Skip to main content
RESOURCE

TRT Providers That Accept HSA or FSA

Yes — TRT providers that accept HSA or FSA cards include AlphaMD, PeterMD and Hone Health, according to their published policies. Male Excel publishes eligibility language, not a guarantee of payment.

Educational resource
Evidence Cited

Yes — TRT providers that accept HSA or FSA cards include AlphaMD, PeterMD and Hone Health, according to their published policies. Male Excel publishes eligibility language, not a guarantee of payment. Before choosing, check three things: whether each charge qualifies, whether your card can be processed, and whether the provider supplies the records you need. 1, 2, 3, 4

Last verified September 2026 · Sources checked September 7, 2026 · By TRT Provider Guide · Editorial research. Not clinically reviewed. Educational information, not medical or tax advice.

Best for you if: you have an HSA or health FSA balance, you're paying cash for TRT, and you want to know what paperwork to request before paying.

Not for you if: you're trying to decide whether you need testosterone at all. A payment card can't answer that, and neither can we. Start with a clinician and the appropriate evaluation.


How do TRT providers that accept HSA or FSA compare?

AlphaMD, PeterMD and Hone Health publish direct-card acceptance statements; Male Excel publishes HSA/FSA eligibility and possible-reimbursement language. Taurus Meds' TRT payment policy is not confirmed, and Marek Health's current FAQ could not be retrieved for this check. Card acceptance, eligibility language and a usable receipt are three different things. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Provider What it says on its own site Itemized bill or receipt? Procedure/diagnosis codes? Letter of medical necessity?
PeterMD Accepts HSA/FSA cards at checkout; can provide reimbursement documentation on request. 2 Documentation offered; exact receipt fields not stated Not stated Not stated
AlphaMD Accepts cards its processor can run; offers receipts if direct payment fails. Its terms do not guarantee reimbursement eligibility. 1, 7 Receipts offered; exact fields not stated Not stated Not stated
Hone Health Says it processes HSA/FSA cards, subject to vendor restrictions. 3 Publishes a membership allocation example; that is not proof of what your personal receipt will contain. 8 Not stated Not stated
Male Excel Labels treatment tiers “FSA/HSA Eligible”; its FAQ says therapy may qualify for reimbursement. 4, 5 Publishes separate consultation, membership and medication prices; an actual itemized patient receipt was not checked Not stated No. Its FAQ says it does not provide these letters
Marek Health Current policy not reverified: its FAQ could not be retrieved Ask for a sample invoice and lab receipt before paying Not reverified Not reverified
Taurus Meds Its terms list ordinary card and digital-wallet payment methods but do not name HSA/FSA. That does not establish acceptance or rejection. 6 Not stated Not stated Not stated
Local direct-pay men's health clinic Confirm the individual clinic's policy Request a sample; do not assume Ask before enrolling Ask before enrolling
Local clinician + retail pharmacy Confirm both the clinician's and pharmacy's payment process A detailed prescription receipt can support an FSA drug claim. 9 Depends on the claim; a pharmacy receipt does not promise clinic codes Check the plan's requirements

“Not stated” means we did not find that detail in the cited policy. It does not mean “no.” These are provider-stated policies checked September 7, 2026, except where a current check was not possible. No card transaction or patient receipt was tested.

Here's the part almost nobody tells you: a charge can pass an HSA card check and still leave you with an unresolved FSA documentation request. Different rules, same swipe. We'll show you exactly why, and exactly what to ask for before you pay a dollar. 10, 11

We checked the provider pages we could retrieve — not affiliate roundups, not press releases. That distinction matters more than you'd think. Where a current policy could not be checked, we say so rather than turning a missing answer into a yes.

Here's what we found, and just as importantly, what each one says it will hand you afterward.

The pattern worth paying attention to: taking a card and supplying the required paperwork are separate promises. Male Excel is explicit about one thing it won't produce: a letter of medical necessity. We'd rather give it credit for saying so plainly than pretend the gap doesn't exist. 5

One more line worth sitting with. AlphaMD's Terms of Use, updated June 30, 2026, say services are cash-pay and that the company does not guarantee any amount paid is eligible for reimbursement through insurance, HSA/FSA or otherwise. That is not AlphaMD being difficult. That is AlphaMD being accurate. No TRT provider can guarantee your claim. Your health FSA administrator applies the plan and tax rules; with an HSA, you are responsible for supporting a tax-free withdrawal under IRS rules. Anyone who tells you the card alone settles that is selling. 7, 10

TRT Provider Guide may earn a commission through provider referrals. The action links on this page lead to our cost guide or educational tool, not to a paid enrollment link. It doesn't change what we verified, what we published, or who we point you toward. Read our affiliate disclosure. Our method is documented in How We Review TRT Providers.

Already comparing Male Excel? Its published eligibility label sits alongside a required $99/month membership and a no-medical-letter policy. Check both before you commit. Read Male Excel's full cost breakdown and required membership fees


The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.

TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.


How does HSA vs FSA change whether you keep the money?

With a health savings account, you are responsible for the tax treatment of your withdrawals and for keeping records. With a health flexible spending account, expenses need third-party proof, either through an allowed automatic method or a documentation request. You cannot self-certify an FSA claim; an unresolved improper card payment can lead to repayment demands and card deactivation. 10, 11, 12, 13

This is the single most useful thing on this page, so let's be clear about it.

An HSA is your account. You own it. A card authorization is not a tax ruling. You keep the receipt, and if the IRS ever questions it, you show them. A non-qualified withdrawal generally gets added to your taxable income, plus a 20% additional tax. That additional tax has age-65, qualifying-disability and death exceptions. That's the stick. A card issuer can still block a payment. 10

A health FSA is your employer's plan. An administrator runs it, and that administrator must follow substantiation rules — the rules for proving an expense qualifies. FSA claims cannot be self-certified. Every claim needs independent support for the item or service, date and amount. Not a sample of charges. Not just the big ones. All of them. Some transactions are substantiated automatically, so you do not necessarily upload a receipt for each swipe. If a request stays unresolved, the plan can require repayment and deactivate the card under its correction process. 11, 12, 13

Same testosterone. Same clinic. Completely different back end.

