Skip to main content
RESOURCE

Male Excel vs Rugiet: Which TRT Provider Fits You in 2026?

Compare Male Excel and Rugiet on published costs, state availability, testing, treatment formats, refunds and fertility considerations.

Educational resource
Evidence Cited

Last updated: September 29, 2026

Rugiet has the lower advertised starting cost in this Male Excel vs Rugiet comparison: from $139 monthly, versus Male Excel's $99 membership plus medication. Male Excel may fit readers avoiding long prepaid plans or living in eight states Rugiet does not serve. Neither headline is a complete bill. Near-term fertility plans call for specialist care. [1][2][4][10]

By TRT Provider Guide · Last verified September 2026 (sources checked September 28, 2026) · Editorial research, not medically reviewed

Educational information, not medical advice. A licensed clinician decides whether testing or treatment is right for you. This comparison covers adult men seeking care for possible testosterone deficiency.

But price isn't where most readers should start. In 12 states, only one of these two providers lists TRT before you look at a single number. And Rugiet's general refund terms say the refund window can close when your first video visit ends. We'll show you both. [1][2][8]

Male Excel is probably your fit if:

  • You live in Delaware, Georgia, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, or South Carolina
  • You prefer monthly membership billing and 60-day medication orders to a longer prepaid plan
  • You want a conditional refund of membership fees if the first 90 days do not help [4][7]

Rugiet is probably your fit if:

  • A lower advertised starting cost matters most, and you'll check the quote for a 3-, 6-, or 12-month plan
  • You want a plan that advertises ongoing labs, visits, and medication in one price [2][6]
  • You live in Alaska, Idaho, Mississippi, or New Hampshire [1][2]

Neither treatment subscription is your best first step if:

  • Low testosterone hasn't been properly evaluated with symptoms or signs and repeat morning blood tests
  • You want children soon; discuss more distant fertility plans before treatment too [10]
  • You need insurance to pay, or you live in one of the 7 states neither one lists for TRT [1][2][25]

Male Excel vs Rugiet at a glance

Comparison table: Male Excel vs Rugiet
Male Excel Rugiet
12-month price illustration—not an all-in quote $2,727 (injection) or $2,871 (cream), before extra costs and refill timing [4] $1,717–$1,737 using its $139 starting rate for 12 months; exact term and upfront bill need confirmation [2][6]
How you pay $99 to start + $99/month membership + medication in 60-day orders [4] $49 or $69 to start, depending on the page, then a quoted plan price [2][6]
Commitment Advertises "No Contract, Cancel Anytime"; medication is still purchased in 60-day supplies [4] Advertises 3-, 6-, or 12-month plans; confirm what is prepaid and what renews [6]
States listing TRT 39 [1] 35 [2]
Testosterone formats Injection and compounded cream [1][4] Injection, compounded cream, and a separately advertised compounded oral capsule [3][6][17]
Thyroid medicine Included in published injection and cream prices; prescribed when clinically appropriate [4][13] Not listed as part of the advertised TRT bundle [2]
First blood test At-home finger-prick kit, 5 markers [11] One blood draw, 12 markers, according to Rugiet [2]
Labs before a prescription? Says it may prescribe before results arrive; the statement does not identify which prescriptions or prior testing [13] Video visit is scheduled after results [12]
Refund if it doesn't help Up to 3 months of membership fees, with conditions [7] No lack-of-results guarantee found in the terms checked; other refund rules apply [8]
Support hours 7 a.m.–9 p.m. ET; site footer says 7 days a week [1] Mon–Fri 8:30–5:30 CT, Sat 11–4 CT [2]

Checked September 28, 2026, on each company's own pages. Prices, coverage, service promises, and policies above are provider-stated. The cost figures are our calculations, not patient invoices. Support hours are not a promise that a clinician is available throughout those hours. Details, source limits, and the reported shorter-plan prices are below.


TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.

The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.

The tool is educational and non-diagnostic. It does not decide whether you need testosterone or guarantee a prescription. Read our privacy policy.

Relationship disclosure: Male Excel is an affiliate partner of TRT Provider Guide. The provider links in this article go directly to official information pages, not paid tracking links. We show Rugiet's lower advertised starting cost even though Male Excel is our partner. Our affiliate disclosure


Can Male Excel or Rugiet treat you in your state?

Male Excel's published list covers testosterone treatment in 39 states and Rugiet's covers TRT in 35; they overlap in 31. In 8 states only Male Excel lists TRT, in 4 only Rugiet does, and in 7 neither one does. These are provider-stated coverage lists, not a check of each clinician's license or your personal eligibility. [1][2]

Start here. It's the fastest way to cut this decision in half.

We took each company's own exclusion list, checked September 28, 2026, and laid them on top of each other. The overlap changes the answer for readers in the states below.

Comparison table: Can Male Excel or Rugiet treat you in your state?
What your state gets States Count
Only Male Excel lists TRT Delaware, Georgia, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina 8
Only Rugiet lists TRT Alaska, Idaho, Mississippi, New Hampshire 4
Neither lists TRT Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Louisiana, Minnesota, Rhode Island 7
Both list TRT Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming 31
Washington, D.C. Neither company's list settles it Ask both

Where these lists come from. Male Excel says its providers prescribe hormone treatment "in all states except" Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island [1]. Rugiet says its TRT is not available in Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and South Carolina [2]. The rest is simple subtraction. Check it: 31 + 8 = 39 for Male Excel, and 31 + 4 = 35 for Rugiet.

A listed state is a starting gate, not a promise. It doesn't mean an appointment is open, that a clinician will prescribe, or that your preferred format ships to you.

What if neither company serves your state?

You're in Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Louisiana, Minnesota, or Rhode Island. Don't borrow a friend's address in another state. A clinician needs legal authority to treat you where you are located during the visit; HHS says providers should verify patient location. Testosterone is a controlled substance. [18][29]

Your real options are a local primary care doctor, a urologist, an endocrinologist, or a different online provider that's authorized where you live. Our online vs. local TRT guide walks through the tradeoffs, and Find My TRT Path will help you sort which route fits.

