TRT consultation cost ranges from $25 to $299 across the paid first steps we verified in September 2026, while the main online test-and-consult packages here cost $45 to $99. A diagnosis still requires symptoms or signs plus consistently low testosterone confirmed with repeat early-morning testing, so the real cost to reach a decision is often higher.
Three things change your number: whether you use insurance, whether you already have recent morning test results a clinician will accept, and whether a low-cost first step leads into a paid membership, more lab work, or both.
And here's the part most price lists skip. The cheapest first visit isn't always the cheapest way to get an answer. One missing line—the repeat testosterone test—can change what you spend before anyone tells you yes or no.
This page is for you if you're pricing a first testosterone appointment, you've seen a "$49" or low-cost consultation offer, or a clinic quoted you a number and you want to know what that number actually buys.
It's not for you if you want a symptom quiz to tell you whether you have low testosterone, or you want testosterone without a prescription. It covers adult men in the U.S. It doesn't cover testosterone care for women, teens, gender-affirming care, or athletic use.
TRT consultation cost at a glance
| Route | First payment | First payment includes blood testing? | Published repeat testosterone test? | Key cost question before you pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hone Health Plus (online) | $45 | Yes | Yes: $45 at a lab or $80 at home | What happens to test fees if treatment is not offered? |
| Hone Health Premium (online) | $65 | Yes | Yes: $25 at a lab | What happens to test fees if treatment is not offered? |
| Taurus Meds (online) | $49 | Yes | Not published on the offer page we checked | Which tests are included, and which refund/fee terms apply to this offer? |
| Male Excel (online) | $99 | Yes, at home | Not listed on the starter-test page | Will a repeat morning test and baseline blood count be ordered before testosterone, and what will they cost? |
| Marek Health (online) | $299 | No; required labs are separate | Not confirmed | Which lab panel will be required and what will it cost? |
| Low T Center (in person) | $25 first test, then $135 if the first result qualifies | Yes | Yes: the $135 second visit includes a confirmation test | Does your location still use the published prices? |
| TLC Wellness, Kingsport, TN (in person) | $225 consultation | Labs are separate, quoted at $100–$200 | Not specified | Do the required labs include repeat morning testosterone testing? |
| Your own doctor | Copay/coinsurance or a self-pay estimate | Usually ordered separately | Up to your clinician | What will the visit and required labs cost under your plan? |
Provider prices and policies above were checked on official provider pages on September 17, 2026. Provider-stated facts are labeled as such below. Prices can change.
What we actually verified: We read current provider pricing, plan, terms, and policy pages; current federal controlled-substance and telemedicine sources; Medicare and CMS pages; FDA compounding guidance; and Endocrine Society and AUA/ASRM guidance. We did not enroll, pay, attend a consultation, contact support, or audit every individual clinician or pharmacy license. See exactly what we checked.
Affiliate disclosure: TRT Provider Guide may earn compensation through certain provider links. Read our full affiliate disclosure. This page does not use compensated provider links. If that status changes, any qualifying link must be clearly disclosed before it is activated. Read the affiliate disclosure.
TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.
The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.
This page is educational information, not medical advice. It can't diagnose low testosterone or tell you whether treatment is right for you. Chest pain, trouble breathing, stroke symptoms, or a painful, swollen leg need emergency care now—call 911.
How much does a TRT consultation cost at each provider?
At the U.S. routes we checked in September 2026, the first paid step runs from $25 to $299. The online test-and-consult packages from Hone, Taurus Meds, and Male Excel start at $45, $49, and $99 respectively, while Marek Health uses a $299 intake credit and bills required labs separately. The first payment is not always the full evaluation cost.
Here's every route we checked, with the same questions answered for each. Read the what it buys and what remains unknown columns before the price column. That's where the real differences live.
The TRT Consultation Price Decoder
| Route | First payment | What that payment buys | Published repeat-test path | What you pay next if you start | If treatment is not offered |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hone Health — Plus | $45 | Provider-stated at-home test with 8 markers plus a live video physician visit | Yes: $45 at a lab or $80 at home; the confirmation panel repeats total testosterone and adds prolactin, PSA, and hematocrit | $135/month membership; medication separately | Public plan pages do not state a treatment-declined refund for test fees—ask before ordering |
| Hone Health — Premium | $65 | Provider-stated comprehensive at-lab panel plus a live video physician visit | Yes: $25 at a lab; total testosterone and prolactin | $155/month membership; medication separately | Public plan pages do not state a treatment-declined refund for test fees—ask before ordering |
| Taurus Meds | $49 | Provider-stated blood test plus consultation | Not published on the $49 offer page we checked | Offer page says $149/month, all inclusive, no membership fee | The offer page says medically ineligible patients are refunded, while the general Terms say blood-work purchases are not refundable—get the answer in writing |
| Male Excel | $99 | Provider-stated at-home blood-spot test, online provider consultation, and treatment plan | Not listed on the $99 starter-test page | $99/month required membership plus medication; injections are advertised from $120/month in a 60-day supply, plus shipping | July 2026 Terms say sales and fees are generally non-refundable, with issues handled case by case |
| Marek Health | $299 | One-time intake/payment credited toward a provider visit; required labs are separate | Not confirmed publicly | Required labs, then any prescriptions; Marek's current signup page says a comprehensive lab panel starts at $450 | Intake-refund terms were not clear enough in the public pages we checked to state a refund amount |
| Defy Medical | No single intake price published on the cost FAQ we checked | Pay-per-service model rather than a subscription | Not published on that cost FAQ | Provider states the average male TRT patient spends under $175/month in year one, including labs, consultations, and testosterone | Ask for an itemized quote before paying |
| Low T Center | $25 first test | First testosterone test; if it qualifies, $135 covers the second test, in-person consultation, and first injection | Yes: two qualifying tests before 10 a.m. are stated on its pricing page | Prescriptions are typically listed at $105.50/month; follow-up visits with an injection are $135 | If the first test does not qualify, the published path stops after the $25 test |
| TLC Wellness, Kingsport, TN | $225 | In-person history, physical exam, and lab review; the clinic says the first month of medication is included if treatment is prescribed | Initial labs are required and listed at $100–$200; a repeat testosterone test is not specified | $150/month men's plan; follow-up labs listed at $100 about every three months at first | Not stated publicly |
| Your own doctor | Insured: copay/coinsurance after applicable deductible. Self-pay: ask for a written estimate | A clinical evaluation; labs are usually ordered separately | Up to the clinician and the testing already available | Pharmacy costs plus later visits if treatment is prescribed | You still owe for services already provided, but you retain the clinical relationship and can request your records |
Low T Center's pricing page was last updated October 9, 2025, so confirm current prices with your location. All other rows use provider pages checked September 17, 2026 unless noted in the source itself.
