A testosterone blood test costs $42 to $75 across the five direct-order options we checked on September 17, 2026, with required fees included. Home kits and TRT-company starter tests we checked cost $45 to $99. If testing is for diagnosis, one result is not enough: major U.S. guidelines require symptoms or signs plus repeat early-morning testing.
What changes your price: whether you use insurance, a hospital lab or an independent one, total testosterone or a bigger panel, and whether you're heading toward treatment (which adds safety labs).
This page is for you if you're an adult man pricing a low-testosterone test, or you're already on TRT and tired of paying for labs. It's not for you if you want one number to settle whether you need treatment, or you have severe symptoms that need care now. Women and anyone under 18 should use the test their own clinician orders.
Affiliate disclosure: TRT Provider Guide may earn a commission from designated provider links on this page, including Male Excel, Hone Health and Taurus Meds. Commercial relationships never change the prices, limits or safety facts we report. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Educational information, not medical advice. If you have chest pain, trouble breathing, stroke symptoms, or a sudden severe headache with vision changes, call 911.
TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.
Jump to your situation: Paying cash · Two-test math · Have insurance · On Medicare · Want a home kit · Starting TRT · Pre-payment checklist
How much does a testosterone blood test cost in 2026?
A total testosterone blood test ordered directly from a national lab network cost $42 to $75, including required fees, across the five options we checked on September 17, 2026. A home finger-prick kit listed at $69. Adding Quest's in-home blood draw brings one test to $154.
Here's what we found. Every price comes from the seller's own page.
| Where you order | What you get | Price + required fees | You pay | Results | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marek Diagnostics | Total testosterone (LC/MS) at a Quest site | $32 + $10 collection fee | $42 | Typically within 14 business days | Not available to residents of NY, NJ or RI |
| HealthLabs | Total testosterone | $49, no extra test-center or results fee | $49 | 1–3 business days | Walk in, no appointment. Cancel before your visit and the refund is reduced by 20%; after 21 days, HealthLabs says it issues future-testing credit |
| Walk-In Lab | Total testosterone (Labcorp code 004226, mass spectrometry) | $59 + $6 physician fee | $65 | 1–2 days | Morning collection is recommended; Walk-In Lab says no special preparation is required |
| Labcorp OnDemand | Total testosterone at a Labcorp site | $69, clinician order and collection included in the OnDemand process | $69 | About 1 day after the sample reaches the lab | Labcorp says this specific product is clinically appropriate for people assigned male at birth |
| Quest Health | Total testosterone at a Quest site | $69 + $6 physician service fee | $75 | 3–5 business days | Quest Health testing is not available in AZ, HI or PR |
| Quest Health with in-home draw | Same test, drawn at home by Quest Mobile | $75 + $79 home collection | $154 | 3–5 business days | Only where Quest Mobile home collection is offered |
| Everlywell (home kit) | Total testosterone, finger-prick sample | $69 | $69 | After the lab receives the sample | Price confirmed from Everlywell's June 2026 materials |
Cash prices checked September 17, 2026 (Everlywell: June 2026). None of these sellers bill insurance. Promotions change often — confirm the total at checkout.
Why does the same test have five different prices?
Many of these orders use large national laboratory networks such as Quest or Labcorp. What changes is who places the order, where the sample is collected, and which fees are bundled into the advertised price.
Some sellers fold the clinician order and the blood draw into one price. Others add a physician or collection fee on top. Marek is cheapest in this table, but Marek says results are typically available within 14 business days after the sample is collected.
There's also a method difference. Some total testosterone tests use an immunoassay. Others use mass spectrometry (often written LC/MS). Both can be valid. The AUA says repeat measurements should preferably use the same laboratory and the same method or instrumentation, which reduces avoidable test-to-test variation.
What doesn't that $42–$75 buy?
It buys a number. It doesn't buy a diagnosis.
A lab result can't tell you whether your symptoms come from low testosterone, why your level might be low, or whether treatment is safe for you. Those answers need a clinician. And as you'll see next, one result isn't enough anyway. (convert your testosterone result into another unit)
Before you pay for anything else: The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.
Map the testing and care route that fits me → Free and educational. It doesn't diagnose low testosterone, decide whether you need treatment, or guarantee a prescription.
Will you have to pay for two testosterone tests?
