Taurus Meds vs NuForm Health: Which Online TRT Costs Less—and Which One Fits You?
Compare Taurus Meds and NuForm Health on published treatment costs, lab work, refunds, pharmacy disclosures and the questions to ask before paying.
Last updated: September 28, 2026
By TRT Provider Guide · Last verified: September 2026 · Sources checked September 27–28, 2026 · Editorial research, not clinician-reviewed
Taurus Meds vs NuForm Health comes down to how you want to pay and what the written offer actually includes. Taurus advertises a $49 blood test and consult, then $149 a month if prescribed. NuForm lists a $170 annual physician fee, separate labs, and prepaid testosterone kits from $200 for four months—but its own TRT page also shows a different five-month kit.
NuForm publishes the lower medication-kit price. Taurus publishes the smaller first step.
That second part is the one most people miss. It's also why the cheaper-looking company isn't automatically the right one for you. We'll put the two billing models on the same page, show what's non-refundable at every step, and give you the three questions that close each company's gaps before you pay.
Pick NuForm Health if: your low testosterone has been properly evaluated, you're comfortable with injections, and the written NuForm quote confirms the kit, lab cost, physician fee, and pharmacy arrangement you expect.
Pick Taurus Meds if: you want the smaller published first payment, prefer monthly billing after the initial evaluation, or want to ask about a non-injection option such as a gel.
Pick neither yet if: you're trying to have a baby soon, you need an FDA-approved product or insurance-first care, or your low testosterone hasn't been properly confirmed.
Educational information, not medical advice. If you have chest pain, trouble breathing, sudden weakness, or trouble speaking, call 911.
TRT Provider Guide is the independent decision resource for testosterone replacement therapy — helping U.S. adults understand how low testosterone is evaluated, compare online and local care models and providers, and choose the next step that fits their health needs, fertility plans, budget, state, and care preferences, with every material claim verified and dated.
Affiliate disclosure: TRT Provider Guide has affiliate relationships with Taurus Meds and Male Excel. We may earn a commission if you start care through qualifying partner links. We earn nothing from NuForm Health or Hone Health. Those relationships do not change the prices, conflicts, or limitations below. Read our affiliate disclosure.
Taurus Meds vs NuForm Health at a glance
Taurus Meds and NuForm Health both market online testosterone replacement therapy (TRT) for cash, but they're built differently. Taurus advertises a $49 blood test and consult followed by $149 monthly treatment if prescribed. NuForm separates a $170 annual physician fee, lab costs, and prepaid multi-month medication kits.
Everything in this table comes from each company's public pages, checked September 27–28, 2026. The last column is the part that matters most. It lists what neither company settles clearly in public, so you know what to get in writing.
| Taurus Meds | NuForm Health | What to confirm before you pay | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Start cost | $49 blood test + consult on its TRT offer page. Its homepage separately advertises a free testosterone test. | $0 intake form. Public pages then describe a $170 physician fee plus bloodwork starting at $95; a $195 male comprehensive panel is also listed. | Which entry price and lab panel apply to you |
| Medication price | $149/month, described as "all inclusive" on the $49 offer page | $200 per four-month injectable kit ($50/month equivalent). The same TRT page also shows $295 per five-month kit ($59/month equivalent). | Taurus: whether the fee below applies. NuForm: which kit you're actually quoted |
| Recurring fee | Terms describe a $17.99 fee "per billing period." The $49 offer page says no membership fees. | No monthly subscription is advertised; NuForm's "Why Nuform" page calls the $170 physician fee annual, while its homepage calls it one time. | Get the exact renewal terms in writing |
| Published-price year-one model | $1,837 for $49 + 12 × $149, before any unresolved fee, follow-up labs, shipping, tax, or other extras | No single verified total. Using the published four-month kit, annual fee, and one initial lab gives $865–$965 before repeat labs, shipping, tax, or extras. Using the five-month kit requires three kit purchases to cover 12 months, putting cash paid at $1,150–$1,250 before repeat labs, shipping, tax, or extras while buying 15 months of medication. | Follow-up lab cost, shipping, tax, kit choice, and other patient-specific charges |
| Money committed by first medication purchase | Under the offer-page sequence, about $198 before any applicable $17.99 fee. Taurus's refund policy describes the first subscription charge as occurring when intake is completed, so exact charge timing needs confirmation. | Published components total about $465–$660 using the $170 fee, a $95–$195 initial lab, and a $200–$295 kit. | Exact charge sequence and refund point |
| How you're billed | Public materials describe a recurring monthly subscription that renews until canceled | NuForm says medication is sold in prepaid multi-month kits rather than a monthly subscription | Exact payment dates |
| Treatment formats listed | The $49 page lists testosterone cypionate and testosterone gel among its hormone options | The TRT page lists injectable testosterone | The exact product you'd receive |
| FDA-approved or compounded? | The $49 page says its hormones are compounded; the homepage separately advertises "FDA-approved medications." The exact patient product is not identified publicly. | NuForm describes its TRT as compounded and says medications come from U.S.-based 503A pharmacies | Exact product, manufacturer/compounder, and dispensing pharmacy |
| Pharmacy named? | Four partner pharmacies are named in the Terms, but not which one fills a given prescription | No dispensing pharmacy is named on the checked TRT pages | Your dispensing pharmacy |
| Who treats you | Taurus says licensed clinicians provide care through its partner structure; its Terms name OpenLoop Health as partner MSO | NuForm publicly names physicians and a physician assistant and says patients are assigned a provider and specialist | Your actual prescriber's name, credential, and state authorization |
| States served | No complete public TRT state list found | No complete public state list; NuForm's Terms say services may not be available in every state | Your state, before paying |
| Insurance | Public cash-pay pricing is clear; insurance billing for this offer was not established from the pages we checked | Public cash-pay pricing is clear; insurance billing for this offer was not established from the pages we checked | Whether either provider bills your plan or supplies reimbursement documentation |
| Trustpilot, checked Sept. 28, 2026 | 4.3 from 911 reviews; no recent history of asking for reviews | 4.9 from 1,184 reviews; invites customers to review | See why these numbers are not a clinical scoreboard below |
All figures are published prices and our calculations built from them. They are not checkout quotes.