Four things this table shows
- The advertised first payment is not an apples-to-apples consultation price. Some payments buy a test plus a clinician visit; some buy only the first test; Marek's $299 is an intake credit while labs are separate.
- Hone and Low T Center publish a repeat-test path before or at the treatment decision. Other programs may also repeat testing, but we did not find a public price and process clear enough to count it as verified.
- A low entry price can hide the biggest unanswered cost. If the provider does not publish the repeat-test price, baseline blood-count requirements, or refund terms, those lines are unknown—not free.
- A broad full-year TRT cost page and a consultation-cost page answer different questions. This page stops at the evaluation decision; for medication and full-year budgeting, see TRT cost in 2026.
Online programs: $45 to $299 to get started
Hone publishes the clearest repeat-test path among the online programs in this comparison. You pay for the first test and physician video visit, and its published TRT confirmation step is $45 at a lab or $80 at home on Plus and $25 at a lab on Premium. That puts the documented pre-membership testing-and-consult path at $90 to $125 depending on the plan and test format.
Taurus has the lowest single online payment in this comparison for a test-plus-consult offer, but its own documents leave an important billing question unresolved. The offer says $149 a month is all inclusive with no membership fee; the general Terms contain a $17.99 health-care member fee unless otherwise stated at purchase. That does not prove the $17.99 applies to this TRT offer. It means you should ask which document controls before paying.
Male Excel charges $99 up front for its published starter path. That buys the at-home five-marker blood-spot test, an online provider consultation, and a treatment plan. Its required ongoing membership is another $99 a month if you start treatment, and medication is separate.
Marek's $299 is different again. It is a one-time intake payment credited toward a provider visit, while required labs are separate. Marek's current signup page says a comprehensive panel starts at $450, so the published starting spend can be at least $749 before prescriptions if that starting panel is the one your plan requires. Your actual lab order can differ, so treat that as a floor from public pricing, not a quote.
Local clinics: the first price can be only the first gate
Local prices are harder to compare because many clinics do not publish them. The examples that do publish prices show why the first number needs context.
Low T Center lists $25 for a first testosterone test. If that result qualifies, a $135 second visit includes a confirmation test, an in-person consultation, and the first injection. Its page says the two qualifying tests are done before 10 a.m.
TLC Wellness in Kingsport, Tennessee, lists a $225 in-person consultation and $100 to $200 for required initial labs. Its public pricing page does not specify whether those labs include the repeat morning testosterone test used to confirm consistently low levels.
Another published example, eHormone & Wellness Center in Texas and Arizona, lists a $150 initial consultation, a required $250 follow-up lab-review consultation before program enrollment, laboratory work separately, and a TRT membership starting at $275 a month. That is a useful reminder that a low first-consult price may not be the full evaluation price.
Your own doctor: it depends on your insurance and the tests ordered
If you have insurance, a visit with a primary-care doctor, urologist, or endocrinologist is billed like other covered office care under your plan. Your copay, coinsurance, deductible, network rules, referral rules, and lab network can all change what you pay.
If you are paying without insurance, there is no reliable national cash price that works as a quote for your clinic. Ask for a written good faith estimate for the visit and any expected lab work before you schedule or pay.
Why generic "$100 to $300" ranges are not enough
A generic range can mix an information call, a blood test, a medical consultation, a specialist visit, and a full evaluation into one number. It can also mix insured and uninsured patients. A named, dated price is more useful only when the page also tells you what that price buys and what still has to happen before a clinician can make a treatment decision.
What does a TRT consultation fee actually pay for?
A true clinical TRT consultation pays for a licensed clinician to review your symptoms or signs, health history, and relevant testing before making a medical decision. But an advertised first payment may instead buy a blood test, intake, or credit toward a later visit. Ask who you will see, whether the visit is live, and which tests are included.
Who you actually talk to
A TRT prescribing visit should involve a clinician who is legally authorized to evaluate and prescribe in the state where you are located during the visit. Depending on state law and scope of practice, that may be a physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant. Controlled-substance prescribing also has federal DEA requirements.
A patient advocate, coach, or sales representative is not the same thing as the prescribing clinician. Before you pay, ask for the clinician's name and license type, then use the appropriate state licensing board if you want to verify that license.
Why remote testosterone prescribing currently uses live audio-video care
Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance in the United States and requires a valid prescription.
Through December 31, 2026, the current federal telemedicine extension lets DEA-registered practitioners prescribe Schedule II–V controlled medications without a prior in-person medical evaluation when the extension's conditions are met. For testosterone under that remote exception, the telemedicine encounter is audio-video; the temporary rule's audio-only pathway is limited to specified medications for opioid-use disorder. Federal and state requirements still apply.
