. That trade is simple: less published structure and a lower starting price at Taurus versus more published ongoing support at 1st Optimal.

What 1st Optimal genuinely does well

We'd be doing you a disservice if we only talked price.

  • Coaching is built in. Monthly functional-health coaching is part of the current Men's Hormone Care plan.
  • The lab menu is broad. Its men's panels include total and free testosterone, estradiol, SHBG, LH, FSH, PSA, thyroid markers, blood counts, metabolic markers, and more depending on the panel.
  • It names a pharmacy. Its Terms list Belmar Pharmacy – Colorado as an affiliated 503A pharmacy.
  • A named physician leads its clinical protocols. 1st Optimal identifies Dr. Amber Miller as a co-founder and says she oversees clinical protocols.
  • Its public materials distinguish compounded and FDA-approved options. That distinction matters because compounded drugs are not FDA-approved.
  • HSA and FSA cards are accepted. Its FAQ says so directly.

Who this trade makes sense for

  • Start by comparing Taurus if the lower published starting price matters most and you are willing to confirm the fee, commitment, exact medication, and pharmacy before paying.
  • Start by comparing 1st Optimal if you value monthly coaching and broader ongoing support enough to pay more and accept the 120-day minimum in its current Terms.
  • Start with a clinician outside either program if near-term fertility, complex medical history, or uncertain diagnosis is the main issue.

If Taurus's lower published price is the part that fits you, review its current TRT campaign and Terms together before entering payment information.


What do you pay before a clinician says yes, and how fast do you start?

Taurus charges $49 for its advertised starter test and consultation, and says testing-to-delivery averages 1–2 weeks. 1st Optimal offers a free intake call, uses a first-month membership deposit policy, and publishes lab-result windows of about 5–7 business days for many tests and up to 10–14 for some. Its treatment timeline depends on the lab, consultation, prescription, and pharmacy steps.

Step Taurus Meds 1st Optimal
1. First contact Online intake, then the $49 advertised test-and-consult purchase Free intake call
2. Labs 8-marker panel included in the $49 offer; LabCorp/Quest or a no-extra-charge home kit if 50+ miles away Labs may be purchased separately; current men's panels are listed in its store
3. Before treatment Taurus says medication payment comes after labs and before the clinician call; a clinician can still decide treatment is not appropriate First-month membership deposit policy applies; provider consultation follows testing/onboarding
4. If the clinician says treatment is not appropriate Taurus says a medically disqualified patient is refunded under its policy; the blood-work charge is non-refundable once submitted 1st Optimal says the first-month membership deposit is refunded if a provider determines the patient is ineligible on clinical criteria
5. Published timing Taurus says testing to medication delivered averages 1–2 weeks 1st Optimal says many lab results take 5–7 business days, some 10–14; treatment shipping follows clinical review and ordering

Two things to know.

At Taurus, the $49 blood-work charge is non-refundable once the order is submitted to the lab. Its public policy also says there is no guarantee of results or effectiveness.

At 1st Optimal, the deposit policy specifically promises a refund for clinical ineligibility. It does not say that an eligible patient who simply changes his mind automatically gets that deposit back. Ask that question before paying.


Are you locked in? Contracts, billing dates, refunds, and cancelling

1st Optimal's current Terms require at least 120 days even though its FAQ says month-to-month. Taurus's current campaign does not state a commitment, while a Taurus-issued May 2026 pricing statement described $149 with a six-month commitment and $199 month-to-month. Do not assume either company's headline price tells you the full exit cost.

This is the part most people skim. Please don't.