If the test is part of a low-testosterone evaluation, major U.S. guidelines call for confirmation rather than diagnosis from one result. The American Urological Association calls for two early-morning total testosterone measurements on separate days, while the Endocrine Society recommends confirming a low result with a repeat morning fasting total testosterone measurement. At the cash prices we checked, two stand-alone tests cost $84 to $150.
Testosterone isn't a fixed number like your height. It runs highest in the morning, and it shifts from day to day. A reading taken later in the day or during acute illness can be lower than your usual baseline.
That's why the guidelines want a second morning test. The Endocrine Society specifies morning fasting confirmation. The AUA treats a total testosterone below 300 ng/dL as a reasonable cutoff in support of diagnosis — not as a diagnosis by itself, and only in the context of symptoms or signs and repeat testing. One number, on its own, does not diagnose hypogonadism. Diagnosis requires the laboratory findings to fit the person's symptoms or signs and clinical evaluation.
Here's what that second test does to your budget:
| Route | First test | Two-test subtotal | What the confirmation step includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marek Diagnostics | $42 | $84 | Total testosterone only; Marek says each result is typically available within 14 business days |
| HealthLabs | $49 | $98 | Total testosterone only |
| Walk-In Lab | $65 | $130 | Total testosterone only |
| Labcorp OnDemand | $69 | $138 | Total testosterone only |
| Quest Health | $75 | $150 | Total testosterone only |
| Hone Health Plus | $45 home kit, 8 markers | $90 with a $45 at-lab confirmation; $125 with an $80 home confirmation | Second total testosterone plus hematocrit, PSA and prolactin |
| Hone Health Premium | $65 in-lab panel | $90 | Hone lists a $25 in-lab confirmation step |
Two separate orders at the prices checked September 17, 2026. This is budgeting math, not a reason to buy a second test before a clinician asks for one. Hone's confirmation step is for people being considered for TRT, and its plans carry a monthly membership (details below).
Isn't a free-and-total panel the same as two tests?
No. A panel that reports total and free testosterone still comes from one blood draw on one morning. It tells you more about that day. It doesn't give you the second morning result a diagnosis needs.
The cheapest first test isn't always the cheapest answer
Marek's two-test total ($84) is the lowest here. But Marek says each result is typically available within 14 business days, so a sequential workup may take longer than the faster options. HealthLabs costs $14 more for the pair and lists results in one to three business days.
There's a bigger gap in the table, too. Every stand-alone route above buys only testosterone. If treatment ends up on the table, a clinician will also want your blood count and, for many men, a PSA (prostate-specific antigen, a prostate blood marker). Hone's published confirmation panel already includes both. Among the options checked for this page, Hone Plus is the only TRT-company starter path we found that publishes a $90 initial-plus-at-lab-confirmation testing subtotal while also naming hematocrit and PSA. If you continue to treatment, Hone's $135/month membership and medication are additional costs.
A test plan worth paying for usually includes:
- ☐ Two early-morning total testosterone results, on different days
- ☐ The same lab and test code both times
- ☐ LH (luteinizing hormone, the brain's "make testosterone" signal) if testosterone comes back low — it helps show why
- ☐ Hematocrit before any treatment starts
- ☐ PSA if you're over 40 and treatment is being considered
- ☐ A clinician who actually reviews the results with you
If most of those boxes matter to you, a bundled path can beat buying tests one at a time.
Want the initial test and confirmation/safety labs priced before you start? Hone lists a $45 home starter panel and a $45 at-lab confirmation that adds a second total testosterone, hematocrit, PSA and prolactin. Read its membership line first — Hone's own cost table adds $135/month on the treatment path, and medication is extra.
See Hone's current testing steps and plan prices → Buying a test doesn't guarantee treatment. A Hone physician decides what's clinically appropriate.
Which testosterone test should you pay for?
Start with total testosterone. It's the test guidelines use to diagnose low testosterone. Free testosterone is worth adding when total testosterone lands near the cutoff or a health condition may be changing the proteins that carry it. Bigger hormone panels often include markers a first diagnosis doesn't need.
Three terms, in plain words:
- Total testosterone is all the testosterone in your blood — the part stuck to proteins and the small part floating free.
- Free testosterone is only the unbound part. (Heads up: "free testosterone test" describes the hormone, not the price. It isn't a no-cost test.)
- SHBG (sex hormone-binding globulin) is a protein that grabs onto testosterone. When it's unusually high or low, total testosterone can be misleading.