The right TRT provider is not the same for every person — it depends on whether low testosterone has been properly evaluated, your symptoms and health history, your fertility plans, your state, your insurance or cash-pay preference, your treatment-format preference, your budget, and whether online or in-person care is the better starting point. Some situations belong with primary care, urology, endocrinology, reproductive urology, or urgent or emergency care when the symptoms warrant it. Because a general answer cannot resolve those for you, use TRT Provider Guide's Find My TRT Path tool to map your situation to the right care route and the questions to ask before you pay.
Find My TRT Path is educational and non-diagnostic. It doesn't confirm low testosterone, decide whether you qualify, or guarantee a prescription.
Which is cheaper, Taurus Meds or NuForm Health?
NuForm publishes the lower medication-kit price, but its public pages do not support one clean all-in first-year number. Taurus's advertised-rate model is $1,837 for the $49 start plus twelve $149 treatment payments. NuForm's known year-one cash depends on which of its conflicting kit offers applies, which lab panel is required, and what repeat testing costs.
"$49" and "$50 a month" sound like the same kind of deal. They aren't. One is an initial testing-and-consult price. The other is a four-month medication kit divided by four. So the honest comparison starts with the cash each company actually says it collects.
Your money, scenario by scenario
| Published-price scenario | Taurus Meds | NuForm Health |
|---|---|---|
| Initial evaluation / physician + one initial lab | $49 | $265 with $95 starting lab; $365 with $195 comprehensive panel |
| Medication structure | $149 each month if prescribed | $200/four-month kit or $295/five-month kit on the same TRT page |
| Medication cash needed to cover 12 treatment months | $1,788 | $600 with three four-month kits; $885 with three five-month kits, which buys 15 months |
| Published-price subtotal before repeat labs, shipping, tax, and unresolved extras | $1,837 | $865–$965 on the four-month-kit path; $1,150–$1,250 in cash paid on the five-month-kit path |
| Additional unresolved charge | $17.99 "per billing period" in Terms unless the purchase states otherwise; the $49 page says no membership fees | Repeat-lab cost and exact kit applicability are not reconciled on the public pages |
How we built this. This is our own model from each company's published prices.
- Taurus: $49 at the start, then $149 each month once treatment is prescribed. Section 28 of Taurus's Terms separately describes a $17.99 recurring membership fee per billing period unless the purchase states otherwise. Because the $49 offer says no membership fees, we do not add that fee to the base total as though it were confirmed.
- NuForm, four-month-kit path: $170 annual physician fee + one $95 or $195 initial lab + three $200 kits = $865 or $965 before repeat labs, shipping, tax, and other patient-specific costs.
- NuForm, five-month-kit path: $170 + one $95 or $195 initial lab + three $295 kits = $1,150 or $1,250 in cash paid to maintain uninterrupted coverage through month 12. That third kit also buys medication beyond month 12.
- Left out of both: any unpublished shipping or tax, extra tests, different medication, add-ons, and patient-specific charges.
- Unknown at Taurus: whether the $17.99 fee applies to this TRT offer and what follow-up testing costs.
- Unknown at NuForm: which kit governs a new patient's TRT purchase, what repeat labs cost, and whether any other required charge appears during intake.
Your clinician sets your real testing schedule and prescription, so treat these as published-price scenarios, not quotes.
What NuForm's "$50 a month" really means
It means a $200 kit that NuForm says covers four months, paid up front. The $170 physician fee and bloodwork are separate. NuForm's "Why Nuform" page says medication is billed in three- or four-month kits rather than a monthly subscription.
NuForm's TRT page prices its four-month kit using a stated 200 mg/week basis. That is a pricing description from NuForm, not a dose recommendation from us. Your prescriber decides whether testosterone is appropriate and what regimen, if any, fits your medical situation. Ask how long the actual kit will last at the prescription you receive.
NuForm's same TRT page also shows a five-month kit for $295 ($59/month equivalent). That's a different price and duration on the same page. Ask which one you're being quoted. Our NuForm Health TRT cost guide breaks down the components in more detail.
What Taurus's "$149, all inclusive" really means
Taurus's $49 offer page says treatment is $149 a month "all inclusive," with "no membership fees." Section 28 of its Terms of Service says something different. It describes a recurring membership fee of $17.99 "per billing period," charged automatically unless your purchase states otherwise.
Those statements do not tell a new buyer whether the $17.99 fee applies to this exact TRT offer. If a $17.99 fee were charged monthly, it would add $215.88 over 12 billing periods. That is a conditional calculation, not a confirmed Taurus charge. Our Taurus Meds cost guide walks through every line.
Already comfortable with injections and looking for the lower published medication-kit price? See NuForm's current TRT kit page →
This is not a partner link. We earn nothing from NuForm.
How much money is at risk before you know whether either program fits?
Taurus publishes a smaller first-step price, but its documents conflict on exactly when the first subscription charge occurs. NuForm's published components put roughly $465–$660 on the table by the time the physician fee, one initial lab, and a first listed kit have been purchased. The refund rules matter because medication becomes non-refundable quickly at both companies.
This is the part nobody else lays out. A lower yearly subtotal doesn't help much if you're still in the evaluation stage. So here's what each company says you can and can't get back at each step.