1st Optimal: three documents, three answers

The question What 1st Optimal's pages say
Is there a contract? FAQ: billed month-to-month. Terms: minimum 120 days. Older men's page: membership runs for the length of prescribed treatment, with a 12-week example.
What day am I billed? Terms: monthly on the same day as initial signup. A separate men's page describes 1st-or-16th billing based on signup date.
When is medication charged? FAQ: about 3 weeks before refill for existing patients and after the provider appointment for new patients. A men's page says treatment orders are typically processed 6–7 weeks before refill.
How do I cancel or pause? Terms direct members to the Membership Change Request and require at least 120 active days plus submission at least 7 days before the next billing cycle.
Refunds? Refund policy says prescribed treatments and telemedicine services are non-returnable/non-refundable. The first-month deposit has a separate clinical-ineligibility refund rule.

Three public documents give different answers about billing and duration. The legal Terms currently say 120 days minimum, so that is the conservative commitment to plan around unless 1st Optimal gives you different written terms for your purchase.

At $169/month, four monthly charges equal $676. That is a membership-price model, not a guarantee that exactly four charges will fall inside a 120-day period; billing dates and notice timing matter.

Ask 1st Optimal, in writing: "Which duration and billing-date rule applies to my membership, when will treatment be charged, and what is my earliest cancellation date?"

Taurus: current campaign vs dated pricing statement

The question What Taurus's pages say
Is there a commitment? Current $49 campaign: $149/month if prescribed, but no term stated. Taurus-issued May 2026 pricing statement: $149 with a six-month commitment and $199 month-to-month.
Is there a membership fee? Campaign: "No membership fees." Terms §28: $17.99 per billing period unless otherwise stated at purchase.
When am I charged? Campaign says medication payment follows labs and precedes the clinician call. Refund policy says the subscription service begins when intake is completed and the first month is charged.
Refunds? Campaign advertises a 90-day results guarantee minus lab and pharmacy fees. The formal refund policy says there is no guarantee of results/effectiveness and generally no refund on cancellation except medical disqualification.
Cancel deadline Refund/cancellation policy requires the request at least 72 hours before the billing date; cancellation takes effect after the paid term.

The short version: both providers publish internal contradictions that affect money. 1st Optimal's conflict is mainly about duration and treatment billing. Taurus's conflict is mainly about commitment, the $17.99 fee clause, and the relationship between the marketing guarantee and the formal refund policy.

Cancel is not refund. At Taurus, cancellation takes effect at the end of the paid term. At 1st Optimal, the current Terms require the minimum 120 days before a membership change can end the membership. Do not treat unused prepaid time as refundable unless your written terms say so.

How to cancel each one

Taurus: Use the account process if available or contact support at support@taurusmeds.com. Its policy requires receipt at least 72 hours before the billing date. Save the request and confirmation.

1st Optimal: Submit the Membership Change Request at least 7 days before the next billing cycle and after the initial 120-day minimum. Keep a copy of the submission and reply.

If exit flexibility is a top priority, compare the written cancellation rules before you compare the headline monthly price.


What testosterone do you actually get? FDA-approved vs compounded, and which pharmacy

Neither company names an FDA-approved testosterone product with a price on its public pages. Taurus's offer page says its hormones are compounded, while its homepage advertises "FDA-approved medications." 1st Optimal names a compounding pharmacy in its Terms, while its founder's guide says it uses FDA-approved options "whenever possible." Ask each one for your exact product before paying.

The difference, in plain words

FDA-approved means the FDA reviewed that specific product for safety, effectiveness, and quality before it could be sold. Approval belongs to a product, not a company.

Compounded means a pharmacy mixed the medication for an individual patient's prescription. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and the FDA doesn't review them before they're sold. That doesn't make them illegal. It means they aren't the same thing as an approved product, and you should know which one you're getting.

"Bioidentical" is a marketing/clinical term generally used for a hormone with the same chemical structure as a hormone made by the body. The word does not mean FDA-approved, and it does not tell you whether the finished product is compounded.

Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance in the U.S. Legitimate dispensing for a patient requires a valid prescription issued under applicable federal and state law. Neither provider can turn a questionnaire into guaranteed approval.