Here's what free-and-total options cost:
| Where you order | What's measured | You pay | Method note |
|---|---|---|---|
| DrSays | Total + free testosterone (Labcorp code 140103) | $46.98 ($36.99 + $9.99 collection) | Product is explicitly a direct free-testosterone assay; unavailable in NY, NJ or RI |
| HealthLabs | Total + free testosterone | $99 | Free-testosterone method is not stated on the current product page |
| Walk-In Lab | Total testosterone by LC/MS plus direct free testosterone | $131 ($125 + $6 physician fee) | Direct free-testosterone assay |
| Labcorp OnDemand | Total testosterone, calculated free testosterone, SHBG, albumin | $159 | Calculated free testosterone |
Why the method column matters: the Endocrine Society says that when free testosterone is needed for diagnosis, it should be measured by equilibrium dialysis or calculated with an accurate formula using total testosterone, SHBG and albumin. It advises against direct analog free-testosterone immunoassays because they are inaccurate. So the cheapest free-and-total listing is not automatically the one your clinician will want. Ask before you buy.
Which tests can you skip on day one?
DHEA-S, thyroid add-ons and big "optimization" panels aren't needed to diagnose low testosterone. A clinician may want some of them for other reasons. Let that be their call, not a shopping-cart upsell.
One thing to watch for: free T3 is a thyroid hormone, not free testosterone. Some men's hormone kits list both "testosterone" and "free T3." That second marker tells you about your thyroid.
Want the full clinical rundown of which tests matter and when? See our TRT blood test guide.
Is a TRT company's starter test a better deal?
Sometimes. TRT companies sell starter tests for $45 to $99, and some bundle in a clinician visit or extra markers a $69 lab test lacks. But none is a diagnosis by itself, and not all of them publish what they measure or what the second test costs.
| Male Excel | Hone Plus | Hone Premium | Taurus Meds | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter price | $99 | $45 | $65 | $49 |
| Collection | Home blood spot | Home kit | In lab | Labcorp or Quest; Taurus says it sends a home kit if you are more than 50 miles from either |
| Clinician visit | Online consult included | Live video visit is the next step | Physician visit is part of Hone's process | 15-minute video consult advertised |
| Markers listed | Testosterone, estradiol, DHEA-S, free T3 (thyroid), PSA | Total T, free T, SHBG, albumin, LH, estradiol, AST, ALT | Broader in-lab panel | 8 biomarkers, not named on the current offer page |
| Second test / confirmation | Process and price not published on the $99 test page | $45 at a lab or $80 at home on the TRT path | $25 in lab | Not published on the offer page |
| Ongoing cost if you continue | $99/month membership + medication | $135/month + medication | $155/month + medication | Taurus currently advertises doctor-prescribed medication at $149/month if approved, with no membership fee |
Male Excel's test and Hone Plus details checked on their own pages September 17, 2026. Hone Premium figures from Hone's help center, September 2026. Male Excel's membership price and the Taurus details come from our September 7–10, 2026 checks. "Ongoing cost" applies only if you move to treatment.
Male Excel: a home test and a clinician consult for one price
For $99, Male Excel sends a blood-spot kit you do at home. The kit checks testosterone, estradiol, DHEA-S, free T3 and PSA. The price also includes an online consultation with a licensed provider and a personalized treatment plan. Return shipping is free.
Male Excel's page lists "testosterone" without saying whether it's total or free. It's worth asking.
The honest catch. Male Excel's published $99 test page does not list a second morning testosterone test, LH or a blood count in the kit. If a fully priced two-test workup is your top priority, Hone's published path is the better fit. But because Male Excel builds a licensed provider consultation into that same $99, you're not just buying a number. You get a home test, a PSA baseline and a real conversation about what your results mean — for one price. That conversation is exactly where you ask how your confirmation test and blood count will be handled, and get the answer in writing.
A few more things to know:
- Male Excel currently says its medical providers prescribe hormone treatment in all states except Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire and Rhode Island.
- It's cash pay.
- Its site notes that DEA and state rules may require an in-person exam before testosterone treatment.
Does a home test plus a clinician conversation sound like what you need? Start with the test page, then confirm your state is covered before you order.
See what Male Excel's $99 test includes → Ordering the test doesn't guarantee treatment or a prescription.