Rugiet's enclomiphene has a different state list

Rugiet also sells enclomiphene, a pill that isn't testosterone. It's offered almost everywhere, so don't let that confuse the TRT answer. One Rugiet page says enclomiphene is available in all states except Louisiana [2]. Another says all 50 states plus Washington, D.C. [3]. Either way, it doesn't change where Rugiet offers TRT.

In Georgia, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, or another of those 8 states? Rugiet does not list TRT where you live. Male Excel does. Check Male Excel's published state list, then confirm your location and the testing process before paying. [1][2]

Read Male Excel's current state exclusions →

In Alaska, Idaho, Mississippi, or New Hampshire? Rugiet lists your state; Male Excel doesn't. Review Rugiet's TRT program and testing steps →


Male Excel vs Rugiet: which costs less in year one?

Rugiet has the lower advertised starting rate, but neither provider publishes enough to establish your complete first-year bill. The 12-month rate illustrations are $1,717–$1,737 for Rugiet, $2,727 for Male Excel injections, and $2,871 for Male Excel cream. They exclude unresolved charges and assume unchanged starting rates; Rugiet's exact plan price and Male Excel's refill dates can change the cash total. [2][4][6]

Here's where most comparisons go wrong. A "Male Excel $99/month vs Rugiet $139/month" comparison points the wrong way. Male Excel's $99 is the required membership alone. Medication is billed on top of it. Rugiet advertises medication, ongoing labs, and follow-ups from $139 monthly, but the provider pages checked do not tie that floor to a fully disclosed checkout bill. [2][4]

So we separate price illustrations from verified charges. Male Excel's rates and Rugiet's $139 floor are on official pages. The three Rugiet plan totals below are third-party reports, not confirmed current offers; do not use them as a quote. [2][4][5]

Comparison table: Male Excel vs Rugiet: which costs less in year one?
Male Excel injection Male Excel cream Rugiet 12-month illustration Rugiet two 6-month plans—reported Rugiet four 3-month plans—reported
To start $99 (consult + home test kit) $99 $49 or $69 (labs + video visit; conflicting offers) $49–$69 $49–$69
Ongoing rate used $99/mo membership + $120/mo medication [4] $99/mo + $132/mo [4] 12 × $139 = $1,668; Innerbody also reports a $1,668 annual plan [2][5] $954 per 6 months, reported by Innerbody [5] $537 per 3 months, reported by Innerbody [5]
Illustrated 12-month subtotal $2,727 $2,871 $1,717–$1,737 $1,957–$1,977 $2,197–$2,217
Subtotal divided by 12—not the amount billed monthly ~$227/mo ~$239/mo ~$143–$145/mo ~$163–$165/mo ~$183–$185/mo
Shipping Extra; amount not published Extra Not stated on TRT pages Not stated Not stated

What these figures leave out. Male Excel lists shipping separately, prices can vary with the prescription, and the public pages do not settle the cost of every additional or repeat test. Rugiet advertises ongoing testing and care in its plan, but its TRT pages do not settle shipping, your upfront charge, or renewal pricing. Any applicable tax, separately charged testing, add-on medicine, shipping, or extra fill belongs in your written total—not in an assumed $0 column. [2][4][8][25]

How we did the math. Male Excel: $99 + 12 × ($99 membership + medication) [4]. Rugiet: starting fee + 12 × $139 for the floor-rate illustration; starting fee + 2 × $954 or 4 × $537 for the reported shorter-plan scenarios [2][5]. Innerbody Research reports the three plan totals ($537, $954, $1,668); we could not confirm those plan prices in Rugiet's own published terms or a completed checkout. Your written quote and checkout screen are the prices that count.

Three things the headline prices don't tell you:

  • Rugiet shows two different starting fees. Its main TRT page says $69 [2]. Its injectable page says $49 [6]. Both were live on September 28. Screenshot the lower one and ask which applies.
  • Male Excel bills medication in 60-day supplies. Its pricing page also describes every-other-month billing, so confirm the actual order dates. Six 60-day supplies cover 360 days, not a full year. A rate-equivalent calculation cannot settle your first 365 days of charges. [4]
  • Male Excel's injection and cream prices include thyroid medicine. Those advertised packages pair testosterone with desiccated thyroid [4]. That is not a like-for-like testosterone-only quote, and it does not mean every patient needs thyroid treatment. More on that below. [13]

The extra-fill test. If your first medication order is on day 0 and later orders are charged exactly every 60 days, orders fall on days 0, 60, 120, 180, 240, 300, and 360. With seven orders, one $99 start fee, and exactly twelve $99 membership charges, the illustrated cash paid is $2,967 for injections or $3,135 for cream, before extra costs. That buys medicine extending beyond day 365. It is a scheduling example—not a claim that Male Excel will bill you on those exact dates. Ask for a dated charge schedule. [4]

Insurance and HSA/FSA. Male Excel does not accept commercial insurance, Medicare, or Medicaid for this program; its terms say costs are cash-pay and claims will not be submitted to those payers [25]. It prints "FSA/HSA Eligible" on its price cards, but your plan determines reimbursement [4]. We did not confirm Rugiet's TRT-specific insurance billing or HSA/FSA terms; its support answer about insurance concerns Rugiet Ready, an ED product, not TRT. [36] If insurance has to pay, an in-network doctor is the better starting point — see TRT providers that take insurance.

The honest tradeoff

Male Excel does not have the lower advertised starting subtotal. If cost is your top priority and you live in one of Rugiet's 35 listed TRT states, investigate Rugiet's complete quote first — here's Rugiet's full cost breakdown. A lower starting rate is a reason to compare the quote, not proof that every Rugiet plan costs less. [1][2][4]

But Male Excel's published model uses monthly membership billing and 60-day medication supplies rather than the 3-, 6-, or 12-month plans Rugiet advertises. That can fit someone avoiding a longer prepaid plan. You can still pay for medicine you do not use. Male Excel also publishes a conditional refund of the first three months of membership fees if the protocol does not help; we found no matching lack-of-results guarantee in Rugiet's terms. [4][6][7][8]


What happens if you cancel in the first few months?