Bottom line: a questionnaire or text chat alone is not the federal audio-video encounter used for remote prescribing of testosterone under the current temporary exception. A video visit does not guarantee a prescription either. The clinician still has to make an individualized medical decision and comply with state and federal law.
What a good first consultation covers
Use this as your checklist. A first visit evaluating possible testosterone deficiency should address the clinical questions that determine whether more testing, specialist care, or treatment is appropriate.
- Your symptoms or signs and how long they have been present
- Every medication and supplement you take, including opioids and anabolic steroids
- Whether you want children now or in the future
- Relevant sleep, cardiovascular, blood-clot, prostate, breast, and other medical history
- Your testosterone results and whether repeat early-morning testing is still needed
- Baseline blood testing such as hematocrit, and PSA when clinically appropriate
- Possible causes when further evaluation is needed, which may include LH, FSH, prolactin, or other testing
- Treatment options and whether a proposed testosterone product is FDA-approved or compounded
- Which pharmacy would dispense medication if treatment is prescribed
- A monitoring and follow-up plan
What each provider publishes about the visit itself
| What to verify | Male Excel | Taurus Meds | Hone Health | Low T Center | Marek Health |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed clinician involvement | Provider-stated | Provider-stated | Provider-stated physician | In-person provider | Provider-stated |
| Live video or in person | Provider-stated online/video consultation | Video consultation stated on offer | Live video stated | In person | Provider consultation stated; exact first clinical format should be confirmed |
| Labs reviewed as part of pathway | Yes, provider-stated | Yes, provider-stated | Yes, provider-stated | Yes | Yes; required labs billed separately |
| Published repeat testosterone test | Not listed on starter-test page | Not published on $49 offer page | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed publicly |
| Baseline blood count published in starter path | Not in the five-marker starter kit | Test markers not clearly listed on the offer page we checked | Yes in the published TRT confirmation/baseline path | Not itemized on pricing page | Included in broad published lab panels, but exact required order varies |
| Pharmacy disclosure | Terms say contracted third-party pharmacies; outside transfer not offered | General Terms name partner pharmacies | Pharmacy details vary by treatment; confirm before enrollment | In-clinic/prescription model described by provider | Confirm for your prescription |
"Not published" means we could not find a clear public statement on the checked page. It does not mean the provider never performs that step.
Does the consultation fee cover everything you need to get a treatment decision?
Usually not. The Endocrine Society recommends diagnosing hypogonadism only when compatible symptoms or signs are present and testosterone is unequivocally and consistently low, with repeat morning fasting total testosterone measurement to confirm the result. A package that includes one test may therefore leave another diagnostic step—and another charge—before a decision.
The repeat blood test most price lists leave out
Testosterone varies during the day and can be affected by illness, food intake, and other factors. One result by itself is not the whole diagnosis.
The Endocrine Society's July 2026 statement says:
- Symptoms alone do not diagnose low testosterone.
- Diagnosis should be made by a clinician using symptoms or signs plus consistently low testosterone.
- At least two early-morning, fasting testosterone measurements are recommended for confirmation.
- A value near 300 ng/dL is a common clinical reference point, but it is not a universal diagnosis by itself.
- Reliable, standardized assays matter; the Society points to CDC-standardized testing.
So when you compare prices, ask a better question. Not just "What does the first visit cost?" Ask "What will I pay to complete the evaluation your clinician needs before making a decision?"
What it costs to reach the published decision point
We call this the documented subtotal: the published charges we can add before a treatment decision or before the program's next required paid step. Where a provider does not publish a required step, the subtotal stays incomplete rather than treating the missing line as free.
| Route | First published step | Published confirmation or required next step | Documented subtotal | What is still unknown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hone Plus | $45 test + physician video visit | $45 at-lab TRT confirmation, or $80 at home | $90 lab / $125 home | Refund treatment if treatment is not offered; whether timing/fasting instructions vary by test format |
| Hone Premium | $65 at-lab panel + physician video visit | $25 at-lab TRT confirmation | $90 | Refund treatment if treatment is not offered |
| Low T Center | $25 first test | $135 package with second test + in-person consult + first injection if first result qualifies | $160 | The $135 package already includes the first treatment dose, so it is not a pure pre-treatment subtotal |
| TLC Wellness | $225 in-person consultation | $100–$200 required initial labs | $325–$425 in known setup charges | Whether those labs include the repeat morning test needed for confirmation |
| Male Excel | $99 starter test + provider consultation | Repeat-test price not published on the starter page | $99 + unknown | Whether and how repeat testosterone testing and baseline hematocrit are obtained before testosterone |
| Taurus Meds | $49 blood test + consultation | Repeat-test price not published on the offer page | $49 + unknown | Test markers, repeat-testing process, and which refund/fee terms govern the $49 offer |
| Marek Health | $299 one-time intake credit | Required labs; signup page says comprehensive panel starts at $450 | At least $749 if the $450 starting panel applies | Your exact required panel and whether repeat testing is included |
| Your own doctor | Office visit under your plan or self-pay estimate | Clinician-ordered testing | Plan- and clinic-specific | Network, deductible, lab coverage, and tests ordered |
How we did the math: Hone Plus $45 + $45 = $90, or $45 + $80 = $125. Hone Premium $65 + $25 = $90. Low T Center $25 + $135 = $160. TLC Wellness $225 + $100 to $200 = $325 to $425. Marek's public starting floor is $299 + $450 = $749 if the starting comprehensive panel is the required order. These are calculations from published prices, not quotes and not claims that the services are clinically equivalent.
