By TRT Provider Guide · Last verified: September 2026 · Independent editorial research from public provider documents and clinical sources; not clinically reviewed.
The best Rugiet alternatives for TRT are Male Excel if you don't want a prepaid plan (it also serves 8 of the 15 states Rugiet skips), Hone if you want a second testosterone test built in before treatment, and Henry Meds for the lowest all-in price we found ($129 a month). Want FDA-approved testosterone, insurance, or kids soon? Start with a doctor.
That's the short answer. The longer one hinges on a rule most Rugiet comparisons never mention: Rugiet won't use the labs you already have. For a lot of men, that one line decides the switch. We'll get to it.
Switch from Rugiet if: your state isn't served, you prefer not to choose one of Rugiet's published 3-, 6- or 12-month TRT plans, or you want to compare a provider that may accept recent outside labs.
Stay with Rugiet if: it serves your state, a 3-, 6- or 12-month plan doesn't bother you, and you like one bundled price. At Rugiet's advertised starting rate, its illustrative year-one floor is lower than the published starting-cost examples for Male Excel and Taurus.
Skip online TRT for now if: you want children in the near term, no one has confirmed low testosterone with repeat early-morning tests, or you have prostate or breast cancer history, a high red-blood-cell count, untreated severe sleep apnea, or a recent heart attack or stroke. Those belong with a doctor who can examine you.
| The numbers that matter | Value |
|---|---|
| States where Rugiet doesn't offer TRT | 15 |
| Of those, states Male Excel serves | 8 |
| Published starting-cost range compared | about $1,548 to $2,727 + shipping |
| Outside labs Rugiet accepts | None |
TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.
Disclosure: TRT Provider Guide may earn a commission from certain provider links. Commercial relationships do not change the facts we verify or when we tell you to use a different provider or care route. The provider links on this page are direct public information links, not unverified tracked enrollment links. Read our affiliate disclosure.
What we actually verified (short version): On September 24, 2026, we read Rugiet's TRT, injectable, topical and oral pages and two of its help-center articles; Male Excel's homepage and pricing page; Hone's Plus membership page (updated September 10, 2026); Taurus's $49 offer page; and Henry Meds' TRT page. We checked the federal telemedicine rule and current diagnosis guidance from the Endocrine Society. Taurus's live Terms were rechecked on September 24, 2026; its refund policy was also reviewed for this audit. We did not buy treatment from anyone. The full box is near the end.
Educational information, not medical advice. Chest pain, trouble breathing, or signs of a stroke need emergency care — call 911.
What are the best Rugiet alternatives for TRT?
The best Rugiet alternative depends on why Rugiet doesn't fit. Male Excel suits men who want no prepaid plan or live in one of 8 states Rugiet skips. Hone suits men who want a confirmatory second testosterone test. Henry Meds had the lowest all-in price we found. A local doctor fits men who want FDA-approved testosterone or insurance.
Here's the whole decision on one screen. Find your row.
| If this is why Rugiet doesn't fit… | Look at | Year one (our math) | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| You don't want a 3-, 6- or 12-month TRT plan | Male Excel | $2,727 + shipping at published starting rates | Most expensive published starting-cost example here |
| You live in DE, GA, MO, NC, ND, OK, PA or SC | Male Excel | $2,727 + shipping | Not in 11 other states |
| You want a published confirmatory second testosterone test before TRT | Hone | $1,710 + medication | Medication is billed on top |
| You want the lowest published all-in starting price in this comparison | Henry Meds | $1,548 | Ages 35–65 on its current TRT page; multi-month plan terms can affect cancellation |
| You want a low start fee with a lab-draw test | Taurus | $1,837 at its offer-page rates | Its $149 offer conflicts with a general $17.99-per-billing-period Terms clause |
| You want FDA-approved testosterone or to use insurance | Your doctor or urologist | Depends on your plan | More appointments, less convenience |
| You want children soon | Urologist or reproductive urologist | Varies | Not a subscription decision |
| You're in AL, AR, CT, HI, LA, MN or RI | A local doctor | Varies | Neither Rugiet nor Male Excel prescribes there |
| Your state is covered and a plan is fine | Stay with Rugiet | $1,717–$1,737 advertised-floor illustration | It won't use your outside labs; Rugiet does not say which plan length gets $139 |
Every number above comes from each company's own pages. Some costs can rise with dose, formulation or shipping, and Rugiet's $139 figure is a starting rate rather than a guaranteed 12-month quote. The math is shown in the cost section.
Does the first row sound like you? Male Excel has no contract, and if your symptoms don't improve after you follow its plan for 90 days, it refunds three months of membership fees.
👉 Review Male Excel's current TRT pricing and state availability — its public page shows the $99 start, $99 monthly care fee, medication-separate structure and current excluded-state list.
The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.
Why are men looking for Rugiet alternatives?
The clearest reasons to compare Rugiet are practical. Rugiet doesn't offer TRT in 15 states, doesn't accept outside bloodwork, and its TRT pages present 3-, 6- or 12-month plans. Its entry test also appears as $69 on the main TRT hub and $49 on current injectable and topical pages.
First, some context. Rugiet built its name on Rugiet Ready, an erectile dysfunction product. It launched testosterone therapy on March 10, 2026: enclomiphene, plus oral, injectable and topical testosterone.7 So its TRT program is about six months old. That's why almost every "Rugiet alternatives" page out there is really about ED pills. This one is about testosterone.