Male Excel's illustrated spending by about day 90 is $876 for injections or $924 for cream, assuming three membership charges and two 60-day medication orders. Its guarantee may return $297 of membership fees if you meet the conditions. Rugiet's early-exit cost depends on your actual plan charge and a refund calculation using a regular price that the terms do not disclose. [4][7][8]

This is the question most people forget to ask. We ran the numbers.

Comparison table: What happens if you cancel in the first few months?
If you cancel around day 90 Illustrative amount paid Can any of it come back?
Male Excel injection $99 + 3 × $99 membership + 2 × $240 (two 60-day supplies) = $876 [4] Possibly: the first 3 months of membership ($297), if you meet the guarantee terms. Subtotal after that refund: $579 [7]
Male Excel cream $99 + $297 + 2 × $264 = $924 [4] Same guarantee. Subtotal after a qualifying $297 refund: $627 [7]
Rugiet 3-month scenario—unconfirmed plan price $49–$69 + the reported $537 = $586–$606; use your actual quote instead [2][5][6] General refund terms depend on whether medicine has been ordered; no lack-of-results guarantee found [8]
Rugiet 12-month scenario $1,717–$1,737 only if the quoted plan is $1,668 and it is prepaid in full, plus the initial fee [2][5][6] Terms describe proration using regular non-bundle pricing, but do not disclose that price or resolve every early-exit situation [8]

These examples exclude shipping, applicable tax, prescription changes, and any separately charged services. Male Excel's two 60-day orders buy 120 days of medicine, even though this example ends at day 90. Actual charge dates can differ. Canceling billing and changing treatment are separate decisions; plan any treatment change with your clinician.

Read that table twice. The reported Rugiet 3-month scenario is lower before any Male Excel guarantee refund, but it is not a confirmed quote. Male Excel's edge isn't the advertised price. It's the shorter stated billing structure and a specific membership-fee refund path—not a promise that you never pay for unused medicine.

Male Excel's guarantee, in plain English

Male Excel calls it the Excel Advantage Guarantee [7]. Here's what it actually takes:

  • You're a new member and you follow the protocol for 90 days in a row.
  • You attend your scheduled appointments and follow your provider's recommendations.
  • Whether you "improved" is judged by Male Excel's own assessment and what you report to your provider.
  • You ask within 30 days after the 90 days end.
  • The refund covers membership fees for those first three months — not medication, not the $99 start, not shipping.

Save the guarantee terms that apply when you enroll. Documentation of adherence may be required, and the guarantee says later changes will not affect members already enrolled under the original terms. [7]

It's a real refund with real conditions. It covers membership fees, not the full cost of care. Rugiet's terms do not publish the same lack-of-results promise. [7][8]

Rugiet's refund window closes early

Rugiet's general terms say you can get a refund for your current billing cycle only if your medication hasn't been ordered yet [8]. For new patients who need a live video visit — and TRT does — those terms say medication generally counts as ordered at the end of that visit. Rugiet's TRT product page describes choosing a plan after the consultation, so ask how the general rule applies to your actual order before the visit. [6]

The general policy rules out a current-cycle refund after the medicine is ordered. A separate bundle provision describes prorating the months of medication shipments received at Rugiet's "regular (non-bundle) pricing" [8]. Rugiet does not state that regular price in the terms, or fully explain how that provision fits the no-refund rule. Do not assume an unused prepaid balance will automatically be returned.

The fix is one question, asked before your video visit ends: "If I choose the 12-month plan and stop after three months, what exactly would you refund, and what regular price do you use?" Get it in writing.

Rugiet's subscription terms promise a full refund if its medical provider disqualifies you [8]. Ask whether that includes the initial test and consultation charge after those services have been used. Damaged or incorrect medication has a separate replacement or case-by-case refund process. These are different from a guarantee that symptoms will improve. [8]

How much notice you need to cancel

  • Male Excel: "No Contract, Cancel Anytime" [4]. Watch both billing dates, since membership and medication bill on different cycles. Its FAQ gives you 48 hours after a renewal reminder to act before the medication order is billed and shipped. Ask support to confirm when both the membership cancellation and medication-order cancellation take effect. [1][25]
  • Rugiet: Its general cancellation section requires 72 hours before the billing date. Another subscription section describes 48 hours before the monthly processing date [8]. Its refill support article describes 24 hours before processing [9]. These are not all the same deadline. Ask for the billing and processing dates, act before the earliest applicable cutoff, and keep written confirmation from the portal or support.

A timely cancellation can stop later renewals; it does not automatically reverse an order or refund medicine already purchased. Male Excel's prescription refund policy says sales are final and asks patients to contact it about filling errors. Rugiet has the separate exceptions described above. [8][25][26]

Want a shorter billing commitment rather than a long prepaid plan? Male Excel advertises no contract, with monthly membership billing and 60-day medication supplies. Its guarantee can return the first three months of membership fees if you meet its terms. If that billing structure fits how you like to decide, check the full price and guarantee before paying. [4][7]

Review Male Excel's membership and medication prices →

Comfortable considering a longer plan? Review Rugiet's TRT plan and testing steps →


Will either company confirm you actually have low testosterone?

Guidelines call for symptoms or signs plus consistently low results on repeat early-morning tests. Rugiet schedules its video visit after lab results, while Male Excel says it can sometimes prescribe before results arrive. The pages we checked do not establish whether either requires a second early-morning diagnostic test or what it costs. [10][12][13][24]

This is the part that matters more than price.

What the guidelines say. The Endocrine Society says hypogonadism — a condition involving deficient testosterone production — should be diagnosed only when you have symptoms or signs and consistently low testosterone, confirmed by repeating a fasting morning blood test [10]. Its July 16, 2026 statement again calls for at least two early-morning, fasting testosterone tests [24]. One number on one day is a data point, not a diagnosis. Our guide to how TRT blood tests work explains why timing matters.

