Skip to main content
RESOURCE

At-Home Testosterone Test Cost: What You'll Really Pay for an Answer

Compare at-home testosterone kits, lab-draw alternatives, two-test budgets, markers, refunds, state limits, and clinician access using each seller's full published price.

By TRT Provider Guide

Published 2026-09-17 · Last updated 2026-09-17

Last verified: 2026-09-17

Editorial research — not clinically reviewed. Educational information, not medical advice.

Educational resource
Evidence Cited

An at-home testosterone test costs about $45 to $99 as of September 2026, with some sellers running lower introductory offers. Hone's $45 starter kit is the lowest regular clinic starter price we verified. Maximus currently advertises a $49.99 new-customer offer, Everlywell and Hims charge $69, and Male Excel charges $99 with an online consultation included. But guidelines call for two early-morning tests before a diagnosis of low testosterone, so the first-test price is only part of the budget.

Educational information, not medical advice. A test result is not a diagnosis. If you have chest pain, trouble breathing or signs of a stroke, call 911 now.

Here's the catch nobody prints on the box.

The cheapest kit isn't always the cheapest answer. One $69 kit checks a single number. A $45 kit checks eight. Maximus' 10-marker kit is normally $99.99 and is currently advertised at $49.99 for new customers. And a few "at-home" deals still send you to a lab.

So we lined up 12 ways to get tested. We did the two-test math on each one. Then we checked what each kit actually measures against the American Urological Association's testosterone guideline. The results change which "cheap" test is really cheap.

What changes the answer for you:

  • Your state. New York is the most common gap. Several kits won't ship there.
  • Whether you already use testosterone cream or gel. Finger-prick samples can read falsely high.
  • Whether you want a clinician included. Some prices include a visit. Most retail kits don't.
  • Whether insurance should pay. Nearly every at-home kit is cash only.
  • Whether you want kids soon. That changes where you should start.

Best for: U.S. men pricing a testosterone test before paying for anything. Not for you if: you want a kit to diagnose you, you're trying to have a baby soon, or you have severe or unusual symptoms. See who should talk to a doctor first. This page covers adult men being checked for low testosterone, not women's health, teens or gender-affirming care.

TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.

Affiliate disclosure: TRT Provider Guide may earn compensation through certain provider links. On this page, the Hone Health link marked "partner link" is a tracked link. Male Excel and Taurus Meds are also commercial partners; our links to them here are direct information links. Most options on this page — Everlywell, Hims, Maximus, myLAB Box, LetsGetChecked, Labcorp, Quest and Goodlabs — don't pay us, and we included them anyway. Money never changes the prices, limits or safety facts we report. Read our affiliate disclosure.


How much does an at-home testosterone test cost?

Mailed at-home testosterone kits in this comparison run from $45 to $99 at regular listed prices as of September 17, 2026, with Maximus advertising a $49.99 new-customer offer. Lab tests you order online start at $15 plus a draw fee. A phlebotomist visit to your home through Quest Mobile brings one test to $154. These prices buy different tests and services, so compare what's included, not just the number.

Here's every option we checked, grouped by how your blood actually gets collected.

Kits mailed to your home

Option Listed price How blood is collected What it measures Review included The catch
Hone Health (Plus starter kit) $45 Finger prick at home 8 markers: total and free testosterone, SHBG, albumin, LH, estradiol, two liver enzymes A live video visit with a Hone-affiliated physician (provider-stated) It's step one of Hone's Plus program. Offered in 35 states, not New York.125
Everlywell Testosterone Test $69 ($39 as a monthly membership credit) Finger prick Total testosterone only Clinician-reviewed results Not sold in New York.1415
Hims Men's Core Panel $69 Home blood collection kit 22 markers, including total and free testosterone, LH, estradiol and hematocrit Licensed provider guidance in the app The $69 comes back only as store credit, and only if you return the kit within 30 days. Hims currently offers enclomiphene, not testosterone. No HSA or FSA.18
myLAB Box $79 Finger prick "Testosterone" — the page doesn't make clear which measurement Free physician phone consult if results are abnormal Temporarily unavailable in New York. One line says shipping is free; the banner says free shipping starts at $150.19
LetsGetChecked $89 Finger prick into a small tube Testosterone only Its clinical team may call about results At least one of its male hormone kits is listed as unavailable in New York, New Jersey and Rhode Island.1617
Male Excel $99 Dried blood-spot card 5 markers: testosterone, estradiol, DHEA-S, free T3, PSA An online consultation with a licensed provider, plus a treatment plan (provider-stated) Not offered in 11 states. Its terms say all sales are final.8910
Maximus $49.99 new-customer offer (normally $99.99) Tasso upper-arm device 10 markers: total and free testosterone, SHBG, estradiol, LH, FSH, hematocrit, hemoglobin, PSA, albumin The page lists "board-certified doctors," but a visit for kit-only buyers isn't spelled out Its page says there's no commitment to a treatment plan.13

Blood drawn by a professional

Option Listed price Where blood is drawn What it measures Review included The catch
Goodlabs (Quest pricing) $15 plus a lab draw fee Quest lab visit Total and free testosterone by mass spectrometry Physician-reviewed ordering; no visit The draw fee shows at checkout. No insurance billing.2324
Taurus Meds $49 (shown as marked down from $129) Labcorp or Quest, or a home kit only if you live more than 50 miles from one 8 markers, not named on the offer page A 15-minute video consult Its terms say blood tests aren't refundable.1112
Labcorp OnDemand $69 total testosterone; $159 comprehensive Labcorp location Total testosterone (the $159 panel adds free testosterone, SHBG and albumin) An independent provider approves the order; no visit You're driving to a lab.2021
Quest $75 ($69 + $6 physician service fee) Quest location Total testosterone You can talk results through with an independent provider at no extra cost 8–12 hours of fasting is required.22
Quest + Quest Mobile $154 ($75 + $79 in-home fee) A phlebotomist comes to your home Total testosterone Same as above Not every ZIP code. No Quest collection in Arizona, Hawaii or Puerto Rico.22

Prices are each company's own listed prices on September 17, 2026, in U.S. dollars, before tax. They're not checkout quotes, and they change often.

