Male Excel vs NuForm Health: Which Online TRT Fits You (and What Each Really Costs)
Compare Male Excel and NuForm Health on published costs, lab tests, medication formats, refunds, state access and the pricing terms to confirm before paying.
Last updated: September 28, 2026
By TRT Provider Guide Editorial Team · Last verified: September 2026 · Public-source editorial research. Not a hands-on patient review. Not medically reviewed. · How We Review TRT Providers
Male Excel vs NuForm Health comes down first to cost and care model. Nuform's published four-month-kit components start at about $865 for three $200 medication kits, its $170 annual physician fee, and a $95 starting lab panel, before repeat labs, shipping, or other charges. Male Excel's comparable starting-price model is about $2,727 before shipping. Male Excel costs more, but it publicly offers a compounded testosterone cream, an at-home starting test, 60-day medication billing, and a limited membership-fee guarantee. Both providers' testosterone offers reviewed here are compounded, not FDA-approved products.
One of those two prices has a catch printed on the company's own website. We'll show you which one, and the single question that settles it before you pay a dollar.
Three things change the answer:
- Trying to have a baby soon? Neither program is the right first stop. See a urologist or reproductive urologist first. Jump to fertility
- Live in Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire or Rhode Island? Male Excel doesn't prescribe testosterone there. Nuform doesn't publish a state list, so you'll have to ask.
- Want insurance to pay, or an FDA-approved testosterone product? The offers reviewed here are cash-pay compounded programs, not FDA-approved testosterone products. Your own doctor, a urologist or an endocrinologist may be a better route for an FDA-approved product and insurance coverage.
Quick fit check
| Pick this one if… | Skip it if… | |
|---|---|---|
| Nuform | You want the lowest published cost · you're fine with injections · you want a venous blood draw at Quest · you like the provider's assigned-team model | You want a cream · you can't prepay multi-month medication kits · you want a published results guarantee |
| Male Excel | You want cream or small daily injections · you'd rather use an at-home starting test · you want medication billed every 60 days · you want a 90-day guarantee on membership fees | Price is your #1 factor · you live in one of its 11 excluded states · you want hematocrit and LH included in the published starting panel (ask first) |
Male Excel vs NuForm Health at a glance
Last verified September 2026 from each company's own pages. Year-one figures are our calculations from published prices; shipping isn't included because neither company publishes it.
| Male Excel | Nuform Health | |
|---|---|---|
| Year-one published-component model (our calculation) | About $2,727 before shipping | From about $865 before repeat labs and shipping |
| Starting costs before ongoing care | $99 consultation (includes at-home test kit); membership and medication are separate if treatment is prescribed | $170 physician fee + $95 or $195 starting labs + first medication kit if prescribed |
| Ongoing fee | $99 every month (required) | $170 a year |
| Medication | Injection from $120/mo · cream from $132/mo, billed every 60 days | $200 for a 4-month injection kit (the same page also shows $295 for 5 months) |
| Testosterone formats publicly listed for men's TRT | Injection or cream | Injection listed; no current public TRT cream offer verified |
| Starting labs | At-home finger-prick blood spot: 5 markers | Blood draw at Quest: 6 to 57 markers, depending on panel |
| Money-back promise | Refund of 3 months' membership fees if you meet the 90-day guarantee terms and symptoms don't improve | No published results guarantee; $170 fee remains refundable for hormone patients until blood work is completed |
| States | All except 11 (listed above) | No list published |
| Insurance | No (FSA/HSA eligible, per Male Excel) | No |
Affiliate disclosure: We earn a commission if you start with Male Excel through our links. We earn nothing from Nuform. That didn't change the math. Nuform comes out cheaper, and we say so.
See Nuform's current TRT kit prices → · See Male Excel's current treatment prices →
TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.
What we actually verified
- Date checked: September 27–28, 2026.
- Sources read: Male Excel's pricing, FAQ, at-home test, Excel Advantage and guarantee-terms pages; Nuform's TRT, Why Nuform, diagnostic labs, refund, terms and home pages; the Federal Register, FDA, the American Urological Association and the Endocrine Society.
- Confirmed from the companies' own pages: every price and fee on this page, both lab panel lists, Nuform's refund rules, Male Excel's guarantee terms, and Male Excel's excluded states.
- Company says so, but we couldn't test it: how fast clinicians reply, check-in schedules, shipping times, and which pharmacy fills a given prescription.
- Couldn't confirm anywhere: shipping fees at either company, Nuform's state list and pharmacy name, what Nuform charges for repeat labs, whether Male Excel's 6-month blood tests cost extra, and whether either one requires a second morning test before prescribing.
The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.
This page is educational information, not medical advice. If you have chest pain, trouble breathing, or signs of a blood clot like sudden leg swelling or shortness of breath, call 911.
Male Excel vs NuForm Health: what's the biggest difference?
The biggest difference is how you pay. Male Excel charges a required $99 monthly membership plus medication billed every 60 days. Nuform charges a $170 physician fee plus medication sold in prepaid multi-month kits. That one design choice drives almost every other difference between them: price, flexibility, and what you can get back.
Think of it like renting versus buying in bulk.
Male Excel is the rental. You pay $99 to start, which covers a video consultation and an at-home test kit. Then you pay $99 every month for its "Medical Membership," plus your medication every 60 days. The injection starts at $120 a month and the cream at $132 a month. Both prices include a daily thyroid tablet, and shipping is extra. Male Excel says there's no contract and you can cancel anytime.