Our editorial conclusion: If your main goal is a clearly priced online pathway that publicly documents repeat testosterone testing and baseline hematocrit before treatment, Hone has the clearest published path among the online programs compared here. If you prefer face-to-face care, Low T Center publishes a two-test in-person path, although its second-visit package already includes the first injection.
If you are not sure whether you need online care, a local clinician, or specialist evaluation, use Find My TRT Path before paying another test fee.
Is a free TRT consultation really free?
Sometimes the first interaction costs nothing, but "free consultation" can mean very different things. It may be a questionnaire, an information call, or an introductory conversation rather than the prescribing evaluation. Before you book, ask who you will speak with, whether it is the clinical visit, and what the next required charge is.
Free first steps are not automatically a problem. They become a problem when the next mandatory price is hard to find.
| Kind of free first step | Verified example | What it can do | What it cannot establish by itself | Ask this before you continue |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free assessment | Male Excel currently advertises a free online hormone assessment before its $99 at-home test and provider consultation path | Collect initial information and start the enrollment flow | Diagnose low testosterone or replace the paid clinical evaluation and testing | "What is the first charge, and when do I meet the prescribing clinician?" |
| A credit toward later care | Marek says its $299 intake payment is credited toward a provider visit | Reduce the later provider-visit balance | Make required lab work free | "Which labs are required, what will they cost, and is any unused credit refundable?" |
A credit is useful only if you would use the later service anyway. A free assessment is useful only if it helps you understand the next step. Neither should be mistaken for the complete clinical evaluation.
What happens to your money if you don't get a prescription?
It depends on the provider's own terms, and Taurus Meds currently has a material conflict between its offer page and general Terms. Male Excel's July 2026 Terms say sales and fees are generally non-refundable. Hone's public plan pages do not state a treatment-declined refund for testing fees. Get the answer in writing before you pay.
Here's a line worth remembering: getting no prescription and getting a refund are two separate questions. A clinical "no" is not automatically money back.
Money at risk if the answer is no
| Route | Published amount already paid | What the public documents say |
|---|---|---|
| Male Excel | $99 | July 2026 Terms say sales and fees are generally non-refundable, while the company may address issues case by case |
| Taurus Meds | $49 | Offer page says medically ineligible patients are refunded; general Terms say blood-work purchases are not refundable. The governing answer for this offer is unclear—get it in writing |
| Hone Health | $45 to $125, depending on plan/test steps completed | Public plan pages describe testing and membership but do not state a treatment-declined refund for those test fees |
| Low T Center | $25 after the first test | Published path charges $135 for the second test/consult/first injection only if the first test qualifies you for that step |
| Marek Health | $299 plus any labs already ordered | Public pages checked did not give us a clear enough intake-refund rule to publish a guaranteed refund amount |
| Your own doctor | Visit and tests already performed | Normal medical billing applies; request your records if you move care |
Where Taurus's documents disagree
Taurus's public documents contain two conflicts that matter to a price shopper:
| Taurus document | What it says | Why it matters | Ask this |
|---|---|---|---|
| $49 TRT offer | Medically ineligible patients "will be refunded" | Suggests the $49 can come back after a clinical denial | "Is the full $49 returned to my original payment method if the clinician says I am not eligible?" |
| General Terms | "There are no refunds on blood work tests" | Conflicts with the offer-page refund statement | "Which policy controls this specific TRT offer?" |
| $49 TRT offer | "$149/mo – all inclusive" and "No membership fees" | Suggests $149 is the recurring treatment price | "Is $149 the complete recurring charge before optional extras?" |
| General Terms | $17.99 health-care member fee per billing period unless otherwise stated at purchase | The exception means the clause may or may not apply to the TRT offer | "Does the $17.99 fee apply to this offer, yes or no? Please confirm in writing." |
That is a damaging admission about the offer because it changes the cost decision. It is not proof that Taurus will charge both amounts. The correct conclusion is narrower: the public documents do not let us establish the final recurring charge or refund treatment with enough confidence to tell you to rely on one page alone.
Find out when the billing clock starts
A first visit can lead into recurring billing. Ask exactly which event triggers the next charge: ordering testing, completing intake, clinician approval, activating a membership, or ordering medication.
For the programs whose current public pages are clear enough to summarize:
- Hone Health: testing comes before the monthly membership; its plan pages separate the initial/confirmation testing from the $135 or $155 monthly membership.
- Male Excel: the $99 starter test and consultation come first; the $99 monthly medical membership is required for ongoing treatment, and medication is separate.
- Taurus Meds: the $49 offer page says the next treatment price is $149 a month if approved, but the general fee clause creates enough ambiguity that you should get the recurring charge in writing.
Ask how to get your records
Whatever the answer, ask how to download your lab report and visit summary, and whether there is a records fee. Those results may help another clinician understand what has already been done, although the next clinician decides which outside tests they can accept.
Do you pay again for follow-up consultations?
It depends on the care model. Male Excel and Hone publish memberships that include ongoing clinician access, while Low T Center uses paid follow-up visits and Defy uses pay-per-service care. The right comparison is not "free follow-ups" versus "paid follow-ups"—it is the full recurring cost for the access and monitoring you actually need.
| Route | Follow-up visits | Follow-up labs |
|---|---|---|
| Male Excel | Provider-stated unlimited e-visits with the medical provider in the $99/month membership | Provider states comprehensive blood testing every six months |
| Hone Plus / Premium | Included in the $135 / $155 monthly memberships | Included on Hone's published membership schedule |
| Taurus Meds | Offer page calls the $149/month treatment price all inclusive, but does not give enough detail on the public offer page for us to publish a specific follow-up cadence | Not detailed enough on the offer page to price separately |
| Low T Center | $135 per follow-up visit with an injection; provider says about every five weeks at first, then every three months | Performed through the clinic's follow-up pathway |
| TLC Wellness | Included in the $150/month men's plan | $100 about every three months initially, per provider pricing page |
| Defy Medical | Paid per service | Paid per service; provider states its first-year average includes labs and consultations |
| Your own doctor | Billed per visit under your plan or self-pay arrangement | Billed/covered per ordered test |
For the complete recurring budget, see TRT cost in 2026.