The cash-at-risk timeline
| Step | Taurus Meds: what the public pages say | Taurus: refund position | NuForm Health: what the public pages say | NuForm: refund position |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Online intake / start | $49 test + consult on the offer page. The separate refund policy says the first month of a Subscription Service is charged when intake is completed. | The refund policy says medical disqualification triggers a refund; the Terms separately say blood-work tests are non-refundable once submitted. | $0 intake form, then a $170 physician fee | Physician fee remains refundable until consultation begins; for hormone patients, NuForm says it remains refundable until bloodwork is completed |
| 2. Labs | Offer page ties testing to the $49 start; Taurus says Labcorp or Quest is used and says an at-home kit is sent at no extra charge when the patient is more than 50 miles from either | Terms say no refunds on blood-work tests once the order is submitted | Bloodwork starts at $95; a $195 male comprehensive panel is also listed | Bloodwork is refundable until completion, not after |
| 3. Not a candidate | — | Refund policy says medical disqualification receives a refund, but the blood-work language above leaves the $49 allocation unclear | — | NuForm says the physician fee is refunded in full; completed labs are not |
| 4. First medication purchase | $149 monthly advertised treatment price; possible $17.99 fee remains unresolved for this offer | Taurus says shipped medication sales are final | $200 four-month kit or $295 five-month kit shown on the TRT page | Medication orders are final at purchase / once ordered with the pharmacy |
| Published components committed by first medication purchase | Under the offer-page sequence, about $198 before any applicable fee; exact charge timing needs confirmation because the refund policy says the first subscription month is charged at intake | About $465–$660, depending on the initial lab and kit shown | ||
| 5. You want to stop | Taurus says a subscription can be canceled, with notice required at least 72 hours before the next billing date | No refund on ordinary cancellation; future renewal stops after the applicable paid term | NuForm says there is no recurring medication subscription to cancel; you don't reorder | Medication already bought remains final |
What about the guarantee?
Taurus's $49 offer page advertises a 90-day refund promise if a customer does not see what it calls "serious results," minus lab and pharmacy fees. Its separate refund policy says there is no guarantee of results or effectiveness and limits refunds on ordinary cancellation. Those documents do not give a clean answer about how the marketing guarantee and subscription policy interact, so ask Taurus which written terms govern the exact TRT offer before relying on the guarantee.
We did not find an equivalent results guarantee in NuForm's checked refund policy. It instead directs patients who are unhappy with treatment response to their health specialist.
Neither marketing promise is evidence that testosterone will work for you.
Want the smaller published first step? Taurus currently advertises a $49 blood test and clinician review before its $149 monthly treatment price. See Taurus's current TRT offer →
Partner relationship disclosed above. A clinician decides whether any medication is appropriate. Ask when the first $149 charge occurs and whether the $17.99 fee applies before you submit payment.
Which one fits you?
The better fit depends on how you want to pay, which treatment format you want, and whether low testosterone has already been properly evaluated. NuForm publishes the lower testosterone-kit price. Taurus publishes the smaller initial payment and a monthly treatment price, but its fee and charge-timing documents need to be reconciled before you count on that flexibility.
Find your line below.
- Your low testosterone has been properly evaluated, you're fine with injections, and the lower published medication-kit price matters most → start by comparing NuForm's written quote. Its public kit prices are lower than Taurus's $149 monthly medication figure, but the applicable NuForm kit and repeat-lab cost still need confirmation.
- You want the smallest published first payment before a long medication commitment → start by looking at Taurus. Its TRT offer is $49 for testing and clinician review, subject to the charge-timing conflict in its refund policy.
- You'd rather use a gel than shots → ask Taurus about the gel listed on its TRT page. NuForm's checked TRT page lists injectable testosterone. Want a cream? See if neither fits.
- You live far from a Labcorp or Quest location → Taurus says it sends an at-home kit at no extra charge if you're more than 50 miles away. That is provider-stated; we did not test the process ourselves.
- You want a provider-and-specialist team with published four-week check-ins → NuForm describes that model. We did not test response time or continuity ourselves.
- You want to see a detailed comprehensive lab-marker list before you pay → NuForm publishes the biomarkers in its $195 male comprehensive panel. The exact markers in its $95 starting bloodwork were not established from the current lab page we checked.
- You're trying to have a baby soon → neither TRT offer should be your first price decision. Start with a reproductive urologist or fertility-aware clinician. See the fertility section.
- You need an FDA-approved product or want insurance-first care → neither public cash-pay offer settles that need. See the other care routes.
- Your low testosterone hasn't been properly confirmed → neither yet. Get evaluated first. See the lab section.
The honest trade-off: Taurus doesn't win on published medication price
Taurus does not have the lower published medication price. NuForm's current TRT page shows injectable kits at $50 or $59 per month equivalent, while Taurus advertises $149 per month if prescribed. But NuForm's page also conflicts on which kit structure applies, so an honest comparison stops short of promising one universal annual savings number.
We'd rather tell you this than have you find it on your own.
Taurus does not win the medication-price comparison. If your actual NuForm quote uses the $200 four-month kit and you remain on that exact structure, NuForm's published medication cash is far lower than twelve $149 Taurus payments.
But because Taurus advertises monthly treatment billing, the structure can put less medication money at risk at one time than a prepaid NuForm kit. The catch is that Taurus's refund policy says the first Subscription Service charge begins when intake is completed, while the TRT offer reads like testing comes first. Get the charge sequence in writing instead of assuming the friendliest version.
There's one more thing to settle before you pay a cent. Neither company publishes a complete current TRT state list on the pages we checked. Rule that out first.
If smaller staged payments matter more to you than the lowest published medication-kit price: Check Taurus's current TRT offer and ask it to confirm your state and billing sequence →
Partner relationship disclosed above. Our Taurus Meds state availability guide explains what we could and couldn't confirm.
Do Taurus Meds and NuForm Health use FDA-approved testosterone?
NuForm describes its TRT as compounded. Taurus's $49 offer page also describes compounded hormones, while the Taurus homepage separately advertises "FDA-approved medications." That means you should not assume the exact testosterone product is FDA-approved or compounded from the brand name alone. Ask for the exact product and dispensing pharmacy.
Here's what those words mean.
- FDA-approved drug means FDA reviewed that specific finished product for safety, effectiveness, and manufacturing quality before approval.
- Compounded drug means a pharmacy or other permitted compounder prepares a medication for a patient or clinical need under the compounding laws that apply. FDA states plainly that compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and are not the same regulatory category as FDA-approved generic drugs.