Nuform is the bulk buy. You pay a $170 physician fee. You pay for labs at Quest ($95 basic or $195 comprehensive). Then you buy injectable testosterone in kits: $200 for four months, which is where its "$50/month" headline comes from. Nuform says plainly that it does not do monthly prescriptions or subscriptions. Nothing auto-renews. You just reorder when a kit runs low.
The catch on Nuform's own page
Here's the catch we promised. Nuform's TRT page currently shows two different kit offers for injectable testosterone at the same stated 200 mg-weekly kit dose:
- A 4-month kit for $200 ($50 a month), dosed at 200 mg weekly.
- A 5-month kit for $295 ($59 a month), also dosed at 200 mg weekly.
Both boxes sit on the same page. Nuform's Why Nuform page adds a third version: kits come in "3- or 4-month" sizes. We couldn't tell which offer a new patient actually gets.
The question that settles it: "Which kit am I being quoted, the $200 four-month or the $295 five-month, and why?" Ask it on your first call with Nuform's health specialist, before your blood draw. At that point your $170 is still refundable (more on that below).
The higher-price offer changes the cash-flow math. If a five-month $295 kit is the applicable offer and you reorder as each kit runs out, three whole kit purchases can fall inside a 12-month window, for $885 in medication purchases covering 15 months of listed kit supply. Add the $170 annual physician fee and a $95 starting lab panel and the 12-month cash outlay starts around $1,150, before repeat labs, shipping, or other charges. You should know which kit applies before you build a budget.
How much do Male Excel and Nuform really cost in year one?
On published components, Male Excel's starting injectable model is about $2,727 for 12 months before shipping. Nuform's four-month-kit model starts around $865 with its $170 annual physician fee, three $200 kits and a $95 starting lab panel, before repeat labs or shipping. Male Excel's cream model is about $2,871 before shipping. These are transparent price models, not individualized all-in quotes.
Neither company adds its prices up for you. So we did.
The year-one math, shown in full
| Scenario | How we added it | Published-component amount |
|---|---|---|
| Nuform, 4-month kit + basic starting labs | $170 annual fee + three $200 kits + $95 starting lab panel | $865 before repeat labs and shipping |
| Nuform, 4-month kit + comprehensive starting labs | $170 + $600 in kits + $195 starting lab panel | $965 before repeat labs and shipping |
| Nuform, 5-month kit cash paid during a 12-month window | $170 + three $295 kit purchases + $95 starting lab panel | $1,150 before repeat labs and shipping; the three kits cover 15 months of listed supply |
| Male Excel, injection | $99 consult + 12 × $99 membership + 12 × $120 medication-equivalent starting price | $2,727 before shipping |
| Male Excel, cream | $99 consult + 12 × $99 membership + 12 × $132 medication-equivalent starting price | $2,871 before shipping |
Calculated by TRT Provider Guide from prices published on maleexcel.com and nuformhealth.com, checked September 2026. Male Excel's medication amounts are starting prices and shipping is extra. Nuform's public TRT page does not publish a repeat-lab price, so repeat labs are not silently counted as $0 or assumed to cost $95.
We are not publishing a year-two total. Nuform does not publish enough repeat-lab pricing for a complete recurring-care estimate, and Male Excel shipping remains unpriced. The first-year models above are the furthest the public numbers support without turning missing costs into zero.
The cash-flow picture: when the money actually leaves your account
Totals hide timing. Here's when you'd pay, month by month, on each company's published prices.
| Month | Male Excel injection model | Running total | Nuform 4-month-kit model with $95 starting labs | Running total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $438 (consult + membership + first 60-day fill) | $438 | $465 (annual fee + starting labs + first 4-month kit) | $465 |
| 2 | $99 | $537 | $0 | $465 |
| 3 | $339 | $876 | $0 | $465 |
| 4 | $99 | $975 | Repeat-lab cost not published | $465 + any repeat-lab charge |
| 5 | $339 | $1,314 | $200 (kit #2) | $665 + any repeat-lab charge |
| 6 | $99 | $1,413 | $0 | $665 + any repeat-lab charge |
| 7 | $339 | $1,752 | $0 | $665 + any repeat-lab charge |
| 8 | $99 | $1,851 | $0 | $665 + any repeat-lab charge |
| 9 | $339 | $2,190 | $200 (kit #3) | $865 + any repeat-lab charge |
| 10 | $99 | $2,289 | $0 | $865 + any repeat-lab charge |
| 11 | $339 | $2,628 | $0 | $865 + any repeat-lab charge |
| 12 | $99 | $2,727 | $0 | $865 + any repeat-lab charge |
Our model. Actual billing dates depend on when consultation, lab results and the first shipment occur. Male Excel shipping is extra. Nuform recommends follow-up testing, but its public pages do not establish a repeat-lab price, so the table leaves that amount open.
Two things jump out:
- The payment structures are not directly comparable at sign-up. Male Excel's $99 consultation is an entry charge before treatment medication; Nuform's $170 annual physician fee, laboratory charge and medication kit are separate steps. Compare the same stage of care before deciding which is easier on cash flow.
- Once ongoing charges begin, Male Excel's published membership-plus-medication model rises much faster. Nuform's lower published kit prices remain the main cost advantage, but your actual Nuform total still needs repeat-lab and shipping amounts if they apply.
Why the ads don't match
- Male Excel's "$95/month" isn't the TRT price. That's Triclozene, its non-testosterone pill. Its testosterone starts at $120 a month, and the $99 membership sits on top of that. Male Excel's own cost page says treatment "requires purchase of an online medical consultation ($99)" and that the price "does not include Medical Membership, which is required."