Question HSA Health FSA
Who is responsible for the expense? You keep records supporting tax-free withdrawals Your plan administrator substantiates the claim
Can you self-certify? You are responsible for your tax reporting; records still matter No. Independent proof is required
Is a card receipt enough? Keep a detailed expense record, not just proof that money moved A payment slip alone may lack the details the plan requires
If you can't prove it A non-qualified withdrawal is generally taxable; a 20% additional tax can apply, with the exceptions above A claim may be denied; an improper payment may require repayment and card deactivation
Can it auto-approve? Card authorization does not decide tax eligibility Allowed methods include qualifying inventory-system transactions, copay matching and recurring-expense matching
Do funds expire? No. The balance carries forward Generally use it or lose it; a plan may offer a carryover or grace period
2026 limits $4,400 self-only / $8,750 family; an additional $1,000 at age 55+ when eligible $3,400 employee salary-reduction limit; up to $680 carryover from a 2026 plan year if the plan allows
What makes a TRT payment easier? A clearly documented qualifying expense, whichever care model you use A provider and pharmacy that can supply the specific proof your plan requires

Sources: IRS Publications 969 and 502; Revenue Procedure 2025-19; 2026 inflation adjustments; IRS FSA substantiation guidance; FSAFEDS receipt requirements. 10, 14, 15, 16, 11, 9

The recurring-charge rule worth asking about

Buried in the FSA debit card rules is a method called recurring-expense matching. Once a charge has been properly substantiated, a later charge that matches the same amount, the same provider and the same covered period can qualify for automatic substantiation if your plan uses that method. 11

Read that again if you're on an FSA and looking at a monthly TRT subscription.

Get month one documented properly, then ask whether identical monthly charges can be matched automatically. One good itemized receipt at the front end can save repeat requests. It is not a promise that the next eleven charges will clear: a changed fee, service or billing period may need fresh proof.

Why a pharmacy receipt can be easier

Some pharmacies use an Inventory Information Approval System — IIAS for short — that identifies qualifying purchases and supplies the required transaction information. A qualifying IIAS transaction can be substantiated at the register. But not every pharmacy transaction follows that process, and other permitted pharmacy arrangements may still require a receipt. Keep the record either way. 11, 13

That's why, if you're on a strict FSA, a clinician who can prescribe when appropriate and let you fill the prescription at your own pharmacy is worth comparing with a membership program. You get a defined medication purchase rather than an unexplained bundle. Ask for a quote for the exact drug, strength, quantity and vial or package size, then add visits, supplies and labs. A vial price by itself is not a monthly treatment cost. We'd be doing you a disservice not to say that out loud.

Two different readers, two different next steps.
HSA holder already considering Male Excel? → Check the membership-plus-medication cost breakdown
FSA holder, or still unsure whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated? → Map your care route with Find My TRT Path


Is TRT actually an HSA- or FSA-eligible expense?

Yes, prescribed testosterone for treatment of a medical condition can be a qualifying expense. IRS Publication 502 includes prescribed medicines and legal medical services, but excludes costs that are merely beneficial to general health. The actual purpose of the expense matters; a payment badge or a doctor's note does not settle every charge. 14

The IRS definition is short. Medical care means amounts paid for the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention of disease, or for the purpose of affecting a structure or function of the body. Prescribed medicines count. Physician services count. Diagnostic tests count. 14

Then comes the sentence that does all the work: medical expenses must be primarily to alleviate or prevent a physical or mental disability or illness, and they don't include expenses that are merely beneficial to general health. 14

Testosterone prescribed for diagnosed hypogonadism — a condition involving inadequate sex-hormone production — can fall on the medical-care side of that line. That does not automatically qualify every fee, add-on or service sold alongside it. 14, 17

But note what's on the other side of that line, because it's closer than it looks.

In March 2024 the IRS issued a public alert (IR-2024-65) warning that companies were misrepresenting general wellness spending as medical care for FSAs, HSAs, HRAs and MSAs. The agency made a specific point: a doctor's note based merely on self-reported health information doesn't convert a personal expense into a medical one. The alert concerned general wellness expenses, not a special rule for TRT. 18

That's the standard. And it's why the actual care and the paperwork both matter.

Why “optimization” language is not proof of eligibility

Some programs describe their care as “optimization.” That word does not establish whether a particular charge qualifies, and the IRS alert did not single out testosterone optimization. The question is what medical care you actually received, not which marketing label sounds most persuasive. 18, 14

What you want on your receipt is an accurate description of the care and charges. Do not ask a clinic to relabel enhancement or general wellness spending as treatment of a diagnosed condition.

What a real diagnosis looks like

We're not going to interpret your labs, and no online quiz can diagnose you. But you should know the standard your clinician is working from. This section concerns adult men being evaluated for testosterone deficiency; it is not a diagnostic framework for children or for gender-affirming care.

The American Urological Association guideline uses a total testosterone level below 300 ng/dL as a reasonable cut-off supporting a diagnosis of low testosterone — and specifies two total testosterone measurements on separate occasions, both drawn in the early morning. On top of that, a clinical diagnosis requires low levels together with symptoms or signs. The Endocrine Society also calls for symptoms or signs, consistently low results, accurate testing and a repeat morning fasting total-testosterone measurement. 300 ng/dL is not a universal diagnosis by itself. 19, 17

Total testosterone means all the testosterone in your blood, bound and unbound. Levels vary during the day, which is one reason timing and the repeat draw matter. 17

One number on one afternoon is not a diagnosis. Ask which diagnostic and repeat blood tests are needed and what each will cost before you buy a treatment plan.


Why do HSA and FSA cards get declined at online clinics?

A decline can reflect a merchant restriction, insufficient available funds, a card problem or an issuer's decision. It does not, by itself, tell you whether testosterone or a particular fee is eligible. Ask the card issuer for the reason before paying another way. 3, 20, 10

This is the part that confuses people most, so here's the plumbing.