The clinician also needs a reliable test method and the right lab reference range, and may need free testosterone testing or tests to find the cause. A result of 300 ng/dL is not a universal diagnosis by itself. [10][24]

How each company starts

Comparison table: How each company starts
Male Excel Rugiet
First test At-home finger-prick "blood spot" kit you mail back [11] "One blood draw. 12 biomarkers" [2]
What it measures Total testosterone, estradiol, DHEA-S, free T3, PSA [11] 12 markers; a complete list was not on the TRT pages checked [2]
When you talk to a clinician Online consultation included in the $99 start [11] Video visit scheduled after results come in [12]
Can you use your own labs? Not stated on the pages we checked — ask No. Rugiet doesn't accept outside bloodwork [2]

The line to know about. Male Excel's homepage says: "When clinically appropriate, our licensed, in-house medical providers can prescribe based on your symptoms and health history before lab results arrive" [13]. That's a real difference from Rugiet, which puts your video visit after your results [12]. The Male Excel statement does not identify which prescriptions it means or what earlier results may already be available. It sits alongside testing-first wording on the same homepage, so the sequence needs an answer from the clinician. [13]

What should you do with that? Simple. Ask: "How will you confirm the diagnosis with appropriate morning tests before deciding whether testosterone treatment is right for me?" That is a clinical question, not a checkbox an online assessment can settle. If you already use testosterone, ask the clinician how your existing treatment affects testing; do not change it just to follow a comparison page. [10][24]

The blood count check to ask about

Testosterone can raise your hematocrit — the share of your blood made of red blood cells. Too high can thicken your blood. The Endocrine Society recommends checking it before treatment, again at 3 to 6 months, and then yearly [10].

Male Excel's starter kit doesn't list hematocrit [11], and one Male Excel page lists five markers for its 6-month tests [14]. Its homepage also mentions a 54-biomarker panel available to members, but that does not establish which tests every member gets or whether it costs extra [13]. Rugiet doesn't name all 12 markers on the TRT pages checked [2]. So ask both the same question: "Is hematocrit on my first labs and my follow-ups — and when?"

What ongoing care actually includes

Comparison table: What ongoing care actually includes
Care question Male Excel's published description Rugiet's published description What to settle before paying
Who follows your care? A dedicated provider, unlimited messaging support, and unlimited e-visits [4][13] A clinical team, ongoing support, and unlimited follow-ups [2] The assigned clinician's name, professional role, state license, appointment access, and response times
When are check-ins and labs? 60-day check-ins and 6-month panels; the FAQ also discusses testing at 6 and 12 months [1][13][14] Ongoing bloodwork included, without a complete fixed schedule on the TRT pages checked [2][3] Your first safety follow-up, the full panel, who reviews abnormal results, and fees for repeat or extra tests
What triggers a refill? An assessment every two months and a renewal reminder with a 48-hour action window [1] Plan-based refills and processing notices; the general terms describe refill intake [8][9] The exact billing, processing, review, and shipment dates, plus what happens if labs or a visit are delayed

These are advertised care arrangements, not response times we tested. Male Excel's public roster includes physicians and nurse practitioners; Rugiet's medical-team page describes clinicians and advisers, not a guarantee that a particular adviser will treat you. Ask who will actually provide your care and check the appropriate state licensing board. [21][29][35]

Both companies sell "optimization"

Male Excel says it aims for "optimal" levels rather than "normal," and that "most men still experience negative symptoms with normal testosterone levels" [4]. Rugiet's TRT page speaks to men who've been told their levels "aren't low enough," saying its physicians look at the full picture [2].

Marketing about "optimization" is not the same as a documented diagnosis. The FDA's February 2025 update retained an age-related limitation of use, but that is no longer the whole regulatory story: on June 18, 2026, HHS announced that FDA was requesting its removal and other label revisions [15][27]. That announcement describes requested updates; it does not establish the current label of the exact product either clinic would dispense. The Endocrine Society's July 2026 statement still calls for careful diagnosis and repeat morning testing [24].

Male Excel's own cream information says it's not known whether its cream is safe or effective for men with low testosterone due to aging [14]. That is a disclosure about its compounded product, not a substitute for current FDA-approved labeling. If you want a guideline-based workup first, a primary care doctor or urologist is a place to get it — see urologist vs. endocrinologist for low T.


Which testosterone formats are compounded or FDA-approved?

Both companies offer testosterone injections and cream, and Rugiet also advertises an oral capsule. The creams and Rugiet's oral capsule are compounded, which means they are not FDA-approved. Neither company identifies the exact finished injectable product a particular patient will receive on the pages checked, so ask for the label and pharmacy before paying for treatment. [1][3][6][13][16][17]

Two terms first. FDA-approved means the FDA reviewed a specific finished product for safety, effectiveness, and quality before it was sold. Compounded means a drug is made by combining, mixing, or changing ingredients to meet a patient's needs. The FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and don't get that review [16]. A compounded cream is not the same thing as an FDA-approved generic.

Comparison table: Which testosterone formats are compounded or FDA-approved?
Format Male Excel Rugiet What we could confirm
Injection (testosterone cypionate) Describes daily small injections under the skin [4] Describes a clinician-set schedule, typically 1–2 times a week [6] The ingredient is named; the exact dispensed product, maker, and approval status are not established. Ask for the label.
Cream Twice daily, "Lipoderm" cream [4] Once daily [17] Both compounded — not FDA-approved [13][17]
Oral capsule Not listed among its TRT options [1] Daily capsule [3] Compounded — not FDA-approved [3]

Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance and requires a valid prescription [18][23]. Clinician evaluation and ongoing monitoring remain necessary; the treatment schedule must come from your prescriber. [10]

Rugiet's oral TRT is compounded, not FDA-approved

Rugiet's oral TRT page says: "Oral TRT is a compounded drug product… Compounded drugs are not approved by FDA" [3]. That is the status to use for this advertised product. Do not assume that a claim about another oral testosterone medicine applies to Rugiet's capsule; ask for the exact ingredient, formulation, label, and dispensing pharmacy. [16]

Male Excel's advertised testosterone packages include thyroid medicine

Male Excel's published injection and cream prices pair testosterone with desiccated thyroid [4]. Its homepage says thyroid medication is used when clinically appropriate [13]. Male Excel's own safety information says this thyroid product treats hypothyroidism (an underactive thyroid), shouldn't be used for weight loss, and is "not an Orange Book product" — it is not listed there as an FDA-approved product with a therapeutic-equivalence rating. [14]

You're being quoted a price for two medicines. Ask: "Is the thyroid medicine optional? What lab result says I need it? What's my price without it?"