- Nuform's "$50/month" isn't a monthly bill. It's a $200 four-month kit divided by four. Labs and the $170 fee are separate.
Costs neither company publishes
- Shipping. Male Excel says "plus shipping and handling." Nuform's terms say shipping will be shown at checkout. One Nuform customer on Trustpilot wrote that they "paid a small additional fee for expedited shipping."
- Repeat labs at Nuform. Nuform publishes $95 and $195 starting panels and says bloodwork, when needed, is an additional fee, but its public pages do not establish what a TRT repeat panel will cost. Ask what follow-up testing is required and get the price in writing.
- Dose changes. Both companies price a starting dose. If your prescription goes up or down, so can your bill.
Want to price your own situation? Use our year-one cost calculator: pick injection or cream, a Nuform kit size, your lab panel and how many months you want to see. It shows your total, your day-one cash and your month-by-month payments side by side, with a link to the source for every number.
If paying the least per year is what matters most, that's your answer.
Lowest yearly cost wins for you? See Nuform's current kit prices and start its intake →
Want the full Nuform price breakdown first? Read our NuForm Health TRT cost guide.
What does Male Excel's extra money actually buy?
Male Excel's higher published price buys a different package: a publicly listed testosterone cream, an at-home starting test, medication billed every 60 days instead of prepaid multi-month kits, and a guarantee that can refund your first three months of membership fees if you meet its terms and your symptoms don't improve. If those differences do not matter to you, Nuform has the stronger published price case.
Let's be straight about this.
Male Excel does not win on published price. Its $2,727 starting injection model is far above Nuform's $865 four-month-kit model before Nuform repeat labs and shipping are added. But Male Excel gives you a different set of tradeoffs: a $99 consultation that includes its at-home starting kit, a published cream option, 60-day medication billing, no long-term contract, and a limited 90-day membership-fee guarantee. Nuform's public men's TRT page does not show the same package.
For a lot of men, that's a fair trade. Here's what each piece actually means.
1. Cream instead of needles
Nuform's current public men's TRT page lists injectable testosterone and does not show a topical testosterone offer. Male Excel publicly lists a small daily subcutaneous injection or a testosterone cream applied twice a day.
If a topical treatment format is your main preference, Male Excel is the clearer published option of these two.
Two honest notes on the cream:
- Testosterone cream can rub off on other people. Male Excel's own safety information carries the standard boxed warning: children have shown early signs of puberty after touching skin where a man applied testosterone. Women and kids should avoid contact with unwashed application areas. If you have young children at home, talk this through with the prescriber.
- Male Excel markets its cream as "20x more powerful than commercial cream." We found no independent evidence for that comparison. Stronger isn't the same as better. The right strength is whatever your clinician prescribes.
Want the cream in depth? See our Male Excel testosterone cream guide.
2. At-home starting test
Male Excel mails you a finger-prick blood-spot kit. You collect a few drops at home and mail it back, and Male Excel says results come about five business days after its lab receives the sample. Male Excel says the panel is processed through Excel Medical Labs, its CLIA-certified laboratory in North Carolina.
Nuform uses Quest blood draws for the laboratory panels it publishes. Some men prefer the convenience of starting at home; others want a venous panel with more listed markers. The next section compares what each public starting panel actually lists.
3. Pay as you go
With Male Excel you pay for 60 days of medication at a time. Before each supply runs out, it sends a refill reminder by text or email. You can continue, adjust, or stop.
With Nuform you pay for four or five months at once, and medication orders are final once placed. If you stop after six weeks, the rest of the kit is yours. The money isn't coming back.
4. A guarantee, with real limits
Male Excel's "Excel Advantage Guarantee" says: follow the protocol for 90 days, and if your symptoms don't improve, you can request a refund of your membership fees for those three months. That's up to $297.
Nuform has no results guarantee. Its refund policy suggests you "reach out to your dedicated Health Specialist" to adjust the plan instead.
We break down exactly what Male Excel's guarantee covers in the money-back section below.
What both include
Don't pay Male Excel's premium for things you'd get anyway. Both companies say you get:
- A dedicated clinician. Male Excel: "continuity of care from your dedicated Male Excel medical provider," plus unlimited e-visits and messaging. Nuform: an "assigned provider and specialist" you can text or call directly.
- Regular check-ins. Male Excel: assessments every 60 days. Nuform: its team contacts you every four weeks.
- Home delivery. Both ship medication to your door.
Those are company descriptions. We haven't timed either company's replies.
The part of Male Excel's price most men miss: thyroid
Every Male Excel testosterone price comes bundled "with Thyroid," a daily desiccated thyroid tablet it says "helps with testosterone effectiveness." So you're being quoted a price for two prescription drugs, not one.
Male Excel's own safety information says this thyroid medicine is meant for hypothyroidism (an underactive thyroid) and "should not be used for weight loss." Before you start, ask: "Is the thyroid tablet optional for me, and which of my lab results supports it?" A good clinician will have a clear answer.
"Male Excel is more cost effective than many of the clinics around me and much more convenient." — Dan, identified as a verified patient on Male Excel's pricing page. Service experience, not medical results.
If cream, an at-home starting test, 60-day medication billing and the membership-fee guarantee are why you're here, Male Excel's published model lines up with those priorities.
Does that sound like what you want? Start Male Excel's free online assessment →
Price is your deciding factor after all? Stick with Nuform, or browse our Male Excel alternatives for other cream options.
Which one tests you more thoroughly before prescribing?