A clinic's payment processor and your card issuer both affect whether a payment clears. A merchant category code, or MCC, identifies the type of business charging the card. Healthcare-card restrictions may depend on that classification, but there is not one universal code or one decline reason for every HSA and FSA card. 11, 3

Which means a decline is a payment problem to investigate, not a diagnosis or a tax decision.

Five things to check:

  1. Merchant classification. Does the issuer allow this type of merchant, and can the clinic process the card?
  2. Recurring-payment setup. Is the payment being submitted as a subscription, and does the card support it?
  3. Available balance. A health FSA generally makes the full annual election available during coverage, minus prior reimbursements. An HSA can spend only funds actually available in the account.
  4. Card status or restrictions. Check activation, expiry, security details, account restrictions and any unresolved FSA documentation request.
  5. The issuer's reason. Ask for the specific decline reason rather than guessing at the clinic's payment setup. 10, 20, 3

Paying with a personal card is a possible fallback, not a guaranteed fix. First check that the expense qualifies, the provider can supply the records, and you can afford to wait for any reimbursement. For an HSA, a qualifying expense must have been incurred after the HSA was established and must not already have been reimbursed or deducted. For an FSA, submit the claim under your plan's coverage, service-date and filing rules; approval is not guaranteed. 10

Don't do the thing some people try: don't ask a clinic to relabel a charge to make a card go through. That's how a fixable payment problem becomes a real problem.


What receipt do you actually need?

Ask for an itemized receipt showing the patient, provider, date of service, description and amount. A card payment slip alone may not contain those details. A letter of medical necessity is separate; FSAFEDS accepts a pharmacy-issued receipt containing the required information for a prescription-drug claim, while other charges may need additional proof. 9

FSAFEDS, the federal government's own FSA program, says credit card receipts, canceled checks and balance-forward statements typically do not contain all the information needed for a claim. 9

So here are the five fields. Screenshot this if it's useful.

Your itemized receipt must show:

  1. Patient name — yours, or an eligible family member's under your account's rules
  2. Provider or merchant name — who you paid
  3. Date of service — when care was actually provided, not just when you were billed
  4. Description — what the charge was for, line by line
  5. Amount — what you paid, per line

That's the core checklist. If your provider's receipt has all five, you've covered the basic documentation fields — not guaranteed eligibility or approval. Ask whether your specific claim needs anything else. 9

The four documents people mix up

Document What it is Who issues it Do you need it for TRT?
Prescription record Proof a clinician prescribed the medication Clinic or pharmacy Very useful. Keep it
Itemized receipt The expense details listed above Clinic, pharmacy or lab Yes. This is the core expense record
Superbill A detailed bill that can include diagnosis and procedure codes A clinic that offers this document, including some cash-pay clinics Ask whether your plan requires codes
Letter of medical necessity A clinician's explanation of why a particular item or service is medically needed Your clinician, if willing and able to provide it Depends on the expense and plan; it is not a universal requirement for a prescription-drug claim

A medical-necessity letter can help document a dual-purpose expense, but it cannot turn ordinary personal spending into medical care. For a prescription-drug claim, FSAFEDS accepts a pharmacy receipt with the required details. Keep the prescription record too. 9, 18

Some administrators may ask for more. Which is exactly where a few online providers stop being helpful — and where you need to know before you pay, not after.

Copy this and send it before your first charge

Here's the message we'd send. Fill in the blanks and email it to the clinic before you pay anything.

Hi — before I enroll, I need to confirm a few payment details.

  1. Do you accept HSA and FSA cards directly at checkout?
  2. Can you send me an itemized receipt showing my name, your practice name, the date of service, a line-by-line description of each charge, and the amount for each?
  3. Are the consultation fee, membership fee, lab fees, medication and shipping billed as separate line items, or bundled into one charge?
  4. If my plan administrator requests additional documentation, what can you provide — a superbill with diagnosis and procedure codes, or a letter of medical necessity?
  5. What is the complete first-year cost for my proposed plan, including the charges above, any required repeat diagnostic test, monitoring tests and supplies?
  6. What are the cancellation deadline and refund rules, when will refills be charged, and how can I obtain my medical and laboratory records?

Thanks — I'd like this in writing before I start.

And here's the one for your health FSA administrator. Most people never send this and then get surprised.

Hi — I'm planning to pay for prescribed testosterone replacement therapy from a cash-pay clinic using my health FSA.

  1. Which of these charges can the plan reimburse when they meet the medical-expense rules: clinician consultation, monthly membership or platform fee, laboratory testing, prescription medication, shipping?
  2. What documentation do you require for each?
  3. How do you handle recurring monthly charges — can they be matched to a previously substantiated charge?
  4. What are my claim deadlines and service-date rules?
  5. Is a letter of medical necessity required for any of these items?

Using an HSA instead? Ask the custodian about card restrictions and how to request a withdrawal. Use your itemized quote and IRS rules to assess eligibility, and ask a tax professional about unclear charges. An HSA custodian's payment instructions are not a binding tax ruling. 10

Two emails. Maybe fifteen minutes. It's the cheapest insurance on this page.


Are TRT membership fees HSA or FSA eligible, or just the medication?

Prescription medication, medical testing and clinical consultation can qualify as medical expenses. A membership can mix those services with non-clinical benefits, so its name or monthly price does not settle eligibility. Get the actual fee structure, including any separate medical and non-clinical charges. 14, 21

A monthly TRT price can be three or four different things stapled together, and they don't all sit in the same place under the tax rules.

Here's the map. These are specific published examples, not market-wide price ranges.