Hone Health: the most complete priced testing path we found
Hone Plus starts with a $45 home kit covering eight markers, including LH and SHBG. Next comes a live video visit with a Hone physician. If TRT is being considered, Hone adds a confirmation panel — a second total testosterone plus hematocrit, PSA and prolactin — for $45 at a lab or $80 at home.
Our editorial read of the numbers: among the options checked for this page, Hone Plus is the only TRT-company starter path we found that publishes a $90 initial-plus-at-lab-confirmation testing subtotal and names hematocrit and PSA in the confirmation panel.
Know the limits. Hone's own "cost to get started" table includes its $135/month membership on the treatment path. Hone availability varies by state. Check Hone's current state availability before paying. And if you only want a number, a stand-alone lab test is simpler. More detail: Hone TRT cost and our Hone Health review.
Taurus Meds: $49, with two things to confirm first
Taurus advertises a $49 test with eight biomarkers and a 15-minute video consult. Two things matter before you pay.
First, the offer doesn't name the eight markers. Second, its FAQ describes paying for medication after your labs and then scheduling the clinician call. Ask whether you can get the included review without buying medication.
We dug into the rest of the terms here: Read what Taurus's $49 test does — and doesn't — include →
What happens to your costs if you move to treatment?
The starter test is the cheap part. Membership, medication and follow-up labs are where the real money goes. For full first-year math, see How much does TRT cost?
Does insurance cover a testosterone blood test?
It can be covered when your health plan considers the test medically necessary and a clinician orders it. What you owe depends on your deductible, copay or coinsurance and where the test is performed. The direct-order options in our cash-price table do not bill insurance directly.
What you'll likely owe
- Deductible not met: You may owe the plan's allowed amount until the deductible is met.
- Deductible met: You pay your copay or coinsurance, if any.
- Where the test is done: Your cost can differ by laboratory and site of service, even for the same ordered test.
Why the reason on the order matters
Coverage depends on your plan's medical-necessity rules and the reason your clinician puts on the order. Do not assume that a self-ordered screening test, a repeat test, or a larger hormone panel will be covered just because total testosterone testing can be covered in some situations.
Ask your insurer these questions, with the codes
Call the number on your card before your draw. Give them these procedure (CPT) codes, and ask your clinician's office to confirm the exact codes on your order:
| Test CPT code | |
|---|---|
| Total testosterone | 84403 |
| Free testosterone | 84402 |
| SHBG | 84270 |
| LH | 83002 |
| Prolactin | 84146 |
| Complete blood count | 85025 |
| PSA (total) | 84153 |
| Estradiol | 82670 |
Ask: Is this covered with the reason my doctor listed? Does my deductible apply? Which in-network independent lab is near me? Is there a limit on repeat testosterone tests?
Can you submit a direct-order test to insurance later?
Don't count on it. Quest's consumer site says its purchases can't be submitted for insurance reimbursement. Labcorp OnDemand doesn't bill insurance. HealthLabs doesn't either, but says it can give you an itemized receipt in case your plan reimburses.
Using insurance changes the best first stop. Primary care, urology or an online program can each make sense, depending on your plan and situation.
Find the insurance-friendly testing route for my situation →
Does Medicare pay for testosterone testing?
Medicare Part B covers medically necessary diagnostic laboratory tests ordered by a clinician, and you usually pay nothing for the covered lab test itself. Medicare also covers certain preventive tests, but a testosterone test ordered only as general screening may not meet Medicare's diagnostic-lab coverage rules. The visit that leads to the order can have separate Part B cost-sharing.
What to know:
- The $0 applies to the lab test. The office visit is billed separately under Part B.
- Medical necessity matters. Medicare covers medically necessary diagnostic laboratory tests and separately covers certain preventive tests and screenings.
- You may be asked to sign a notice. If the lab or office expects Medicare won't pay, it may hand you an Advance Beneficiary Notice before the test.
- Medicare Advantage is different. Check your plan's lab cost-sharing and network rules.
- Most online TRT programs are cash pay. They don't bill Medicare.
If you are quoted a large cash price, ask what test or panel is being ordered, where it will be performed, and what your Medicare coverage will be before the draw.
Why can a testosterone test cost $42 at one place and hundreds at another?
The same basic test can produce very different bills depending on who orders it, where it is performed and whether you use insurance or cash pricing. Direct-order sellers post flat cash prices; clinician-ordered testing can be billed under negotiated or facility-specific rates. If you are uninsured or choose not to use insurance for scheduled care, federal Good Faith Estimate rules can apply.