For context, a national study of hospital price listings found a median price of $84.90 for a total testosterone test. Only 51.7% of 6,700 U.S. hospitals posted any testosterone test price at all.33

Prices move fast in this category. In June 2026, Hone's own comparison page listed Hims' home test at $94.40 By September, Hims' page showed $69.18 Always price a test from the seller's current page, and check the date.

What about saliva kits? Some roundups list them as the cheapest option.39 We left them out of the price tables. The AUA guideline notes that saliva testosterone tests aren't FDA-approved and flags concerns about how stable saliva samples are.25 A kit that's $20 cheaper isn't a bargain if your clinician can't use the result.

What we checked for these tables: each seller's current product, pricing, help-center and terms pages on September 17, 2026. What we didn't do: buy kits, give samples or book visits. Full verification details are further down.


What does "at-home" actually get you?

"At-home" can mean four different things: you prick your finger, you use an arm device, a phlebotomist comes to you, or you order online and still drive to a lab. Each route has a different price and a different kind of sample. Check which one you're buying before you pay.

What "at-home" really means Examples Price we found The trade-off
Finger-prick kit (a dried blood spot or a tiny tube) Hone, Everlywell, myLAB Box, LetsGetChecked, Male Excel $45–$99 Cheapest and quickest. The sample is small, and any testosterone cream on your hands can skew it.
Upper-arm collection device Maximus (Tasso) $49.99 intro; $99.99 regular Collects liquid blood from tiny vessels under the skin. Less fiddly than squeezing a fingertip.
Phlebotomist at your door Quest Mobile $154 per test A real arm draw without leaving home. Not available everywhere.
Order online, draw at a lab Goodlabs, Taurus, Labcorp, Quest $15–$159, plus any draw fee The cheapest real answer. But you're leaving the house.

Notice the odd one out. Quest charges $75 for its test at a Quest location and $154 when someone comes to you. The home visit costs more than the test itself.

A quick word on "FDA-cleared." Maximus says its Tasso device is a 510(k)-cleared Class II lancet.13 That clearance covers the collection tool. It doesn't mean the hormone result or the program is FDA-approved.

And if your whole reason for testing at home is "I don't want to go to a lab," the last row doesn't help you. It just moves the drive to later.

Which route is right for you? The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.

The tool is free and educational. It doesn't diagnose low testosterone, decide whether you qualify for treatment, guarantee a prescription or replace a clinician.

→ Map the testing route that fits your situation


Why doesn't one testosterone test give you an answer?

The American Urological Association says low testosterone should be diagnosed only after two total testosterone tests on separate days, both taken early in the morning, along with symptoms or signs. The Endocrine Society also recommends confirming a low result with a repeat morning fasting test. So the price of one kit is only part of the cost of an answer.2526

Total testosterone is all the testosterone in your blood — the part attached to proteins and the part floating free. It's the main number guidelines use.

This isn't red tape. Testosterone moves around a lot. Straight from the AUA guideline:25

  • It drops fast after you wake up. In men with a normal sleep schedule, levels peak around 3 to 8 a.m. Between 32% and 39% of the day's decline happens within 30 minutes of waking.
  • Afternoon tests read lower. In men aged 30 to 40, 4 p.m. results were 20% to 25% lower than 8 a.m. results. In 70-year-olds, the drop was about 10%.
  • One reading can mislead. Repeat results can swing 65% to 153%, depending on the lab method. Taking two or three measurements cuts that swing by 30% to 43%.
  • Being sick can lower it. In a small study of young men with respiratory infections, average levels fell 10%, and some groups fell up to 30%.
  • Symptoms count too. The AUA says testosterone deficiency is diagnosed only when a low level comes with symptoms or signs.

You'll see "300 ng/dL" everywhere. The AUA calls it a reasonable cutoff in support of a diagnosis, not a diagnosis by itself.25 The Endocrine Society's harmonized normal range for healthy, non-obese men ages 19 to 39 is 264 to 916 ng/dL on CDC-certified tests.27 Your kit's "low" or "normal" flag may use a different range. A flag on a report is not a diagnosis. We won't tell you what your number means. That's a job for a clinician who knows your symptoms and history.

A useful repeat-test rule: keep the lab and method consistent when you can

Because testosterone assays can differ, repeat testing is easier to compare when the same laboratory and method are used when practical. The AUA stresses assay variability and the need for repeat early-morning testing, while the Endocrine Society recommends accurate, reliable assays. A finger-prick kit from one company and a lab draw from another may not be directly comparable. Ask the clinician managing the workup how they want test No. 2 done.2526

If you feel fine, you may not need a test at all

The AUA says clinicians should generally not test testosterone in men who have no symptoms, no signs of low testosterone and no related health conditions.25 (Its list of related conditions includes unexplained anemia, bone loss, diabetes, long-term opioid or corticosteroid use, and male infertility.) If you're only curious, a kit gives you a number you can't do much with.


What does a real answer cost? The two-morning-test ledger

Budget for two tests, not one. At each company's listed prices on September 17, 2026, two tests cost $90 with Hone, $138 with Everlywell, Hims or Labcorp, and $150 at Quest. Maximus' current $49.99 offer is limited to one new-customer kit, so a second kit at its regular $99.99 price would make the two-test subtotal $149.98 if the same offer terms still apply. Male Excel and Taurus don't publish a price for a second test.

We built this table so you don't have to open ten tabs and a spreadsheet. The math is ours. The prices come from each company's own pages.