The honest catch with Male Excel's membership model
Male Excel's $99 starter payment is not advertised as refundable if you turn out not to be a treatment candidate. Its July 2026 Terms say sales and fees are generally non-refundable. The five-marker starter kit also does not list a blood count or a repeat testosterone measurement on the page we checked.
If a clearly published repeat-test and baseline-hematocrit path is your priority, Hone publishes more of that pre-treatment process up front. That does not prove Male Excel never orders those tests; it means you should ask how and when they are obtained before you pay.
The reason Male Excel may still fit a different buyer is ongoing access. Its current membership page says the $99 monthly medical membership includes continuity with a dedicated provider, unlimited e-visits, and messaging support.
A few more facts to weigh before you start:
- Membership plus medication is the real monthly cost. Male Excel currently advertises injections from $120 a month in a 60-day supply, plus shipping, on top of the $99 medical membership. Dose and treatment format can change medication price.
- Male Excel describes its treatment products as compounded. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and FDA does not review compounded drugs for safety, effectiveness, or quality before they are marketed in the same way it reviews FDA-approved products.
- Male Excel does not serve every state. Its current FAQ excludes Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island.
- Male Excel says it does not accept commercial insurance and is not enrolled in Medicare or Medicaid.
- Its 90-day guarantee is limited. The company says qualifying patients who follow the protocol and do not notice improvement may receive up to three months of membership fees back; that is a provider-stated guarantee, not a medical-outcome guarantee, and medication/test costs are not the same thing as membership fees.
"Male Excel is more cost effective than many of the clinics around me and much more convenient." — Dan, identified by Male Excel as a verified patient
This quote is published by Male Excel on its own pricing page. TRT Provider Guide did not independently verify the reviewer, and one person's experience is not evidence of typical results, clinical quality, or medical effectiveness.
If ongoing access is what you value but you are not sure whether this care model fits your testing, fertility, state, or insurance situation, use Find My TRT Path before choosing a program.
Does insurance cover a TRT consultation?
Often, an in-network office visit can be covered like other medically necessary outpatient care, subject to your plan's deductible, copay, coinsurance, referral, and network rules. The telehealth programs in this article mainly publish cash-pay prices, and Male Excel explicitly says it does not accept commercial insurance. Coverage for a visit is separate from coverage for any later prescription.
Using private insurance
A first visit for a new concern is generally billed under your plan's normal office-visit rules. Before you book, call the number on your insurance card and ask:
- "Is this clinician in network?"
- "Do I need a referral to see a urologist or endocrinologist?"
- "What's my copay or coinsurance for this visit, and how much of my deductible is left?"
- "Which laboratory should I use so ordered blood tests stay in network?"
Do not try to choose the billing code yourself. Ask the office what it expects to bill, and ask your insurer what your share would be.
Using Original Medicare
Original Medicare Part B covers medically necessary physician and other practitioner services. After the Part B deductible, patients generally pay 20% of the Medicare-approved amount for covered doctor services. Medicare says patients usually pay nothing for covered clinical laboratory tests when Medicare's coverage conditions are met.
Your real cost depends on the service billed, location, whether the clinician accepts Medicare, whether the service is covered, and any supplemental coverage. Medicare Advantage plans use their own plan rules and copays.
Paying cash at a doctor's office? Ask for a good faith estimate
Under federal No Surprises Act rules, uninsured and self-pay patients can request a good faith estimate of expected charges. If a final bill from a provider or facility is $400 or more above that provider's good faith estimate, a federal patient-provider dispute process may be available if the other eligibility requirements are met.
Copy this line into your request:
"I'm paying without insurance. Please send me a written good faith estimate for the visit and any lab tests you expect to order."
A doctor's estimate may not include a separate laboratory's charges, so ask whether you also need an estimate from the lab.
Can you use an HSA or FSA?
Qualified medical expenses can often be paid or reimbursed through an HSA or FSA, but eligibility depends on the specific expense and account rules. Keep itemized receipts and check with your plan administrator if a membership bundles medical services with anything else.
Which TRT consultation should you book?
Choose by the unresolved step in your evaluation, not by the lowest sticker price. If you have insurance and a clinician willing to evaluate you, that route may cost less. If you want a clearly published online repeat-test pathway, Hone gives more public detail. If ongoing membership-covered provider access matters most, Male Excel publishes that model clearly.
These are editorial fit conclusions from the verified facts above, not medical endorsements:
- You have insurance or Medicare and a clinician who will evaluate you and order the needed tests → Start by pricing that route. Ask the office and insurer for your expected visit and lab costs.
- You want a clearly published online repeat-test and baseline-hematocrit pathway → Hone publishes the clearest one among the online programs compared here: $90 on Premium or $90 to $125 on Plus before monthly membership and medication.
- You want one $99 starter payment, then membership-covered provider access if you start treatment → Male Excel publishes that structure. Ask how repeat morning testing and baseline hematocrit are handled before testosterone.
- You are considering Taurus because the first payment is $49 → Treat $49 as the advertised first payment, not as "$0 at risk." Its offer and general Terms conflict on refund language, and the general fee clause needs written clarification for this offer.