Credit where it's due: NuForm's site says its TRT is dispensed through U.S.-based compounding pharmacies. Taurus's $49 page says its hormones are compounded in the U.S., while its homepage separately uses the broader phrase "FDA-approved medications." Ask which statement applies to the exact prescription you would receive.
Who fills the prescription?
| Taurus Meds | NuForm Health | |
|---|---|---|
| Pharmacies named | Four in its Terms: RedRock Pharmacy (UT), Health Warehouse (KY), Precision Compounding Pharmacy (NY), and Triad Rx (AL) | No dispensing pharmacy named on the checked TRT page |
| Which one fills yours | Not stated | Not stated |
| Pharmacy description | Depends on the actual prescription; Taurus's Terms name partners but do not identify the dispenser for a given patient | NuForm says all TRT medications are dispensed from U.S.-based 503A pharmacies; another portion of its page uses the phrase "503a and b certified" without naming a facility |
A 503A pharmacy generally compounds patient-specific prescriptions under the conditions in Section 503A and state pharmacy oversight. A 503B outsourcing facility is a different federal category that registers with FDA and is subject to additional federal requirements. FDA does not "approve" compounded drug products simply because a facility is a 503B outsourcing facility, and registration is not proof that a compounded drug itself is FDA-approved.
Ask each company for the exact medication, whether it is an FDA-approved commercial product or a compounded preparation, the dispensing pharmacy, and the pharmacy's license information. See our guide to FDA-approved testosterone products and our compounded testosterone provider comparison.
Testosterone is a controlled substance
Testosterone is a Schedule III controlled substance under federal law. It requires a valid prescription from a practitioner who is legally authorized to prescribe it. That's true whether care starts online or in person. There's no legitimate questionnaire-only workaround.
Which company tells you more before you pay?
NuForm publishes more detail about its named care team and its $195 comprehensive lab panel. Taurus publishes more about its partner pharmacies and a simple $149 monthly treatment price, but its own pages conflict on the $17.99 fee, entry price, refund treatment, and charge timing. Neither company publishes a complete state list or the exact patient-specific product and pharmacy before treatment.
We asked the same 16 questions a careful buyer needs answered and checked both companies' public pages for each one.
✅ = published · ⚠️ = published, but the company's own pages conflict or leave a material qualifier unresolved · ❌ = not published on the checked pages
| Question | Taurus Meds | NuForm Health |
|---|---|---|
| What does it cost to start? | ⚠️ $49 on the TRT offer page; homepage separately advertises a free testosterone test | ⚠️ Homepage calls the $170 physician fee "one time"; "Why Nuform" calls it annual. Bloodwork starts at $95; $195 comprehensive panel also listed |
| What's the medication price? | ✅ $149/month if prescribed on the $49 page | ⚠️ $200/four-month and $295/five-month testosterone kits on the same TRT page |
| Is there a recurring membership/provider fee? | ⚠️ "No membership fees" on the offer vs. $17.99 per billing period in Terms | ⚠️ No monthly subscription advertised, but a $170 annual physician fee is stated on "Why Nuform" |
| What do initial labs cost? | ✅ $49 offer includes the blood test and clinician review | ✅ Starting at $95; $195 male comprehensive panel also published |
| Which lab markers are tested? | ❌ Not clearly listed for the $49 TRT test on the checked offer page | ⚠️ Detailed markers are listed for the $195 comprehensive panel; the $95 starting panel was not fully specified on the checked lab page |
| What do follow-up labs cost? | ❌ | ❌ NuForm recommends repeat testing after 3–4 months but does not publish the repeat-panel price on the TRT page |
| What exact product will I get? | ❌ | ❌ |
| FDA-approved or compounded? | ⚠️ $49 page says compounded hormones; homepage advertises "FDA-approved medications" | ✅ TRT page describes compounded medication |
| Which pharmacy fills it? | ⚠️ Four partner pharmacies named, not which one fills yours | ❌ |
| Who prescribes? | ⚠️ Licensed clinicians described; OpenLoop Health named as partner MSO; your individual prescriber isn't published | ⚠️ Named physicians and PA leadership plus an assigned-provider model; your individual prescriber isn't known before assignment |
| Which states? | ❌ | ❌ |
| Refund if I'm not approved? | ⚠️ Refund policy says medical disqualification receives a refund; Terms say blood-work tests are non-refundable once submitted | ✅ Physician fee refunded if provider decides you are not a candidate; completed labs are not refundable |
| Refund on medication? | ✅ Shipped medication sales final | ✅ Medication orders final at purchase / once ordered with pharmacy |
| How do I cancel future billing? | ✅ At least 72 hours before the next billing date under the refund policy | ✅ NuForm says there is no recurring medication subscription; do not reorder |
| Insurance / reimbursement? | ❌ Insurance billing for this TRT offer not established from checked pages | ❌ Insurance billing for this TRT offer not established from checked pages |
| How fast does it ship? | ⚠️ Taurus gives estimated timelines on its marketing pages, but we did not test fulfillment | ⚠️ NuForm publishes several delivery estimates across its pages, including 1–10 and 7–10 business days |
Where each company contradicts itself
These aren't accusations. Websites drift, old copy hangs around, and different plans can use different terms. But each conflict can change what you pay, so here's the one question that settles each.