What Taurus offers

Taurus's TRT campaign displays four product cards: testosterone cypionate, enclomiphene, testosterone gel, and "Oral Sermorelin+." Only the testosterone products are TRT; enclomiphene and sermorelin are not testosterone replacement.

Its offer page says: "Our bioidentical hormones are compounded in The US specifically for The Excel Advantage HRT program." Its homepage, checked the same day, lists "FDA-approved medications." We asked ourselves what "The Excel Advantage HRT program" means on a Taurus page, and we couldn't find an answer. Ask Taurus.

Its Terms of Service name four partner pharmacies: RedRock Pharmacy (Utah), Health Warehouse (Kentucky), Precision Compounding Pharmacy (New York), and Triad Rx (Alabama). Which one fills your order isn't stated.

One more thing. All four product cards on Taurus's offer page carry the same caption about weekly injections being clinically proven to raise testosterone levels, including the gel and the pills. That's clearly a page error. Don't use it to judge any product. Ask what yours is and how it's taken.

What 1st Optimal offers

Its newest men's page lists "injections, gels, or pellets." Its older men's page lists oral, patches, creams, and injections. Its plans page mentions "Testosterone Replacement or Boosting Options."

Its Terms name one pharmacy: Belmar Pharmacy – Colorado (503A Pharmacy) in Golden, Colorado. A 503A pharmacy compounds prescriptions for individual patients. Its FAQ calls its prescription treatments "made-to-order."

At the same time, Dr. Miller's hormone therapy guide says 1st Optimal prefers FDA-approved options "whenever possible." Both can be true. The question is which one you'd get.

If a pellet is suggested, ask whether it would be an FDA-approved pellet product or a compounded one.

Enclomiphene, clomiphene, and "boosting" aren't TRT

Taurus lists enclomiphene. 1st Optimal's plans mention "boosting options," and its own TRT article names clomiphene citrate. These drugs work by nudging your body to make more of its own testosterone. They are not testosterone replacement.

  • Enclomiphene has never been approved by the FDA for any use.
  • Clomiphene is FDA-approved to treat ovulation problems in women. Using it for men is off-label.

Neither one is "natural TRT." Neither one guarantees fertility.

The one question that settles it

Send this to either company before you pay:

"Which exact medication and dosage form is being prescribed, which pharmacy will fill it, and is the finished product FDA-approved or compounded?"


Which one tests you more carefully before prescribing?

1st Optimal sells much broader lab panels. Taurus includes an 8-marker panel in its $49 starter offer but does not list those markers on that page. Neither provider's main offer materials we checked establish the exact repeat-testing rule that will apply to every patient, so ask whether a second early-morning total testosterone measurement is required before diagnosis and prescribing when clinically appropriate.

What the medical guidelines actually require

The American Urological Association (AUA) says low testosterone should be diagnosed only when you have symptoms or signs and two total testosterone tests, taken early in the morning on different days, both come back low. It calls a level under 300 ng/dL a reasonable cut-off. But a number alone isn't a diagnosis.

The Endocrine Society likewise recommends confirming the diagnosis by repeating a morning fasting total testosterone measurement and evaluating the cause of androgen deficiency.

Total testosterone is all the testosterone in your blood. Free testosterone is the small share that isn't attached to proteins. SHBG (sex hormone-binding globulin) is the main protein it attaches to.

More markers isn't the same as better care

1st Optimal's men's page says standard medicine checks testosterone against "normal," while it aims for "optimal." It also offers a 4-point saliva cortisol test and full thyroid panels.

Extra tests can help answer other questions, like why you're tired. But they cost money. And "optimal ranges" aren't part of the guideline standard for diagnosing low testosterone, which is repeat morning total testosterone plus symptoms.

Ask this, in writing

"Will you order a second early-morning testosterone test before prescribing? Are hematocrit and PSA on my panel?"

Hematocrit is the share of your blood made of red blood cells. Testosterone can raise it, so it needs checking. PSA (prostate-specific antigen) is a blood test used in prostate screening.