- You want face-to-face care and a published two-test process → Low T Center publishes a $25 first test followed by a $135 second-test/consult/first-injection package if the first test qualifies. Confirm local pricing.
- You already have recent morning testosterone results → Ask whether the provider will accept them and whether any repeat or baseline testing is still required before you buy another kit.
- You want broad lab testing and a more intensive pay-as-you-go/private-pay model → Marek and Defy use different structures from low-cost starter offers; ask for the exact labs and services required for your case before comparing totals.
- You are trying to have children now or soon → Read the fertility section below before choosing any testosterone program.
Still torn between care routes? The right first visit depends on things a price table cannot see: testing already completed, fertility plans, insurance, state, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point.
→ Map the care route that fits your situation with Find My TRT Path
The tool is educational and non-diagnostic. It does not determine eligibility, diagnose low testosterone, or guarantee a prescription.
Who should see a specialist before paying for a routine online TRT consultation?
Men who want children now or in the near future, or who have health findings that may change the evaluation, may need urology, reproductive urology, endocrinology, or coordinated in-person care rather than a routine online path. A low-cost online consultation is not a shortcut around evaluation for cancer risk, high hematocrit, untreated severe sleep apnea, recent major cardiovascular events, or possible pituitary disease.
If you want children now or later
Testosterone taken from outside the body can suppress sperm production. The AUA/ASRM male-infertility guideline says testosterone monotherapy should not be prescribed to men interested in current or future fertility.
That does not mean testosterone makes every man permanently infertile, and nobody can promise how much sperm production will fall or how and when it may recover after stopping. If fertility matters, discuss it before treatment. A reproductive urologist or other fertility-aware specialist can evaluate the situation and discuss appropriate options.
If any of these apply to you
The Endocrine Society guideline recommends against starting testosterone in men planning fertility in the near term and in men with certain conditions, including:
- Breast or prostate cancer, a palpable prostate nodule or induration, or certain elevated PSA findings without further urologic evaluation
- Elevated hematocrit
- Untreated severe obstructive sleep apnea
- Severe lower urinary tract symptoms
- Uncontrolled heart failure
- Myocardial infarction or stroke within the prior six months
- Thrombophilia
If one of those applies, do not use a low-cost online offer as a substitute for the clinician or specialist evaluation your situation needs. New severe headache, new vision change, chest pain, stroke symptoms, severe shortness of breath, or other acute symptoms need prompt medical assessment appropriate to the symptom.
What should you bring and ask before you pay?
Bring recent lab reports with the time each blood draw was taken, a list of medications and supplements, your fertility plans, and a short symptom timeline. Then ask what today's charge includes, whether repeat morning testing is required and priced, and what happens financially if treatment is not offered. Good records and written answers prevent most price surprises.
What to bring to your first visit
- Any recent laboratory reports, with the date and time of each blood draw
- Every medication and supplement you take, including products bought online
- Your plans for having children
- A short timeline of symptoms or changes you want evaluated
- Blood-pressure readings, if you track them
- Any sleep-apnea diagnosis or CPAP use
- Relevant personal and family medical history
- Your insurance card, if you are using insurance
Your cost-to-a-decision worksheet
Fill in each line with the provider's written answer. An unknown line isn't a free line. Leave it marked unknown until you get an answer.
| Line | Your quote | Included, separate, or unknown? |
|---|---|---|
| Clinician visit | $_____ | _____ |
| First lab test | $_____ | _____ |
| Repeat early-morning testosterone test | $_____ | _____ |
| Baseline blood count / hematocrit and other required labs | $_____ | _____ |
| Separate lab-review visit, if any | $_____ | _____ |
| Required in-person exam, if any | $_____ | _____ |
| Shipping, kit, or draw fees | $_____ | _____ |
| Known cost to a treatment decision | $_____ | List every unknown line: _____ |
| What starts recurring billing, and when? | _____ | _____ |
| Next recurring charge and how often | $_____ every _____ | _____ |
| Money returned if treatment is not offered | $_____ | Refund, credit, or none? |
Keep ongoing medication and membership charges out of the evaluation subtotal. They matter only if you start treatment, and they belong in your first-year TRT budget.
The quote request to send before you pay
Copy this and send it to every provider you are comparing. It forces the same questions onto every quote.
Before I pay, please send an itemized quote for getting evaluated and reaching a treatment decision—not just the first advertised charge.
- What will I be charged today, and what does it include: clinician visit, which lab tests, kit, and shipping?
- Who will I meet—their name, license type, and state license—and will it be a live video or in-person visit?
- If my first testosterone result is low, will you require a repeat early-morning test before prescribing? Is it included, and what does it cost?
- What baseline labs do you require before testosterone, including hematocrit and PSA when appropriate? Can you accept recent labs I already have?
- Are there charges for a separate lab-review visit, an unusable sample, rescheduling, or a missed appointment?
- If your clinician decides treatment is not right for me, what is refunded—to my card, as a credit, or not at all?
- Does anything I pay today start a membership or recurring charge? What triggers it, how much is it, and how often?
- If testosterone is offered, which exact product or compounded preparation would be prescribed, and which pharmacy would fill it?
- Could federal or state rules require an in-person exam for me? Who performs it, and who pays?
- How do I cancel, and how do I request my lab results and visit records? Is there a records fee?
Short on time? Ask #3, #6, and #7. Those answers reveal most of the hidden cost between the ad and the decision.
Can you still get a TRT consultation online after 2026?
Online testosterone evaluation remains possible under the current federal temporary telemedicine rule through December 31, 2026, when its conditions and applicable state law are met. That temporary extension does not tell us what the final federal framework after 2026 will be. If you are starting online care late in 2026, ask how continuity and any future in-person requirement would be handled.