Route Test 1 Test 2 Two-test total Collection Clinician visit included?
Hone Plus — home kit, then lab confirmation $45 $45 $90 Finger prick, then Quest draw Yes, after test 1
Hone Plus — home kit, then home confirmation $45 $80 $125 Finger prick twice Yes, after test 1
Hone Premium — both at a lab $65 $25 $90 Quest draw twice Yes, after test 1
Goodlabs — total + free testosterone, twice $15 + draw fee $15 + draw fee $30 + two draw fees Quest draw twice No
Everlywell $69 $69 $138 Finger prick twice Clinician-reviewed results
Hims $69 $69 $138 Home kit twice Provider guidance in app
Labcorp OnDemand $69 $69 $138 Labcorp draw twice No
Quest $75 $75 $150 Quest draw twice Independent provider can discuss results
myLAB Box $79 $79 $158, plus any shipping Finger prick twice Phone consult if abnormal
Maximus $49.99 intro $99.99 regular $149.98 Arm device twice Not spelled out for kit-only buyers
Quest + Quest Mobile $154 $154 $308 Phlebotomist at home twice Independent provider can discuss results
Male Excel $99 Not published Ask before you pay Blood-spot card Yes, with the $99
Taurus Meds $49 Not published Ask before you pay Lab draw (home kit if 50+ miles away) Yes, with the $49

Two-test totals are our arithmetic at unchanged listed prices, not quotes. Hone orders its second test only when its physician prescribes testosterone, and you buy it at checkout after the video visit.23 Buying two identical retail kits doesn't guarantee a clinician will accept them as a confirmation, so ask first.

What the ledger shows:

  • The cheapest home path with a doctor's visit is Hone. $90 to $125 covers both tests and a live physician visit.
  • The broadest single kit in this table is Maximus. Ten markers in one sample. Its current one-time new-customer discount lowers the first-test cost, but the regular price is $99.99.
  • The cheapest answer of all is a lab draw. Goodlabs lists total and free testosterone at $15 per draw. You give up home collection and a visit.

Hone's own pages disagree about the second test's price

We have to flag this one plainly.

  • Hone's Plus membership page (updated September 10, 2026) lists the confirmation test at $45 at a lab or $80 with a home kit.1
  • Hone's retesting article (updated September 9, 2026) asks, "Is there an extra charge for retesting or confirmatory testing?" Its answer: no, when retesting is clinically necessary.3
  • Hone's membership FAQ says confirmatory lab tests are billed separately from the membership.4

We can't tell you which statement applies to your order. Ask Hone for your exact second-test charge in writing before you buy. Our two-test totals above use the fee schedule, which is the higher case.

One more thing worth asking. Hone's cheaper $90 path pairs a finger-prick sample with a Quest draw. The $125 path keeps both samples on home kits. Given the AUA's same-lab, same-method advice, ask Hone how it compares the two results.

Does a published two-test path with a physician visit sound like what you want? Check your state first. Hone's home-kit plan runs in 35 states, and New York isn't one of them.5

→ See Hone Health's current plans and testing prices (partner link)

A test and a visit don't guarantee a prescription. Hone lists its $135 monthly membership and any medication as separate charges that come after the visit.12


Which markers is your money buying?

Kits measure very different things. The AUA says clinicians should check luteinizing hormone (LH) when testosterone is low, prolactin when LH is low or low-normal, hematocrit before starting treatment, and PSA in men over 40 before starting treatment. Only a few testing routes cover all four.25

First, the plain-English version of each marker:

  • Free testosterone — the small share of testosterone not attached to proteins. The Endocrine Society says to check it when total testosterone is near the low end of normal or when something may be changing your SHBG level.26
  • SHBG (sex hormone-binding globulin) — a protein that grabs onto testosterone. Labs use it to calculate free testosterone.
  • LH (luteinizing hormone) — the signal your brain sends telling your testicles to make testosterone. It helps a clinician figure out why a level is low.
  • Prolactin — a pituitary hormone. A high level can point to a pituitary problem.
  • Hematocrit — the share of your blood made of red blood cells. Testosterone can raise it, so it's checked before and during treatment.
  • PSA (prostate-specific antigen) — a prostate marker checked before treatment in men over 40.

Here's how each route stacks up. We call it the Guideline Coverage Map.

Route Total T Free T LH Prolactin Hematocrit PSA AUA's four covered
Hone Plus (both tests) ✓ ✓ calculated ✓ ✓ on test 2 ✓ on test 2 ✓ on test 2 4 of 4
Hone Premium (both tests, at a lab) ✓ ✓ calculated ✓ ✓ on test 2 ✓ in a full blood count ✓ 4 of 4
Goodlabs, built as one draw (details below) ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ in a full blood count ✓ 4 of 4
Maximus kit ✓ ✓ ✓ — ✓ ✓ 3 of 4
Hims Core Panel ✓ ✓ ✓ Not listed ✓ Not listed 2 shown
Male Excel starter ✓ — — — — ✓ 1 of 4
Labcorp $159 comprehensive ✓ ✓ — — — — 0 of 4
Everlywell, Labcorp $69, Quest $75 ✓ — — — — — 0 of 4
myLAB Box Unclear Unclear — — — — 0 shown
Taurus Meds 8 markers, not named on the offer page Unknown

Sources: each company's published panel on September 17, 2026.16813181920212223 "—" means the marker isn't on that published panel. It doesn't mean the company can never order it. Hone's Plus confirmation test adds total testosterone, prolactin, PSA and hematocrit; its Premium confirmation adds total testosterone and prolactin.16 This is a buying map, not a list of tests you must order. Your clinician decides what you need.

The Goodlabs build, priced out. Using Goodlabs' posted per-test prices, one Quest draw covering total and free testosterone ($15), FSH and LH ($9), prolactin ($9), a complete blood count ($4) and PSA ($5) comes to $42 plus the draw fee.23 That's the lowest price we found for all four guideline markers in one go. It isn't at home, and nobody reviews it with you.