Your right to a Good Faith Estimate
If you're uninsured, or you choose not to use insurance, federal law requires providers and facilities to give you a written Good Faith Estimate for scheduled care. If your bill from a provider or facility comes in at least $400 higher than that provider's estimate, you may be able to dispute it through a federal process run by CMS.
Already got a big bill?
- Ask for an itemized bill with the CPT codes.
- Ask for the self-pay or prompt-pay rate.
- Ask whether financial assistance is available.
- Compare the lab line to the cash prices in our table.
Three price claims we checked (September 17, 2026)
"Direct-order labs charge $30–$50." The five national-lab options we priced came to $42–$75 with fees.
"Labcorp doesn't publish a consumer price." Labcorp OnDemand lists total testosterone at $69, with ordering and collection included.
"You don't need to fast." Seller instructions differ. Labcorp OnDemand says no special preparation is needed and HealthLabs says fasting is not required, while the Endocrine Society recommends a morning fasting sample when confirming low testosterone. Follow the instructions tied to your order and clinician.
Are at-home testosterone tests worth the price?
A home kit cost about $45 to $99 in our check and saves you a lab trip. But collection method, timing and laboratory method all matter, and a clinician may still want a separate early-morning serum test to confirm a low result before diagnosis.
| Home option | What it measures | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Hone Plus starter kit | 8 markers | $45 (part of Hone's program) |
| Everlywell | Total testosterone | $69 |
| Male Excel kit | 5 markers + online consult | $99 |
| Quest in-home draw | Total testosterone, drawn by a phlebotomist | $154 all-in |
A few honest points:
- A kit isn't automatically worse. What matters is whether the lab's method is validated for that sample type, and whether your clinician will accept the result.
- Timing still counts. Morning collection matters just as much at your kitchen table.
- Already using testosterone? Tell the ordering clinician and the lab before testing so they can give the correct timing and collection instructions for your treatment format.
- Home kits may skip safety labs. Most don't include a blood count, which matters before treatment.
For a provider-by-provider look at home collection over a full year, see TRT providers with at-home blood tests.
How do you avoid paying for a redraw?
For a diagnostic workup, use an early-morning draw, ask whether your order requires fasting, tell the lab about biotin and any testosterone product, and avoid diagnostic testing during acute illness unless your clinician has a reason to test then. When a repeat is needed, the AUA prefers the same laboratory and method or instrumentation. Your ordering clinician's instructions come first.
The instructions really do disagree. Here's what each source said:
| Source | Timing | Fasting | Other notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quest Health product page | Current product page does not give a specific collection time in the public text we checked | Not stated in the current public product text we checked | Follow the instructions attached to your order |
| Labcorp OnDemand | Not stated | "No special preparation" | — |
| HealthLabs | Not stated | Not required | — |
| Walk-In Lab | 7–10 a.m. recommended | No special preparation | Stop biotin 72 hours before |
| Endocrine Society | Morning | Fasting for diagnostic confirmation | Repeat morning test |
| American Urological Association | Early morning | Not specified | Two total testosterone measurements on separate days |
Your five-step routine:
- Book early. For a diagnostic workup, use an early-morning draw. If you work nights, ask your clinician how to time it around your main sleep period.
- Ask about fasting. When sources disagree, follow the instruction your clinician gives you.
- Mention biotin. It's in many hair, skin and nail supplements and can interfere with some lab tests. Ask before stopping anything.
- Avoid testing during acute illness unless your clinician wants it then. The Endocrine Society cautions against evaluating testosterone during acute illness or recovery from it.
- Keep the repeat comparable. The AUA prefers the same laboratory and the same method or instrumentation when possible.
Never stop a prescribed medicine to "improve" a result. Ask first.
Can you order a testosterone test without a doctor?
Yes, in most states. Direct-order sites include an independent clinician's order in the purchase, and then you visit a lab. Some states restrict this, and a direct-order result still needs a clinician to act on it.
Service limits we found on sellers' own pages:
- Marek Diagnostics and DrSays: not available to residents of New York, New Jersey or Rhode Island.
- Quest's consumer site: no sample collection in Arizona, Hawaii or Puerto Rico.
Who looks at your result depends on the seller. Quest says you can talk through your results with an independent provider at no extra cost. Labcorp OnDemand says it will contact you if a result needs prompt follow-up. HealthLabs offers result explanations from its health education team. None of that is a full low-testosterone evaluation.