As of September 17, 2026:
- Current federal rule: DEA and HHS's fourth temporary extension runs from January 1 through December 31, 2026.
- Controlled-substance status: testosterone remains a Schedule III controlled substance.
- Remote visit format: under the current telemedicine exception, remote controlled-substance prescribing without a prior in-person evaluation generally requires the applicable audio-video telemedicine encounter for testosterone, plus the other federal and state conditions.
- After 2026: do not assume today's temporary pathway will continue unchanged. Re-check DEA, HHS, state rules, and the provider's current process before paying.
The practical question is simple: "If the federal or state rule changes after I enroll, what would I have to do—and pay—to keep receiving care legally?"
How did we check these TRT consultation prices?
We read current provider pricing, plan, terms, FAQ, and policy pages on September 17, 2026. We also checked DEA and Federal Register materials, Medicare and CMS consumer guidance, FDA compounding guidance, the Endocrine Society's 2026 statement and clinical guideline, and the AUA/ASRM male-infertility guideline. We did not enroll, pay, attend a visit, or contact provider support.
What we actually verified
Checked on: September 17, 2026. Low T Center's own price page says it was last updated October 9, 2025, so its local pricing should be reconfirmed before booking.
Sources we read directly: Male Excel pricing, test, membership, FAQ, guarantee, and Terms pages; Taurus Meds' $49 offer and Terms; Hone Health Plus and Premium plan materials; Marek Health signup/pricing materials; Defy Medical's TRT cost FAQ; Low T Center's treatment-cost page; TLC Wellness pricing; eHormone & Wellness Center pricing; DEA/Federal Register telemedicine materials; Medicare/CMS pages; FDA compounding guidance; Endocrine Society guidance; and AUA/ASRM fertility guidance.
Facts we confirmed from provider-controlled sources: published first payments, what each published fee says it includes, membership prices where stated, selected medication starting prices, repeat-test prices where stated, refund/fee wording, and published follow-up structures.
Provider-stated, not independently tested: the contents of proprietary/home test kits, clinician-access promises, visit formats, included follow-ups, guarantee terms, state-service claims, and provider descriptions of their own care process.
Facts we could not establish well enough to state as certain: which exact markers Taurus's $49 test includes; whether its $49 is always refunded after a medical denial; whether its general $17.99 fee applies to this TRT offer; what Hone refunds if a physician does not offer treatment; whether Male Excel's starter pathway includes a separately ordered repeat testosterone test or baseline hematocrit and at what price; Marek's exact required lab order for every patient; and the exact post-2026 federal telemedicine framework.
What we didn't do: enroll, pay, submit intake, attend a consultation, test cancellation, contact support, or audit every individual clinician's or dispensing pharmacy's current license.
Our calculations: documented subtotals are simple arithmetic from public prices and are labeled as calculations. They are not quotes and do not imply that different programs provide clinically equivalent services.
Our editorial judgments: statements about which published path is clearest for a defined buyer are conclusions from the verified facts above. They are not medical recommendations, clinical quality ratings, or guarantees.
TRT Provider Guide does not treat affiliate compensation as a review criterion. Our process is explained in How We Review TRT Providers, with additional standards in our Editorial Standards and Corrections Policy.
TRT consultation cost: frequently asked questions
How much does a TRT consultation cost?
The paid first steps we verified range from $25 to $299, while Hone, Taurus Meds, and Male Excel currently publish online test-and-consult starter prices of $45, $49, and $99. Those prices are not equivalent packages, and repeat testing or separate labs can raise the cost before a clinician reaches a treatment decision.
Is a TRT consultation free anywhere?
Some services use free assessments or introductory calls, but a free first interaction is not automatically the full clinical evaluation. Ask whether you are meeting the prescribing clinician, whether testing is included, and what the first required paid step will be.
Does the consultation fee include blood work?
Sometimes. Hone, Taurus Meds, and Male Excel publish starter offers that include blood testing, while Marek bills required labs separately. A doctor's office usually orders lab work separately from the visit. Always ask whether the price includes the repeat morning test and baseline labs your clinician may require.
Is a testosterone test the same as a consultation?
No. A laboratory test measures selected biomarkers. A consultation is a clinician's evaluation of symptoms or signs, medical history, examination when needed, and testing. Some packages bundle the two, but a blood-test purchase by itself is not a diagnosis or prescribing visit.
How much does it cost to get your testosterone tested?
Direct-to-consumer lab prices vary by test. Labcorp OnDemand listed a total testosterone test at $69 and a broader testosterone panel at $159 when checked for this audit. Those products are consumer laboratory tests, not a complete diagnosis; clinical evaluation and repeat morning testing may still be needed.
How much does a urologist or endocrinologist visit cost for low testosterone?
With insurance, your cost depends on network status, referral rules, deductible, copay, and coinsurance. Without insurance, ask the office for a written good faith estimate before the visit and ask whether laboratory charges will come from a separate company.
Does insurance or Medicare cover a TRT consultation?
Coverage depends on the clinician, service, plan, and medical necessity. Original Medicare generally covers medically necessary practitioner services under Part B, with 20% coinsurance after the deductible for covered doctor services, and Medicare says covered clinical laboratory tests usually cost the patient nothing. Medicare Advantage and commercial plans use their own rules.
Can I use my HSA or FSA for a TRT consultation?
Qualified medical expenses can often be paid or reimbursed with HSA or FSA funds, but whether a specific bundled fee qualifies depends on what the fee pays for and your account rules. Keep itemized receipts and check your plan administrator when the charge is a membership or bundle.