| Company | One page says | Another page says | Ask this |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taurus | "No membership fees" ($49 page) | $17.99 per billing period (Terms, Section 28) | "Does my checkout include the $17.99 fee? If so, how often?" |
| Taurus | $49 test and consult ($49 page) | Free testosterone test (homepage) | "Which entry price applies to this TRT offer?" |
| Taurus | Medical disqualification gets a refund (refund policy) | Blood-work tests are non-refundable once submitted (Terms) | "If I'm not approved, exactly how much of my payment is refunded?" |
| Taurus | $49 page presents testing before the $149 treatment charge | Refund policy says the first month of a Subscription Service is charged when intake is completed | "When exactly is my first $149 charged?" |
| Taurus | Compounded hormones ($49 page) | "FDA-approved medications" (homepage) | "What exact product would I receive, and is that product FDA-approved or compounded?" |
| NuForm | $170 "one time" (homepage) | $170 annual physician fee ("Why Nuform") | "Will I pay $170 again next year?" |
| NuForm | $200 four-month kit | $295 five-month kit on the same TRT page | "Which kit am I being quoted?" |
| NuForm | $120 one-month testosterone + hCG/gonadorelin kit | The same TRT block says NuForm does not do monthly prescriptions or subscription plans | "How is the $120 kit actually billed and renewed?" |
| NuForm | "No monthly subscription" | $170 annual physician fee | "What exactly does the $170 cover, and when does it renew?" |
One small note worth preserving: Taurus's $49 page says its hormones are compounded "specifically for The Excel Advantage HRT program." The Excel Advantage is Male Excel's program name. We don't know why that copy appears on Taurus's page. It is another reason to ask which product, program, pharmacy, and terms actually apply to you.
What labs does each company require?
Taurus's $49 offer includes an initial blood test and clinician review, but the checked offer page does not give a complete marker list. NuForm says bloodwork starts at $95 and separately publishes a $195 male comprehensive panel with a detailed marker list. Medical guidance still requires symptoms or signs plus consistently low testosterone confirmed with repeat morning testing before diagnosing hypogonadism.
| Taurus Meds | NuForm Health | |
|---|---|---|
| First test | Included in the $49 TRT offer | Bloodwork starts at $95; $195 male comprehensive panel also listed |
| Where | Taurus says Labcorp or Quest; it says an at-home kit is sent if you are more than 50 miles from either | NuForm says patients are scheduled for lab work at a location near them; its $195 panel is fulfilled through Quest |
| Markers named publicly? | Not clearly on the $49 TRT offer page | Yes for the $195 comprehensive panel |
| PSA | Not stated for the Taurus $49 test | Included in NuForm's published $195 comprehensive panel; we did not establish whether it is included in the $95 starting bloodwork |
| Repeat testing | Not established on the checked Taurus TRT offer page | NuForm recommends repeat lab work 3–4 months after starting therapy; repeat price not published on the TRT page |
A few terms, in plain words:
- Total testosterone is all the testosterone measured in your blood. Free testosterone is the smaller portion not bound tightly to proteins.
- LH (luteinizing hormone) and FSH (follicle-stimulating hormone) are signals involved in testicular function and can help a clinician investigate why testosterone is low.
- Hematocrit is the percentage of your blood made up of red blood cells. Testosterone therapy can raise hematocrit, which is one reason clinicians monitor it.
- PSA (prostate-specific antigen) is a blood marker used as part of prostate assessment in appropriate patients.
NuForm's $195 male comprehensive panel publicly lists total testosterone, free testosterone, LH, FSH, estradiol, hematocrit, PSA, and many other markers.
One low number isn't a diagnosis
This matters more than which company you pick. The current Depo-Testosterone prescribing information says to confirm hypogonadism by measuring morning testosterone on at least two separate days before starting that FDA-approved product. The Endocrine Society likewise recommends diagnosing hypogonadism only when a man has compatible symptoms or signs plus unequivocally and consistently low testosterone, with confirmation by repeating a morning fasting total testosterone measurement.
No single number, including 300 ng/dL, is a diagnosis on its own.
So ask each company: "Do you require a second morning testosterone test before treatment when I don't already have qualifying repeat results, and what would that test cost?" Neither company's public pages gave us a complete answer for every new patient. Our TRT blood test guide explains the difference between diagnosis and monitoring. Our at-home vs. lab testosterone test comparison covers testing methods.
When specialist or in-person evaluation may matter more than an online provider comparison
The Endocrine Society recommends against starting testosterone therapy in several situations, including men planning fertility in the near term and men with breast or prostate cancer, elevated hematocrit, untreated severe obstructive sleep apnea, uncontrolled heart failure, a myocardial infarction or stroke within the prior six months, or thrombophilia, with additional prostate-related conditions requiring evaluation.
If one of those issues applies—or there is concern for pituitary, testicular, prostate, fertility, or other complex disease—primary care, urology, endocrinology, or reproductive urology may be the better starting point. Sudden severe symptoms belong in urgent or emergency care.
Who treats you, and how often do they check in?
NuForm names physician and physician-assistant leadership and says each patient gets an assigned provider and specialist, reachable by phone or text, with check-ins every four weeks. Taurus says it connects patients with licensed clinicians and names OpenLoop Health in its Terms as a partner MSO. Neither company's public pages tell you who your own prescriber will be before assignment.
| Taurus Meds | NuForm Health | |
|---|---|---|
| Company structure | Taurus Medical, Inc. says it is not itself a laboratory or medical provider | NuForm describes itself as physician-owned and operated and publicly names its clinical leadership |
| Clinical partner / practice structure | OpenLoop Health, Inc. is named in Taurus's Terms as partner MSO | NuForm's terms and about pages identify its medical-practice structure and named clinicians |
| Named clinicians | Taurus's checked TRT offer pages do not name the individual clinician who would treat you | Christopher Elia, DO; Shawn Achtman, DO; Romario Yousif, PA-C are publicly named |
| Visit format | Taurus's TRT offer describes online clinician review/consultation | NuForm describes specialist contact followed by provider care, with phone and text access |
| Follow-up cadence | Not clearly stated on the checked Taurus TRT offer page | Every four weeks, per NuForm |
These are provider-stated service features. We did not create accounts, test response times, or independently verify every individual clinician's current state authorization in this audit.
NuForm's site describes Dr. Christopher Elia as a physician and co-founder and publicly lists Dr. Shawn Achtman and Romario Yousif, PA-C. Those public bios do not tell you who will prescribe for you.
Whichever you choose, ask for your prescriber's full name, credential, and authorization to practice in the state where you are located for the visit. Then check it with the applicable state licensing board. Our guide to verifying a TRT provider's license shows the process.