What this means for your wallet: a $69 total-testosterone kit is fine for a first look. It's not a workup. If a clinician later needs LH, hematocrit or PSA, you'll pay again. A kit that costs more up front can cost less by the time you have a real answer.

Why hematocrit gets extra attention. The AUA strongly recommends measuring hemoglobin and hematocrit before offering testosterone therapy, and telling patients about the risk of too many red blood cells.25 It's a simple test. It's also missing from several popular kits.


Is Male Excel's $99 at-home test worth it?

Male Excel's $99 buys an online consultation with a licensed provider, a blood-spot hormone kit and a treatment plan. The kit checks five markers, including PSA, but not LH, free testosterone or hematocrit, and Male Excel doesn't publish a price for a second test. It's an all-in price for the first step, not for the whole workup.8

Here's what's confirmed on Male Excel's own pages:

  • The $99 covers: an online consultation with a Male Excel licensed provider, a home hormone test and a personalized treatment plan.8
  • The kit: dried blood spots on a card, mailed to its lab. It measures testosterone, estradiol, DHEA-S, free T3 (a thyroid hormone) and PSA.8
  • Results: about five business days after the lab gets your kit.9
  • Where it's offered: every state except Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire and Rhode Island, per its FAQ updated September 7, 2026.9
  • Payment: cash only. Male Excel says it doesn't accept commercial insurance and isn't enrolled in Medicare or Medicaid.10
  • Refunds: its terms say all sales are final and fees aren't refundable, though it may handle issues case by case.10
  • A bad sample: if the lab can't use it, Male Excel may send a second kit at its discretion, and additional fees may apply.10

Treatment is separate from the $99. For membership and medication costs, see our Male Excel cost breakdown.

The trade-off, said straight

Male Excel's starter kit does not check LH, free testosterone or hematocrit, and its page doesn't publish what a second test costs. If a complete, priced two-test path is your top priority, Hone Plus is the better fit.

But because Male Excel skips the add-on menu and keeps its first step to one flat price, you get a licensed-provider consultation and a PSA prostate screen rolled into $99. No separate visit fee. No tube to fill. A clinician looks at your numbers with you before you decide anything. For a man who's put this off for years because of the appointment, that simplicity is the whole point.

Who Male Excel's $99 test fits: men in its service states who want one price that includes a real consultation, and who are fine asking up front how a second test will work. It's also offered in several states Hone's home-kit plan skips, including New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania.59

Who should look elsewhere: anyone in its 11 excluded states, anyone who wants LH and hematocrit on the first sample, and anyone who needs a refundable purchase.

Does one price with a consultation included sound like your situation?

→ See what Male Excel's $99 test and consultation include

Before you pay, ask them in writing: "Will I need a second early-morning test, and what will it cost?" A test and a consult don't guarantee a prescription. Male Excel's own site notes that federal and state rules may require an in-person exam.8

For a deeper look at the company, read our Male Excel review.


What's the cheapest way to get a real testosterone answer?

The lowest prices we found were lab draws, not mailed kits. Goodlabs lists total and free testosterone by mass spectrometry at a Quest draw for $15 plus a draw fee, and Labcorp and Quest sell total testosterone for $69 and $75. If you have insurance and a clinician orders the test for symptoms, your share may be lower still.202223

You give up two things for the savings: home collection, and usually a visit.

Direct-to-consumer lab tests

  • Goodlabs. $15 for total and free testosterone by mass spectrometry, run at Quest. You pay a one-time lab draw fee per order, shown at checkout. Goodlabs doesn't bill insurance. It says you'll get a full refund if you cancel before your blood draw.2324
  • Labcorp OnDemand. $69 for total testosterone, $159 for the comprehensive panel. Labcorp recommends a 7 to 10 a.m. draw for the comprehensive test. Its report tops out at 1,500 ng/dL; above that, free testosterone can't be calculated.2021
  • Quest. $69 plus a $6 physician service fee. Morning collection is preferred, and 8 to 12 hours of fasting is required. Results usually arrive in 3 to 5 business days, and you can talk them through with an independent provider at no extra cost.22

A method detail most shoppers never see. Mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS) is the method the AUA calls the gold standard, especially for low levels.25 Quest's own testing guide says direct immunoassays can't accurately measure the low testosterone levels seen in men with hypogonadism.32 Quest's consumer test uses product code 15983M. In Quest's test directory, code 15983 is its mass-spectrometry total testosterone test.2234 Ask Quest to confirm the method on your report if it matters to your clinician.

Through your doctor, with insurance

If you have symptoms and a clinician orders the test, insurance may cover a lab draw. Your share depends on your deductible and plan. One Michigan health system warned its clinicians about a big jump in denied testosterone-test claims, especially with Blue Cross plans, mostly because the order was missing a diagnosis code that shows medical need.35 So ask your clinician to include the reason for the test on the order.

A clinician for under $50, if a lab visit is fine

Taurus Meds sells a $49 testosterone lab test (shown as marked down from $129). The offer page lists:11

  • an eight-marker lab test, done at Labcorp or Quest
  • a 15-minute private video consultation
  • a personalized treatment plan
  • a home kit at no extra charge only if you live more than 50 miles from a Labcorp or Quest location

That's the lowest price we found for a lab draw that comes with a clinician visit. But go in with eyes open:

  • The eight markers aren't named on the offer page. Ask for the list before you pay.
  • Refunds are murky. Taurus's terms say there are no refunds on blood work tests because the order goes to the lab right away.12 The same offer page shows a "money-back guarantee" and says you'll be refunded if a clinician finds you ineligible.11 Ask which charge that refund covers.
  • The payment order matters. Taurus says you'll be directed to pay for testosterone medication after your labs and before your clinician call.11
  • A membership fee may apply. Taurus's terms list a $17.99 recurring membership fee per billing period "unless otherwise stated at the time of purchase."12
  • The page shows a "Low Stock" tag on this offer. We couldn't find what that means for a lab order. Don't let it rush you.