Do I get my money back if I'm not prescribed TRT?
Not automatically. Male Excel's Terms say sales and fees are generally non-refundable. Taurus's $49 offer promises a refund after medical ineligibility while its general Terms say blood work is non-refundable, so get the governing rule in writing. Hone's public plan pages do not state a treatment-declined refund for test fees.
Can I have a consultation without joining a treatment plan?
Yes at some providers, but the billing sequence differs. Hone separates testing from membership activation. Male Excel's $99 starter path comes before the required monthly membership for ongoing treatment. Ask whether any payment today starts recurring billing.
Is an online TRT consultation with a real doctor?
It should involve a licensed clinician legally authorized to evaluate and prescribe where you are located. Under the current federal remote-prescribing exception for testosterone, the relevant telemedicine encounter is audio-video. Ask for the clinician's name, license type, and state authorization if you want to verify it.
Can I get testosterone from a questionnaire alone?
A questionnaire can collect history, but it is not by itself the audio-video encounter used to prescribe testosterone remotely under the current federal temporary rule. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance and requires a valid prescription from an authorized clinician.
Can I use blood work I already have?
Possibly. The clinician or provider decides whether outside testing is recent, timed appropriately, complete enough, and acceptable for its process. Ask before paying for another kit, and include the date and time your prior samples were drawn.
Can I take a Male Excel prescription to my own pharmacy?
Male Excel's July 2026 Terms say prescriptions through its service are sent to contracted third-party pharmacies and that it cannot send the prescription to a different pharmacy. That is a provider-specific term, not a general rule for all TRT prescriptions.
Will online TRT consultations still be allowed in 2027?
The current federal temporary telemedicine extension runs through December 31, 2026. That temporary rule does not establish the final 2027 framework. If continuity after 2026 matters to you, ask the provider how it will handle any new federal or state requirement and re-check current DEA/HHS rules before relying on today's process.
Our take: do not judge a TRT consultation by the first number alone. Judge it by whether the published path gets you through the evaluation your clinician actually needs, what remains unknown before you pay, what happens if treatment is not offered, and what the recurring care costs if you do start.
Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.
TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy care. We're not a clinic, pharmacy, laboratory, drug manufacturer, insurer, or medical practice. This page is editorial research and has not been clinically reviewed. It is educational information, not medical advice. For chest pain, trouble breathing, stroke symptoms, or a painful, swollen leg, call 911.
Sources
All volatile provider facts were checked September 17, 2026 unless the source itself shows an older update date.
- Male Excel, Hormone Treatment Costs — $99 starter path, $99 membership, medication pricing structure, and provider-published testimonial.
- Male Excel, At-Home Testosterone Test — $99 test-and-consult package and five published markers.
- Male Excel, FAQ — state exclusions and provider service information.
- Male Excel, Terms and Conditions (updated July 2026) — refund, insurance, and contracted-pharmacy terms.
- Taurus Meds, Blood Test and Consultation Offer — $49 offer, $149 recurring-price claim, and offer-page refund language.
- Taurus Meds, Terms of Service — blood-work refund clause, $17.99 fee clause and exception, and partner-pharmacy disclosures.
- Hone Health, Plus Membership for Men — $45 initial test, confirmation test prices, markers, consultation, and $135 membership.
- Hone Health, Premium Membership for Men — $65 initial panel, $25 confirmation test, consultation, and $155 membership.
- Marek Health, TRT / Signup Information — $299 intake credit and required-lab structure; current signup materials state comprehensive labs start at $450.
- Defy Medical, How much does TRT cost with Defy Medical? — provider-stated pay-per-service model and average first-year spend.
- Low T Center, Cost of Treatment — $25 first test, $135 second-test/consult/first-injection package, follow-up pricing, and two-test timing.
- TLC Wellness, Pricing Menu — $225 consultation, $100–$200 initial labs, $150 monthly men's plan, and follow-up-lab price.
- eHormone & Wellness Center, Pricing — $150 initial consultation, required $250 follow-up lab-review consultation, separate labs, and $275/month TRT membership.
- Labcorp OnDemand, Total Testosterone Blood Test — direct-to-consumer testosterone test pricing.
- U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, Drug Scheduling — testosterone's Schedule III status.
- U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, DEA Extends Telemedicine Flexibilities to Ensure Continued Access to Care — 2026 telemedicine extension.
- Federal Register, Fourth Temporary Extension of COVID-19 Telemedicine Flexibilities for Prescription of Controlled Medications — effective dates and federal conditions.
- Endocrine Society, Statement on Testosterone Replacement Therapy (July 16, 2026) — symptoms/signs plus consistently low levels, repeat early-morning fasting testing, assay quality, and threshold context.
- Endocrine Society, Testosterone Therapy for Hypogonadism Guideline Resources — diagnostic confirmation and conditions in which starting testosterone is discouraged.
- AUA/ASRM, Diagnosis and Treatment of Infertility in Men, Part II — testosterone monotherapy and current/future fertility.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Understanding the Risks of Compounded Drugs — compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed premarket in the same way as approved drugs.
- Medicare, Doctor & Other Health Care Provider Services — Part B cost sharing for covered practitioner services.
- Medicare, Diagnostic Laboratory Tests — patient cost for covered clinical laboratory tests.
- CMS, Good Faith Estimate and Patient-Provider Dispute Resolution — uninsured/self-pay estimate rights and the $400 dispute threshold.
- IRS, Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses — qualified medical-expense framework relevant to HSA/FSA reimbursement.
- TRT Provider Guide, Advertising and Sponsorship Policy — current commercial status.
- TRT Provider Guide, How We Review TRT Providers — editorial methodology.