The thyroid product has its own regulatory issue. FDA says animal-derived desiccated thyroid medicines are not FDA-approved and are not eligible for compounding because they are regulated as biological products. FDA describes a risk-based enforcement approach while manufacturers work toward approval; that is not proof that every product has been removed from sale. Ask which thyroid product is proposed, why you need it, and what approved alternatives exist. This does not establish a violation by either clinic. If you already take thyroid medicine, discuss the product with your prescriber rather than changing it on your own. [28]

Who fills your prescription

  • Rugiet names two pharmacies in its general terms: The Pharmacy HUB LLC in Miami Gardens, Florida, and Triad Rx in Daphne, Alabama. Those terms include a pharmacy-choice waiver and say prescriptions do not come in child-resistant containers [8]. They do not identify which pharmacy or packaging will apply to your specific TRT order. Ask before it ships.
  • Male Excel's FAQ names Anazao Health Corp. and WellDyneRx-FL [1]. Its terms say prescriptions must go through contracted pharmacies and cannot be sent to a different pharmacy. They also state that medication will not be shipped in child-resistant packaging. [25]

Kids at home? Plan a locked spot before it arrives. Neither a pharmacy name nor a clinic logo is independent proof that the assigned pharmacy holds every license needed for your state. Get the dispensing pharmacy's legal name and address, then check the relevant state pharmacy board. [8][25]

Different dosing styles

Male Excel describes a daily "micro-dosing" approach [14]. Rugiet's injections are described as usually weekly or twice weekly [6]. These marketing descriptions do not prove one program's schedule is better for every patient. Your prescriber sets the actual schedule. Our guide to daily vs. weekly testosterone injections lays out the differences.

Cream has a contact risk that injections do not. Testosterone creams and gels can transfer to a partner or child through skin contact. Ask your clinician or pharmacist for the exact product's precautions before choosing a topical treatment. [10][14]

Safety note. The FDA's 2025 label update added a warning about higher blood pressure for testosterone products [15]. Rugiet's pages also flag blood pressure and red blood cell increases [3][6]. Chest pain, trouble breathing, or signs of a stroke call for emergency care — call 911. A new painful, swollen leg needs prompt medical assessment, especially with redness or warmth; breathing trouble or chest pain with it is an emergency. [33][37]


Which provider fits if you want children?

Testosterone therapy can lower sperm production, and both companies say so on their own pages. If you want children soon, start with a urologist or reproductive urologist, not a general TRT subscription. Male Excel's Triclozene and Rugiet's enclomiphene are not TRT and do not establish a fertility guarantee. [6][10][14][19][31]

When testosterone comes from outside your body, your brain can slow the signals that tell your testicles to make sperm. How much it drops — and whether it comes back after stopping — varies from man to man. No one can promise either way. [10]

Tell the clinician about future fertility plans even when they are not immediate. A fertility-aware evaluation can address semen testing and whether a non-testosterone approach is appropriate; it is not a promise that any pill will preserve or restore fertility. [10][31]

  • Rugiet: "Like all forms of TRT, injectable testosterone can suppress natural sperm production" [6].
  • Male Excel: its cream "in large doses… may lower your sperm count" [14].
  • The Endocrine Society recommends against starting testosterone in men planning fertility in the near term [10].

Triclozene and enclomiphene aren't testosterone

Both companies sell a pill meant to make your body produce more of its own testosterone. Neither is TRT. [2][19][31]

  • Male Excel's Triclozene is described two different ways. Its page title and pricing page say clomiphene citrate ("Generic Clomid"). The same product page's headline and body say enclomiphene citrate [19][4]. Those are different drugs. Ask which one you'd get, in writing.
  • Rugiet's enclomiphene is a separate product with its own page and state list [2].
  • Clomiphene's FDA-approved use is helping women with ovulatory dysfunction ovulate; use in men is off-label. No FDA-approved enclomiphene product was identified in the sources checked. Enclomiphene is a component of clomiphene, but an enclomiphene-only product is not the same finished medicine. [20][31]

An FDA approval for clomiphene tablets does not extend to a separately compounded mixture sold under a different product name. Ask for the actual Triclozene formulation, not just the phrase "Generic Clomid." [16][19][20]

Neither pill should be called "natural TRT," and neither comes with a guarantee about fertility. Our enclomiphene vs. clomiphene guide and fertility-first care guide go deeper.

Planning to have kids soon? A fertility-aware clinician should see you before any TRT subscription does. Get a fertility-first care route with Find My TRT Path →


Who should choose Male Excel, who should choose Rugiet — and who should wait?

Shortlist Male Excel for its shorter stated billing structure, conditional membership refund, or one of its 8 exclusive states in this comparison. Shortlist Rugiet for its lower advertised starting cost, its advertised oral option, or one of its 4 exclusive states. Do not commit to either treatment subscription before the diagnosis is clear, and start with specialist care if fertility or a complex health history changes the decision. [1][2][3][4][7][10]

Here's our editorial call, based on the published facts and the limits above.

Choose Male Excel if…

  • You live in Delaware, Georgia, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, or South Carolina.
  • You prefer monthly membership charges and 60-day medication orders to a longer prepaid plan.
  • You want the published refund path for membership fees if the first 90 days do not help and you meet its terms. [7]
  • You value the advertised support hours — 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. Eastern, seven days a week per its site footer — without assuming that means clinician appointments throughout those hours. [1]
  • A clinician has explained whether thyroid treatment is needed and given you a clear price for the medicines actually prescribed. [4][13]

Easiest thing to miss: thyroid is in the advertised price, medicine is prepaid in 60-day supplies, and the testing-before-prescribing sequence needs clarification. [4][13]

Choose Rugiet if…

  • A lower advertised starting cost matters most, and your written quote makes the 3-, 6-, or 12-month commitment worthwhile. [2][6]
  • You want a plan that advertises labs, visits, and medication in one price, including format changes; confirm that this applies to your quoted treatment. [2]
  • You want to ask a clinician about the separately advertised compounded oral option. [3]
  • You live in Alaska, Idaho, Mississippi, or New Hampshire.