Here are the four Rugiet rules we see pushing men to look elsewhere, straight from Rugiet's own pages:
| Rugiet's rule | What Rugiet says | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| No outside labs | "At this time, we don't accept outside bloodwork." All baseline and follow-up labs go through its own testing.1 | Recent labs from your doctor won't count. You pay to test again. |
| 15 states excluded | TRT isn't available in AL, AR, CT, DE, GA, HI, LA, MN, MO, NC, ND, OK, PA, RI or SC.1 | If you live there, Rugiet can't treat you with testosterone. |
| Plans, not month-to-month | "Choose 3, 6, or 12-month plans."2 Plans start "as low as $139/month."1 | We couldn't find a month-to-month option on its pages. |
| Two published start prices | $69 for labs plus a video call on the main TRT hub; $49 on current injectable and topical pages.123 | Ask which price applies to the treatment path you are considering before you pay. |
In fairness to Rugiet: it requires a live audio-video visit before prescribing a controlled substance, and it says ongoing labs, doctor follow-ups and dose changes are included in the plan price.12 Those are real positives. Plenty of cheaper programs charge for every lab.
Want to see how your own reason for leaving maps to an option? Find My TRT Path walks through state, labs, budget and fertility in a few taps and gives you a list of questions to ask. It's educational, not a diagnosis.
How much do Rugiet alternatives cost in year one?
Using each company's published starting prices, the year-one examples in this comparison run from about $1,548 (Henry Meds' $129 monthly starting price) to about $2,727 plus shipping (Male Excel's $120 injectable starting price plus membership). Rugiet's advertised-floor illustration is $1,717–$1,737, Hone is $1,710 before medication, and Taurus is $1,837 at its current offer-page rate before resolving the separate Terms fee clause.
Monthly prices can hide what is billed separately. One company bundles labs; another bills them separately. One bills every 60 days; another every month. So we put every program on the same footing: start fee plus 12 months, at the lowest price each company publishes for testosterone.
| Program | Start | Ongoing (as published) | Year one | What's included | Can you calculate it before intake? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rugiet | $49 on current injectable/topical pages; $69 on main TRT hub | "As low as $139/month" on 3-, 6- or 12-month plans | $1,717–$1,737 advertised-floor illustration | Medication, ongoing labs and doctor follow-ups, per Rugiet | Partly. Rugiet doesn't say which plan length gets $139. |
| Male Excel | $99 consultation | $120/month injectable (60-day supply billed every other month) + $99/month membership + shipping | $2,727 + shipping | Membership includes unlimited provider access, 60-day check-ins, blood testing every 6 months | Mostly. Medication price changes with dose. |
| Hone Plus | $45 test + $45 lab-draw confirmation ($80 at home) | $135/month membership + medication | $1,710 before medication ($1,745 with home confirmation) | Follow-up labs, consults and shipping included; medication billed separately | Membership yes. Medication depends on dose. |
| Taurus | $49 test + consultation | $149/month "all inclusive" if prescribed | $1,837 at advertised rates | Taurus's offer page says no membership fees | No. Its Terms describe a $17.99 fee "per billing period." |
| Henry Meds | None listed | $129/month compounded; $179/month Kyzatrex | $1,548 (compounded) or $2,148 (Kyzatrex) | Provider visits, labs, medication, supplies, shipping, per Henry | Yes, at the "starting at" price |
| Your doctor + insurance | Depends on your plan and clinician | Medication, visits and labs vary by plan and pharmacy | Depends on your plan | May use insurance and FDA-approved products | Only with your own plan and pharmacy numbers |
| Your copay | Generic testosterone cypionate: from $48.79 for a 10 mL vial with a GoodRx coupon | Depends on your plan | Visits and labs billed through insurance | Only with your plan's numbers | — |
Show the math.
- Rugiet advertised-floor illustration: $49 + (12 × $139) = $1,717, or $69 + (12 × $139) = $1,737. Rugiet does not say which plan length gets the $139 starting rate, so this is not a guaranteed 12-month quote.
- Male Excel: $99 + (12 × $120) + (12 × $99) = $2,727, plus shipping.89
- Hone Plus: $45 + $45 + (12 × $135) = $1,710, plus medication. Hone lists testosterone cream at $60 a month, which would make it $2,430. Its injection "starts at $28/vial"; how long a vial lasts depends on your prescription.10
- Taurus: $49 + (12 × $149) = $1,837 using the current offer page. Taurus's general Terms also describe a recurring $17.99 membership fee "per billing period," while the offer page says "No membership fees." Because those documents conflict, we do not add the fee to the public total or assume it is waived; get the exact recurring charges in writing.1112
- Henry Meds: 12 × $129 = $1,548; 12 × $179 = $2,148.14
This table does not include sales tax where applicable. Male Excel and Hone both say medication cost can vary by prescribed dose or modality.910
Male Excel is the most expensive option here. Here's why that can still make sense.
Male Excel does not roll everything into one low price. At its published starting rates, you pay $99 a month for care and $120 a month for the quoted injectable package, plus shipping. The year-one starting-price example lands near $2,727. If price is your top priority, Henry Meds, Hone or Rugiet itself will cost you less.
But because Male Excel skips the prepaid plan, you're never locked in. There's no contract. You can pause or cancel. And if you follow its treatment plan for 90 days and your symptoms don't improve, Male Excel refunds those three months of membership fees.8 For a man who's looking past Rugiet precisely because he doesn't want to commit to 6 or 12 months up front, that's the trade he came for.
Price-first? Our TRT cost guide and Male Excel cost breakdown go deeper on every fee.
👉 See Male Excel's current TRT pricing — injectable and cream starting prices, plus what the $99 membership covers.