Nuform's published starting lab panels list more of the markers major guidelines use in a testosterone-deficiency workup. Its $95 panel lists free testosterone, LH and a CBC that includes hematocrit; Male Excel's five-marker at-home panel does not list those markers but does list PSA. Neither provider's public pages establish a universal requirement for a second early-morning testosterone measurement before a new diagnosis.
This section matters more than price. Testosterone is a long-term medicine. It should start from a solid diagnosis.
What the guidelines say
Low testosterone (the medical name is hypogonadism) isn't diagnosed from symptoms alone, or from one number.
- The American Urological Association (AUA) calls a total testosterone below 300 ng/dL a reasonable cutoff in support of a diagnosis. But it wants two total testosterone tests, on separate early mornings, plus symptoms or signs. It also recommends measuring LH in men with low testosterone, and checking hematocrit before starting treatment.
- The Endocrine Society's July 16, 2026 statement says diagnosis needs symptoms plus consistently low, accurately measured total and free testosterone, from at least two early-morning fasting tests.
Neither group treats 300 as a diagnosis by itself.
A few terms, in plain English:
- Total testosterone: all the testosterone in your blood.
- Free testosterone: testosterone that is not bound to blood proteins. It can add useful information in some diagnostic situations; it is not a standalone diagnosis.
- LH (luteinizing hormone): the signal your brain sends telling your testicles to make testosterone. It helps show where a problem starts, which matters for treatment and fertility choices.
- FSH (follicle-stimulating hormone): a related brain signal that drives sperm production.
- Hematocrit: the percentage of your blood made up of red blood cells. Testosterone can raise it, which is why guidelines call for checking it before treatment and monitoring it during therapy.
- PSA (prostate-specific antigen): a prostate blood test.
The side-by-side
| Marker | Why it matters | Male Excel home kit | Nuform Basic ($95) | Nuform Comprehensive ($195) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total testosterone | The core diagnosis | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Free testosterone | Named in the Endocrine Society standard | Not listed | ✅ | ✅ |
| Hematocrit | Checked before starting | Not listed | ✅ (full blood count) | ✅ |
| LH and FSH | Where the problem starts; fertility | Not listed | ✅ | ✅ |
| PSA | Prostate check | ✅ | Not listed | ✅ |
| Estradiol | Situational | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
| Thyroid | Not part of a low-T diagnosis | Free T3 | Not listed | TSH, free T4, T3 |
| Second morning test required? | Both guidelines want one | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| How blood is collected | Finger-prick drops, mailed | Blood draw at Quest | Blood draw at Quest |
Sources: Male Excel's at-home test page; Nuform's diagnostic labs page; both checked September 2026. A marker missing from a public panel list does not prove a clinician will never order it. It means the starting public panel does not establish that it is included.
Our read: Nuform's $95 panel lists more of the guideline-relevant baseline markers than Male Excel's five-marker home panel but does not list PSA. Nuform's $195 panel adds PSA and other markers. Male Excel's home panel is more convenient and includes PSA, but its public list does not include LH or hematocrit—both important parts of guideline-based evaluation and baseline safety work.
Nuform's website criticizes at-home testing. That is one provider's marketing claim, not independent evidence. The useful question is simpler: if an initial result is low, ask how the clinician will meet the guideline standard for a new diagnosis, including a second early-morning testosterone measurement when applicable.
Follow-up testing
- Male Excel: says it adjusts treatment every 60 days and runs 6-month blood tests for testosterone, estradiol, DHEA, free T3 and PSA. It doesn't say whether those cost extra.
- Nuform: recommends repeating labs 3–4 months into therapy. It doesn't publish the price or say how often after that.
Guidelines call for hematocrit monitoring during testosterone therapy. Ask each company when it is measured, whether it is included in the published follow-up panel, and what the testing costs.
"I chose them specifically because they use an actual blood test. That was important to me." — Patrick, Trustpilot review shown on Nuform's TRT page. Service experience, not medical results.
Three questions to ask either one before your first prescription
- "Will you confirm a low result with a second early-morning blood test?"
- "Will you check my hematocrit and LH before I start?"
- "What labs happen during treatment, how often, and what do they cost?"
If you're leaning Male Excel for the convenience, you can ask those questions for free before you pay anything.
Ask before you pay: schedule Male Excel's free consult call →
Can you get your money back at Male Excel or Nuform?
Partly, at Male Excel: if you meet its 90-day guarantee terms and your symptoms do not improve, you can request your first three months of membership fees back, up to $297. Nuform publishes no results guarantee, but its $170 physician fee remains refundable for hormone patients until blood work is completed and is refunded if the provider says you are not a candidate. Both providers publish limits on medication refunds, so read the terms before an order is placed.
Cancelable isn't the same as refundable. Both companies make stopping easy. Neither makes it free.
What's at risk, step by step
| Step | Male Excel | Nuform |
|---|---|---|
| Before your consultation | You've paid $99 for the consult and home kit. Its refundability isn't published. Ask. | $170 fee is refundable |
| After intake, before labs | — | $170 is still refundable for hormone patients |
| Labs completed | Kit is included in the $99 | Lab fee ($95 or $195) is non-refundable. The $170 becomes non-refundable once treatment is recommended and accepted. |
| Told you're not a candidate | Not published. Ask. | $170 refunded in full |
| Medication ordered | Male Excel's terms say prescription-product sales are generally final; its pricing page says there is no contract and refills are handled in 60-day cycles | Nuform says medication orders are final once placed and cannot be returned to the pharmacy or clinic |
| Day 90, not feeling better | Guarantee: up to $297 back if you qualify | No refund. Your specialist can adjust the plan. |
Sources: Nuform's refund policy and terms; Male Excel's guarantee terms and pricing page. Checked September 2026.