Line item Published example What needs checking What to keep
Prescription testosterone Hone lists testosterone cypionate starting at $28 per vial, not per month. 22 Exact drug, quantity, medical purpose and any separate medication fee Prescription record and pharmacy receipt
Required lab panel Hone Premium lists $65 for the initial assessment and $25 for a TRT confirmatory test. 22 Whether all required diagnostic and follow-up tests are included in your quote Itemized lab bill; retain the order and results
Clinician consultation Male Excel lists a $99 initial consultation. 4 What the fee includes and whether any required repeat visit costs more Itemized service receipt
Non-clinical platform or membership fee Hone's dated HRT illustration allocates $690 a year to non-clinical benefits. 8 Ask about this one. A medical-care bundle is not proof that every part qualifies Current allocation for your actual plan
Shipping and handling Male Excel's treatment prices exclude shipping. 4 Actual charge and how it relates to the eligible purchase The invoice showing the shipped item and charge

The tax distinction is based on the actual expense, not the size of the number in this table. 14

The clearest example we found

Hone Health publishes an actual annual payee-by-payee breakdown — the clearest allocation example we found in this check.

Its May 28, 2026 HRT illustration describes a $1,548 annualized membership, billed at $129 monthly and not including prescribed medication, split as:

  • $780 to the medical practice for clinical services and consultations
  • $78 to the clinical laboratory for lab testing
  • $690 to Hone for non-clinical membership benefits — platform access, technology tools, member support, credit card processing fees and operational services 8

Give Hone credit here. That's useful transparency, and we'd rather have it than not.

But look at what it shows you. Roughly 45% of that membership is described, in the company's own words, as non-clinical. That is a reason to ask how the fee is treated, not proof that a fixed percentage of your actual bill will be rejected.

We are not telling you that $690 is ineligible. Your exact arrangement and the applicable tax rules matter; an FSA administrator applies its plan rules, while an HSA owner remains responsible for tax reporting. What we're telling you is that this is the line to ask about before you spend, and now you know the exact question: “Can you document the clinical and non-clinical portions of my membership separately?” 14, 10, 21

Worth noting: this illustration is not the current Premium price. Hone's live Premium page lists $155/month, plus a $65 initial assessment, a $25 TRT confirmatory test and separate medication. Confirm which plan you're actually buying and get the current split in writing. 22

The 2026 membership rule almost nobody has connected to TRT

Starting January 1, 2026, a change from the One Big Beautiful Bill Act — explained in IRS Notice 2026-5 — allows qualifying direct primary care service arrangements to work alongside an HSA. The 2026 fee threshold for preserving HSA contribution eligibility is $150/month for one person or $300/month for an arrangement covering more than one person. 21

Sounds like it was written for monthly TRT memberships. It wasn't.

Two different rules matter. The $150/$300 threshold concerns whether the arrangement prevents you from contributing to an HSA. IRS Notice 2026-5, Q&A 20, says qualifying direct-primary-care fees can be paid tax-free from an HSA without that dollar cap. Spending existing HSA funds and being eligible to add new money are not the same question. 21

The arrangement must meet the IRS definition, including the required primary-care services and fixed periodic fee as sole compensation for care within the arrangement. Prescription drugs other than vaccines, and laboratory services not typical of an outpatient primary-care setting, are excluded from that definition. You cannot decide whether a TRT subscription qualifies just by reading “membership” on its price card. 21

So: don't assume your TRT subscription qualifies as direct primary care. Whether the arrangement fits that rule, and whether other coverage affects your HSA contributions, are questions for a tax professional with the actual contract in hand — not for a clinic's marketing page. Failing this particular exception also does not, by itself, mean every separately billed medical expense is ineligible.


What should you know about Male Excel before you pay?

Male Excel publishes HSA/FSA eligibility language, but it does not provide letters of medical necessity. Its consultation, membership and medication prices are separately displayed; that helps you ask about each charge, but it does not prove the contents of a patient receipt. A required letter is a reason to choose a different provider, not a detail to work out after enrollment. 4, 5

Male Excel does not provide letters of medical necessity. Its own FAQ says so directly. If your FSA administrator requires a letter for a charge, Male Excel's published policy does not solve that problem for you. Do not enroll counting on an exception. 5

If that's your requirement, a clinician who confirms they can provide the required document is the better fit. That may be a local practice or another online provider; being local does not guarantee a letter or superbill. Ask for confirmation before you pay. If you're still deciding between care settings, Find My TRT Path helps you map the next care route and the questions to ask.

Now here's why it may still make sense for some readers already comparing it.

Instead of presenting only one bundled subscription charge, Male Excel publishes the pieces: a $99 online medical consultation to start, a required $99/month Medical Membership, and medication priced separately. That gives you specific charges to check. Ask for a sample invoice; separately advertised prices are not proof that the actual receipt has all the fields your account requires. 4

Male Excel also prints “FSA/HSA Eligible” on its treatment price cards. Not just in a blog post. On the price card. The label is the provider's statement, not a tax ruling or a promise that a particular card will work. 4, 10

What Male Excel actually costs (verified September 2026):

  • $99 — one-time online medical consultation; its FAQ describes the initial home test kit as included
  • $99/month — required Medical Membership, with unlimited messaging and e-visits as described by the provider
  • From $120/month — the displayed testosterone cypionate injection tier with thyroid medication, billed every other month as a 60-day supply, plus shipping
  • From $132/month — the displayed topical testosterone cream tier with thyroid medication, on the same billing basis
  • No contract, cancel anytime — the provider's cancellation statement, not a promise of a refund
  • Available in all states except Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire and Rhode Island, according to its FAQ 4, 5

Published-price subtotal for 12 months of the starting injectable tier: $99 + $1,188 + $1,440 = $2,727, before shipping and any additional required testing or other charges. That's the starting calculation — not the $120 on the price card, and not a verified complete first-year bill. Male Excel states pricing varies with the dose your provider prescribes, so treat this as a base scenario. 4

The billing calendar matters too. Six 60-day supplies cover 360 days, not 365. Confirm the actual charge dates and supply schedule rather than assuming “every other month” fixes the exact cash outlay for a calendar year.