Which Rugiet alternatives serve my state?
Rugiet's TRT isn't available in 15 states. Male Excel prescribes in 8 of them: Delaware, Georgia, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania and South Carolina. In Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Louisiana, Minnesota and Rhode Island, neither company prescribes, so a local doctor is often the most direct route.
We lined up both companies' own state lists, checked the same day. Nobody else has published this side by side.
| Rugiet doesn't offer TRT in… | Male Excel? |
|---|---|
| Alabama | ✗ No |
| Arkansas | ✗ No |
| Connecticut | ✗ No |
| Delaware | ✓ Yes |
| Georgia | ✓ Yes |
| Hawaii | ✗ No |
| Louisiana | ✗ No |
| Minnesota | ✗ No |
| Missouri | ✓ Yes |
| North Carolina | ✓ Yes |
| North Dakota | ✓ Yes |
| Oklahoma | ✓ Yes |
| Pennsylvania | ✓ Yes |
| Rhode Island | ✗ No |
| South Carolina | ✓ Yes |
Sources: Rugiet TRT FAQ; Male Excel FAQ. Checked September 24, 2026.18
It works the other way too. Male Excel doesn't serve Alaska, Idaho, Mississippi or New Hampshire, and Rugiet does.8 Rugiet also offers enclomiphene (not testosterone) everywhere except Louisiana.1
Hone, Taurus and Henry Meds didn't publish a TRT state list on the pages we checked. Their signup flows ask for your state. Don't pay anything until they confirm it.
Why state lists change. Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance — a federal category for drugs with accepted medical use and some potential for misuse — so it needs a valid prescription. A federal rule normally requires an in-person exam before a controlled drug is prescribed online. The DEA and HHS have extended a temporary exception through December 31, 2026, which allows prescribing after a qualifying telemedicine visit if other conditions are met.18 After that date, the rules could change. Your state's laws, and each company's own policy, can still require an in-person visit. Male Excel's own footer says your plan may require one.8 So "online" never means "every state, no exceptions."
In Georgia, North Carolina, Pennsylvania or another state on the green list? This is the shortest path out of Rugiet's gap.
👉 Check Male Excel's current published state availability — its FAQ lists the states where its providers do not prescribe hormone treatment.
In one of the seven states neither serves? Start with our online vs. local TRT comparison, or let Find My TRT Path sort the options that can reach you.
Can I cancel? Rugiet vs. the alternatives on commitment and refunds
Rugiet's TRT pages offer 3-, 6- or 12-month plans and Rugiet says an order can't be canceled once the medication is processed. Male Excel says "No Contract, Cancel Anytime" and offers a conditional 90-day membership-fee guarantee. Hone Plus bills monthly. Henry Meds says it has no long-term contracts, but its current TRT FAQ also says a patient on a multi-month plan may have to pay the remaining balance unless a clinician determines a medical reason to stop. Taurus's live Terms say cancellation takes effect at the end of the current paid term and shipped medication is final sale.
This is the table we'd want in front of us before handing over a card number.
| Comparison | Rugiet | Male Excel | Hone Plus | Taurus | Henry Meds |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commitment | 3, 6 or 12-month TRT plans | None stated — "No Contract, Cancel Anytime" | Billed monthly | Offer page says no membership fees; general Terms describe recurring membership billing | Says "no long-term contracts," but multi-month-plan balance may still be due on cancellation |
| How to cancel | Member Portal → "Skip a month or cancel your plan"56 | Contact member support; pausing also allowed8 | Hone's help center says members may cancel at any time10 | Contact Taurus support; current Terms say cancellation takes effect at the end of the paid term12 | Patient portal, email or phone; multi-month balance may still be due14 |
| Orders already in progress | Can't be canceled once processed5 | Refill reminder by email or text before each 60-day supply ends9 | Not stated | Shipped medication is final sale12 | Not stated |
| Guarantee | None found | Conditional 90-day guarantee: if the member follows the protocol and symptoms do not improve, three months of membership fees may be refunded8 | None found | Offer page advertises a 90-day refund "minus lab and pharmacy fees"11 | None found |
| If not eligible | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Refunded if the clinician finds you ineligible11 | Not stated |
| Support hours | Mon–Fri 8:30–5:30 CT, Sat 11–4 CT | Mon–Sun 7am–9pm ET | Message through account | Email support | Not checked |
Rugiet's own support center says the Member Portal shows the next refill charge date and that it sends a reminder email a few days before processing. Changes must be made at least 24 hours before processing, and a processed medication order cannot be canceled.56
Taurus's terms deserve a closer look before you pay. We covered them line by line in our Taurus Meds cost breakdown.
Is getting stuck the thing you're trying to avoid? Male Excel is the only company here that pairs a stated no-contract policy with a written refund on care fees.
👉 Review Male Excel's no-contract pricing and guarantee terms
Will a Rugiet alternative use my existing labs — and how good is its test?
Rugiet doesn't accept outside bloodwork, and the online alternatives use their own testing pathways too. What differs is the test. Hone publishes a confirmatory second testosterone measurement for TRT patients. Taurus uses a LabCorp or Quest draw. Male Excel starts with a five-marker finger-prick test. A local clinician may be able to use recent outside results, but may still repeat testing based on timing, assay quality and the clinical question.
This is the part of the decision most men skip, and it matters more than the logo on the box.