We can't read your lab results, and one number is never a diagnosis.


Who will your clinician be?

Taurus's Terms list OpenLoop Health as a partner management services organization, and its $49 offer includes a 15-minute video consultation with a clinician. 1st Optimal names a founder-physician who oversees its protocols and promises monthly consultations, but doesn't identify the clinician who would prescribe for you before intake. Ask both for your clinician's name, credential, and license state.

Taurus's model. Taurus says it connects patients with licensed clinicians and its Terms list OpenLoop Health, Inc. as a partner MSO. The linked OpenLoop telehealth consent describes care that may involve physicians, nurse practitioners, or physician assistants depending on the treating practice and state. Taurus's public TRT offer does not publish a complete follow-up schedule.

1st Optimal's model. Dr. Amber Miller is named as founder and overseer of clinical protocols. Every plan includes "Monthly Health Consultations," asynchronous (message-based) care, and messaging support through its patient portal. It doesn't say whether your prescriber will be a physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant.

Nurse practitioners and physician assistants are licensed clinicians who can prescribe within their state's rules. That's normal in telehealth. You still deserve to know who's treating you.

On follow-up care, 1st Optimal is clearer. Its plan card promises follow-up blood work review and monthly consultations. Taurus doesn't publish how often it rechecks your labs. Ask: "How often will my blood count and PSA be rechecked, and is that included?"


Do they take insurance or HSA, and which states do they serve?

1st Optimal says it uses a cash-based model and accepts HSA/FSA cards. We did not find a current Taurus statement promising insurance billing or HSA/FSA acceptance. Neither provider publishes a complete current state list on the pages we checked, so state availability should be confirmed before payment.

Insurance. 1st Optimal's FAQ says it does not require insurance and uses a cash-based model. Taurus's public TRT pages we reviewed do not establish that it will bill your insurance. If insurance coverage is important, compare an in-network primary-care, urology, or endocrinology route and your plan's pharmacy benefit before choosing a cash-pay program.

HSA and FSA. 1st Optimal's FAQ says HSA and FSA cards are accepted. We did not find an equally clear current Taurus statement, so ask before assuming.

States. 1st Optimal's FAQ says its coverage is expanding and directs readers to contact the company for the current state list. Taurus does not publish a complete state list on the TRT pages we checked. Before paying either company, confirm that the clinician who would treat you can legally serve your state and that the provider can fulfill the prescribed treatment there.

Your state, budget, insurance, fertility plans, and preferred treatment format can each change which care route makes sense. Get your personalized action plan with Find My TRT Path →


Are Taurus Meds and 1st Optimal legit? What customers say

Both operate live U.S. telehealth websites and display LegitScript credentials on their sites. That is not the same as proving that every clinician, pharmacy assignment, or patient experience is identical. For this comparison, the more useful trust test is whether the company names its legal entity, clinical or pharmacy partners, prices, terms, and cancellation rules clearly enough to verify.

What checks out publicly.

  • Taurus Meds: Taurus Medical, Inc. is named in its Terms; OpenLoop Health is listed as a partner MSO; four partner pharmacies are named; its blood-test page displays a LegitScript verification seal.
  • 1st Optimal: its site identifies a Clarkston, Michigan address, names Dr. Amber Miller as a co-founder/functional-medicine physician, names Belmar Pharmacy – Colorado in its Terms, and describes itself as LegitScript certified.

The review picture

Review signal Taurus Meds 1st Optimal
Trustpilot snapshot checked Sept. 25, 2026 4.3/5, 884 reviews 3.7/5, 7 reviews
Recent-review volume High Very small
Trustpilot note on soliciting reviews No recent history of asking for reviews No recent history of asking for reviews
Replies to negative reviews Trustpilot showed 1% Trustpilot said it had not replied to negative reviews
TRT-only evidence? No; reviews cover multiple Taurus products No; reviews cover broader hormone/health services

Trustpilot figures change. These are customer-experience signals, not evidence of clinical quality, safety, or typical results.