Taurus Meds vs NuForm Health if you want kids
If you are planning fertility in the near term, neither company's TRT price should be your first decision. Exogenous testosterone can suppress sperm production, and the Endocrine Society recommends against starting testosterone therapy in men planning fertility soon. Start with a reproductive urologist or another fertility-aware clinician. No add-on or alternative pill guarantees fertility preservation.
Here's why. Taking testosterone from outside the body can suppress the hormonal signals involved in testicular testosterone and sperm production. The Depo-Testosterone label notes that spermatogenesis can be suppressed at high doses of exogenous androgens. The amount and recovery vary by person, so nobody can honestly promise either infertility or recovery on a set timeline.
| Taurus Meds | NuForm Health | |
|---|---|---|
| TRT formats publicly listed | Testosterone cypionate and testosterone gel on the $49 page | Injectable testosterone |
| Non-testosterone option listed | Enclomiphene | Enclomiphene |
| Testosterone + other hormone bundle | Not established on the checked Taurus TRT page | NuForm lists a testosterone + hCG/gonadorelin injectable kit at $120/month on its TRT page |
| What this proves about fertility | Nothing by itself | Nothing by itself |
Three things to know:
- Enclomiphene is not TRT. It is a selective estrogen receptor modulator-related drug that works differently from exogenous testosterone. FDA has not approved an enclomiphene drug product in the United States. Do not treat it as "natural TRT" or a guaranteed fertility-preserving substitute.
- hCG and gonadorelin are not the same drug. A testosterone bundle that includes one of them is not proof that fertility will be preserved. FDA notes that hCG transitioned to regulation as a biological product in 2020, which also changes how compounding law applies.
- This is a specialist decision. A price page cannot tell you whether TRT, a non-testosterone approach, fertility preservation, or another evaluation is right for you.
Planning a family? Map your fertility-first care route with Find My TRT Path → Then take those questions to a reproductive urologist. Our TRT and fertility guide explains what to ask.
Can you get Taurus Meds or NuForm Health in your state?
Neither company publishes a complete current TRT state list on the pages we checked, and NuForm's Terms say its services may not be available in every state. Federal telemedicine flexibilities currently allow qualifying controlled-substance prescribing without a prior in-person visit through December 31, 2026, but that does not mean either company can legally treat you where you are.
What to know:
- Where you are during the visit matters. HHS telehealth guidance says a telehealth appointment occurs in the state where the patient is located, and clinicians generally must be licensed or otherwise legally permitted to practice there.
- The federal temporary rule has a date on it. HHS and DEA extended the relevant telemedicine flexibilities for controlled medications through December 31, 2026. The prescription still has to meet federal and state law and come from an authorized practitioner for a legitimate medical purpose.
- A questionnaire is not a guaranteed prescription. A clinician must make the prescribing decision.
- Prepaid kits can extend beyond the current temporary-rule date. If you buy a multi-month kit late in 2026, ask what the provider expects for follow-up and future prescribing if federal or state requirements change. We are not predicting that remote care will end.
- Taurus: our Taurus Meds state availability guide covers what we could and couldn't confirm.
See also: can you get TRT online without an in-person visit?
Can you cancel, and what does the fine print say?
NuForm says there is no recurring medication subscription to cancel; you stop future medication purchases by not reordering, while medication already bought is final. Taurus uses recurring subscription billing and requires cancellation at least 72 hours before the next billing date. Both companies also publish dispute and liability terms worth reading before you pay.
We read both companies' terms so you don't have to. Here's what they say side by side.
| Fine print | Taurus Meds | NuForm Health |
|---|---|---|
| Terms last updated / revised | June 24, 2025 | June 9, 2023 on the checked Terms page |
| Auto-renewal | Yes for Taurus subscriptions until canceled | NuForm says no recurring medication subscription; its $170 physician fee is described elsewhere as annual |
| Cancellation window | At least 72 hours before the billing date under the refund policy | Don't reorder the next medication kit; ask separately about next year's physician fee |
| Medication refunds | Shipped medication sales final | Medication orders final at purchase / once ordered with pharmacy |
| Lab refunds | Taurus Terms say blood-work orders are non-refundable once submitted | Refundable until bloodwork is completed |
| Disputes | Binding arbitration; California law | Binding arbitration; Michigan law; small-claims language appears in the Terms |
| Taurus liability cap / NuForm site liability term | Taurus limits liability to the amount paid in the prior six months | NuForm's checked Terms contain their own limitation language; read the current version before relying on any cap |
| Privacy | Taurus Terms say the Services are not tailored to comply with HIPAA; read the separate privacy policy for the actual data practices | NuForm's footer makes broad data-sharing claims; read its current privacy policy rather than treating footer copy as a HIPAA promise |
We did not use displayed certification badges as proof of current third-party certification because we did not independently verify the providers in the certifier's own database.
More detail: Taurus Meds cancellation policy.
What do Taurus Meds and NuForm Health reviews say?
NuForm showed a 4.9 Trustpilot rating from 1,184 reviews when checked September 28, 2026. Taurus showed 4.3 from 911. The collection patterns differ: Trustpilot says NuForm invites customers to review, while Taurus has no recent history of asking for reviews. Neither score measures medical quality or whether TRT is right for you.
Star ratings look like a scoreboard. They aren't one here.
| Trustpilot, checked September 28, 2026 | NuForm Health | Taurus Meds |
|---|---|---|
| Rating and reviews | 4.9 from 1,184 | 4.3 from 911 |
| Does the company invite reviews? | Yes, positive or negative | No recent history, so Trustpilot warns reviews may not be representative |
| 5-star share | 97% | 76% |
| 1-star share | 1% | 12% |
| Replies to negative reviews | 55%, usually within a week | 1%, usually within 24 hours |
| Reviews in the last 12 months | 410 | 908 |
What this tells you. The collection methods are different enough that the 0.6-star gap is not a clean head-to-head service experiment. NuForm's invited review stream and Taurus's largely unprompted stream are not sampled the same way.