What a proper diagnosis looks like
The Endocrine Society's July 16, 2026 statement says diagnosis of hypogonadism should be made by a healthcare provider using at least two early-morning, fasting testosterone tests; it notes a common clinical threshold near 300 ng/dL and recommends standardized assays. Its clinical guideline adds that diagnosis requires symptoms or signs and unequivocally and consistently low testosterone, with repeat morning fasting measurement and free testosterone when indicated.1516
A few terms, in plain English:
- Total testosterone is all the testosterone in your blood.
- Free testosterone is the small share that isn't stuck to proteins and is ready to use.
- SHBG (sex hormone-binding globulin) is the main protein that holds testosterone. When it's high or low, total testosterone can mislead.
- LH (luteinizing hormone) is the brain's signal telling the testes to make testosterone. It helps show where the problem starts.
- Hematocrit is the share of your blood made of red blood cells. Testosterone can push it up, so it's checked before and during treatment.
- PSA (prostate-specific antigen) is a blood marker used in prostate checks.
One number is a data point. It isn't a diagnosis.
What each program actually tests
| Program | First test | Second testosterone test before TRT? | Outside labs? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rugiet | One blood draw, 12 biomarkers (Rugiet doesn't list them on its TRT page)1 | Not stated | No1 |
| Hone Plus | $45 at-home kit, 8 markers: total T, free T, SHBG, albumin, LH, estradiol, AST, ALT10 | Yes — for TRT patients: a second total T plus hematocrit, PSA and prolactin10 | Not stated |
| Male Excel | At-home finger-prick, 5 markers: total T, estradiol, DHEA-S, free T3, PSA; processed at its own CLIA-certified lab8 | Not stated | Not stated; welcomes men switching from other clinics8 |
| Taurus | LabCorp or Quest draw; free at-home kit if you're 50+ miles from a lab11 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Henry Meds | Total testosterone, a CBC panel and PSA listed as required14 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Your doctor | Whatever your clinician orders | Depends on the diagnostic question and prior results | May accept recent outside labs; repeat testing may still be needed |
Here's what jumped out at us. Hone is the only company in this comparison whose current public onboarding page explicitly lists a confirmatory second total-testosterone measurement for TRT patients. That lines up with the Endocrine Society's requirement to confirm low testosterone with repeat morning testing, although the timing and clinical interpretation still belong to the treating clinician. Its first kit also checks LH and SHBG, which Male Excel's five-marker kit doesn't include.
Two things to watch
Male Excel may prescribe before your labs are back. Its homepage says that when clinically appropriate, its providers "can prescribe based on your symptoms and health history before lab results arrive."8 You don't have to accept that. If diagnostic confirmation matters to you, ask the clinician how the program satisfies repeat early-morning testing before treatment. The answer should come from the prescribing clinician, not a marketing quiz.
Rugiet courts men who've been told they aren't low enough. Its TRT page says that if you're "symptomatic but barely above the clinical threshold," its doctors won't "shut the door."1 That's a real frustration for a lot of men, and we get it. But a clinic that's willing to treat a borderline number isn't the same thing as a better diagnosis. A repeat morning test using an accurate, standardized assay is part of the diagnostic standard; a new subscription by itself is not.
If a careful workup is what you want, this is Hone's strongest point. You pay $45, then the confirmatory test ($45 at a lab or $80 at home) before the $135 membership begins.
👉 See how Hone's Plus membership handles testing — the page lists every biomarker and each step's price.
Want the full testing picture first? Our TRT blood tests guide explains what a real workup includes.
Is Rugiet's testosterone FDA-approved — and are the alternatives?
Rugiet says its oral testosterone is compounded, and Male Excel and Taurus describe compounded testosterone offerings. Hone marks its cream and troche as compounded, while its cypionate injection listing is not labeled compounded on the current price page. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved. If an FDA-approved testosterone product matters to you, Henry Meds currently lists Kyzatrex, an FDA-approved oral testosterone undecanoate product, and local clinicians can also prescribe FDA-approved testosterone products through regular pharmacies when appropriate.
Two words carry this whole section:
- FDA-approved means the exact finished product went through the FDA's review for safety, effectiveness and manufacturing quality.
- Compounded means a pharmacy mixed the medicine for a prescription. The FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and aren't reviewed by the FDA for safety, effectiveness or quality before they reach you.19
Compounding is legal and sometimes useful. It's a category, not a scandal. It just has to be labeled honestly, and you deserve to know which one you're getting.
| Program | What it says about its testosterone |
|---|---|
| Rugiet | Oral TRT "is a compounded drug product."4 Its injectable and topical pages don't say either way. Ask. |
| Male Excel | "Bioidentical testosterone compounded in the United States."8 |
| Hone | Price list marks testosterone cream and troche "(compound)." The testosterone cypionate injection isn't marked that way.10 Ask which product you'd get. |
| Taurus | Its $49 offer page says its hormones are compounded in the U.S.; its homepage headlines FDA-approved medications. We covered that gap in our Taurus gel page.11 |
| Henry Meds | Says it uses FDA-approved medications or compounded prescriptions; lists Kyzatrex, an FDA-approved oral testosterone undecanoate product, at $179/month and says it is not available in California.14 |
| Your doctor | Can prescribe FDA-approved products, including generic testosterone cypionate, often through insurance. |
The practical takeaway: several providers in this comparison market compounded testosterone formulations. That matters because compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and for some readers that distinction is the deciding factor. If it's yours, compare treatment formats and the online vs. local care models before you choose a subscription.
Rugiet vs. Male Excel, Hone, Taurus and Henry Meds: the alternatives one by one
Each alternative fits a different priority. Male Excel fits men who want flexibility and frequent check-ins. Hone fits men who want the most thorough testing. Taurus fits price-watchers who'll get the terms in writing first. Henry Meds fits men who want one all-in price. Your own doctor fits men who want FDA-approved care through insurance.