What that means. Seven reviews are far too few to draw a stable conclusion about 1st Optimal. Taurus has enough review volume to show recurring experience themes: many reviewers describe easy intake and responsive help, while some describe shipping, billing, cancellation, or communication problems. Those reports tell you what to ask about; they do not establish company policy.

One Taurus reviewer, Cory Boyles, wrote in August 2026 that the company called more than once to answer questions. Other recent reviewers reported delayed fulfillment or difficulty with cancellation. We did not verify those individual experiences.


What happens to online TRT after December 31, 2026?

The current federal telemedicine flexibilities for prescribing controlled medications run through December 31, 2026. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance, and eligible DEA-registered practitioners can currently prescribe Schedule II–V controlled substances by telemedicine without a prior in-person medical evaluation when the federal conditions are met. State law and clinician licensing still apply.

The rule after December 31, 2026 is not something this page can promise today. DEA and HHS can change the framework, and state requirements can change too.

Why it matters to your wallet. A long prepayment made in late 2026 can extend into 2027. Before paying for months of future care, ask what happens to your prescription, visits, and prepaid money if an in-person evaluation or another legal requirement becomes necessary.

Ask both: "If telemedicine prescribing rules change during my paid term, what happens to my care and any prepaid months?"


If near-term fertility matters, or low T isn't confirmed, start here instead

Exogenous testosterone can suppress sperm production, and both the AUA and Endocrine Society say fertility plans belong in the decision before testosterone treatment starts. If you are planning fertility in the near term, or you have not had low testosterone confirmed with appropriate repeat morning testing, start with a clinician rather than choosing either company from a price table.

Why fertility changes the answer. Testosterone from outside the body can reduce the signals that support sperm production. Nobody can promise that you will become infertile, stay fertile, or recover fertility on a set timeline. If fertility is central, a urologist, reproductive urologist, or endocrinologist is a better first stop.

"Boosting" drugs are not TRT. Enclomiphene is not FDA-approved for any indication. Clomiphene is FDA-approved for ovulatory dysfunction in women; use in men is off-label. Neither is testosterone replacement, and neither is a fertility guarantee.

If low T has not been confirmed, guidelines call for symptoms or signs plus consistently low testosterone, with repeat early-morning testing. One symptom list, one quiz, or one isolated number is not enough.

Start with in-person or specialist care if you have: known or suspected prostate or breast cancer, elevated hematocrit, untreated severe obstructive sleep apnea, a heart attack or stroke within the past six months, or signs of pituitary or testicular disease. For chest pain, trouble breathing, fainting, or sudden leg swelling, call 911 or seek emergency care.

Find the right care-route questions with Find My TRT Path →


When neither Taurus Meds nor 1st Optimal is the right fit

Neither provider is automatically the right next step just because you want online care. Insurance needs, a preference for a specific FDA-approved product, near-term fertility, complex medical history, or a need for in-person evaluation can all make another care route more sensible.

You want insurance to pay

1st Optimal says it uses a cash-pay model. We did not verify an insurance-billing promise from Taurus. If insurance coverage matters, compare care through your primary-care clinician, urologist, or endocrinologist and your plan's pharmacy benefit.

You want a specific FDA-approved testosterone product

Do not choose from a provider logo alone. Ask for the exact product, dosage form, manufacturer or compounding pharmacy, and price. FDA-approved testosterone products and compounded testosterone are not interchangeable categories.

Near-term fertility matters

Start with a fertility-aware clinician, often urology or reproductive urology, before choosing a testosterone subscription.

You want to compare other online care models

Use the site's provider-comparison pages only after you have defined the problem you are solving: price, coaching, treatment format, insurance, monitoring, or cancellation. Find My TRT Path is the neutral starting point when you are not sure.


Questions to get answered in writing before you pay

Every question below is one we couldn't answer from either company's public pages. Copy them, send them, and don't enter card details until you have answers in writing.