Easiest thing to miss: the general refund terms count medication as ordered at the end of a new patient's required video visit, subject to the terms' "generally" wording. Resolve that timing and the regular-price refund calculation before the visit. [8]

Wait on a treatment subscription with either if…

  • Low testosterone hasn't been confirmed through symptoms or signs and appropriate repeat morning testing. [10][24]
  • Children are in your near-term plans.
  • You have a history of prostate or breast cancer, a high red blood cell count, untreated severe sleep apnea, or a recent heart attack or stroke; these need clinician or specialist assessment before choosing treatment. [10][27]
  • You need insurance to pay.
  • You live in one of the 7 states neither lists for TRT. [1][2]

Start with primary care, urology, or endocrinology instead — or compare other options in our Male Excel alternatives and Rugiet alternatives guides.

Does the Male Excel list sound like you? Check the current membership, medication prices, and testing steps together. A clinician still decides whether treatment makes sense; reading the program details does not commit you to treatment.

Review Male Excel's program before requesting care →

Sounds more like the Rugiet list? See Rugiet's TRT program → Still torn? Map your care route with Find My TRT Path →


Is Male Excel legit? Is Rugiet legit?

Both companies have active public TRT offers, terms, and clinician-led prescribing requirements. That supports treating them as operating services, not assuming that every clinician, pharmacy, or product has been independently checked. A brand's public presence does not establish whether its treatment is right for you. [2][6][13][25]

Male Excel identifies Excel Medical as its platform operator, with clinical services provided through the medical groups named in its terms [25]. It publishes product safety information and a note that "your testosterone treatment plan may require an in-person medical exam" under DEA and state law [14]. Its public clinician roster includes physicians and nurse practitioners; we did not verify an assigned clinician's license. [21]

Rugiet is operated by MSB Holdings, Inc., in Austin, Texas. Its terms describe it as a technology platform that connects you with independent medical groups and pharmacies [8]. Its controlled-substance prescriptions require a live audio-video visit [3][6]. Its terms also send disputes to individual arbitration, with a 30-day window to opt out [8]. Its medical-team page does not tell you which clinician will accept your case. [35]

"Legit" doesn't mean right for you. Before paying, get the assigned clinician's name and license details, the dispensing pharmacy's legal name, and the exact medicine. Verify the clinician and pharmacy through the relevant state boards rather than relying on a logo. [29]

What customers say about the experience

We only share customer comments about service and billing — never about medical results. These two recent reviews from Male Excel's Trustpilot page show two sides of the same service:

"All of my questions were answered." — Lorenzo, 5 stars, September 17, 2026 [22]

"…there's a provider subscription that's billed monthly." — Thomas, 3 stars, September 27, 2026, describing a billing setup he found confusing [22]

These are individual service and billing reports, not proof of typical results, medical effectiveness, or safety. Trustpilot labels both reviews "Verified"; we did not verify the reviewers' identities or any undisclosed relationship with the company. [22]

That second one is exactly why we built the cost table above.

We did not select a Rugiet TRT-specific testimonial from the review material checked. Comments about Rugiet Ready, its ED product, are not evidence of how its TRT program performs. Keep the written billing terms, rather than an unrelated product review, at the center of this decision. [34]


What happens to online TRT after December 31, 2026?

The current federal temporary extension allows qualifying clinicians to prescribe Schedule II–V controlled medicines, including testosterone, by telemedicine without a prior in-person examination when its conditions are met, through December 31, 2026. It does not waive state-law or other prescribing requirements. A 12-month plan started now runs past that date, so ask either company in writing how it will handle your care and billing if the applicable rules change. [23][29][32]

The DEA and HHS extended these telemedicine rules for the fourth time, through December 31, 2026 [23]. That date does not tell us what rules will apply afterward. That's not a reason to rush into a subscription, but it is a fair continuity-of-care question.

Male Excel already says an in-person exam may be required under DEA and state law [14]. Rugiet requires a live video visit [6]. Ask each: "If federal rules require an in-person visit after December 31, how will you handle my prescription and my billing?" The current HHS telemedicine prescribing guidance explains the extension and its limits.


What should you get in writing before you pay?

These eight questions cover the main gaps the public pages leave open. Send them to support or the clinician as appropriate before your card is charged, and save the replies. They work with either company — or with a local clinic.

Copy these and send them:

  1. (Both) What exact testosterone product will I get, from which pharmacy, and is it FDA-approved or compounded?
  2. (Both) Is hematocrit on my first labs and my follow-up labs? When are follow-ups, who reviews abnormal results, and is every required test and repeat test included?
  3. (Both) How will you confirm the diagnosis with repeat early-morning testosterone testing before treatment, and what does that testing cost?
  4. (Male Excel) Is the thyroid medicine optional? Which product is it, why do I need it, and what's my price without it? What's shipping, and what are the first year's actual charge dates?
  5. (Male Excel) Is Triclozene clomiphene or enclomiphene?
  6. (Rugiet) Which plan does $139 belong to, what's charged today, is my start fee $49 or $69, and what will renewal cost?
  7. (Rugiet) If I stop a 12-month plan early, what "regular price" do you use to figure my refund?
  8. (Both) What happens to my prescription and billing if federal telemedicine rules change after December 31, 2026?

Only have time for two? Male Excel: ask #1 and #4. Rugiet: ask #1 and #7.

How do you get your records or switch providers?

Ask each provider who holds your medical record and how to obtain your lab reports, visit notes, medication history, and transfer-of-care summary. The pages checked did not give a complete step-by-step export process for either program. Rugiet's terms preserve obligations to provide health-record access under applicable law; they do not promise continued portal access after cancellation. [8][25]

For records held by HIPAA-covered providers, HHS describes a right to inspect and receive copies, with limited exceptions. That is different from assuming this comparison site or its decision tool is covered by HIPAA. [30]

A switch is not automatic. The new clinician must accept your case and make an independent treatment decision, and Rugiet says it does not accept outside labs for its required testing. Get your records first, arrange the handoff with both clinicians, and check any retesting cost before canceling care. See how to switch TRT providers. [2][8][25]


How did we compare Male Excel and Rugiet?