Two signals are still useful. Taurus's current profile has a much higher one-star share and very low negative-review reply rate. NuForm's recent reviews repeatedly mention fast communication and named care reps. Those are customer-experience signals, not proof of safety, effectiveness, or policy.
Two short, real examples:
A NuForm TRT patient named Bruce said he typically received "a helpful response within an hour." — Trustpilot, September 2026, labeled Invited
A Taurus customer named Andy noted "a blip between approval and knowing when I'd receive the medication." — Trustpilot, September 2026, Unprompted
These are one person's service experience each. They're not typical results, and they're not evidence about safety or whether treatment works. For a deeper look, see our NuForm review sample and our Taurus Meds reviews page.
If neither fits: cream, FDA-approved, or insurance
If you want a cream, neither comparison offer is a clean match: NuForm's checked TRT page is injection-focused, while Taurus lists a gel rather than a cream. Male Excel and Hone Health both publish compounded testosterone-cream options. If you specifically need an FDA-approved product or insurance-first care, start with a clinician who can prescribe that product and work with your coverage.
- You want a cream instead of shots. Male Excel, a TRT Provider Guide commercial partner, currently lists compounded testosterone cream starting at $132/month, with a required $99/month medical membership and medication billed in 60-day supplies. Hone Health, which we are not treating as an affiliate on this page, lists compounded testosterone cream at $60/month plus a $135/month membership. Confirm labs, shipping, state availability, and the exact written quote with either service.
- You need an FDA-approved product or want insurance-first care. A primary care clinician, urologist, endocrinologist, or other appropriate prescriber may be able to prescribe an FDA-approved testosterone product and work with your insurance, depending on your plan and medical situation. See online vs. local TRT care and TRT providers that take insurance.
- You're leaving one of these two. See NuForm Health alternatives, Taurus Meds alternatives, and how to switch TRT providers.
Prefer a compounded cream over injections or gel? Compare Male Excel's current testosterone cream pricing and care model →
Partner link. Treatment depends on a clinician's evaluation. Male Excel's cream is compounded, not FDA-approved.
What to ask Taurus Meds or NuForm Health before you pay
Three written questions close most of each company's public gaps. Send them before you pay, and keep the replies. If a company won't answer a material billing, pharmacy, or state-availability question in writing, you still do not have the information needed for a clean comparison.
Copy these, and fill in your state.
For Taurus Meds:
- "Does my checkout include the $17.99 membership fee in Section 28 of your Terms? If so, how often is it charged?"
- "If I'm medically disqualified, exactly how much is refunded, and when is my first $149 treatment charge actually taken?"
- "Which pharmacy would fill my prescription, what exact product would I receive, is it compounded or FDA-approved, and can your clinician treat me while I'm located in [state]?"
For NuForm Health:
- "Which testosterone kit am I being quoted: the $200 four-month kit or the $295 five-month kit? How much medication does my prescribed regimen make that kit cover?"
- "Is the $170 physician fee charged again next year, when does it become non-refundable, and what will my first and repeat labs cost?"
- "Which pharmacy would fill my prescription, is the medication compounded, and can your clinician treat me while I'm located in [state]?"
Then build your real number. Put each answer into one line:
First-year cash cost = every provider fee + every required lab + every medication purchase + shipping + tax + any other required charge
Write "unknown" for anything they didn't answer. Don't write $0. An unknown line is a question you still need answered. Our TRT cost calculator will add it up for you. For more questions worth asking, see questions to ask a TRT clinic.
Got your three questions ready? See Taurus's current TRT offer and ask before you pay → (partner relationship disclosed above)
Chose NuForm? Start with NuForm's public intake page → (not a partner link)
Starting an intake doesn't mean you qualify. A clinician makes the prescribing decision.
What we actually verified
We read both companies' public offer pages, terms, refund policies, lab pages, and Trustpilot profiles on September 27–28, 2026. We checked the medical and legal points against FDA compounding guidance, DailyMed prescribing information, Endocrine Society guidance, DEA scheduling information, HHS telehealth guidance, and the 2026 federal telemedicine extension. We did not buy treatment, complete a checkout, or contact either company.
Date checked: September 27–28, 2026
Sources checked:
- Taurus Meds: $49 TRT offer page, homepage, Terms of Service (updated June 24, 2025), and Subscription Services Cancellation and Refund Policy (updated February 28, 2026)
- NuForm Health: TRT page, homepage, "Why Nuform," Diagnostic Labs, refund policy, Terms & Conditions, and About Us
- Trustpilot: both current profiles
- Medical and legal: DailyMed Depo-Testosterone prescribing information, Endocrine Society testosterone-therapy guideline, FDA compounding guidance, DEA drug scheduling, HHS telehealth licensure guidance, and the HHS/DEA 2026 telemedicine extension
Verified from published pages: the prices, fee language, lab-panel prices, refund/cancellation wording, named Taurus partner pharmacies, named corporate/clinical entities, NuForm's public care-team names, and the current Trustpilot figures described above.
Provider-stated, not tested by us: response times, four-week NuForm check-ins, shipment estimates, Taurus's distance-based at-home kit policy, and each company's descriptions of its clinician-access model.
Customer-experience signals: the Trustpilot figures and the two quoted reviewers.
Our editorial conclusions: the fit calls, the damaging admission that Taurus does not win on published medication price, and the conclusion that Taurus has the smaller published first payment while NuForm publishes the lower medication-kit price. Those are judgments drawn from the documented facts above.
What we couldn't confirm:
- a complete current TRT state list for either company
- the exact patient-specific medication and dispensing pharmacy you'd receive
- a complete shipping-and-tax amount
- Taurus follow-up lab pricing
- whether Taurus's $17.99 fee applies to the $49 TRT offer and how often it would bill if it does
- exactly when Taurus takes the first $149 treatment charge for this offer
- which NuForm testosterone kit applies to a new patient
- NuForm repeat-lab pricing
- whether either company requires and includes a second diagnostic morning testosterone test for every new patient who does not already have appropriate repeat testing
- the current state authorization of the specific clinician you would be assigned
How we compared them: This page follows How We Review TRT Providers. That method keeps four things separate: facts we verified in current documents, facts a provider states, customer reports, and our own editorial conclusions. It calculates known cost components instead of repeating a teaser price. It looks at clinical eligibility, testing, clinician access, state availability, treatment formats, medication and pharmacy transparency, fertility handling, monitoring, total cost, cancellation, support, and claims transparency. We don't give providers numeric scores.