Fine with a lab visit and want a clinician in the loop for $49?

→ Review Taurus's $49 lab test offer and its 50-mile rule

For the full breakdown, see our Taurus Meds testosterone blood test guide.


Are at-home testosterone tests accurate?

A well-run home blood test can track closely with a blood draw from your arm, but the result is only as good as the sample, the timing and the lab's method. Saliva is a different measurement and isn't the standard for diagnosis. If you already use testosterone cream or gel, a finger-prick sample can read falsely high.

Here's what the research actually shows:

  • Blood spots can match well when the lab method is validated. A 2024 study of one dried-blood-spot method found results lined up closely with blood drawn from a vein. The same study found that a person's hematocrit and the size of the blood spot could each shift results by up to about 20%.29 That's why kits are picky about how you fill the card.
  • Self-collected samples can work, with checks. Scientists at LetsGetChecked's lab reviewed 8,572 self-collected total testosterone samples. About 6.2% came back above 1,500 ng/dL, and the lab used follow-up hormone tests to sort real results from likely contamination or testosterone use. They concluded self-collected finger samples are acceptable for total testosterone with that kind of quality check.28 (The authors work for the lab, so weigh that.)
  • Testosterone on your hands can fake a high result. In a small study of women using testosterone gel, fingertip blood spots read higher than blood spots from a vein, pointing to gel on the fingers.31 It happens with arm draws too: one hospital review of 578 gel users found 48 with at least one result above 1,000 ng/dL, and 7 cases were strongly linked to gel on the skin where blood was drawn.30
  • "Lab-developed" is normal. Even Quest's mass-spectrometry testosterone test is one Quest developed and validated under federal lab rules (CLIA). It hasn't been cleared or approved by the FDA, which is common for lab-developed tests like this.34

The practical takeaway: a home blood kit can provide useful screening information when its collection and assay are validated, but it does not replace the repeat serum testing and clinical evaluation used to diagnose hypogonadism. A saliva kit isn't the same measurement. And if you already use testosterone on your skin, talk to the company and your clinician before you prick a finger.


How do you avoid paying for the same test twice?

Most wasted tests come from bad timing, a poor sample or something that skews the result. Collect early in the morning, follow your kit's fasting and biotin rules, skip testing when you're sick and keep testosterone creams far away from the sample. Then mail it the same day.

Use this checklist before you spend a dollar:

  1. Test early. Labcorp recommends a 7 to 10 a.m. draw for its comprehensive test. LetsGetChecked asks for a weekday morning sample before you eat or drink anything but water.1621
  2. Fast overnight. The Endocrine Society recommends fasting morning tests. The AUA doesn't insist on fasting. Fasting satisfies both, and Quest requires 8 to 12 hours of it.222526
  3. Check your supplements for biotin (vitamin B7, common in hair and nail products). LetsGetChecked says wait at least 8 hours after your last dose. Labcorp says 72 hours. Follow your own kit's rule.1621
  4. Don't test while you're sick. Illness can pull testosterone down.25
  5. Tell the company about hormone use. LetsGetChecked says steroid creams in the past week, or anabolic steroids or other hormone medicines in the past 3 to 6 months, can affect results.16
  6. Keep testosterone cream or gel away from the sample. If you use it, ask the company and your clinician which collection method they want before you buy.
  7. Mail it the same day. LetsGetChecked asks you to collect and return your sample on the same day, Monday through Friday.16
  8. Plan test No. 2 now. Ask the clinician who will interpret it whether they want the same lab and method.2526

What happens if your sample fails, or you want your money back?

Failed-sample and refund rules differ a lot. Hone sends a free replacement kit when initial results are inconclusive, Male Excel may send a second kit at its discretion with possible fees, and Taurus's terms say blood tests aren't refundable once ordered. Read the fine print before you pay, not after.

We call this the fine-print ledger:

Company If your sample fails Refunds and billing Other thing to know
Hone Inconclusive initial results: another kit at no extra cost. Unusable follow-up sample: a free retest.27 Membership cancels at the end of the billing period. It's billed monthly even if you don't use it. Hone says it won't charge for medication without your approval.4 Its second-test price is stated three different ways (see above).
Male Excel A second kit may be sent at its sole discretion. Additional fees may apply.10 Terms: all sales final; fees not refundable in whole or in part. Issues handled case by case.10 Cash only. No insurance, Medicare or Medicaid.10
Taurus Meds Not stated on the offer page Terms: no refunds on blood work tests. The offer page also shows a "money-back guarantee."1112 Medication payment is requested before the clinician call.11
Hims Not stated on the kit page The $69 returns only as store credit, if you send the kit back within 30 days.18 No HSA or FSA.18
Goodlabs Not stated on the pages we checked Full refund if you cancel before your blood draw.24 Draw fee shown at checkout.24
Maximus Not stated on the kit page Not stated on the kit page No commitment to a treatment plan, per its page.13
myLAB Box Not stated on the product page Not stated on the product page Shipping wording conflicts.19

"Not stated" means the page we checked didn't say. It doesn't mean the answer is no. Ask before you buy.


What's your real testing budget? Use this worksheet

Add the price of your first test to every charge that follows it, including a second test, a visit, shipping and any membership. If a price is missing or the company's pages disagree, write "unknown" — never zero. An estimate with a blank in it is incomplete, not cheap.

Copy this into your notes and fill it in for each option you're weighing:

  • Option and collection method: ______
  • What the test measures (by name): ______
  • Price due today: $______
  • Clinician review or visit included? Yes / No / Extra fee: $______
  • Second morning test — needed? price? $______ (or "unknown" / "conflicting")
  • Failed-sample replacement — free or paid? ______
  • Shipping, draw fee or tax: $______
  • Any membership that starts with the test? $______ per ______
  • Can I get my money back if I don't start treatment? ______
  • Will my own clinician accept this report? ______
  • Date I checked and where: ______

Known testing subtotal: $______ ☐ Complete ☐ Incomplete — missing: ______

Keep medication out of this number. This is what it costs to get an answer. Treatment is a separate decision with a separate budget. See our TRT cost guide for that.