We read both companies' live pricing, product, FAQ, guarantee, and terms pages on September 28, 2026, and checked medical and regulatory facts against the FDA, DEA, HHS, and the Endocrine Society. We did not buy either program. This is a public-source comparison, not a hands-on review.

We follow our published method, How We Review TRT Providers. It keeps four things separate: facts we verified, facts a company states, customer-experience signals, and our own conclusions. We calculate cost components and flag what prevents a complete total instead of repeating a teaser price. We don't give providers scores.

What we actually verified

Verification date: September 28, 2026

Sources checked: Male Excel's pricing, FAQ, homepage, test-kit, clinician roster, Triclozene, Excel Advantage, general terms, refund policy, and guarantee terms. Rugiet's TRT hub, injectable, topical, and oral pages, medical-team page, Terms and Conditions (updated March 23, 2026), and TRT appointment and refill support articles. The FDA, DEA, HHS, Endocrine Society, DailyMed, and other sources listed below.

Confirmed as published—not independently tested in practice: both state lists; Male Excel's $99 start, $99 membership, $120/$132 starting medication rates, required membership, separately charged shipping, thyroid-inclusive injection and cream prices, 5-marker starter kit, prescribe-before-results statement, and guarantee conditions; Rugiet's conflicting $49/$69 starting fees and $139 advertised floor; the compounded cream and oral-product disclosures; both companies' pharmacy-choice and packaging terms; Rugiet's refund and cancellation wording; and the Triclozene ingredient-naming conflict.

Company-stated, not independently confirmed: ongoing labs included in Rugiet's plan, unlimited follow-ups or e-visits, the 12-marker panel, Male Excel's 60-day check-ins and 6-month panels, clinician availability, and which named pharmacy will fill a particular prescription.

Third-party price reports: Innerbody's Rugiet plan totals of $537, $954, and $1,668. They are clearly marked illustrations, not verified current offers or a reason to promise savings. Our original calculations: the full 50-state overlap, 12-month rate models, seven-order cash-flow example, and conditional 90-day cost/refund scenarios.

Still unconfirmed: the exact finished injectable product at either company; individualized total cost and all first-year charge dates; Rugiet's upfront, renewal, and regular non-bundle prices; every required or repeat lab and its cost; shipping charges; baseline hematocrit inclusion; Rugiet's TRT-specific insurance and HSA/FSA terms; whether either requires a second early-morning diagnostic test; whether Male Excel accepts outside labs; the actual cancellation effective dates; complete record-export steps; and assigned clinician and pharmacy licenses.

What we didn't do: enroll, buy treatment, complete patient checkout, contact support, test cancellation, verify certification with its issuer, or check an assigned clinician's or pharmacy's license.

Spot something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it and note the change. Our editorial standards explain how.


Male Excel vs Rugiet FAQ: what else should you know?

The remaining questions mostly concern price labels, testing, and leaving a plan. These answers apply to the TRT offers and policies checked on September 28, 2026, not every product either brand sells.

Is Rugiet cheaper than Male Excel?

Rugiet has the lower advertised starting rate, not a verified lowest bill for every patient. At unchanged starting rates, the 12-month illustrations are $1,717–$1,737 for Rugiet versus $2,727 for Male Excel injections or $2,871 for cream. Extra costs, plan terms, and Male Excel's 60-day refill timing remain part of the actual comparison. [2][4][6]

Does Male Excel's $99 a month include testosterone?

No. The $99 is the required medical membership. Medication is billed separately — starting at $120 a month for injections or $132 for cream — plus a $99 start fee and shipping. Those medication rates include thyroid in the advertised packages, and the prescribed amount can change the price. [4]

Is Rugiet really $139 a month?

That's Rugiet's advertised floor, and Innerbody ties it to a 12-month plan. Shorter plans are reported at about $159 and $179 a month, but we did not confirm those rates on Rugiet's own pages or in checkout. Confirm the term, amount due today, included services, and renewal price before you pay. [2][5][6]

Does Rugiet include labs?

Rugiet says ongoing labs are included in its plan price. Its initial lab-and-video step is advertised separately at $49 or $69, depending on the page. The pages checked do not publish a complete fixed monitoring schedule or settle a second morning diagnostic test, and Rugiet does not accept outside bloodwork. [2][6][8]

Can I cancel Male Excel anytime?

Male Excel says there's no contract and you can cancel anytime. Ask when cancellation affects both billing cycles; its FAQ gives a 48-hour action window after a medication renewal reminder. Canceling does not automatically refund a prescription purchase or qualify you for the separate membership-fee guarantee. [1][4][7][25][26]

Can I cancel Rugiet anytime?

Rugiet's terms allow cancellation, but timing determines whether another charge occurs. The general section requires 72 hours before billing; other provisions refer to 48 hours before monthly processing and a 24-hour refill-processing cutoff. Ask for the applicable dates and refund calculation rather than assuming one deadline resolves all three. [8][9]

Which states does Rugiet TRT not serve?

Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and South Carolina, as of September 28, 2026. This is Rugiet's published exclusion list, not a license audit. [2]

Which states does Male Excel not serve?

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island, as of September 28, 2026. This is Male Excel's published exclusion list, not a license audit. [1]

Is Male Excel's Triclozene testosterone?

No. Triclozene is a non-testosterone product described with thyroid ingredients. Male Excel's pages disagree on whether its other active ingredient is clomiphene or enclomiphene, so ask for the exact written formulation. Neither name makes a compounded mixture an FDA-approved generic. [4][16][19]

Is Rugiet's oral TRT FDA-approved?

No. Rugiet's oral TRT page says its advertised capsule is a compounded drug product that isn't FDA-approved. Ask for the exact formulation rather than assuming approval from a general description of oral testosterone. [3][16]

Which is better if I want kids?