Every card below separates what we verified on the company's pages from what we'd still ask. Checked September 24, 2026, unless noted.
Rugiet vs. Male Excel: best for men who don't want to be locked in
The punchline: no contract, a 90-day membership-fee guarantee, 7-day-a-week support, and coverage in 8 states Rugiet skips.
What we verified:
- $99 online consultation to start; $99/month medical membership with unlimited provider access, 60-day check-ins and blood testing every 6 months.89
- Injectable testosterone from $120/month for a 60-day supply, billed every other month, plus shipping. Cream from $132/month.9
- "No Contract, Cancel Anytime"; you can pause treatment and restart later.89
- Refill reminder by email or text before each 60-day supply runs out.9
- Accepts men switching from other TRT clinics.8
- Support Monday through Sunday, 7am–9pm ET.8
- Doesn't serve AL, AK, AR, CT, HI, ID, LA, MN, MS, NH or RI. No insurance; FSA/HSA may apply.8
- Also prescribes generic ED medication (sildenafil and tadalafil) if a provider finds it appropriate.8
What to ask before you pay:
- Why thyroid medicine? Male Excel's quoted injectable price is "shown for 10mL of testosterone and 60mg/60-count of thyroid medication which is a typical starting dosage."9 Its own safety text warns that thyroid hormone shouldn't be used for weight loss.8 Ask whether you'd be prescribed thyroid medicine for a diagnosed thyroid problem, and whether you can decline it.
- Will my prescription wait for a second test? See the testing section above.
- What's my two-month bill? Male Excel's pages show "as low as $95," "starts at $99," and "$120" as starting figures for different products. Get your all-in bill in writing.89
Best for: men leaving Rugiet over plan lock-in or state coverage who want a lot of provider contact. Skip it if: price is your top priority, or you're in one of its 11 excluded states.
👉 Review Male Excel's current program requirements and pricing
Rugiet vs. Hone Health: strongest published confirmatory-testing pathway
The punchline: the only program in this comparison whose current public onboarding page explicitly lists a confirmatory second total-testosterone measurement for TRT patients, with follow-up labs and consults inside the monthly membership.
What we verified (Hone's Plus membership page, updated September 10, 2026):10
- $45 initial at-home test measuring 8 markers, then a live video visit with a licensed Hone physician.
- TRT patients only: confirmatory test with a second total testosterone plus hematocrit, PSA and prolactin — $45 at a lab or $80 at home.
- $135/month membership. Follow-up labs and consults are included "with no additional charges." Free shipping.
- Medication billed separately: testosterone cypionate injection "starts at $28/vial"; testosterone cream $60/month; troche $60/month; enclomiphene from $42/month.
- Hone's help center describes the hormone membership as cancelable at any time.10
What to ask before you pay: your state; the exact injection product and whether it's commercially made or compounded; your likely medication cost per month at your prescribed dose.
Best for: men who want the careful, guideline-shaped workup — and who like knowing exactly what each step costs. Skip it if: you want one price that includes medication.
👉 Review Hone Plus membership steps and prices
Rugiet vs. Taurus Meds: a $49 start offer, if you get the recurring terms in writing
The punchline: Taurus's current offer page says $49 to start and $149 a month if prescribed, but its general Terms also describe a recurring $17.99 membership fee per billing period. Because those documents conflict, get the exact recurring charges in writing before paying.
What we verified (Taurus's $49 offer page):11
- $49 blood test and consultation (shown down from $129); "If approved, doctor-prescribed medications are $149/mo - all inclusive. No membership fees."
- LabCorp or Quest testing; a free at-home kit if you live 50+ miles from a lab.
- Refund if the clinician finds you ineligible.
- 90-day guarantee: "full refund" if you don't see results, "minus lab and pharmacy fees."
- Says it accepts men already on TRT.
What doesn't line up (read September 10, 2026):1213
- The offer page says no membership fees. Section 28 of Taurus's Terms describes a recurring $17.99 membership fee "per billing period."
- Taurus's current Terms say subscriptions auto-renew until canceled, cancellation takes effect at the end of the current paid term, and shipped medication is final sale. Its separate refund policy may add offer-specific conditions, so the exact billing cutoff should be confirmed before payment.
- Taurus's homepage promotes a free testosterone test and FDA-approved medications; the $49 page charges $49 and says its hormones are compounded.
- The offer page's medication paragraph says its hormones are compounded "specifically for The Excel Advantage HRT program" — the name Male Excel uses for its own protocol. We couldn't confirm from public pages how the two companies are connected. If that matters to you, ask Taurus which pharmacy fills your prescription.
Best for: budget-minded men who want a real lab draw and will get an itemized quote before paying for medication. Skip it if: you want clean, consistent terms without having to ask.
👉 Read Taurus's $49 offer, then ask for an itemized quote — get the recurring fee, medication, shipping, cancellation and refund terms in writing before paying.
Henry Meds: the lowest published all-in starting price we found
The punchline: Henry currently advertises compounded TRT starting at $129 a month and says that price includes provider visits, labs, medication, supplies and shipping.
What we verified (Henry's TRT page):14
- Compounded testosterone (injection or cream) starting at $129/month; Kyzatrex, an FDA-approved oral testosterone, at $179/month, not available in California.
- "No hidden fees or long-term contracts." Its current FAQ also says a patient on a multi-month plan may have to pay the remaining balance unless a healthcare provider determines a medical reason to stop.