Male Excel's guarantee in real dollars
Under the draft's simplified billing model, roughly 90 days can include the $99 consultation, three monthly membership charges and two 60-day medication purchases. The guarantee can return up to $297 in membership fees if its terms are met; it does not refund the consultation or medication.
That's real and useful. It's also partial. The fine print:
- It covers membership fees only, for the first 90 days. Not medication, not the consult.
- You must follow the protocol continuously for 90 days and attend all scheduled appointments. Male Excel may ask for documentation.
- "Improvement" is measured by Male Excel's own hormone therapy assessment, based on your score and what you report to your provider.
- You must request the refund within 30 days after day 90.
- Male Excel can change or end the guarantee anytime, though changes don't affect members already enrolled under the original terms.
Keep your appointment confirmations. If you ever need the guarantee, you'll want the paper trail.
Nuform's one refund window
Nuform's best protection is timing. Everything you might want to ask should be asked before your blood draw. Until then, your $170 is refundable. After labs are done and you accept a treatment plan, it isn't. And once a kit is ordered, that money is spent.
If a money-back promise is part of what would make you comfortable starting, read the terms yourself.
Want the guarantee in writing? Read Male Excel's full guarantee terms →
Do you have to prepay? And does December 31, 2026 matter?
Nuform's current TRT page shows prepaid 4- and 5-month medication kits; Male Excel publishes 60-day medication billing. Federal telemedicine flexibilities that can allow a DEA-registered clinician to prescribe Schedule II–V controlled medications without a prior in-person evaluation remain in effect through December 31, 2026, when their current extension expires unless another rule changes the framework. State law and other federal requirements still apply.
A quick bit of background. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance in the U.S. That's a federal category for drugs with accepted medical uses but some potential for misuse. It always needs a valid prescription, and prescribing it by telehealth has extra rules.
DEA and HHS have repeatedly extended the temporary telemedicine flexibilities. The current fourth extension runs through December 31, 2026. It does not erase the requirement for a legitimate medical purpose, a properly licensed and DEA-registered prescriber, or compliance with applicable federal and state law.
Why this touches your choice:
- A multi-month Nuform kit purchased late in 2026 could extend beyond the current federal rule's December 31 expiration date, depending on when treatment starts and how the prescription is written.
- Male Excel bills 60 days at a time. Its site already says that, based on DEA and state laws, "your testosterone treatment plan may require an in-person medical exam."
This isn't a reason to panic. Neither company has said care will stop, and the government has extended this rule four times. It's just one more question to ask before you prepay:
"If an in-person visit becomes required after December 31, how will my refills work, and what will it cost?"
Are Male Excel and Nuform FDA-approved? What's actually in the vial?
The testosterone offers reviewed on these providers' current public pages are compounded, not FDA-approved drug products. FDA says compounded drugs are not reviewed before marketing for safety, effectiveness or quality. If you specifically want an FDA-approved testosterone product, ask a clinician who can prescribe that exact product when medically appropriate and check pharmacy and insurance coverage separately.
This is the same at both companies, so it won't decide between them. But you deserve to know what you're buying.
Compounded vs FDA-approved, in plain words
- FDA-approved means a manufacturer proved to the FDA that a specific product is safe and effective for a specific use, and the FDA reviewed how it's made.
- Compounded means a licensed compounder prepares a medication for a patient or clinical need under a different legal framework. Compounding can be lawful when applicable requirements are met, but the finished compounded drug is not FDA-approved and does not go through FDA's premarket approval review.
- 503A and 503B are two kinds of compounding pharmacy under federal law. 503A pharmacies make drugs for individual prescriptions under state oversight. 503B "outsourcing facilities" register with the FDA and follow stricter manufacturing rules. Neither type makes the drug itself FDA-approved.
"Bioidentical" is a word both companies use. It's a marketing term, not an FDA category. It doesn't mean safer or better.
Which pharmacy fills it?
- Male Excel says prescriptions are filled by contracted third-party pharmacies, but the public terms we checked do not establish which pharmacy would fill a particular TRT prescription. Ask for the pharmacy name before the prescription is sent.
- Nuform doesn't name its pharmacy. Its TRT page calls it a "503a and b certified, US-based compounding pharmacy" in one spot and "503A pharmacies" in another. It also doesn't name which testosterone it uses. Ask for the pharmacy's name and type, and the exact medication, before you pay.
What each shows you about safety
Here Male Excel does noticeably better. Its site publishes the standard testosterone boxed warning, a contraindications list, testosterone's Schedule III status, a link to report side effects to the FDA, and full prescribing information.
Nuform's TRT page answers "Is Testosterone Replacement Therapy safe?" with "Yes. When prescribed and dosed appropriately…" It doesn't list warnings or reasons not to take it. That doesn't mean Nuform's clinicians skip the conversation. It means you won't find it on the website.
Who shouldn't start testosterone online at all
Some situations need specialist or in-person evaluation before an online comparison should drive the decision. Examples include:
- Known or suspected prostate or breast cancer, or a cancer history that needs specialist review
- Elevated hematocrit before treatment
- Untreated severe obstructive sleep apnea
- A myocardial infarction or stroke within the past six months
- Very abnormal labs, infertility, or signs of a pituitary or testicular disorder
For these situations, start with primary care, urology, endocrinology or reproductive urology as appropriate rather than choosing a telehealth program on price alone.
Is Male Excel or Nuform available in my state?