Ask both companies:

  1. Which exact medication and dosage form is being prescribed? Is the finished product FDA-approved or compounded? Which pharmacy fills it?
  2. Will you order a second early-morning testosterone test before prescribing? Are hematocrit and PSA on my panel?
  3. On what date will my card first be charged, and for what?
  4. Am I committing to a set number of months? How many?
  5. What's my cancellation deadline, and what's refundable if I stop in month two?
  6. What's my clinician's name, credential, and license state?
  7. How do I get a copy of my medical records if I leave?
  8. What happens to my prescription and prepaid months if federal telehealth rules change in January 2027?

Ask 1st Optimal also:

  1. Is testosterone included in the $169 membership? If not, what will my medication cost per month?
  2. Which lab panel will I be asked to buy, and is it member-priced?
  3. Are follow-up labs included, or only the review?
  4. Which contract term applies to me: month to month, 120 days, or my protocol length?
  5. Which billing-date rule applies to me?
  6. If I'm found eligible but decide not to start, is my deposit refunded?
  7. Do you serve my state?

Ask Taurus also:

  1. Am I on the six-month prepay or month to month?
  2. Is the $17.99 fee in Section 28 of your Terms waived on my order?
  3. Does the 90-day guarantee apply to my order, and what counts as "serious results"?
  4. What is "The Excel Advantage HRT program" mentioned on your offer page?

If you only ask two: "Which product and pharmacy?" and "Will you order a second morning test before prescribing me?"


How we compared Taurus Meds and 1st Optimal

We read both companies' pricing pages, plan pages, Terms of Service, refund policies, and lab store on September 25, 2026, put the facts in the same columns, and did the math ourselves. We checked medical and legal claims against the FDA, DEA, HHS, and medical society guidelines. We didn't enroll, pay, or speak with either company's clinicians.

We follow How We Review TRT Providers. That means we keep four kinds of information separate: facts we verified in a company's own documents, things a company says but we couldn't test, customer-experience signals, and our own conclusions. We calculate complete cost instead of repeating a teaser price. And we don't give providers numeric scores.

Where a company's pages disagree with each other, we show both versions and the question to ask, instead of guessing which one is right. The Last verified date shows when these volatile facts were checked. Prices, policies, and telemedicine rules can change, so recheck the provider's current terms and DEA/HHS rules before acting on a later date.

Spot an error? Tell us on our corrections page.


Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper, Taurus Meds or 1st Optimal?

Taurus has the lower published headline-price model: $49 plus twelve months at the current $149 campaign rate equals $1,837. That is not a confirmed all-in bill. Twelve months of 1st Optimal's $169 membership equals $2,028 before any separately billed treatment or lab cost that applies.

Does 1st Optimal's $169 include testosterone?

Its current FAQ says membership gives access to treatments at a reduced members-only rate, while an older still-live page says "TRT or Test-Boost Therapy Included." Because those statements conflict, confirm in writing whether testosterone is included in your $169 plan and what any separate medication charge will be.

Is Taurus Meds really $149 a month?

$149/month is the price on Taurus's current TRT campaign if prescribed. A Taurus-issued May 2026 pricing statement tied $149 to a six-month commitment and listed $199 month-to-month, but the live campaign does not state that term. There is also a $49 advertised test-and-consult charge up front.

Is there a contract with 1st Optimal?

Its Terms of Service say memberships last at least 120 days. Its FAQ says month to month, and its newest men's page says the length of your prescribed treatment. Plan around 120 days, about $676 in membership fees, unless 1st Optimal confirms otherwise in writing.

Can I cancel Taurus Meds anytime?

Taurus's policy says you may cancel, but the request must be received at least 72 hours before the billing date. Cancellation takes effect at the end of the paid term, and cancellation generally does not create a refund except where the policy provides one.

Is Taurus Meds or 1st Optimal testosterone FDA-approved?