- Its TRT page lists men ages 35 to 65. A separate Henry landing page lists ages 24 to 70. Ask which applies.
Best for: men comparing a bundled starting price, or an FDA-approved oral testosterone option in an online program. Skip it if: you're outside its age window or in California and want Kyzatrex.
Henry Meds' TRT page (we don't earn from this link).
Your own doctor or a urologist: the FDA-approved, insurance-friendly route
The punchline: local care may involve more scheduling, but it can use insurance and FDA-approved testosterone products. A clinician may accept recent outside labs or may repeat testing depending on the diagnostic need.
Medication, visit and laboratory costs depend on your insurance, pharmacy and prescription. If diagnosis is still being established, ask how repeat early-morning testing, possible causes of low testosterone, fertility plans and monitoring will be handled.
Best for: men with insurance and a doctor they can reach; men who want FDA-approved products; anyone with a complicated history.
When staying with Rugiet makes sense
Switching isn't automatically an upgrade. Rugiet is a reasonable choice if:
- it serves your state,
- you're fine with a 3-, 6- or 12-month plan,
- you want labs, visits and medication in one price, and
- you don't have recent outside labs you're attached to.
Using Rugiet's published starting rate, the illustrative 12-month floor is about $1,717–$1,737 depending on which published test fee applies. That is lower than Male Excel's published injectable starting-cost example and close to Hone's membership-and-testing floor before Hone medication. Before you pay, ask four things: which start fee applies ($49 or $69), which plan length gets $139, what happens if you cancel mid-plan, and which pharmacy fills your prescription.
Rugiet's TRT page (we don't earn from this link).
What if I want kids? Rugiet's enclomiphene vs. TRT
Exogenous testosterone can suppress sperm production, and Rugiet's own FAQ says TRT can reduce natural production and sperm count. Rugiet markets enclomiphene as fertility-preserving, but enclomiphene is not testosterone and has no FDA-approved drug product for this use. The Endocrine Society recommends against starting testosterone in men planning fertility in the near term, so urology or reproductive urology should come before a subscription decision.
Testosterone from outside your body tells your brain to turn down its own signal to the testes. Sperm production (spermatogenesis) can drop, sometimes to zero. Rugiet's FAQ says TRT "can reduce your natural production and sperm count."1 How much, and whether it comes back, varies from man to man. We won't promise either way, and nobody honestly can.
Rugiet's TRT page describes enclomiphene as a way to "boost testosterone naturally and needle-free while preserving fertility."1 Here's what that pitch leaves out:
- Enclomiphene is not testosterone. It's meant to make your own body produce more by raising the brain's signal. It isn't TRT, and it isn't "natural TRT."
- There is no FDA-approved enclomiphene drug product. In 2022, FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee considered enclomiphene citrate for the 503A bulks list and voted against recommending its inclusion. FDA still uses an interim enforcement framework for some nominated bulk substances while the 503A list is developed, so a compounded enclomiphene product should not be described as FDA-approved.20
- It is not a substitute for finding the cause of low testosterone. Primary testicular and pituitary/hypothalamic causes are evaluated differently, and the Endocrine Society recommends measuring gonadotropins such as LH and FSH to help distinguish them.16
- Tested athletes and service members: enclomiphene is on the Department of Defense prohibited list, and clomiphene is prohibited by the World Anti-Doping Agency.21
Near-term fertility isn't a question any subscription should answer. It's a specialist's call, based on the cause of your low testosterone and your timeline.
📋 Planning a family? Our TRT and fertility guide lists the questions to bring to a urologist, and Find My TRT Path flags when a specialist should come first.
Came here about Rugiet Ready? Read this first
Rugiet Ready is a compounded erectile dysfunction product, not testosterone. FDA-approved ED pills like sildenafil and tadalafil are widely available as generics. The American Urological Association says ED is a risk marker for underlying cardiovascular disease and other conditions that may warrant evaluation, and recommends measuring a morning total testosterone level in men with ED.
If you searched "Rugiet alternatives" because of the ED product, you're on a testosterone site, and we'll be straight with you: this page doesn't rank ED treatments. But three points from the American Urological Association's ED guideline are worth your two minutes:17
- ED can be an early warning sign for heart disease and other conditions worth checking.
- Men with ED should have a morning total testosterone level measured.
- In men who have both ED and confirmed testosterone deficiency, ED pills may work better when combined with testosterone therapy.
Notice the word confirmed. Testosterone isn't an ED treatment for men with normal levels.
If you want to know whether low testosterone could be part of the picture, ask your doctor for a morning testosterone test, or start with Find My TRT Path. For ED medication itself, several clinics sell generics; Male Excel, a partner of ours, is one of them.8
How do I switch from Rugiet without a gap in care?
Set up the new provider before canceling Rugiet, get copies of your Rugiet labs and notes, and let the new clinician plan the handoff. Don't stop or change testosterone on your own. Cancel in Rugiet's Member Portal before your next order processes, because Rugiet says processed orders can't be canceled.
- Check your next Rugiet processing date. Rugiet says orders can't be canceled once the medication has been processed.5
- Request your records. Ask Rugiet for your lab results, visit notes and prescription history.
- Confirm the new provider serves your state — in writing, before you pay.
- Tell the new clinician exactly what you're prescribed and when you last took it. Let them decide how to handle the transition. Don't stop, restart or adjust testosterone yourself.
- Ask whether you'll need new baseline labs, and whether they'll be early-morning and fasting.
- Raise fertility before the first prescription, even if you've already been on TRT.