Male Excel prescribes testosterone in every state except Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. Nuform doesn't publish a state list; its terms say services "may not be available in your state." Confirm your state with Nuform before you pay the physician fee or book labs.
Male Excel's list comes from its own FAQ, updated September 7, 2026.
Watch out for older numbers. A syndicated review on Yahoo Finance (April 2026) says Male Excel "operates in all 50 U.S. states." Its own FAQ says otherwise. Other pages around the web still show a shorter 9-state exclusion list; Alabama and Minnesota were added in 2026.
For Nuform, one review site claims it's "licensed in 40+ US states." Nuform itself doesn't say that anywhere we could find.
One more thing: telehealth clinicians generally must be authorized to practice where the patient is located during the visit. If you travel often or split time between states, confirm the rule with the provider before an appointment or refill.
More detail on Male Excel's map: Male Excel state availability.
What if you want kids? Male Excel, Nuform, or neither?
If you're trying to conceive soon, start with a urologist or reproductive urologist rather than choosing either program on price. Exogenous testosterone can suppress sperm production. Nuform publicly lists testosterone-plus-hCG/gonadorelin and enclomiphene-related options, while Male Excel lists Triclozene, a clomiphene-containing compound. Those are not interchangeable with standard testosterone replacement, and none supports a promise that your fertility will be preserved.
Testosterone from outside your body tells your brain to stop sending the signals (LH and FSH) that drive your own testosterone and sperm production. The AUA says testosterone therapy shouldn't be prescribed to men who are currently trying to conceive. The Endocrine Society recommends against starting it in men planning fertility in the near term.
Both companies acknowledge this. Nuform's TRT page says testosterone "does negatively impact fertility." Male Excel's cream safety information says that in large doses it "may lower your sperm count."
What each company offers, and what it really is
| Option | Who publishes it | What it is | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| Testosterone alone | Both | Testosterone replacement | The offers reviewed here are compounded; exogenous testosterone can suppress sperm production |
| Testosterone + hCG / gonadorelin kit | Nuform | Testosterone plus a second fertility-relevant drug | Ask which drug is actually prescribed. FDA states that biological products such as hCG are not eligible for the 503A/503B compounding exemptions after the 2020 biologics transition; do not assume a website label establishes the exact product or legal pathway |
| Enclomiphene-related plan | Nuform | A non-testosterone SERM-related approach | Enclomiphene is not an FDA-approved drug product; ask for the exact prescription and pharmacy |
| Triclozene | Male Excel | A compounded clomiphene-citrate blend with thyroid and selenomethionine; not testosterone | Clomiphene use in men is off-label; ask why it is being considered and how fertility will be monitored |
None of these is "natural TRT." None is risk-free. And no provider, online or in person, can promise you'll stay fertile or recover on a set timeline.
If pregnancy is a near-term goal, get a fertility-aware evaluation before you pick a testosterone program. A reproductive urologist can decide whether semen testing or other workup belongs in that evaluation.
What do customers say about Male Excel and Nuform?
Both companies display substantial volumes of customer reviews, but those counts and ratings change and do not establish medical quality. The reviews we checked mostly describe responsiveness, pricing, convenience and shipping, and many cover services other than TRT. Treat customer reviews as service-experience signals, not proof of safety, efficacy or typical results.
What stands out:
- Nuform reviewers often praise price and direct access to the same team member. Some say they chose Nuform because it starts with a lab blood draw.
- Male Excel reviewers often mention convenience, the video visits and easy home testing.
Things to keep in mind when you read TRT reviews:
- Check which service the review is about. Both companies sell weight-loss and other treatments. Many five-star reviews aren't about TRT at all.
- Look for recent reviews. Prices and policies change.
- Ignore "life-changing results" claims. Testosterone affects people differently, and a review can't tell you how you will respond.
We don't publish before-and-after results on this site. If a company's reviews are the main reason you're choosing it, that's a sign to slow down and ask the questions below.
Where each company contradicts itself (and where other reviews got them wrong)
We found multiple conflicts across the providers' own pages and third-party reviews. Most are stale prices or mismatched details, not proof of a hidden fee. Websites drift; your written quote and current terms are what count. Each row below comes with the question that settles it.
| # | Where | What doesn't match | Ask this |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Nuform, TRT page | $200 four-month kit and $295 five-month kit for the same injection | "Which kit am I quoted, and why?" |
| 2 | Nuform, Why Nuform page | Says kits come in "3- or 4-month" sizes. The TRT page shows 4 and 5. | Same as above |
| 3 | Nuform, home page vs Why Nuform | Home page: "one time $170 physician fee." Why Nuform: "$170 annual physician fee." | "Does the $170 renew every year? Is it charged automatically?" |
| 4 | Nuform, TRT page | Fertility kit labeled "1 Month Injectable Kit, $120/month" right above "we DO NOT do monthly prescriptions" | "How is the fertility kit billed?" |
| 5 | Nuform, TRT page | Pharmacy called "503a and b certified" in one spot and "503A pharmacies" in another; never named | "What's the pharmacy's name and type?" |
| 6 | Nuform, Why Nuform vs TRT page | Bloodwork called a "one-time fee," but repeat labs recommended at 3–4 months | "What do repeat labs cost, and how often?" |
| 7 | Nuform, multiple pages | Shipping estimates differ across public pages | Ask for the current estimate before ordering |
| 8 | Nuform site copy | Uses wording that can sound like a compounding pharmacy itself is "FDA approved." FDA says it does not approve facilities, and compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. | Ask for the pharmacy name and verify its license/registration status directly |
| 9 | Male Excel, cost page | Triclozene is shown at $95 and $120 a month on the same current page, and one footnote appears mismatched to the oral product. | "What's the current price and exact medication on my written treatment plan?" |
| 10 | Male Excel, marketing vs terms | "Transform how you feel or your money back" vs terms that refund membership fees for the first 90 days only | See the money-back section |
| 11 | Yahoo Finance syndicated review (Apr 2026) | Says Male Excel "operates in all 50 U.S. states." Male Excel's FAQ excludes 11. | Trust the company's own list |
| 12 | Millennial Hawk review (May 2026) | Says Nuform is "licensed in 40+ US states" with labs at "$85–180." Nuform publishes no state list, and its labs are $95 and $195. | Confirm with Nuform directly |
What to ask before you pay: copy-and-send questions
Six questions per company settle almost every gap in what they publish. Ask Nuform before your blood draw, while your $170 is still refundable. Ask Male Excel on its free consult call or during your $99 consultation. Get the answers in writing.