Will the test show up anywhere?
It depends on the seller:
- HealthLabs doesn't bill insurance, so the test isn't sent to your insurer. Charges show on your card as "Analyte Health."
- Labcorp OnDemand results appear in your Labcorp Patient account, and Labcorp says there's no way to opt out of that.
Can you use HSA or FSA money for a testosterone test?
Generally, qualifying laboratory fees that are part of medical care can be paid with HSA or FSA funds, subject to your plan and tax rules. IRS Publication 502 lists laboratory fees that are part of medical care as medical expenses. Several sellers on this page, including Labcorp OnDemand and HealthLabs, explicitly advertise HSA/FSA payment. Keep your receipt.
What pre-tax money saves: at a 22% federal tax bracket, paying for a $75 test with HSA funds avoids about $16.50 in federal income tax. Your savings depend on your own taxes, so treat that as an example, not tax advice.
What will bloodwork cost if you start TRT?
A guideline-based treatment workup goes beyond the two diagnostic testosterone measurements. The AUA calls for hemoglobin and hematocrit before testosterone therapy and PSA in men over 40; it also recommends LH after a low testosterone result and prolactin when LH is low or low-normal. Follow-up timing depends on the treatment format, with ongoing testosterone checks every 6–12 months under the AUA guideline.
What the guidelines call for, in plain terms:
| When | What guidelines call for | Why |
|---|---|---|
| During diagnosis / before treatment | Two early-morning total testosterone measurements on separate days; LH after low testosterone; prolactin if LH is low or low-normal; hemoglobin/hematocrit before treatment; PSA in men over 40 before treatment under the AUA guideline | Confirm the diagnosis, look for a cause, and set safety baselines |
| Early after treatment starts | Testosterone at an interval appropriate to the treatment format; hematocrit at about 3–6 months under Endocrine Society guidance | Check level and red-blood-cell response |
| Ongoing | Testosterone every 6–12 months under the AUA guideline; hematocrit monitoring under Endocrine Society guidance; prostate monitoring when it applies | Ongoing safety and treatment follow-up |
Hematocrit is the share of your blood made up of red blood cells. Testosterone can raise it, which is why it gets checked before and during treatment.
Two ways to pay for follow-up labs:
- Pay per test. Use cash prices like those above. Cheaper if you're tested rarely. Easier to fall behind.
- Membership that includes labs. Hone lists follow-up labs and consults as included in its $135/month Plus membership. A higher fixed cost, fewer surprise bills.
If surprise lab bills are your worry, compare which programs fold monitoring into the monthly price before you commit.
Who should skip the cheapest test and see a clinician first?
If you want children soon, have very low or confusing results, severe headaches with vision changes, breast symptoms, known or suspected prostate or breast cancer, a high hematocrit, or you use chronic opioids or corticosteroids, start with a clinician-led evaluation rather than the cheapest self-order test.
See a clinician before shopping for tests or programs if you:
- Want children in the next few years. Testosterone treatment can suppress spermatogenesis — your body's sperm production. Raise it first. A urologist or reproductive urologist can guide you. Read TRT and fertility.
- Have symptoms that point to the pituitary gland, like new severe headaches or vision changes. Those need prompt care.
- Have a high hematocrit, untreated severe sleep apnea, or a heart attack or stroke within the last 6 months. The Endocrine Society lists these among situations in which it recommends against starting testosterone therapy.
- Have known or suspected prostate or breast cancer, or a concerning PSA. These need clinician evaluation before any treatment decision.
- Use chronic opioids or corticosteroids. The AUA lists chronic narcotic use and chronic corticosteroid use among reasons a clinician may consider testosterone testing even without typical symptoms.
- Don't have symptoms at all. The Endocrine Society recommends against routinely screening men in the general population for low testosterone.
Not sure which first stop fits you? A short set of questions can point you toward primary care, a specialist, or an online program — and the questions to ask each one.