- Get your 12-month cost in writing, including renewal price and refill-notice timing.
- Cancel Rugiet in the Member Portal: My Prescriptions → "Skip a month or cancel your plan" → Cancel.5 Save the confirmation. Rugiet's support line is (855) 581-9620.
Switching now? Male Excel says it regularly takes patients from other TRT clinics and rebuilds their plan through its own onboarding.8
👉 Review Male Excel's current switching, pricing and state requirements — its public page says men already on TRT can transition through its onboarding process.
What should I ask any Rugiet alternative before I pay?
Ask for the all-in 12-month price, the renewal price, how cancellation works, whether diagnosis uses two early-morning tests, how fertility is handled, and whether your testosterone is FDA-approved or compounded. Get the answers in writing before your card is charged.
Copy this list:
- What is my total cost for the first 12 months, including shipping, membership and every lab?
- What does it cost after the first plan ends?
- How many days' notice do I get before a refill charges?
- How do I cancel, and what's refunded mid-plan?
- Will my diagnosis use two early-morning fasting tests on a standardized assay?
- Will you check free testosterone, SHBG and LH if my result is borderline?
- Which safety labs will you monitor, and how often will my clinician repeat them based on my age, treatment and risk factors?
- What happens to my fertility, and when would you send me to a specialist?
- Is my testosterone FDA-approved or compounded, and which pharmacy fills it?
- Who is my prescribing clinician, and are they licensed in my state?
Treat these as reasons to stop and ask harder questions: a testosterone prescription before a credible diagnostic workup; a diagnosis based on one result alone; guaranteed outcome claims; pressure to prepay before material terms are clear; no pharmacy disclosure when it matters to the prescription; or fertility concerns waved off.
What did we actually verify?
We read each company's own price, state, lab and policy pages, calculated published starting-cost examples on the same 12-month frame where the inputs allowed it, and separated what we verified from what companies claim. This is public-source editorial research, not a hands-on review. Commercial relationships do not determine the recommendation.
Verification date: September 24, 2026.
Sources we opened ourselves: Rugiet's TRT, injectable, topical and oral pages and two Rugiet help-center articles; Male Excel's homepage and pricing page; Hone's Plus membership page and membership payment breakdown; Taurus's $49 offer page and live Terms of Service; Henry Meds' TRT page; the DEA/HHS telemedicine extension; the Endocrine Society's July 2026 statement and guideline resources; the American Urological Association's ED guideline; FDA documents on compounding and enclomiphene; .
| Type of claim | What it covers here |
|---|---|
| Verified on company pages | State lists (Rugiet, Male Excel); start fees; published monthly prices; plan lengths; Male Excel's and Taurus's advertised guarantees; Rugiet's outside-lab rule; Hone's test steps and prices; Rugiet cancellation steps; Taurus's recurring-fee clause |
| Company says, not independently confirmed | What's included in each price; lab contents; clinician credentials; support hours; patient counts; which pharmacy fills prescriptions |
| Primary medical and legal sources | Diagnosis standards, fertility guidance, FDA status of compounded drugs and enclomiphene, the temporary telemedicine rule |
| Customer-experience signals | None used to establish a material policy or medical conclusion on this page |
| Our editorial conclusions | "Best for" fits and the published starting-cost math, built from the facts above |
What we could not confirm: which Rugiet plan length earns the $139 starting rate; Rugiet's mid-plan TRT refund treatment; whether Rugiet's injectable and topical testosterone are compounded; a complete current public TRT state list for Taurus, Hone and Henry Meds from the pages reviewed; whether Taurus's general $17.99 recurring fee applies to the $149 offer that says "No membership fees"; how Taurus's "Excel Advantage" wording relates to Male Excel; and the dispensing pharmacy for every possible prescription.
What we did not do: buy treatment, open an account, submit an intake, contact support, or test a cancellation with any company named here. We didn't verify individual clinician or pharmacy licenses.
Our documented method is How We Review TRT Providers. It separates verified facts, provider-stated facts, customer-experience signals and editorial conclusions, and it calculates complete cost instead of repeating a teaser price. We don't give providers numeric scores, and being listed here isn't an endorsement.
What would change our verdict: Rugiet adding month-to-month billing or new states; Male Excel changing its guarantee or state list; Taurus reconciling its fee and pricing terms.