Neither publishes an FDA-approved testosterone product with a price. Taurus's offer page says its hormones are compounded. 1st Optimal names a 503A compounding pharmacy and says it uses FDA-approved options "whenever possible." Ask each one for your exact product.

How fast can I start TRT with each?

Taurus says testing-to-delivery averages about 1–2 weeks. 1st Optimal says many lab results take 5–7 business days and some take 10–14; the final treatment timeline depends on consultation, prescribing, pharmacy processing, and shipping.

Do Taurus Meds or 1st Optimal take insurance?

1st Optimal says it uses a cash-based model and accepts HSA/FSA cards. We did not verify a current insurance-billing promise from Taurus, so confirm that directly rather than assuming coverage.

Are Taurus Meds and 1st Optimal legit?

Both operate live telehealth services and display LegitScript credentials on their sites. Trustpilot showed Taurus at 4.3/5 from 884 reviews and 1st Optimal at 3.7/5 from 7 reviews when checked September 25, 2026. Reviews are experience signals, not proof of clinical quality or policy.

Which is better if I want coaching?

1st Optimal. Monthly functional health coaching and monthly consultations are part of its membership. Taurus doesn't publish a coaching program.

Will TRT from either company affect my fertility?

It can. Testosterone therapy can lower sperm production. If you are planning fertility in the near term, talk with a urologist or reproductive specialist before starting testosterone therapy.

Will online TRT still be available after December 31, 2026?

The current federal telemedicine flexibilities for prescribing controlled medications run through December 31, 2026. What comes after that date should be rechecked against DEA/HHS rules before you commit to care extending into 2027.

Can I switch from one to the other?

Potentially, but each company uses its own intake and clinical process. 1st Optimal says it accepts outside lab results and transfer patients; Taurus still requires its own assessment process. Get a copy of your records before you cancel and confirm what testing the new provider will accept.


Our verdict

Taurus publishes the lower starting price; 1st Optimal publishes the broader ongoing-support model. If your priority is a simpler program and lower headline cost, Taurus is the one to investigate first—but only after you confirm the $17.99 fee clause, the current commitment, the exact product, and the refund terms in writing. If coaching and monthly consultations matter more, 1st Optimal is the stronger fit on published services—but confirm whether testosterone is included in the $169 membership and plan around the 120-day minimum in its current Terms.

If near-term fertility matters, you need insurance billing, low testosterone has not been properly confirmed, or your medical history is complex, the better next step is a clinician-led care route rather than choosing between these two from price alone.

Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.

It's educational, not a diagnosis. It maps your situation to a sensible first stop and the questions to bring, and it does not decide whether you will be prescribed anything.

Find My TRT Path →


Keep reading: Taurus Meds reviews · Taurus Meds cost · Taurus Meds testosterone cypionate · Taurus Meds vs Henry Meds · Taurus Meds vs Hone Health · Male Excel vs Taurus Meds

Last verified: September 25, 2026 · By: TRT Provider Guide · Method: How We Review TRT Providers · Disclosure: TRT Provider Guide has disclosed commercial relationships with providers including Taurus Meds on current site pages. The provider links on this page are direct public-information links, not tracked enrollment links. Commercial relationships do not change the factual findings or limitations reported here. Read our current affiliate disclosure. · Corrections

This page is educational information, not medical advice. It does not diagnose low testosterone or recommend any dose or treatment. Talk with a licensed clinician about your health. For chest pain, trouble breathing, fainting, or sudden leg swelling, call 911 or go to the nearest emergency room.

Sources

Taurus Meds (checked Sept. 25, 2026):

1st Optimal (checked Sept. 25, 2026):

Medical and regulatory:

TRT Provider Guide trust pages:

Ready to explore your options?

Our tool helps you narrow down the care route that fits your situation based on testing, budget, and fertility goals.

Find My TRT Path

Not sure which TRT route fits you?

Find My TRT Path