Testing, follow-up and cancellation costs to confirm

Male Excel describes an initial finger-prick home test. Its homepage describes 60-day provider check-ins and full panels every six months; its FAQ says retesting can occur at six months or a year, depending on the patient. These are provider-stated descriptions, not confirmation that your plan includes every required test. Ask specifically about the repeat early-morning diagnostic test, the monitoring plan, any extra blood-draw or laboratory fee, and access to your results and medical records. 23, 5, 17

Its FAQ says a refill reminder goes out before the next 60-day supply is processed, charged and shipped, and that prescription purchases are not refundable. Its homepage's conditional 90-day guarantee concerns three months of membership fees, not a refund of all medication, testing and shipping expenses. Get the cancellation timing and any guarantee conditions in writing; neither protects you from an FSA denial. 5, 23

Compounded testosterone and pharmacy disclosures

Male Excel's homepage describes its testosterone as U.S.-compounded, and its FAQ explicitly calls its topical cream compounded. The FAQ names AnazaoHealth and WellDyneRx-FL as pharmacy partners. We did not confirm which pharmacy would fill an individual reader's prescription or independently audit those pharmacies' licenses. Ask for the exact medication, formulation, dispensing pharmacy and patient instructions before agreeing to the plan. 23, 5

Compounded preparations are not FDA-approved. A named ingredient such as testosterone cypionate does not establish that the finished product supplied is an FDA-approved generic. Readers seeking an FDA-approved product should ask for that exact product and a care model that can prescribe and dispense it when appropriate. 24

Thyroid medication and non-testosterone alternatives

Male Excel's displayed treatment tiers pair thyroid medication with testosterone. Thyroid treatment is a separate clinical decision to discuss with the provider, not a given. Ask which drugs are actually being proposed and get each one identified on the quote. 4

Its oral product, Triclozene, is a compounded clomiphene citrate blend; clomiphene is not testosterone and a clomiphene product is not testosterone replacement therapy, so don't treat those tiers as interchangeable. Clomiphene's FDA-approved use is to induce ovulation in women seeking pregnancy; use for male testosterone deficiency is off-label. An approved ingredient does not make a compounded blend FDA-approved. 4, 25, 24

Already comparing Male Excel and able to meet your account's documentation requirements without a medical-necessity letter? Review Male Excel's medication, membership and extra-cost breakdown Prices and state coverage change. Confirm both on the provider's site before you enroll.


What will a full year actually cost?

The advertised monthly number may not be the complete cost. A realistic first-year figure includes the initial consultation, all required lab work, any membership or platform fee, the medication itself, monitoring tests, supplies and shipping. Build that number before you decide how much account money you need.

Use this formula. It's boring and it helps you catch missing charges.

First-year cost = initial consultation + required diagnostic and confirmatory labs + (membership or platform fees × 12) + (medication cost × 12) + monitoring labs + supplies and shipping + any other mandatory charge.

Count bundled items once, not twice. Use the actual billing schedule when a supply lasts 60 or 90 days rather than a calendar month. If a mandatory charge is unknown, the complete total is still unknown.

Subtract a discount only when you've confirmed the eligibility rules, how long it lasts, and what the renewal price becomes.

Option Published figures checked September 7, 2026 Reproducible base calculation What remains outside that calculation
Male Excel — starting injectable tier $99 consult; $99/month membership; medication tier from $120/month, billed as 60-day supplies. 4, 5 $2,727 starting-price subtotal: $99 + ($99 × 12) + ($120 × 12) Shipping, any extra required diagnostic/monitoring tests, dose or treatment changes, and actual 60-day renewal timing
Hone Health — current men's Premium plan $65 initial assessment; $25 TRT confirmatory test; $155/month membership; medication separate. 22 $1,950 before medication: $65 + $25 + ($155 × 12) Actual prescription cost and any services outside the selected plan
Hone Health — dated HRT allocation example May 28 illustration: $780 clinical + $78 lab + $690 non-clinical, billed at $129/month. 8 $1,548 annualized, plus medication Not a current Premium quote; verify whether this exact plan and allocation apply
Taurus Meds Public offer: $49 test/consultation, then $149/month. Terms also list a $17.99 fee per billing period, despite the offer's no-membership-fee claim. 26, 6 $1,837 offer scenario: $49 + ($149 × 12); not a confirmed complete quote Whether the $17.99 applies, its billing interval, required repeat/monitoring tests and any other mandatory charges
AlphaMD $98/month equivalent paid annually; $109/month equivalent paid every six months; or $129 monthly with a three-month minimum. 27 $1,176 / $1,308 / $1,548 for 12 months at those unchanged plan rates Any separately charged initial, confirmatory or monitoring work; confirm all inclusions and the actual contract
PeterMD Its card-payment policy was verified, but a complete current price quote was not established in this check. 2 Not established Request an itemized quote; unknown is not zero
Local clinician + retail pharmacy Quote the exact prescription and each visit/test Medication + visits + labs + supplies and any other required fees Prices depend on the actual clinic, pharmacy, prescription and insurance arrangements

We publish “not established” rather than guessing. A blank is not a zero and it's not a criticism — it means we could not establish a complete figure from the available evidence. These calculations assume unchanged published prices; they are not promises of treatment eligibility or account reimbursement.

Two things worth flagging on the fine print.

Taurus Meds discloses a recurring $17.99 per billing period in its Terms of Service. Yet its $49/$149 offer says there are no membership fees. Ask which terms apply to that offer and get the answer in writing. If an extra $17.99 were charged for each of 12 months, it would add $215.88, taking the $1,837 scenario to $2,052.88 before other unknown charges. That is a conditional calculation, not a verified bill. Its terms also say shipped medications are non-refundable and lab fees are non-refundable once submitted to lab partners; its refund policy asks for cancellation at least 72 hours before the next billing cycle. 6, 26, 28

AlphaMD publishes a 72-hour membership refund window, as long as no services have been requested or rendered. Its terms say clinical fees can be earned when a consultation is provided or the clinician reviews submitted information, and prescription medications generally cannot be returned. The conditions matter as much as the window. 7

Hone Health has two separate cancellation questions. Canceling the membership does not automatically cancel a pending medication order, and canceling medication does not automatically stop the membership. Its dedicated cancellation policy says medication already processed or shipped is non-refundable. Confirm both charges are stopped and keep the acknowledgment. 29

One timing rule that trips up FSA users

If you're staring down a December FSA deadline, do not prepay next year's visits to burn the balance. Paying early doesn't by itself make a future service an incurred expense. Service dates are what your plan looks at. Check your plan's actual service-date and claim deadline rules before you do anything clever. 10


What should you do if your card is declined or your claim is denied?