Two questions do most of the work. Ask every company: "What will my second test cost?" and "What do I get back if I don't start treatment?" Get both answers in writing.


Will insurance, an HSA or an FSA pay for an at-home testosterone test?

Most at-home kits are cash-pay, and several sellers say they don't bill insurance. Many accept HSA or FSA cards, but that's a way to pay, not insurance coverage. If you want insurance to pay, a clinician-ordered lab test is usually the route.

What the sellers say:

  • Quest's consumer site doesn't bill insurance, and purchases can't be submitted for insurance reimbursement. You may be able to use HSA or FSA funds.22
  • Male Excel doesn't accept commercial insurance and isn't enrolled in Medicare or Medicaid.10
  • Goodlabs doesn't bill insurance directly. It says you may be able to submit your receipt to your plan or HSA/FSA.24
  • LetsGetChecked and myLAB Box accept FSA and HSA cards.1619
  • Hims doesn't take FSA or HSA payments right now.18

About HSA and FSA money: IRS Publication 502 lists laboratory fees among medical expenses when they're part of medical care.36 Whether a specific kit qualifies is between you and your plan administrator. Keep your receipt.

If you want insurance to cover the test, ask your plan three questions:

  1. "Does my plan cover a testosterone blood test my clinician orders for symptoms?"
  2. "Which labs are in network near me?"
  3. "What would I owe for the test and the visit to review it?"

Ask your clinician to put the reason for the test on the order. Missing diagnosis codes are a common reason these claims get denied.35 For care that bills insurance, see our guide to TRT providers that take insurance.


Can you buy an at-home testosterone test in your state?

Not everywhere. New York is the most common gap: Everlywell, myLAB Box and Hone's home-kit plan don't serve it, and at least one LetsGetChecked hormone kit also excludes New Jersey and Rhode Island. Quest won't collect samples in Arizona, Hawaii or Puerto Rico.

Option Where it's not available, per the company
Everlywell New York15
myLAB Box New York (listed as temporary)19
LetsGetChecked (Male Hormone Advanced listing) New York, New Jersey, Rhode Island17
Hone Plus home kit Offered in 35 states. Not in Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina or D.C.5
Hone Premium (lab-based) Offered in 34 states, including New York5
Male Excel Not in Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire or Rhode Island9
Quest (including Quest Mobile) No collection in Arizona, Hawaii or Puerto Rico. Quest Mobile isn't in every ZIP code.22
Taurus Meds No state list on the offer page. Home kits only if you're more than 50 miles from Labcorp or Quest.11

Here's a gap worth knowing about. If you live in Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Louisiana, Minnesota, New Hampshire or Rhode Island, neither Hone's home-kit plan nor Male Excel serves you, per their own September 2026 lists.59 In those eight states, look at a retail kit, a lab draw or a local clinician instead. Our TRT clinic near me guide can help. It works the other way too: Male Excel serves New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, where Hone's home-kit plan isn't offered.59

Where you are matters for treatment too. Male Excel's terms say you must be physically in the state you select when you use its telehealth services.10


What happens after you get your result?

A result is a starting point for a clinician, not a diagnosis. If your number comes back low, the usual next step is a repeat morning test plus a look at your symptoms and possible causes. Testosterone itself is a Schedule III controlled substance, so treatment always needs a valid prescription.2538

If your result is low: book the second morning test and a visit. Guidelines want two low results plus symptoms before calling it testosterone deficiency. They also call for tests that look for the cause, like LH.2526

If your result is normal but you still feel off: that's worth a real conversation with a clinician. Fatigue, low drive and poor sleep have plenty of causes that aren't testosterone.

If your result is very high, very low or confusing: don't guess. Take the report to a clinician. Very high readings can come from a contaminated sample, and some labs run extra checks on them before trusting the number.2830

What about getting treatment online?

Buying a test doesn't guarantee a prescription. A licensed clinician decides.

Right now, federal rules let DEA-registered clinicians prescribe controlled medicines like testosterone by telemedicine without a prior in-person visit, when the rules' conditions are met. That flexibility runs through December 31, 2026.37 State laws still apply, and rules after that date could change. Male Excel's own site notes that its treatment plans may require an in-person exam under federal and state law.8

If you're starting a remote program now, ask: "If the federal rules change on January 1, 2027, will I need an in-person visit to keep getting care?" A good program will have an answer.

For the next step, see how to get TRT online and our comparison of TRT providers with at-home blood tests, which tracks how each program handles later monitoring tests.

If you want kids

Testosterone taken as a medicine can suppress sperm production. The AUA says clinicians should not prescribe testosterone to men who are currently trying to conceive, and should discuss its long-term effect on sperm with any man interested in future fertility.25 We can't tell you how it will affect you. That's a question for a urologist, reproductive urologist or endocrinologist.

A testosterone kit is not a fertility test. And medicines like clomiphene and enclomiphene are not testosterone replacement therapy. They work differently, they aren't "natural TRT," and neither comes with a promise to protect fertility. Enclomiphene isn't an FDA-approved drug; online programs that offer it sell it as a compounded medication.1841 Read our TRT and fertility guide before you choose a program.

Not sure what your result means for your next step?

→ Map your next step with Find My TRT Path


Who should skip the kit and see a doctor first?

Skip the shopping and see a clinician first if you're trying to conceive soon, already use testosterone on your skin, have been told your hematocrit or PSA is high, have a history of prostate or breast cancer, or have severe or unusual symptoms. Those situations need more than a mailed kit.