Rugiet alternatives FAQ
Is Rugiet legit? Rugiet is a real telehealth company that displays LegitScript certification and requires a live video visit before prescribing testosterone. "Legit" isn't the same as "right for you," though. Check its state list, plan terms and outside-lab rule against your situation.12
How much does Rugiet TRT cost? Rugiet's main TRT hub shows a $69 lab fee, while current injectable and topical pages show $49. TRT plans start "as low as $139 a month" and the injectable page offers 3-, 6- or 12-month plans. A simple 12-month floor is therefore $1,717–$1,737, but Rugiet does not say which plan length gets the $139 starting rate.123
Which states does Rugiet TRT not serve? As of September 24, 2026: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and South Carolina. Male Excel serves 8 of those.18
Does Rugiet accept outside labs? No. Rugiet says all baseline and follow-up labs must go through its own testing process so results are measured the same way.1
Can I cancel Rugiet anytime? You can cancel in the Member Portal, but Rugiet says orders can't be canceled once the medication has been processed. Ask how a mid-plan cancellation is billed before you choose a plan length.5
What's cheaper than Rugiet for TRT? Among the published starting prices in this comparison, Henry Meds advertises compounded TRT starting at $129 a month, or about $1,548 over 12 months. Hone's membership comes to $1,710 before medication. Local care may cost less or more depending on insurance, laboratory coverage, the prescribed FDA-approved product and pharmacy pricing.1014
Is Male Excel better than Rugiet? For men who prefer Male Excel's no-contract model, or who live in one of the 8 Rugiet-excluded states that Male Excel's current FAQ serves, Male Excel may fit better. On the published starting-price examples, Rugiet's illustrative floor is lower: about $1,717–$1,737 versus about $2,727 plus shipping for Male Excel's quoted injectable package and membership.89
Is enclomiphene the same as TRT? No. Enclomiphene isn't testosterone. It's meant to raise your body's own production, and it has never been FDA-approved for any use. It also doesn't come with a guarantee that fertility is protected.20
Is compounded testosterone FDA-approved? No. The FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and aren't reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality before marketing. Rugiet identifies its oral TRT as compounded; Male Excel and Taurus describe compounded hormone offerings; and Hone marks its cream and troche as compounded.48101119
Do I need an in-person visit for online TRT? Not always, for now. A DEA/HHS extension allows controlled medicines to be prescribed through qualifying telemedicine without a prior in-person visit through December 31, 2026. State law or a company's policy can still require one.18
Does insurance cover Rugiet or its alternatives? The online programs compared here publish cash-pay pricing rather than billing the TRT subscription through insurance. Male Excel says it does not accept insurance and that HSA/FSA reimbursement may apply; Taurus says many of its treatments and tests are not easily covered by traditional insurance. Insurance coverage for visits, labs and FDA-approved testosterone through local care depends on the reader's plan.811
Can I switch from Rugiet to another provider? Yes. Male Excel and Taurus both say they accept men already on TRT. Line up the new provider first, get your Rugiet records, and let the new clinician manage the handoff rather than stopping on your own.811
Is one low testosterone test enough to start TRT? No. The Endocrine Society says diagnosis should rest on at least two early-morning, fasting tests plus symptoms or signs. Hone is the only program here that publishes a second test as a standard step.1015
Still not sure which way to go?
If you've read this far, you probably know your row already. Maybe it's Male Excel because you're done with plans. Maybe it's Hone because you want the diagnosis done right. Maybe it's your own doctor because your insurance is good and your labs are already in hand. Or maybe it's staying put with Rugiet — that's a fine answer too, if the fit is right.
Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.
Find My TRT Path is educational and non-diagnostic. It doesn't diagnose low testosterone, decide medical eligibility, guarantee a prescription, or replace a clinician.
Keep reading: TRT cost guide · Male Excel cost · Taurus Meds cost · Cheapest testosterone cream online · TRT blood tests · TRT and fertility · Online vs. local TRT · Treatment options
Last verified: September 2026. Prices, state lists, policies and telemedicine rules change. The offer live when you read this may differ from what we checked on September 24, 2026. Spot something that changed? Tell us through corrections and provider updates. Read our editorial standards and privacy policy.
Educational information, not medical advice.
Sources
- Rugiet — TRT hub page: plans, $69 lab fee, outside-lab rule, state list, enclomiphene claims, FAQ. Checked September 24, 2026.
- Rugiet — Injectable TRT: $49 test, 3/6/12-month plans, live audio-video visit requirement, fertility FAQ. Checked September 24, 2026.
- Rugiet — Topical TRT: $69 test, plans from $139, monitoring included. Checked September 24, 2026.
- Rugiet — Oral TRT: "compounded drug product," $69 test. Checked September 24, 2026.
- Rugiet Help Center — How do I cancel my order or subscription? Updated March 10, 2026.
- Rugiet Help Center — Can I change, pause, or cancel my membership plan?
- Business Wire — "Men's Health Company Rugiet Expands Into Testosterone Therapy," March 10, 2026.
- Male Excel — homepage: membership, states, guarantee, lab kit, switching, pause, support hours, ED medications, safety information. Checked September 24, 2026.
- Male Excel — Hormone Treatment Costs: $99 consultation, $120 injectable, $132 cream, thyroid in quoted price, refill reminders, no contract. Checked September 24, 2026.
- Hone Health Help Center — Hone Plus Membership: tests, confirmatory testing, $135/month, medication prices. Updated September 10, 2026. Also: Men's HRT Membership Payment Breakdown (cancel at any time).
- Taurus Meds — $49 testosterone offer page. Checked September 24, 2026.
- Taurus Meds — Terms of Service (§7 subscriptions, §8 refunds, §28 healthcare member fees). Rechecked September 24, 2026.
- Taurus Meds — Subscription Services Cancellation and Refund Policy. Reviewed September 2026; current Terms control the general subscription language cited in this article.
- Henry Meds — Testosterone Therapy: $129 compounded starting price, $179 Kyzatrex, inclusions, ages, sourcing and cancellation language. Checked September 24, 2026. Also: Henry landing page for additional program presentation.
- Endocrine Society — Statement on Testosterone Replacement Therapy, July 16, 2026.
- Endocrine Society — Testosterone Therapy for Hypogonadism Guideline Resources.
- American Urological Association — Erectile Dysfunction Guideline (Statements 3, 4 and 12).
- DEA — Fourth Temporary Extension of COVID-19 Telemedicine Flexibilities for Prescription of Controlled Medications (through December 31, 2026). See also the Federal Register temporary-extension rule.
- FDA — Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers.
- FDA — Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, June 8, 2022: enclomiphene citrate. Also: final summary minutes.
- Operation Supplement Safety (Uniformed Services University) — Clomiphene and enclomiphene: drugs, not dietary supplements.