A declined card and a denied claim are two different problems with different fixes. A decline needs the card issuer's reason; an FSA denial needs the administrator's reason, which could involve documentation, dates, coverage, duplicate reimbursement or an ineligible expense. Paying again or uploading a receipt will not fix every case. 20, 10, 9

If you're reading this section because it already happened to you — take a breath. Start with the actual reason before paying again. A request for more information is not the same as a final ruling that the expense is ineligible.

If the card was declined:

  1. Check your available balance and card status first. A health FSA generally makes the full annual election available during coverage, minus prior reimbursements; an HSA uses money actually in the account.
  2. Ask the issuer why it declined the payment. Ask the clinic whether it can process your particular benefit card.
  3. Before using a personal card, check the expense, documentation, service dates and any refund limits. Do not count on reimbursement you have not established.
  4. For a qualifying expense, use the appropriate process. HSA: keep records and request a withdrawal, with no double reimbursement or deduction. FSA: submit the claim and required proof through the administrator.
  5. Don't ask anyone to relabel a charge. Ever. 10, 20

If the claim was denied or you got a documentation request:

  1. Get the actual reason in writing. “Insufficient documentation” and “ineligible expense” are completely different problems.
  2. If it's documentation, go back to the clinic and request the itemized receipt with the required fields. This can resolve a missing-receipt problem; it cannot make an ineligible expense eligible.
  3. If your plan wants codes or a letter, ask the clinic what it can produce — and remember that some online providers have told you in advance that they can't.
  4. Follow your administrator's review or appeal process and watch the deadline.
  5. If your FSA card was deactivated, ask what documentation, repayment or other correction is needed to restore it. 9, 13

If you can't resolve it: an unpaid FSA claim that is denied does not automatically become taxable income. If the FSA already made an improper payment, work through the plan's repayment and correction process; unresolved amounts may have payroll or tax consequences. For an HSA, a non-qualified withdrawal is generally taxable, and the additional 20% tax applies unless an age-65, disability or death exception applies. That's the real stake, and it's why the itemized receipt is worth asking for on day one instead of day ninety. 10, 13


Which route fits your situation?

Match your account type, documentation needs and clinical situation to a care route rather than choosing from a payment badge. An HSA holder still needs a qualifying expense and records; an FSA holder also needs to satisfy the plan's claim process. These are payment-fit judgments, not a medical-quality ranking.

If this is you Start here Why
HSA, confirmed diagnosis, already considering Male Excel Check Male Excel's full quote and ask for a sample receipt Its eligibility label and separate published prices are useful, but do not establish every charge's eligibility; it does not provide medical-necessity letters. 4, 5
FSA with exact documentation requirements A clinician and pharmacy that confirm they can supply those records Qualifying pharmacy transactions may auto-substantiate; others still need a receipt. 11, 9
Your plan demands codes, a superbill or a letter A practice that agrees to provide that document before enrollment Do not assume that local care guarantees it, or that online care rules it out
Want direct card acceptance stated plainly Compare PeterMD, AlphaMD and Hone's payment policies All three publish direct-card language; PeterMD offers reimbursement documentation on request. 2, 1, 3
Considering Marek Health Confirm its current payment and documentation policy in writing Its current FAQ could not be reverified; do not rely on an older policy summary
Cost-sensitive and already diagnosed Compare an itemized clinic-plus-pharmacy quote with the complete online-plan quote A lower drug price is not proof of a lower total after visits, tests and fees
Not evaluated yet, or only one low lab result Primary care, urology or another appropriate evaluating clinician Adult-male diagnosis requires symptoms or signs and consistently low results confirmed with appropriate repeat morning testing. 17
Planning to have children soon Urology or reproductive urology Fertility comes before care model. See below. 17
New severe symptoms, a recent major cardiovascular event, cancer history, untreated severe sleep apnea or other complex medical history A clinician who can assess the risk and arrange the right setting Do not let payment convenience replace a safety evaluation; urgent symptoms need urgent or emergency care. 17

Still weighing two or three of these against each other? That's the normal place to be. Map your care route with Find My TRT Path — it's free, it's educational, and it will not diagnose you, confirm eligibility, or guarantee a prescription. It maps your situation to a route and gives you the questions to ask.


What should you check about your care before you spend the money?

A payment card cannot tell you whether testosterone is right for you. Diagnosis, fertility plans, product type and prescribing rules all sit upstream of the payment question, and getting them wrong costs more than a denied claim.

Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance in the United States. Schedule III means it has accepted medical use and a recognized potential for abuse and dependence, and it requires a valid prescription. Any service offering it without a genuine clinical evaluation should worry you. 30, 31

Telehealth prescribing rules have an expiration date. The DEA and HHS fourth temporary extension runs through December 31, 2026. Under its conditions, a properly authorized practitioner can prescribe Schedule II–V controlled medications after an appropriate audio-video telemedicine evaluation without a prior in-person visit. Federal and state requirements still apply. It is not a promise that any given platform can prescribe in your state, or that a questionnaire alone is enough. Check the current rule, the provider's state list and the clinician's authority before you enroll. 32, 31

Fertility comes first, not last. Exogenous testosterone — testosterone from outside the body — can suppress sperm production. If you're planning to have children in the next couple of years, that belongs in the conversation before you pick a payment method. The Endocrine Society recommends against starting testosterone therapy in men planning fertility in the near term. A urologist, reproductive urologist or endocrinologist is an appropriate starting point for that discussion. 17

Non-testosterone alternatives are not TRT

Clomiphene, enclomiphene and hCG are not testosterone replacement therapy and are not interchangeable with it. Clomiphene's use in men is off-label; enclomiphene has no FDA-approved product; hCG products such as Pregnyl have an approved indication for selected cases of male hypogonadotropic hypogonadism, a condition involving inadequate hormone signals to the testes. Other uses can be off-label. None should be described as “natural TRT,” and nobody can promise that fertility will be preserved or restored. 25, 33, 34