Please start with a clinician if you:

  • Want a baby soon → a urologist or reproductive urologist.
  • Use testosterone cream or gel now → the clinician managing it, to choose a collection method that won't be contaminated.
  • Have been told your hematocrit, hemoglobin or PSA is high → your own doctor, before any testosterone decision.
  • Have a history of prostate or breast cancer → the clinician who manages that care.
  • Have untreated severe sleep apnea, uncontrolled heart failure, or a recent heart attack or stroke → your doctor first. The Endocrine Society lists these among reasons not to start testosterone therapy, and the AUA advises waiting three to six months after a cardiovascular event.2526
  • Have signs of a pituitary or testicular problem — like very small testes, breast growth, vision changes, or a very abnormal lab result → an endocrinologist or urologist.2532
  • Have chest pain, trouble breathing, or stroke signs → call 911. Not a kit. Not a telehealth form.

This page is about testing for low testosterone in adult men. It isn't a guide for women, teens or gender-affirming care, and it isn't about bodybuilding or performance use. We don't give dosing, cycling or buying advice for testosterone.

Not sure which kind of care fits? See online TRT vs. a local clinic or our low-testosterone testing guide.


What we actually verified

We checked public pages, not the experience of being a patient. Every price and policy on this page comes from the company's own site on the date shown, and every medical claim traces to a guideline or published study. Where a company's pages conflict, we show the conflict instead of picking a side.

Verification date: September 17, 2026

What we checked: product, pricing, help-center, state-availability and terms pages for Hone Health, Male Excel, Taurus Meds, Maximus, Everlywell, Hims, myLAB Box, LetsGetChecked, Labcorp OnDemand, Quest and Goodlabs. Also the AUA testosterone guideline, the Endocrine Society guideline, the DEA's current telemedicine rule, IRS Publication 502 and the published studies cited below.

What we confirmed on those pages: listed prices, what each test measures, how samples are collected, published state lists, and the refund and failed-sample wording quoted above. We did the two-test math and the coverage map ourselves.

Provider-stated, not independently tested: consultation inclusions, result timing, shipping, clinician credentials, lab accreditation and refund promises. We report what companies publish, not what every customer experiences.

What we didn't do: buy kits, submit samples, book visits, contact support, or check individual clinician or lab licenses.

Still unresolved:

  • Which of Hone's three statements sets the second-test charge.
  • LetsGetChecked now lists its Testosterone Test at $89; recheck before publication because consumer-test prices change often.
  • The size of Goodlabs' lab draw fee, which shows only at checkout.
  • What Male Excel and Taurus charge for a second morning test.
  • Which eight markers Taurus's $49 test includes.
  • Which testosterone measurement myLAB Box reports.

How this page was made: editorial research using our documented method, How We Review TRT Providers. This page has not been clinically reviewed. We don't use star ratings or customer testimonials, and being listed here isn't an endorsement.

Spot something out of date? Send a correction.


Frequently asked questions

How much is an at-home testosterone test?

Mailed kits in this comparison run from $45 to $99 at regular listed prices as of September 17, 2026. Hone's starter kit is $45, Maximus currently advertises $49.99 for a new customer's first kit, Everlywell and Hims are $69, myLAB Box is $79, LetsGetChecked is $89, and Male Excel is $99 with a consultation. A Quest phlebotomist visit at home brings Quest's test to $154.

What's the cheapest at-home testosterone test?

Hone's $45 starter kit was the lowest mailed-kit price we verified, and it includes a physician video visit. It's only offered in 35 states, and it's the first step of Hone's Plus program. The cheapest test overall was a lab draw: Goodlabs lists total and free testosterone for $15 plus a draw fee.

Is an at-home testosterone test worth it?

It can be, if you have symptoms and you want a first look without a trip to a lab. It's less useful if you feel fine, since the AUA advises against testing men with no symptoms or related conditions. And one kit by itself does not establish a diagnosis.2526

Do I need two testosterone tests?

For a diagnosis, yes. The AUA says low testosterone should be diagnosed only after two total testosterone tests on separate early mornings, together with symptoms or signs. The Endocrine Society also recommends a repeat morning test.2526

Are finger-prick testosterone tests accurate?

They can be, when the lab has validated its method and you collect the sample correctly. Problems come from small or uneven samples, the wrong time of day, and testosterone cream on your hands.282931

Are saliva testosterone tests accurate?

Saliva measures something different from blood. The AUA notes saliva testosterone tests aren't FDA-approved and raises concerns about sample stability, and guidelines diagnose low testosterone with blood tests.25

Does insurance cover an at-home testosterone test?

Usually not. Most kits are cash-pay, and Quest's consumer site says its purchases can't be submitted to insurance. A clinician-ordered lab test for symptoms is the usual way to use insurance.22

Can I use my HSA or FSA?

Often. LetsGetChecked and myLAB Box accept HSA and FSA cards, while Hims doesn't. IRS Publication 502 lists lab fees that are part of medical care as medical expenses, but check with your plan.16181936

Can an at-home test get me a TRT prescription?

A home test can be part of a clinician's evaluation. It can't guarantee a prescription. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance, and a licensed clinician decides whether treatment fits.38

Can I buy a test without signing up for TRT?

Yes. Retail tests like Everlywell, myLAB Box, Labcorp and Quest are sold one at a time. Maximus says its kit carries no commitment to a treatment plan.13 Clinic starter tests are different: Hone's and Taurus's are the first step toward a program, so read the terms.

What time should I take a testosterone test?

Early morning. The AUA notes testosterone peaks around 3 to 8 a.m. in men with normal sleep, and drops quickly after waking. Labcorp recommends 7 to 10 a.m. for its comprehensive test.2125

Can I use an at-home kit if I already take testosterone?

Ask your clinician first. Testosterone cream or gel on your hands can make a finger-prick result read falsely high.3031 Some labs also cap how high they report. Labcorp's tops out at 1,500 ng/dL.21

How long do at-home testosterone results take?