Copy these into an email or text, or print our free Male Excel vs Nuform worksheet. It has both lists, blank lines for the answers, and our year-one cost formula.
For Nuform:
- Which TRT kit am I being quoted, the 4-month $200 or the 5-month $295, and what will I pay for shipping each time?
- Which testosterone is it, and which pharmacy fills it (name, and 503A or 503B)?
- Which lab panel do I need to start, and what do repeat panels cost and how often?
- Does the $170 physician fee renew every year, and is it charged automatically?
- Do you serve my state, and how will refills work if an in-person visit is required after December 31, 2026?
- How do I get copies of my lab results and medical records, and is there any fee or portal step?
For Male Excel:
- What will shipping cost on each 60-day fill?
- Are the 6-month blood tests included in my membership?
- If my home test shows low testosterone, will you confirm it with a second early-morning blood draw, and will you check hematocrit and LH?
- Is the thyroid tablet optional for me, and what lab result supports it?
- If I'm not a candidate for treatment, is my $99 consultation refunded?
- How will refills work if an in-person visit is required after December 31, 2026?
Short on time? Ask each company just two:
- "What will my total first-year cost be, in writing?"
- "What do I get back if I'm not a candidate, or if I stop in the first 90 days?"
Asking questions doesn't commit you to anything, and a quote doesn't mean you'll be prescribed. A clinician makes that call.
The verdict: should you choose Male Excel, Nuform, or neither?
Nuform has the stronger published price case if you are comfortable with injections and want a venous starting lab panel. Male Excel fits better if you want its published testosterone cream option, an at-home starting test, 60-day medication billing or its limited membership-fee guarantee. Choose neither yet if diagnosis is incomplete, near-term fertility matters, you want an FDA-approved product or insurance-first care, or your health history needs specialist evaluation.
Pick Nuform if…
- You want the lower published-component model: from about $865 with the four-month kit and $95 starting panel, before repeat labs and shipping, versus Male Excel's $2,727 starting injection model before shipping.
- Injections don't bother you.
- You want a venous blood draw with free testosterone, LH and hematocrit listed on the panel.
- You like the idea of texting one assigned team.
- You are comfortable paying a $170 annual physician fee, a starting lab charge, and multi-month medication kits rather than a monthly medication subscription.
Before you pay, ask which kit you're getting, confirm your state, and get the pharmacy name.
That's you? Start Nuform's intake form →
Pick Male Excel if…
- You want cream, or small daily injections.
- You'd rather test at home than visit a lab.
- You want to pay every 60 days, not four or five months at once.
- A 90-day guarantee on membership fees helps you feel comfortable starting.
- You're not in one of its 11 excluded states.
Before you pay, ask whether it will confirm a low home result with a lab draw and check your hematocrit, and whether the thyroid tablet is optional.
If that fits how you want to be treated, check Male Excel's current pricing and get started →
Pick neither yet if…
- You're trying to conceive. See a urologist or reproductive urologist.
- A new diagnosis has not been confirmed with appropriate repeat early-morning testosterone testing. Get a guideline-based evaluation before letting a provider comparison make the decision for you.
- You want insurance, or an FDA-approved product. Your primary care doctor, a urologist or an endocrinologist can prescribe FDA-approved testosterone.
- You have known or suspected prostate or breast cancer, elevated hematocrit, untreated severe sleep apnea, a heart attack or stroke within the past six months, infertility, or signs of pituitary or testicular disease. Start with the appropriate in-person clinician or specialist.
- Neither fits? See our NuForm Health alternatives and Male Excel alternatives guides.
How we compared Male Excel and Nuform
We read both companies' pricing, lab, refund, guarantee, FAQ and terms pages on September 27–28, 2026, turned each price structure into a year-one total, and checked the lab panels against AUA and Endocrine Society standards. We didn't open accounts, buy treatment or test clinician response times. We earn a commission from Male Excel and nothing from Nuform.
We follow our published method, How We Review TRT Providers. It separates four kinds of information, and we labeled them on this page:
| Kind of information | On this page |
|---|---|
| Verified from the company's own published pages | Prices, fees, kit sizes, lab panels, refund and guarantee terms, Male Excel's state exclusions |
| Company says so (not independently tested) | Clinician access, check-in schedules, shipping times, pharmacy type, lab turnaround |
| Our calculation | The $865, $965, $1,150, $2,727, $2,871 and other published-component and cash-flow figures |
| Customer experience | Trustpilot quotes and themes. Service signals only, never proof of results. |
| Not established | Individual clinical quality, your exact future quote, which pharmacy and prescriber you'd be assigned, Nuform's full state coverage |
We don't give providers numeric scores or star ratings. Being included on this page isn't an endorsement. If you spot something that's changed, tell us and we'll re-check it and update the date.