FDA-approved testosterone products

FDA-approved testosterone products have been reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness and manufacturing quality for their approved uses. Ask for the exact product and current prescribing information; approval does not remove the need for diagnosis, monitoring and an individual safety assessment. 24, 17

Compounded testosterone preparations

Compounded preparations are not FDA-approved, and the FDA does not review them for safety, effectiveness or quality before marketing. A lawfully prescribed compounded medicine can raise a separate medical-expense question, but a prescription alone does not prove every associated fee is eligible or provide all receipt details. Know which product you're getting and which pharmacy is filling it. Ask. 24, 14, 9

On the label itself: in February 2025 the FDA required class-wide testosterone labeling changes, including TRAVERSE trial findings, removal of boxed-warning language about increased cardiovascular risk, and blood-pressure warnings. On June 18, 2026, HHS and FDA announced requests for further changes, including removal of the age-related-low-testosterone limitation of use and a narrower prostate-cancer contraindication. An agency request is not proof that a particular product's label has already changed. Ask your clinician to check the current label for the exact prescribed product. 35, 36

For the next question about care rather than payment, see TRT and fertility or online vs local TRT care.


What did we actually verify?

This page is a public-source payment and documentation comparison, checked September 7, 2026. We verified what the retrieved sources publish and recalculated the displayed cost examples; we did not test card acceptance, obtain patient receipts or submit reimbursement claims.

What we actually verified

  • Provider payment statements: Male Excel's pricing page and FAQ; Hone Health's card-payment help page; Taurus Meds' terms; AlphaMD's card-payment answer and Terms of Use; PeterMD's contact/payment page. Marek Health's current FAQ could not be retrieved, so it is not presented as a confirmed current policy. 4, 5, 3, 6, 1, 7, 2
  • Male Excel's $99 consultation, $99/month required membership, displayed medication starting prices, 60-day supply wording, eligibility labels, state exclusions, cancellation statement, no-medical-letter policy, compounded-treatment descriptions and named pharmacy partners. An advertised price component was not treated as proof of a patient invoice. 4, 5, 23
  • Hone Health's dated $1,548 allocation example and separate current Premium pricing, initial and confirmatory test fees, medication separation, and cancellation policy. 8, 22, 29
  • Taurus Meds' published $49/$149 offer, the conflicting $17.99-per-billing-period term, and its refund and cancellation statements. We did not resolve that conflict through checkout or support. 26, 6, 28
  • AlphaMD's current displayed plan rates, cash-pay non-guarantee of reimbursement and conditional 72-hour membership refund window. 27, 7
  • Tax and regulatory facts: IRS medical-expense and HSA/FSA guidance, 2026 contribution and carryover figures, direct-primary-care rules, FSAFEDS receipt requirements, the current federal telemedicine extension, testosterone scheduling, FDA labeling announcements and relevant clinical guidance. Sources are linked next to the claims.

Provider-stated, not independently confirmed: all program prices, state lists, testing inclusions, follow-up and shipping descriptions, named pharmacy relationships, and what paperwork a provider says it supplies. We read what companies published. We did not test it.

What we could not confirm: a complete individual first-year quote for each provider; Male Excel's actual sample receipt, assigned dispensing pharmacy and exact finished product for a specific prescription; whether Taurus's recurring fee applies to its advertised offer; Marek's current policy; and a complete current PeterMD price quote. We also did not audit every clinician's license, appointment availability, pharmacy license, state prescribing requirement or medical-record delivery process. These gaps are reasons to ask the provider, not proof that an entity lacks a license or has stopped operating.

What this page is not: a hands-on review. We did not purchase, enroll, submit a claim, or contact support. It's a payment and documentation guide built from public sources. Inclusion here is not a medical quality ranking or an endorsement.

Editorial judgment: every payment-fit conclusion on this page is ours, reasoned from the facts above. Read How We Review TRT Providers for how we separate verified fact, provider-stated fact, customer experience and editorial conclusion. Our editorial standards and corrections page explain how to flag an error.


What else should you know about using HSA or FSA funds for TRT?

The account, the exact bill and the records you keep determine the payment questions left to answer. None of these providers' payment statements promises insurance coverage, tax eligibility for every fee or a prescription.

Can I use my HSA for testosterone replacement therapy? Yes, for a qualifying medical expense such as lawfully prescribed testosterone used for medical treatment. Keep an itemized expense record and the prescription record; the expense must be incurred after the HSA was established and cannot already have been reimbursed or deducted. You are responsible for supporting a tax-free HSA withdrawal. 14, 10

Is TRT an eligible FSA expense? It can be, but the expense and the plan's coverage and documentation rules must be met. FSA expenses need independent substantiation; some transactions qualify for an automatic method. A later documentation request is not optional, and an unresolved improper payment can lead to repayment demands and card deactivation. 10, 11, 13

Do I need a letter of medical necessity for TRT? A letter is not a universal requirement for a prescription-drug claim. FSAFEDS accepts a pharmacy receipt with the required details, but an administrator may need more information about a particular fee or dual-purpose expense. Check before paying, especially since Male Excel says it does not provide medical-necessity letters. 9, 5

Why was my HSA card declined at an online TRT clinic? Possible reasons include merchant restrictions, available funds, card details or an issuer's decision. Ask the issuer for the reason. Use a personal-payment fallback only after checking the expense, documentation and reimbursement rules — a declined card is not proof that reimbursement will succeed. 20, 3, 10

Are TRT membership fees HSA eligible? There's no blanket answer. Check what medical and non-clinical services the fee actually buys, rather than relying on a membership label. Qualifying direct-primary-care arrangements have special HSA rules in 2026, but a TRT subscription does not automatically meet that definition. Ask for an itemized quote and use a tax professional for an unclear HSA expense. 14, 21

Can I use my HSA if I no longer have a high-deductible health plan? Yes, for spending. You may use an existing HSA balance for qualified medical expenses even when you are no longer eligible to contribute. New contributions require eligible coverage and the other HSA conditions; 2026 rules also treat certain individual-market bronze and catastrophic plans as qualifying coverage. The HSA balance does not expire. 10, 21