Your pre-payment checklist
Before you pay, get the exact test, every required fee, and what happens next in writing. A low starting price isn't a complete quote if a fee is still unknown. Unknown costs aren't zero.
| Ask before you pay | Your answer |
|---|---|
| Which exact test (and test code) is being ordered? | |
| Does the price include the order, the blood draw and access to results? | |
| Is this billed to insurance, or cash only? | |
| Is a clinician visit included? What does it cover? | |
| If a second test is needed, what will it cost? | |
| Does any membership or medication payment start before I talk to a clinician? | |
| What are the cancellation and unusable-sample rules? | |
| Can I download the full lab report to share with another doctor? |
Copy and send this before you pay:
Before I pay, please confirm the exact test or panel, all required order and collection fees, and whether a clinician visit is included. Please also confirm what a repeat test would cost if I need one, whether any membership or medication payment is required before a consultation, and whether I can download my full lab report. I'm comparing the full cost of getting an answer, not just the starting price.
What we actually verified
We checked the sellers' own public pages and current official clinical or government sources on September 17, 2026. Prices and policies are what each company published that day unless another date is shown. We did not buy tests, submit samples, or contact support, and this page has not been clinically reviewed.
- Verified September 17, 2026: current prices, required fees, collection details, results timing, preparation language, insurance/payment policies and published service limits for the direct-order sellers used in the tables; current Male Excel, Hone Health and Taurus Meds offer details used on this page; Medicare diagnostic-lab cost language; CMS Good Faith Estimate rules; and IRS Publication 502 laboratory-fee language.
- Checked with source dates shown where needed: Everlywell's $69 listing comes from its June 2026 material. Hone Premium pricing was rechecked against Hone's September 2026 help-center material.
- Provider-stated, not independently confirmed: what each starter program says its test measures, its turnaround times, state availability, clinician-review process, and program workflow.
- Guideline facts come from the American Urological Association and Endocrine Society sources listed below.
- Not publicly confirmed in the materials we checked: the names of Taurus's eight biomarkers; how Male Excel handles and prices a second diagnostic morning test; whether Male Excel's $99 kit reports total or free testosterone; and the free-testosterone method behind HealthLabs' $99 panel.
- Math: two-test totals are simple addition of each seller's published price. They aren't quotes.
Our method: How We Review TRT Providers. Spot something out of date? Send a correction.
Testosterone blood test cost: frequently asked questions
How much is a testosterone blood test without insurance?
A total testosterone test cost $42 to $75, with required fees, across the five direct-order options we checked in September 2026. Labcorp OnDemand listed $69 with collection included. Quest listed $69 plus a $6 physician fee. Home kits and TRT starter tests ran about $45 to $99.
What's the cheapest way to get a testosterone test?
Among the options we checked, Marek Diagnostics was lowest at $42, but results take about two weeks and it isn't available in New York, New Jersey or Rhode Island. HealthLabs was $49 with results in one to three business days. With Original Medicare, you usually pay nothing for a covered, medically necessary diagnostic laboratory test ordered by a clinician.
Do I have to pay for two testosterone tests?
If the test is part of a diagnostic workup, guidelines call for confirmation rather than diagnosis from one result. The AUA calls for two early-morning total testosterone measurements on separate days; the Endocrine Society recommends repeating a low result with a morning fasting total testosterone test. Two stand-alone tests cost $84 to $150 at the prices we checked.
Is a free testosterone test worth the extra money?
Sometimes. It helps most when total testosterone is near the cutoff or a condition may be changing SHBG. The Endocrine Society prefers equilibrium dialysis or an accurate calculation over direct assays. Ask your clinician before paying for a panel.
Does insurance cover a testosterone test?
It can be covered when your plan considers the test medically necessary and a clinician orders it. What you owe depends on your plan. Quest Health, Labcorp OnDemand and HealthLabs do not bill these consumer purchases directly to insurance.
Does Medicare cover testosterone blood tests?
Original Medicare Part B covers medically necessary diagnostic laboratory tests ordered by a clinician, and you usually pay nothing for the covered lab test itself. Coverage for screening is different, and Medicare Advantage plans can have their own network and cost-sharing rules.
Can I use my HSA or FSA for a testosterone test?
Generally, yes. IRS Publication 502 treats lab fees that are part of medical care as medical expenses, and the major direct-order sellers we checked accept HSA or FSA cards.
Is an at-home testosterone test as good as a lab draw?
It can be useful, but it depends on the sample type, the lab's method and your clinician's standards. Morning timing still matters. A clinician may want a morning blood draw to confirm a home result.
What time should I get my testosterone tested, and do I need to fast?
For a diagnostic workup, use an early-morning draw. Fasting instructions vary by seller, but the Endocrine Society recommends a morning fasting sample when confirming a low result. Follow the instructions tied to your order and clinician.