Male Excel vs NuForm Health: frequently asked questions
Is Nuform cheaper than Male Excel?
Nuform has the lower published-component model by a wide margin. Using the $200 four-month kit, a $170 annual physician fee and a $95 starting lab panel, the model starts around $865 before repeat labs and shipping. Male Excel's starting injection model is about $2,727 before shipping. Those are not complete individualized quotes.
Is Male Excel really $99 a month?
No. $99 a month is Male Excel's required Medical Membership. Testosterone is billed separately: from $120 a month for injections or $132 a month for cream, charged every 60 days, plus shipping. There's also a $99 one-time consultation to start.
Is $50 a month Nuform's full TRT cost?
No. $50 a month is a $200 four-month medication kit divided by four. You also pay a $170 physician fee and $95 or $195 for starting labs. Nuform's same page also lists a $295 five-month kit, so ask which applies.
Is Nuform the same as NuForm or NUFORM?
Yes. The company writes its name as "Nuform" and "NUFORM." Many people search for "NuForm." It's the same Michigan-based company at nuformhealth.com.
Does Nuform offer testosterone cream?
Nuform's current public men's TRT page lists injectable testosterone and does not show a topical testosterone offer. Male Excel's current public pricing does list a compounded testosterone cream. Confirm current options directly before paying because treatment menus can change.
Does either take insurance?
No. Nuform's terms say it doesn't accept insurance. Male Excel says its approach isn't covered by insurance, though it lists its treatments as FSA/HSA eligible. Check with your plan administrator before using HSA or FSA funds.
Which one is faster to start?
The public pages do not support a reliable winner on total start time. Male Excel says its home-test results are available about five business days after its lab receives the sample. Nuform says a specialist typically contacts you within 24–48 hours and its published hormone process uses bloodwork. Neither provider publishes enough end-to-end timing to promise which will get a particular patient to a prescription first.
Does paying guarantee I'll get a prescription?
No, at either company. A licensed clinician decides whether testosterone is right for you. Nuform's terms say it doesn't guarantee any prescription will be written.
Can I use my own recent bloodwork?
Neither company publishes a clear rule on this. Ask which tests they accept, how recent they must be, and whether they need to be early-morning draws.
Can I switch from one to the other later?
You can change providers, but plan the timing with a clinician. Already ordered medication may not be refundable, and the new provider may require updated testing or records. Ask what records and labs it accepts, request copies from the old provider, and do not stop or change prescribed testosterone without clinical guidance.
Do Male Excel and Nuform treat women?
Both have separate women's services. Male Excel's is called FemExcel. This page covers men's testosterone replacement therapy only.
Is TRT Provider Guide part of either company?
No. TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy care. We're not a clinic, pharmacy, lab or medical practice. We earn a commission from Male Excel and nothing from Nuform.
Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool. It builds a personal question list and care-route map from your goals, fertility plans, state, budget and treatment preferences. It's educational only. It doesn't diagnose low testosterone or decide whether you'll be prescribed anything.
Sources (checked September 27–28, 2026 unless noted)
Male Excel
- Cost of Hormone Replacement Therapy (consult, membership, medication prices, billing, thyroid bundling, insurance; page last modified May 6, 2025)
- TRT FAQs (state exclusions, test-result timing; modified September 7, 2026)
- At-Home Testosterone Test (markers, blood-spot method, safety information; modified July 14, 2026)
- The Excel Advantage (60-day assessments, 6-month blood tests)
- Excel Advantage Guarantee terms
- Beware of fake ED meds (named pharmacies; modified March 21, 2025)
- Male Excel homepage (Excel Medical Labs, CLIA-certified, North Carolina)
Nuform Health
- Testosterone Replacement Therapy (kit prices, pharmacy wording, labs FAQ, fertility statement, shipping)
- Why Nuform ($170 annual fee, kit sizes, check-ins, cancellation, shipping)
- Homepage ("one time $170 physician fee")
- Diagnostic Labs ($95 and $195 panels, markers)
- Refund Policy
- Terms & Conditions (last revised June 9, 2023; insurance, state availability, no prescription guarantee, arbitration)
Federal and clinical
- Federal Register: Fourth Temporary Extension of COVID-19 Telemedicine Flexibilities for Prescription of Controlled Medications (December 31, 2025)
- HHS: HHS & DEA extend telemedicine flexibilities through 2026
- DEA: Controlled Substance Schedules / testosterone is Schedule III
- Alliance for Connected Care: DEA prescribing of controlled substances (permanent rule review status; August 2026)
- FDA: Notice to Compounders: Changes that affect compounding as of March 23, 2020 (hCG as a biologic)
- FDA: Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers
- FDA: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee materials, June 8, 2022 (enclomiphene citrate)
- American Urological Association: Testosterone Deficiency Guideline
- Endocrine Society: Testosterone Therapy in Men with Hypogonadism guideline and Statement on testosterone replacement therapy (July 16, 2026)
- Empower Pharmacy: Compounded gonadorelin in men's health (limited comparative research)
Third-party pages we corrected
- Yahoo Finance (syndicated): Male Excel TRT 2026 (April 16, 2026)
- Millennial Hawk: Nuform Health review (May 8, 2026)
Customer experience (service signals only)
- Trustpilot: Nuform · Male Excel
Ready to explore your options?
Our tool helps you narrow down the care route that fits your situation based on testing, budget, and fertility goals.
Find My TRT Path