Is compounded testosterone HSA or FSA eligible? A lawfully prescribed compounded medicine used for medical care can be a qualifying expense, but the prescription alone does not establish every charge's eligibility or replace a detailed receipt. Compounded preparations are not FDA-approved. Check the actual expense and records with your FSA administrator, or a tax professional for an uncertain HSA charge. 14, 9, 24

Can I use HSA or FSA funds for the blood tests? Diagnostic blood tests used for medical care can qualify. A general wellness panel is not automatically eligible just because a clinic sells it. Keep the itemized lab receipt, and retain the order and results as supporting records. 14, 18

Can I claim the same bill through insurance, an HSA and an FSA? No. You can't be reimbursed twice for the same expense. If insurance pays part of a bill, only your remaining unreimbursed out-of-pocket portion is eligible, and you'll need documentation showing that split. 10

Do all accounts with "FSA" in the name work for TRT? No. A dependent care FSA pays eligible dependent-care expenses, not TRT. A limited-purpose health FSA generally covers dental and vision, though some plans add post-deductible medical benefits. Check the exact plan; an HSA-compatible FSA is not necessarily a general-purpose health FSA. 10

Do my FSA funds expire if I don't use them on TRT? Usually, unused health FSA funds are forfeited unless a plan feature applies. A plan may allow a carryover — up to $680 from a 2026 plan year into the next plan year — or a grace period, but not both for that health FSA. Your plan document controls. HSA balances do not expire. 10, 16

Can I prepay next year's TRT visits with this year's FSA money? Paying early doesn't by itself make a future service an incurred expense. Your plan looks at service dates. Check the actual rules with your administrator before trying to spend down a balance that way — and don't let a benefits deadline rush a medical decision. 10

Will the clinic refund me if my FSA claim gets denied? Don't assume so. A claim decision and a refund policy are unrelated. Several providers state that shipped medications and lab fees are non-refundable. Read the refund and cancellation terms before you pay, not after. 5, 6, 29

Can telehealth clinics prescribe testosterone without an in-person visit in 2026? Under the DEA and HHS fourth temporary extension, which runs through December 31, 2026, authorized practitioners may prescribe controlled medications without a prior in-person evaluation when its conditions are met. For testosterone under this extension, that includes an appropriate audio-video encounter, not just a questionnaire. State law still applies, and prescribing remains the clinician's decision. Verify the current rule and your state's requirements before enrolling. 32, 31


Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.


This page is educational information, not medical or tax advice. It cannot tell you whether you have low testosterone, whether testosterone therapy is appropriate for you, or whether your specific plan will approve a claim — talk to a licensed clinician and your plan administrator or tax professional. If you're experiencing symptoms that feel urgent, such as chest pain, severe shortness of breath, or fainting, seek emergency care.

Related: TRT providers that take insurance · What TRT actually costs · TRT blood tests · TRT and fertility · Online vs local TRT care · How We Review TRT Providers · Privacy policy


Sources

Provider pages support provider-stated facts, not independent tests of care or reimbursement. The source check was completed September 7, 2026; older documents are identified where the date matters.

1. AlphaMD — HSA/FSA card processing and receipt fallback

2. PeterMD — contact and payment information

3. Hone Health — Can I use my HSA/FSA card? Updated September 4, 2026

4. Male Excel — published treatment costs and required membership

5. Male Excel — testing, billing, state exclusions, medical letters and pharmacy disclosures

6. Taurus Meds — Terms of Service, including payment methods, recurring fee and refunds

7. AlphaMD — Terms of Use, updated June 30, 2026

8. Hone Health — May 28, 2026 HRT membership payment-breakdown illustration (PDF)

9. FSAFEDS — filing claims, five receipt fields and prescription-drug documentation

10. IRS Publication 969 — Health Savings Accounts and Other Tax-Favored Health Plans

11. IRS Notice 2006-69 — health FSA debit-card substantiation methods

12. IRS Chief Counsel Advice 202317020 — substantiation, sampling and small-dollar claims (PDF; nonprecedential advice)

13. IRS 2007 proposed cafeteria-plan regulations — debit-card correction procedures and pharmacy rules

14. IRS Publication 502 — Medical and Dental Expenses

15. IRS Revenue Procedure 2025-19 — 2026 HSA contribution limits

16. IRS — tax-year 2026 inflation adjustments, including health FSA limits

17. Endocrine Society — Testosterone Therapy for Hypogonadism guideline

18. IRS IR-2024-65 — warning about misrepresented general-health and wellness expenses, March 6, 2024

19. American Urological Association — Testosterone Deficiency Guideline

20. Stripe — card decline codes and issuer responses

21. IRS Notice 2026-5 — HSA rules for direct primary care and certain health plans

22. Hone Health — Premium membership for men, updated August 31, 2026

23. Male Excel — compounded-treatment description, follow-ups and conditional membership-fee guarantee

24. FDA — Understanding the Risks of Compounded Drugs

25. DailyMed prescribing information — clomiphene citrate

26. Taurus Meds — $49 testing/consultation and $149 monthly testosterone offer

27. AlphaMD — current payment terms and plan prices

28. Taurus Meds — Refund Policy, updated February 28, 2026

29. Hone Health — Order Cancellation and Refund Policy, updated August 31, 2026

30. DEA — Drug Scheduling; testosterone listed under Schedule III

31. 42 CFR Part 12 — temporary telemedicine prescribing rules

32. DEA — fourth extension of telemedicine flexibilities through December 31, 2026

33. Operation Supplement Safety, Uniformed Services University — clomiphene and enclomiphene; current January 12, 2026

34. DailyMed prescribing information — Pregnyl (chorionic gonadotropin)

35. FDA — class-wide testosterone labeling changes, February 28, 2025

36. HHS/FDA — requested testosterone-label updates, June 18, 2026

Ready to explore your options?

Our tool helps you narrow down the care route that fits your situation based on testing, budget, and fertility goals.

Find My TRT Path

Not sure which TRT route fits you?

Find My TRT Path