If you want children soon, neither TRT subscription is the right first commitment. Testosterone can lower sperm production. Start with a urologist or reproductive urologist, and discuss more distant fertility plans before treatment too. [10]

Do I need an in-person visit?

Rugiet requires a live video visit for testosterone. Male Excel says an in-person exam may be required depending on DEA and state law. The current federal temporary extension runs through December 31, 2026, subject to its conditions and applicable state law; it does not guarantee video-only care for every patient. [6][14][23][29]

Can I switch from one to the other?

A switch depends on the new clinician accepting your case. Get your records and lab results first, arrange the handoff with both clinicians, and remember that Rugiet requires its own approved testing rather than accepting outside results. See how to switch TRT providers. [2][8][25]


Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.


This page is educational information, not medical advice. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance in the United States and requires a valid prescription and clinician supervision. Call 911 for chest pain, serious breathing trouble, or stroke symptoms. A new painful, swollen leg needs prompt medical assessment; seek emergency help if chest pain or breathing trouble occurs too. [18][23][33][37]

Related: Male Excel reviews · Male Excel cost · Male Excel state availability · Rugiet TRT reviews · Rugiet TRT cost · At-home vs. lab testosterone tests · How We Review TRT Providers


Sources (checked September 28, 2026)

  1. Male Excel — TRT FAQs. State exclusions, treatment options, refill window, pharmacy names, and support hours.
  2. Rugiet — TRT hub. $69 initial step, $139 advertised floor, coverage, lab claims, outside-lab policy, and care inclusions.
  3. Rugiet — Oral TRT. Compounded disclaimer, oral option, live-video requirement, and state wording.
  4. Male Excel — Hormone treatment costs. $99 initial step and membership; $120/$132 medication starting equivalents; 60-day supplies; thyroid; shipping; care inclusions.
  5. Innerbody Research — Rugiet reviews. Secondary reports of $537, $954, and $1,668 plan prices; not confirmed as current provider quotes.
  6. Rugiet — Injectable TRT. $49 initial step, cypionate, advertised plan lengths, clinician-set schedules, and live-video requirement.
  7. Male Excel — Excel Advantage Guarantee terms. Eligibility, adherence, claim assessment, request deadline, and membership-only refund.
  8. Rugiet — Terms and Conditions. Updated March 23, 2026. Operator, pharmacies, packaging, cancellation, refunds, lab policy, arbitration, and records-access caveat.
  9. Rugiet support — Refill timing. 24-hour processing cutoff.
  10. Endocrine Society — Testosterone Therapy in Men With Hypogonadism. Clinical practice guideline: diagnosis, morning testing, assay quality, fertility, hematocrit monitoring, and clinical risk assessment (2018).
  11. Male Excel — At-home hormone test. Blood-spot kit, five listed markers, and initial package.
  12. Rugiet support — TRT appointment timing. Video appointment after laboratory results.
  13. Male Excel — Homepage. Prescribe-before-results and testing-first statements; 54-marker member panel; check-ins; compounded products; thyroid when clinically appropriate.
  14. Male Excel — The Excel Advantage. Follow-up description, treatment schedule, product safety information, thyroid information, and in-person examination notice.
  15. FDA — Class-wide labeling changes for testosterone products. February 28, 2025 action; read with the June 2026 announcement in source 27.
  16. FDA — Understanding the risks of compounded drugs. Compounding and absence of FDA premarket review and approval.
  17. Rugiet — Topical TRT. Compounded cream and advertised schedule.
  18. DEA — Drug scheduling. Testosterone as a Schedule III controlled substance.
  19. Male Excel — Triclozene. Clomiphene/enclomiphene naming conflict and product composition claims.
  20. DailyMed — Clomid prescribing information. Clomiphene indication and labeling; approval does not extend to every compounded mixture.
  21. Male Excel — Clinician roster. Provider-published professional roles, not independent license verification.
  22. Trustpilot — Male Excel. Lorenzo, September 17, 2026; Thomas, September 27, 2026. Individual service and billing reports only.
  23. Federal Register — Fourth Temporary Extension of Telemedicine Flexibilities. Temporary controlled-substance prescribing framework through December 31, 2026.
  24. Endocrine Society — Statement on Testosterone Replacement Therapy. July 16, 2026. At least two early-morning fasting tests, testing quality, and monitoring.
  25. Male Excel — Terms and Conditions. Platform/medical-group distinction, pharmacy restriction, non-child-resistant packaging, cash-pay terms, subscriptions, and fees.
  26. Male Excel — Refund policy. Prescription sales final; contact process for filling errors.
  27. HHS — Requested updates to testosterone therapy product labels. June 18, 2026. Requested age-related limitation and prostate-label changes; not a label for an identified dispensed product.
  28. FDA — Actions to address unapproved thyroid medications. Animal-derived thyroid approval status, compounding ineligibility, and risk-based enforcement approach.
  29. HHS — Licensing across state lines. Patient location, state authority, and licensure pathways.
  30. HHS — Your medical records. Access rights for records held by covered providers, with limitations.
  31. Operation Supplement Safety — Clomiphene and enclomiphene. January 12, 2026. Off-label use in men and lack of FDA approval for enclomiphene.
  32. HHS — Prescribing controlled substances via telehealth. Current temporary extension and continuing legal conditions.
  33. CDC — About venous thromboembolism. Symptoms of deep-vein thrombosis and pulmonary embolism and when to seek care.
  34. Trustpilot — Rugiet. Product-scope check; no TRT-specific testimonial selected for this comparison.
  35. Rugiet — Medical team. Provider-published clinical team/advisory information, not an assigned-clinician license audit.
  36. Rugiet support — Can I pay with insurance?. The answer concerns Rugiet Ready, not TRT-specific coverage or billing.
  37. CDC — Signs and symptoms of stroke. Call 911 for stroke symptoms.

Ready to explore your options?

Our tool helps you narrow down the care route that fits your situation based on testing, budget, and fertility goals.

Find My TRT Path

Not sure which TRT route fits you?

Find My TRT Path