Review status: Editorial research by TRT Provider Guide. Not reviewed by a clinician.
Found a price or policy that changed? Send us a correction. Read our editorial standards and privacy policy.
Taurus Meds vs NuForm Health: FAQ
Is NuForm Health legit?
NuForm publishes an identifiable U.S. business address, a named care team, a medical-practice structure in its terms, and current refund and service policies. That shows an identifiable operation; it does not prove that a treatment is right for you or that every clinician can treat you in your state. Confirm your assigned prescriber's authorization and your dispensing pharmacy before paying.
Is Taurus Meds legit?
Taurus Medical, Inc. publishes corporate terms naming OpenLoop Health as a partner MSO and four partner pharmacies. Its public TRT pages also contain real conflicts on fees, charge timing, refunds, and product descriptions. Treat those documents as something to reconcile in writing, not as a reason to skip verification.
Is NuForm really $50 a month?
The $50/month figure is an equivalent price for a $200 four-month injectable kit paid up front. The $170 physician fee and bloodwork are separate. The same TRT page also lists a $295 five-month kit at $59/month equivalent, so ask which kit applies before using either number in your budget.
Is Taurus really $49?
The $49 TRT offer covers a blood test and clinician consultation on Taurus's current campaign page. If treatment is prescribed, the same page lists medication at $149/month. Taurus's homepage separately advertises a free testosterone test, and its Terms include an unresolved $17.99-per-billing-period fee clause, so confirm the exact offer before paying.
Do Taurus Meds or NuForm Health take insurance?
We did not verify a current public statement that either checked TRT offer bills health insurance directly. Both publish cash prices. If insurance coverage is important, ask the provider and your plan which visits, labs, or FDA-approved prescription products may be covered before choosing a cash-pay program.
Which one ships faster?
We can't establish a winner from public copy. Taurus publishes estimated testing-to-delivery timing, while NuForm publishes several shipping estimates across its pages, including 1–10 and 7–10 business days. We did not place orders or time fulfillment.
Can I cancel Taurus or NuForm anytime?
Taurus says you can cancel a recurring Subscription Service, but the request must arrive at least 72 hours before the next billing date to avoid another charge. NuForm says there is no recurring medication subscription, so you stop future kits by not reordering; medication already purchased is final. Ask NuForm separately how the annual physician fee renews.
Do I get my money back if I'm not approved?
NuForm says the physician fee is refunded if its provider decides you are not a candidate, while completed bloodwork is not refundable. Taurus's refund policy says medical disqualification receives a refund, but its Terms separately say blood-work orders are non-refundable once submitted. Ask Taurus to state exactly how much of the $49 and any first subscription charge would be returned.
Can I switch from Taurus to NuForm, or the reverse?
Usually a new clinician can review prior records and decide what can be accepted, but the new provider sets its own testing and prescribing requirements. Get your records, ask the new clinic what it will accept, and do not stop or change prescribed treatment without talking to a clinician. See how to switch TRT providers.
Does either offer testosterone cream?
The checked NuForm TRT page lists injectable testosterone. Taurus's $49 page lists testosterone gel, not a cream. If you specifically want a compounded testosterone cream, Male Excel and Hone Health currently publish cream options, with different membership and medication charges.
Do I need an in-person visit?
Not always under the current federal temporary rule. HHS and DEA extended qualifying telemedicine prescribing flexibilities for controlled medications through December 31, 2026, but state law, patient location, clinician authorization, the clinical situation, or later rule changes can still require an in-person step. Confirm the current requirements before you pay.
Is "NuForm" the same as "Nuform"?
Yes. The company commonly styles its name as "Nuform" or "NUFORM," while many searchers type "NuForm Health." This page uses "NuForm Health" for readability while linking to nuformhealth.com.
Sources
Checked September 27–28, 2026, unless noted.
- Taurus Meds — $49 TRT offer page
- Taurus Meds — Homepage
- Taurus Meds — Terms of Service, updated June 24, 2025
- Taurus Meds — Subscription Services Cancellation and Refund Policy, updated February 28, 2026
- Trustpilot — Taurus Meds profile
- NuForm Health — Testosterone Replacement Therapy
- NuForm Health — Homepage
- NuForm Health — Why Nuform
- NuForm Health — Diagnostic Labs
- NuForm Health — Refund Policy
- NuForm Health — Terms & Conditions
- NuForm Health — About Us
- Trustpilot — NUFORM profile
- DailyMed — Depo-Testosterone (testosterone cypionate) prescribing information
- Endocrine Society — Testosterone Therapy for Hypogonadism guideline resources
- FDA — Compounding and the FDA: Questions and Answers
- FDA — Human Drug Compounding
- FDA — Notice to Compounders: Changes that affect compounding as of March 23, 2020
- FDA — June 8, 2022 Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting
- DEA — Drug Scheduling
- HHS — Telehealth licensing across state lines
- HHS — Licensure compacts and patient location
- HHS — HHS & DEA extend telemedicine flexibilities through 2026
- Male Excel — Current HRT costs
- Hone Health — Men's Plus Membership and medication pricing
TRT Provider Guide is not a clinic, pharmacy, laboratory, drug manufacturer, insurer, or medical practice. This page is educational information, not medical advice. Prices and policies change, so confirm every number with the provider before you pay.
Still not sure which TRT care route fits you? Use our free Find My TRT Path tool.
Ready to explore your options?
Our tool helps you narrow down the care route that fits your situation based on testing, budget, and fertility goals.
Find My TRT Path