It depends on the company and starts when the lab gets your sample. Hone says 5 to 7 days, Male Excel about five business days, LetsGetChecked about 2 to 5 days, and Quest 3 to 5 business days after collection. Labcorp OnDemand says most results are ready within 1 to 2 days of arrival.29162242

Can I get an at-home testosterone test in New York?

Your options are narrower. Everlywell, myLAB Box, Hone's home-kit plan and at least one LetsGetChecked hormone kit don't serve New York. Male Excel's $99 home kit and consultation are offered there, and so is Hone's lab-based Premium plan.59151719


Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.


Related reading: TRT providers with at-home blood tests · Low-testosterone testing guide · How much does TRT cost? · Hone TRT cost · Male Excel cost · Taurus Meds testosterone blood test · TRT providers that accept HSA or FSA · TRT and fertility · How We Review TRT Providers

About this resource: Editorial standards · Authors and medical reviewers · Affiliate disclosure · Privacy policy · Corrections


Sources

Provider pages show what each company published when we checked them on September 17, 2026, unless noted. They are not independent tests of the service.

  1. Hone Health. Hone Plus Membership: Men's Hormone Optimization with Labs. Updated September 10, 2026.

  2. Hone Health. The Men's Patient Journey at Hone: A Step-by-Step Guide. Updated September 9, 2026.

  3. Hone Health. Why Retesting and Confirmatory Testing Are Important at Hone Health. Updated September 9, 2026.

  4. Hone Health. Hone Health Membership: Frequently Asked Questions.

  5. Hone Health. Hone Health Service Availability by State (2026). Updated September 4, 2026.

  6. Hone Health. Hone Premium Membership: Full Clinical Insight for Men. Updated September 9, 2026.

  7. Hone Health. The Hone Follow-up Process: What to Expect.

  8. Male Excel. At-Home Male Hormone Panel & Testosterone Test. Modified July 14, 2026.

  9. Male Excel. Frequently Asked Questions about Testosterone Therapy. Modified September 7, 2026.

  10. Male Excel. Terms and Conditions. Last updated July 2026.

  11. Taurus Meds. Testosterone blood test offer.

  12. Taurus Meds. Terms of Service. Updated June 24, 2025. Sections 8 and 28.

  13. Maximus. At-Home Testosterone Test and new-customer offer.

  14. Everlywell. Everlywell+ men's health testing membership. Lists the Testosterone Test at $69 or one $39 credit.

  15. Everlywell. Testosterone Test. States at-home lab tests are not available in New York.

  16. LetsGetChecked. Home Testosterone Test Kit.

  17. Optum Store. LetsGetChecked Male Hormone Advanced. State availability note.

  18. Hims. Men's Core Panel.

  19. myLAB Box. At-Home Testosterone Test Kit. Modified August 23, 2026.

  20. Labcorp OnDemand. Total vs. Comprehensive Testosterone Testing Options.

  21. Labcorp OnDemand. Comprehensive Testosterone Test.

  22. Quest. Testosterone Test.

  23. Goodlabs. Public panel pages listing per-test Quest prices, for example this panel and this panel.

  24. Goodlabs. Payment and Billing: Common Questions.

  25. American Urological Association. Evaluation and Management of Testosterone Deficiency. Published 2018; reviewed and validity confirmed 2024.

  26. Bhasin S, et al. Testosterone Therapy in Men With Hypogonadism: An Endocrine Society Clinical Practice Guideline. J Clin Endocrinol Metab. 2018.

  27. Endocrine Society. Testosterone Therapy in Men with Hypogonadism: guideline presentation. Harmonized reference range.

  28. Naranjo AR, et al. Reflex strategy to ensure accurate total testosterone results from consumer initiated, self-collected capillary samples. Clin Chim Acta. 2024. Authors include LetsGetChecked Laboratories staff.

  29. Gruenstein et al. Validation of a Dried Blood Spot Assay for Testosterone Measurement Using Liquid Chromatography-Tandem Mass Spectrometry. Analytical Science Advances. 2024.

  30. Pinedo Pichilingue A, et al. Falsely elevated serum testosterone measurements resulting from testosterone topical gel contamination of the venipuncture site. Heliyon. 2023.

  31. University of Geneva. Dried blood spot steroid profiling during testosterone gel treatment. Study in 14 healthy women.

  32. Quest Diagnostics. Identifying and diagnosing hypogonadism in men.

  33. DeMasi M, et al. Testosterone testing in the United States: limited price transparency and significant variability. International Journal of Impotence Research.

  34. Quest Diagnostics. Testosterone, Total, MS (test code 15983). Test directory.

  35. Corewell Health. Lab Billing Brief: Testosterone Testing.

  36. Internal Revenue Service. Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses. See "Laboratory Fees."

  37. Drug Enforcement Administration and HHS. Fourth Temporary Extension of COVID-19 Telemedicine Flexibilities for Prescription of Controlled Medications. Federal Register, December 31, 2025.

  38. Drug Enforcement Administration. Drug Scheduling.

  39. Medical News Today. Testosterone Test Kits: The 6 Best Options in 2026. Updated August 10, 2026.

  40. Hone Health. Hone Health vs Hims. Updated June 2, 2026.

  41. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, June 8, 2022: final summary minutes. Enclomiphene citrate review.

  42. Labcorp OnDemand. Order lab tests from home. Result timing.

  43. Endocrine Society. Statement on Testosterone Replacement Therapy. July 16, 2026.

For a broader comparison of nine at-home testosterone tests, collection methods, markers, and repeat-test costs, see Best at-home testosterone tests.

Ready to explore your options?

Our tool helps you narrow down the care route that fits your situation based on testing, budget, and fertility goals.

Find My TRT Path

Not sure which TRT route fits you?

Find My TRT Path