Can I get a testosterone test without seeing a doctor?
In most states, yes. Direct-order sites include an independent clinician's order in the price. Some sellers can't serve New York, New Jersey or Rhode Island. You'll still need a clinician to interpret the result and decide on next steps.
Is a $49 or "free" testosterone test from a TRT company really a deal?
It can be, but check what comes next. Ask which markers are included, who reviews them, what a second test costs, and whether any membership or medication payment starts before you talk to a clinician.
What is the CPT code for a testosterone blood test?
Total testosterone is CPT 84403. Free testosterone is 84402. Ask your clinician's office to confirm the exact codes on your order before you call your insurer.
How much do TRT monitoring labs cost?
It depends on how you pay. You can buy each follow-up test at cash prices like those above, or choose a program that includes monitoring labs in its monthly fee. Hone, for example, lists follow-up labs as included in its $135/month Plus membership.
The bottom line
One testosterone blood test costs $42 to $75 across the five direct-order options we checked. A guideline-based diagnosis is not made from one result: it requires compatible symptoms or signs, clinical evaluation, and confirmation with repeat early-morning testing. Two stand-alone tests cost $84 to $150 at the prices we checked. Hone Plus publishes $90 in initial plus at-lab confirmation testing, but treatment then adds its monthly membership and medication.
Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.
Last verified September 2026. Written by TRT Provider Guide from sellers' public pages, federal sources and clinical guidelines checked on the dates shown. Editorial research, not clinically reviewed. Prices, fees, state availability and policies change — confirm at checkout. This page covers U.S. adult men evaluating low testosterone. It doesn't cover testing for women, adolescents, or gender-affirming hormone care.
Keep reading: TRT blood tests explained · How much does TRT cost? · TRT providers that take insurance · TRT providers with labs included · Online TRT vs. local clinics · TRT and fertility
About this resource: How We Review TRT Providers · Editorial standards · Affiliate disclosure · Privacy policy · Corrections
Sources
Prices and seller policies were checked on September 17, 2026, unless another date is shown.
- Marek Diagnostics — Total Testosterone (LC/MS): price, draw fee, results timing, state limits, cash pay.
- HealthLabs — Testosterone Test – Total and Testosterone Test – Free and Total: prices, results timing, fasting, insurance.
- HealthLabs — FAQ: no extra charges, cancellation terms, insurance, card statement name.
- Walk-In Lab — Testosterone Total Serum Test and Free Direct With Total Testosterone: prices, physician fee, Labcorp code 004226, timing, biotin and assay descriptions.
- Labcorp OnDemand — Total Testosterone Test and Comprehensive Testosterone Test: prices, contents, preparation, eligible population.
- Labcorp OnDemand support — Additional fees at the lab, Physician order, Results in Labcorp Patient.
- Quest Health — Testosterone Test: price, physician service fee, results timing, home collection, state limits and insurance policy.
- DrSays — Testosterone, Free, Direct With Total Testosterone and discount lab tests: price, collection fee, test code, state limits.
- Everlywell — Free vs. Total Testosterone (June 2026): listed test price.
- Male Excel — At-Home Testosterone Test: price, inclusions, markers, in-person exam notice.
- Hone Health — Hone Plus Membership (updated September 10, 2026): test prices, markers, confirmation step, membership.
- Hone Health — Hone Premium Membership: Full Clinical Insight for Men (updated September 9, 2026): $65 initial lab, $25 TRT confirmation test and $155/month membership.
- Taurus Meds — Testosterone blood test offer: $49 offer, eight unnamed biomarkers, 15-minute consult, Labcorp/Quest workflow, home-kit distance rule and payment sequence before the clinician call.
- American Urological Association — Testosterone Deficiency Guideline (2018; validity confirmed 2024).
- Endocrine Society — Testosterone Therapy for Hypogonadism guideline resources and Statement on Testosterone Replacement Therapy (July 16, 2026).
- Medicare.gov — Diagnostic laboratory tests.
- CMS — Clinical Laboratory Fee Schedule (current 2026 page).
- CMS — Good Faith Estimates and dispute process for uninsured or self-pay individuals.
- IRS — Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses.
- HealthCare.gov — Cost sharing.
- MedlinePlus — Testosterone Levels Test and Triiodothyronine (T3) Tests.